Match Thread - cats v saints

Re: Match Thread - cats v saints

SHENTON!!!!! HOOBLOODYRAY!

First AFL goal.

TOLD YOU ALL THE WIND WOULD HELP!!!!!!!!!

GSG

Sorry folks, but this is beyond embarrassment! It’s shameful and cringe worthy. I do remember the early 2000s when we only won two games, but from memory, the losses were never so consistently bad.
So another wooden spoon. Why it is always St Kilda to get the wooden spoons??? Not Geelong, nor North Melbourne, Hawthorn, Bulldogs, Adelaide, etc. etc. But the Saints get them with monotonous regularity! Oh the young team - so other clubs do not sometimes have young teams?
No, I’m not happy - stuff the No. 1 draft pick - I do not ever want another wooden spoon again. What’s worth - most of my working colleagues gleefully predicted that St Kilda, once again, will amass some 1-4 wooden spoons in the coming decade.

WinnersOnly wrote:Our (R)sole and spirit walked out of the club with Ross Lyon - well done Nettlefold & Pelchen you tools! I understand the list is ordinary but now so is the belief and future!
Good Post!

Bunk_Moreland wrote:TOLD YOU ALL THE WIND WOULD HELP!!!!!!!!!

We are winning the contested possession count 87 to 85.

This is where I slightly question the coach. He talks a hell of a lot about effort and contested footy but the reality is there is a hell of a lot more to modern footy than those two things.
I think the Hawks are bottom for tackles.
Clearly the modern game is mainly about run spread and kicking skills.

Goooooallll Shaggggyyyy

Con Gorozidis wrote:We are winning the contested possession count 87 to 85.

This is where I slightly question the coach. He talks a hell of a lot about effort and contested footy but the reality is there is a hell of a lot more to modern footy than those two things.

Goooooallll Shaggggyyyy

Thats what happens when you have players like Lenny, Armo, Ross, Weller and maybe one or two others in the same side. No spread but heaps of contested ball. We need to recruit mids with outside run. We need at least 3 of them in a hurry.

Bunk_Moreland wrote:I know this is awful, but stick fat Saints.

Keep your nerve, it will be as bad or worse to come in the following weeks.
Yep, no point staying upset about this.

SaintSimmo

Ross has been very good today, been really impressed by his performance

Sainter for life.

Goooooallll Shaggggyyyy

Thats what happens when you have players like Lenny, Armo, Ross, Weller and maybe one or two others in the same side. No spread but heaps of contested ball. We need to recruit mids with outside run. We need at least 3 of them in a hurry.
Yep - Lenny, Armo, Ross, Dunstan is pretty damm stodgy… Jones is quick, but still pretty inside.

Milera you hope was injured as we are missing his type.

Goooooallll Shaggggyyyy

Yep - Lenny, Armo, Ross, Dunstan is pretty damm stodgy… Jones is quick, but still pretty inside.

Milera you hope was injured as we are missing his type.

We have that many that lenny has played nearly half the game forward which doesnt work at all. he isnt a forwards bootlace and then we miss him in the middle. Its a catch 22 though because we have to many.

SaintSimmo wrote:Ross has been very good today, been really impressed by his performance
Yes. Best game I've seen. Another small bright light on a dark day.

lloyd21

[quote="Bazza1970"]Really disappointed with our effort today. Inexperience is no excuse for lack of effort 8-)

Agree spineless effort by senior players today 8-) zoning off , chasing kicks , kick to our mate Roo.

The defensive effort by players on goal line was typical 5 players vs 1 Geelong player result goal Geelong.

Angry and most supporters should be & players be told it too all we are asking for is effort.

GREAT goal Billings.

I think we've doubled our score in 10 minutes, even with 2 behinds.

THE WIND I TELLS YA!!!!!

THE WIND.

D'MON SAINTS CATS ARE FADING, AND WE ARE RUNNING OVER THEM

Bunk_Moreland wrote:THE WIND I TELLS YA!!!!!

THE WIND.

D'MON SAINTS CATS ARE FADING, AND WE ARE RUNNING OVER THEM
BLOW wind, BLOW!!!!

Margin still under triple figures?

whiskers3614 wrote:Margin still under triple figures?
114 to 31, so looking alright at the mo for under a century

Edited for accuracy. 127 to 31. Disaster approaching.

Longer injured.
Last edited by SemperFidelis on Sun 15 Jun 2014 4:35pm, edited 1 time in total.

Demspter gifts yet another goal....

peter van ravenstein

I am not much for posting . I have been through 60s 70s 80s 90s and 2000 to 2014 you have ups and downs . Some good and bad times .This is a time we have a full rebuild young players learning their craft of modern footy . New coaches putting their new structures in place. New players from other teams learning our structures . We are going to have a few years of pain .We as St Kilda supporters should be well immune to it . JUST STICK WITH US IT WILL COME .GO SAINTS

peter van ravenstein wrote:I am not much for posting . I have been through 60s 70s 80s 90s and 2000 to 2014 you have ups and downs . Some good and bad times .This is a time we have a full rebuild young players learning their craft of modern footy . New coaches putting their new structures in place. New players from other teams learning our structures . We are going to have a few years of pain .We as St Kilda supporters should be well immune to it . JUST STICK WITH US IT WILL COME .GO SAINTS
Well said Peter.
Good ad for quality over quantity(posts)!
If only we could all follow your lead.

SaintSimmo wrote:Ross has been very good today, been really impressed by his performance
He has shown a bit just needs to keep working on running both ways!

LTN16

SemperFidelis wrote:
Yes. Best game I've seen. Another small bright light on a dark day.
Delaney also and Josh Bruce up forward has looked alright.

Hawkins. Again. 102 points.

Armo. Goal! Under the ton at 96.