Scott Watters sacked: Official SS reaction thread

Re: Scott Watters sacked: Official SS reaction thread

I just hope the person(s) who handled Lyon's contract negotiations and then selected Watters is not the same as who selects the next chap.

BigMart wrote:It's a disgrace....

Has been a management nightmare since Nettlefold was pacing around his office wondering how Freo had done him?! 8 months they had to re sign Ross Lyon.

Not sure he would of anyway... From what was reported, he was absolutely furious about Pelchins role?

Because his history of developing the list and playing newbies was good wasn't it. Maybe we could have done without Pelchen if Ross had managed his autocratic approach to all areas of the footy club. I think most would consider Ross and the saints parted ways at the right time for both. He burnt the candle down then went off to the next one. We couldn't have afforded to prop the old boys up any longer.

How'd you know he couldn't have done what he did in 2007?

Ross Lyon was a good footy coach, not really a debate on that...

His ability to grow talent could have been developed with support and possibly necessity to do so...

#gosaintas

You know Big Mart, I reckon you are a flog of the highest order, but you are right on one thing...we are the worst run club in the AFL...and I am sick of it.

That's very nice....

BTW
You've never met me... And are basing your opinion of me as a person, on my views of StK (of which you agree with?)

Also
So lets get this right... You are being absolutely rude on a personal nature and are casting judgement on my person

Come on buddy!

Greg T

Certainly not the end of the world by any means.
Deemed not to be the right person to take us forward.
Club is heading in the right direction IMO ,
Exciting future ahead ....

100 goals in 14 games...Lockett is the key

satchmo wrote:
The Fireman wrote:hmmmm...just had a thread locked...what has happened to this place ????

You ibanezed it!
Now, back to lucky burgers after the sandbelt?
Satchmo, it would be Lucky Burgers after Players (my era) or the Southside Six (the old man's). Either way, I'm with you! Big Fan.

lewdogs

I just want to know what the **** is going on. No replacement lined up? What the hell.

The Fireman wrote:
BigMart wrote:Are we allowed to concede now

Mismanagement occurs at StK
we have had a massive decade and some...didn't get the ultimate but came damn close...Mismanagement ???? Please....shait happens ..ride with the punches or give up and go away but slagging the club aint the way to go..
So it's not mismanagement???

Any way you cut it, this has been a nightmare and we as a club look like a joke.

A kick away from to premierships 09/10...3 years ago..... does not buy us credibility.

A properly managed club wouldn't be serially shambolic. Call a spade a spade FFS!

The best thing all year was the trade period....4 new young players and some draft picks....hopefully Choco to coach and we can turn it around quickly....but lets not kid ourselves.

Turmoil or perception?

Think we are currently just fixing some wrongs after a dismal 3 years on and off the field led by a totally inactive and hibernating former administration that fell asleep at the wheel.

Now however, we are in the middle of a rebirth,after being completely irrelevant since we lost GF2 and Kim Duthie put us away. We are on the front foot right now making some big calls,I like that

Tune out from the media and public perception and enjoy your summer. We will struggle next year,but the turn around won't be a decade like the doomsday prophets cry.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-11-01/t ... e-concerns

Agree with Thommo...we do it far to often

fugazi wrote:http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-11-01/t ... e-concerns

Agree with Thommo...we do it far to often
This from a guy who took us for 200 large after falling out with his "mate" he shanked for 1m??? And he's talking culture??

It's like having a "rent a quote" on speed dial with this clown who usually trots out:

1. Poor culture
2. Poor ethics
3. Low mental belief cloud

He's still banging on suggesting Matt Maguire should be in the side - he was finished when he left for Brisbane.

This guy was "king of the kids" the old experienced scoutmaster that all the kids looked up to at bbq's at his flash house (Rod paid for) when these players (Riewoldt and co) were young and impressionable.

At least 1 good thing will occur when our current senior crop if players retire - this moron will be starved of information and oxygen.....I bet he still trots out "culture" though.

Im starting to get the impression Watters was a Rudd like creature ?

Charmed the media but micro manager egomaniac and an irrational lunatic without consistent structure or ideas on a day to day level who made unilateral decisions, did not consult and went ballistic when things didnt go his way even when his way was nutty and against the consensus

Anyone else feeling like that ?

St.Roly

BigMart wrote:Omg

I reckon if the club could announce they were going to support the Taliban and it would be seen as a great idea?
Have they got someone who could play at full forward?

Agree teflon
Remember gt thought he was so cool because players went to his house for bbqs.
What a douche. Seriously who wants to go to their bosses house for bbqs.
Even if u like him you still dont want to go.
Idiot.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Agree teflon
Idiot.

That is nearly as silly as the weight situation you brought up.

Jimmy O'Dea wrote:Watters was an arrogant little man who treated the senior leadership group/fellow leaders at the Club with contempt. No one in any organisation survives with such an approach.
His inexperience as a leader was visible to all. I congratulate the Board for making this tough decision. Bring on an experienced and inclusive leader of men I say.
The only error the club have made in regards to Scott WATTERS was two years ago when they believed his rhetoric and appointed him as Senior coach. What the board did today was a tough but correct decision! It was obvious that he had lost the majority of the players and we now learn he had poor relationship right throughout the club. This is not someone you want hanging about for another 12 months for the sake of perceived stability.

I was and remain an outspoken poster in regards of my dislike for WATTERS and after todays decision I feel totally vindicated that I was on the money regarding this bloke ! Lets hope the appointment of our next coach is not based on the problems the previous coach created ? The coach previous to WATTERS was two kicks away from being the greatest ever for the SAINTS, he must have done something right !

Another at the club is more like Rudd imo

Idiot.

That is nearly as silly as the weight situation you brought up.
No he's right

Kiss arses go to the boss's for BBQ's and laugh at their jokes (usually lame)

This time Con has hit it on the head IMO

Idiot.
what if there are chicks there?

Idiot.
what if there are chicks there?
If you're boss is a hot chic..... I'm all for managing up....

just got a text from a board member - says they wanted to sack watters at the end of the review but it took this long to find the little fella

My reaction?

Players have daddy issues still re Ross.

Not sure anyone will fill the void, for that core group

Peake intimated as much

jaxons wrote:Choco will be coach
Jaxons I hope the club are going the right way with this ? Choco is a proven coach (10 years ago) but he had a fair bit of baggage by the time he left Port. We have a young and developing list similar to GWS and they overlooked him for a younger unproven coach. To be honest I would rather see a younger coach someone like Harvey/Richardson/Tudor given a go with Choco as there senior assistant guiding them through the process.

But I suppose at least they know what we are getting with Choco - passion, commitment, acentric madness at times and more passion !

luckysaint

Come on Age, upload Caro's article already!