VFL - Rd 1, Sandringham vs Frankston

Re: VFL - Rd 1, Sandringham vs Frankston

BigMart wrote:He played really well at Frankston just two weeks ago

Perhaps because of that... The Dolphins put a little bit of work into his Wing... Or just that Taylor had a good day and opened him up a bit?
Are we talking about Markworth?
Taylor was good, but he wasn't playing on Daniel consistently.
Just had a check of the replay, he wasn't playing on Taylor at all.

Perhaps because of that... The Dolphins put a little bit of work into his Wing... Or just that Taylor had a good day and opened him up a bit?
Are we talking about Markworth?
Taylor was good, but he wasn't playing on Daniel consistently.
Just had a check of the replay, he wasn't playing on Taylor at all.
I think you're probably right - Munro definitely went to Taylor in the last, not sure if he was on him before that but certainly didn't see Markworth with him a lot.

Taylor played on the Wing... As did a lot of players

Billings, Markworth, Cook, Munro, Ong, Ross, Minchington and Milera....

Weller, Cockie, Ross, Munro, Billings, Michington all played out of the square also

They rotated continually

Many players played on Taylor... Until Munro got the lock down role.... Because he was getting lost around the contest

BigMart wrote:Taylor played on the Wing... As did a lot of players

Billings, Markworth, Cook, Munro, Ong, Ross, Minchington and Milera....

Weller, Cockie, Ross, Munro, Billings, Michington all played out of the square also

They rotated continually

Many players played on Taylor... Until Munro got the lock down role.... Because he was getting lost around the contest
If you have a look at the game again, you will see that Markworth & Taylor were very rarely anywhere near each other. I could see that they lined up for only one centre bounce.
So your comment about Markworth being opened up by Taylor was a fair way off the mark, it's no biggie.

I know you can't actually say this but I thought it would be fun…
BigMart wrote:Thanks for that, guess I was wrong

stkildathunda

Spencer White's match day report has been withdrawn so he is free to play this week.

stkildathunda

Updated all the stats from weekend for Saints guys here - http://www.truezebras.com/saints-in-vfl-round-1/

But just wanted to highlight Jason Holmes performance. He had 7 disposals, 1 mark, 2 tackles, 32 hitouts in his VFL debut on Saturday. Up against one of the best VFL ruckman in Russel Gabriel he won the hitouts 32-30... Not a bad effort for bloke that's only been playing game for couple months!

Cheers thunda,
Although Holmes looked awkward at times, that is a pretty incredible debut to the sport.

I read somewhere that in the last practice game, Billings opponent had 40-odd disposals, is that true?

stkildathunda

It's quite remarkable really. But his tap work is first rate, reckon we actually might have found a handy player for future.
What I like most about him is his attitude. When he's on bench he is watching the play so closely and watching what everyone does. He is determined to make it and gives 110%.

Not sure re Billings opponent.

stkildathunda wrote:It's quite remarkable really. But his tap work is first rate, reckon we actually might have found a handy player for future.
What I like most about him is his attitude. When he's on bench he is watching the play so closely and watching what everyone does. He is determined to make it and gives 110%.

Not sure re Billings opponent.

he really impressed at training and has the attitude to make it. He noted three of his kicks missed targets and said he needs to just keep learning nuances of the game. On attitude alone he is a pure professional. If he doesn't make it it won't be a lack of application.

His skills were actually very good at training and he was easily following a drill that involved an attacking set up with the vests defending. He read the play well and cut out the right spaces in the 50. I think he will in all probability play AFL footy. Can't tell yet how well but I think he just is that determined and willing to work.

I saw Tommy walsh play at Sandy and never jumped on the hype like others because I didn't think he ever quite looked like he knew what was happening in enough time. Holmes seems to be a better reader of play.

Hmm..

I was there...

BigMart wrote:Hmm..

I was there...
You are incredible.
Have a look…

http://iview.abc.net.au/programs/footba ... 19V002S00#

He wasn't on Taylor.
It's not even a big deal, but why you are in perpetual arguments.
BigMart wrote:I was wrong.
Give it a whirl.

Marto, just wondering if you've had a chance to re-watch this yet? Better get in quick before it goes off iView.

http://iview.abc.net.au/programs/footba ... 19V002S00#

I'll take your silence as conceding you were wrong here.

I'm not going to waste my time watching iview?

I was actually at the game.... Standing on the wing for the whole day!

Was the camera isolated on that match up?

What I can tell you is that Taylor played on the wing.... As did 5 other Frankston players at various times. Taylor also spent times at HF and on the bench!
players rotated every 2/3 minutes and the reason Hudson locked on him with Munro is because he was getting lost in match ups with rotation.... And getting behind the contest and flying by? He mentioned this at the break.

Minchington, Milera, Cooke, Marworth, Billings, Munro all spent time on the Wing or at HF.

Interesting how Dan was dropped?

BigMart wrote:I'm not going to waste my time watching iview?

What I can tell you is that Taylor played on the wing.... As did 5 other Frankston players at various times. Taylor also spent times at HF and on the bench!
players rotated every 2/3 minutes and the reason Hudson locked on him with Munro is because he was getting lost in match ups with rotation.... And getting behind the contest and flying by? He mentioned this at the break.

Minchington, Milera, Cooke, Marworth, Billings, Munro all spent time on the Wing or at HF.

Well if you could be arsed, you'd notice that they barely crossed paths…

Dan had a pretty poor game, he looked lost for mine. Nothing to do with Taylors game.

Sounds like he went okay in the dev squad at least, will be hard to break back in this week though…

Taylor would not have had the same opponent in the first three quarters for more than 5 minutes at a time..... He would have spent time opposed to Dan... The odds of two wingman never being opposed in rotations when there's only ever 4 on the ground are no great.... I'd be willing to bet that Dan opposed Taylor at times and also opposed the skinny ranga wingman, Pottsy, Mattheson and a few others....

Maybe if he wasn't crossing paths is the issue. Just because players line up on Escher other after a goal, doesn't mean they stay there until the next....

The Sandy bench is like Flinders street station

Not much point arguing with someone who won't watch a video of the subject at hand…

To be fair you were asking a question rather than a statement…

It's pretty clear if you watch the game again, they were very rarely opposed.

So rarely now.... Is the camera isolated on them? If it's not why would I watch a game again, that I saw live?

I sat on the wing near the interchange as I do at Frankston park and listened to the bogans....

As a great man on SS says

You can't comment accurately on the game unless you are there...

BigMart wrote:I'm not going to waste my time watching iview?

You get a much better idea from TV. Well when it suits.