pet hates

pet hates

my pet hates are as follows:

1. a player who is obviously playing okay kicks a goal ..then runs off to the interchange bench....can you imagine plugger doing that......give me a break...

2. a player gets trapped on the bottom of a pack with his arms pinned and an opposition player trapping the ball under that player and he gets pinged for holding the ball.... with the maggot holding center stage with exaggerated arm movements.........get real ffs....

3.... wasting precius game time with video replays of disputed goal decisions when the equipment is third rate even by indian sub- continent standards....wtf...

....feel free to add to the list

Re: pet hates

I hate when the camera deliberately keeps showing a coach in the box purely for reaction shots.

Does anyone have a good reason why players often go onto the bench after a goal?

PADDLEPOP1001

It's a coaching fad!

PADDLEPOP1000

FQF wrote:Does anyone have a good reason why players often go onto the bench after a goal?

A few actually go but people see the goal kicker only. Its because there is a 30 second gap before the next ball up.

I am sure it it time on when the umpires check the video

Losing footy games.

BakesFan

Essendon FC's arrogance, belligerence, hypocrisy, and sense of entitlement.

Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.(Eleanor Roosevelt)

stinger wrote:my pet hates are as follows:

1. a player who is obviously playing okay kicks a goal ..then runs off to the interchange bench....can you imagine plugger doing that......give me a break...
Not sure Plugger would have made in time for the bounce!

Life Long Saint wrote:

no and he would have been stuffed by the time he reached the bench anyway and a tad annoyed......

SunburySaint

Life Long Saint wrote:

no and he would have been stuffed by the time he reached the bench anyway and a tad annoyed......
Plugger also would of lined up a few players to take his frustration out on as well... I'm with you stinger not sure why they do it, but theres obviously a reason I am missing.

Now lives in Geelong...
lloyd21

Would like the current players to kick the ball to " any " player on his own up the ground 1st time rather stand with the ball
& wait till their covered to then kick the ball to a " name player "with 3 players on him who is covered.
Block & support their team mate rather than see him run down time after time.
If the ball is near the goals bouncing around and you are under pressure punch in through the goals .
Over 20 goals have been concedid this way this year.
Last edited by lloyd21 on Sun 15 Jun 2014 9:37pm, edited 1 time in total.

the 1 metre handballs to players that aren't moving.

noob wrote:the 1 metre handballs to players that aren't moving.
i neally included that one in the op :wink: :D

Kicking in to a contested marking situation on the wing.

Ever heard of going straight down the middle of the ground ?

lloyd21 wrote:Would like the current players to kick the ball to " any " player on his own up the ground 1st time rather stand with the ball
& wait till their covered to then kick the ball to a " name player "with 3 players on him who is covered.
If the ball is near the goals bouncing around and you are under pressure punch in through the goals .
Over 20 goals have been conceded this way this year.
You nailed it Lloydy... kick it to the player in the bloody best position, not just mindlessly to the best player!
(I mean, seriously, how hard is that to do???)

And if your mate has the footy, either provide them with an option or a shepherd/block! And talk to them!

The four letter word a player should want their 'me' to be in is 'team'.
One doesn't want to be the 'u' in a certain other four letter word... like... 'dumb'.

Dave McNamara wrote:
lloyd21 wrote:Would like the current players to kick the ball to " any " player on his own up the ground 1st time rather stand with the ball
Over 20 goals have been conceded this way this year.
You nailed it Lloydy... kick it to the player in the bloody best position, not just mindlessly to the best player!
(I mean, seriously, how hard is that to do???)

And if your mate has the footy, either provide them with an option or a shepherd/block! And talk to them!

The four letter word a player should want their 'me' to be in is 'team'.
One doesn't want to be the 'u' in a certain other four letter word... like... 'dumb'.

excellent observations dave....

Oh, and other pet hates...

- <pre-edited in anticipation>'ing 'away' strips.
- <pre-edited>'ing Americanisms (like 'catch', 'kicking to/for touch', 'quarterback role') in our great Australian game, :evil:
- <pre-edited>'ing the loss of the goal umpys' hat and coat... and there is only one colour for maggots!
- <pre-edited>'ing artificial teams that are not clubs(!)
- <pre-edited>'ing the loss of real home and away games,
- <pre-edited>'ing corporate boxes,
- <pre-edited>'ing the clubs (and teams) becoming financially dependent on gambling revenue,

and, basically, the <pre-edited>'ing loss of so many of the wonderful traditions that make our great game unique. :x

And also, <pre-edited>'ing 'hat drivers' who won't move from the inside lane on the Eastern Freeway. :evil:
It's the law you plodders, but more importantly... it's simple common courtesy.

if we are going off topic.....football that is...i hate those stick families on the back of those 'orrible big four wheel drives......although i did see a very funny one a couple of weeks ago.......dad was bending mum over <edited by mods>......made me laugh......the missus didn't see the joke.... :oops:

Players celebrating after every single goal like they've kicked a goal for an EPL club. This continuous LLeyton Hewitt-style fist pumping HAS TO GO. Can't they save it for when they kick the match winning goal or rare moment? Players like Tony Lockett kicked a goal and went back to their position in their day. Too many show ponies nowadays.
stevie wrote:I hate when the camera deliberately keeps showing a coach in the box purely for reaction shots.
I agree. You'd think a lot of the people directing the telecasts wouldn't know much about the game or don't have a good idea of a fan's perspective. They should use those shots sparingly. Also cut away shots of fans in the crowd looking silly and barely interested in the game is dumb.

I've mentioned it several times before, the standard of commentary/sportscasting for the game is at an all time low. Commentators need to tone it down. Most of them just don't have a gift for the gab and sound like galahs. Their sense of diction is horrendously bad, like they just walked our of a bar that was inhabited by cashed up bogans. Also, the whole delivery of shouting at fever pitch when the game isn't even at a climactic moment sounds so bloody amateur.