VFL Rd 13 Sandringham Vs Port melbourne

Re: VFL Rd 13 Sandringham Vs Port melbourne

It's time, I have seen enough today. He must play 3-4 games on the run home

White to Bruce.
Goal. Very nice.

That pass by Buddy White to They Call Him Bruce was sublime.

Buddy White may play for us this season injury permitting! May still be a player.

White has shown enough today to suggest he should be tried at AFL level.
In a season of very few positives he could be something special.
Ordinarily he would need to play a few good ones in a row but we aren't in a position to be that demanding.

It would be good to see him play alongside Roo.

saint-stu

All this talk of us needing to draft a tall forward and we may have found two at sandringham. I hope they just draft the best available talent.

1ac46a38

Spencer's body shape is looking good, has filled out a bit but isn't top heavy like Rhys

Acres will be a player too.
Cool, calm and good decision maker.

McCartin has been referred to as similar to Roughie more than once lately - so we might have a Roughie/Buddy combo next year.

Wright will frustrate us for years imo, much like Buddy can.

1966 wrote:Acres will be a player too.
Cool, calm and good decision maker.
Indeed. He's another Farren Ray. Hopefully will be that good in the future.

Freebird

What do people see in Hickey. I know he has been out injured and possibly not fit but he still looks the same..always looks like he's going to fall over.
Some big guys are just too awkward

spot on

Really hope we play white in the next few weeks. Did some great things today, some very bad too but need to give him a taste of it. Would be a nice positive if he can play out the year

Saunders and Murdoch disapointing. Was hoping for more.
Bruce, Wight and Acres really exciting.
Hickey quiet.
Curren solid.
Fisher made it through.
Simpkin quiet as a forward.
Wright and Siposs quiet before injury.
Maister prominent until injury.
Big Johnny had no influence.

Were always gong to get run over with the lack of fit players. Also unlucky that it was wet while they had the strong wind in the 3rd qtr. Acres will be a players.

Our inability to capitalise on the wind in the 3rd quarter destroyed us.
Should have been 4 goals up and then could have played a shut down game.
In the end with only one player on the bench they just ran away with it.

For spectators the three goals after quarter time and just one after half time didn't do anything to offset the cold.
I am convinced that the Centrelink supporters are the dregs of the VFL.

who won??

what was the score

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-07-05/s ... wden-stars

VFL

St Kilda has been dealt a double injury blow with forwards Arryn Siposs and Beau Maister hurt in Sandringham's 29-point loss to Port Melbourne on Saturday in the VFL.

Both left the field in the second term with left shoulder injuries, and did not take any further part in the game.

Maister had kicked two goals and was one of Sandringham's best before falling awkwardly on his shoulder in a marking contest.

In good news for the Saints, defender Sam Fisher got through the match unscathed, and was named in the best players.

Fisher has been plagued by injuries for the past 12 months and hasn't played senior football since round 10 last year.

The 31-year-old has had a recurring hamstring problem this year, and returned to competitive football in the VFL a fortnight ago, only to be sidelined with back spasms.

Athletic forward Spencer White was lively in attack and showed glimpses of brilliance, while Josh Bruce, although inaccurate, was Sandringham's best player with 17 disposals, including 11 marks, and 2.4.

Midfielder Tom Curren had 26 touches and was a solid contributor.

http://www.foxsportspulse.com/assoc_pag ... D=30404798

Port back on top

Port Melbourne moves to top spot on the ladder after a 29-point win over Sandringham today.

Port Melbourne looked shakey early in the first half, but took advantage after three quarter time kicking 5 goals to 1 in the final term to run out winners.

Dan Connors kicked five goals for Port, and was well supported by Hugh Sandilands up forward in his first senior game of the season. The known defender was used up forward in the absence of Julian Rowe and Josh Scipione. Sandringham had its own forward worries after half time, with key targets Arryn Sipposs and Beau Maister both not returning for the Zebras in the second half.

Sandringham was wayward to goal, allowing Port to take the lead going into the final term with seven behinds in the third term. Josh Bruce has a key presence up forward for them with two goals (17 disposals, 11 marks), and was among the best with Cameron Banfield, James Munro and Elliott Le Grice.

Shane Valenti led the way in the middle for Port with 32 disposals, and was in the best with defenders Sam Pleming (26, 10 marks) and Marcus Marigliani.

magnifisaint wrote:who won??

what was the score
http://www.foxsportspulse.com/round_inf ... 9-0&pool=1

Sandringham 8-17-65

Port Melbourne 13-16-94

Sandringham
Goal Kickers: J. Bruce 2, B. Maister 2, T. Simpkin , S. White , B. Murdoch , J. Munro
Best Players: J. Bruce, C. Banfield, J. Munro, E. Le Grice, T. Curren, S. Fisher

Port Melbourne
Goal Kickers: D. Connors 5, H. Sandilands 2, S. Clarke 2, S. Valenti , S. O''Sullivan , T. Johnston , T. O''Sullivan
Best Players: S. Valenti, S. Pleming, M. Marigliani, D. Connors, L. Tynan, T. Pinwill

Final score Development Squad. A great win for Sandy.
Sandy 14-6-90 d
Port Melbourne 10-14-74

magnifisaint wrote:who won??

what was the score
http://www.foxsportspulse.com/round_inf ... 9-0&pool=1

Sandringham 8-17-65

Port Melbourne 13-16-94

Sandringham
Goal Kickers: J. Bruce 2, B. Maister 2, T. Simpkin , S. White , B. Murdoch , J. Munro
Best Players: J. Bruce, C. Banfield, J. Munro, E. Le Grice, T. Curren, S. Fisher

Port Melbourne
Goal Kickers: D. Connors 5, H. Sandilands 2, S. Clarke 2, S. Valenti , S. O''Sullivan , T. Johnston , T. O''Sullivan
Best Players: S. Valenti, S. Pleming, M. Marigliani, D. Connors, L. Tynan, T. Pinwill
Thanks

dsav

saintbrat wrote:Final score Development Squad. A great win for Sandy.
Sandy 14-6-90 d
Port Melbourne 10-14-74
Development league album also up on http://www.davesavell.com/p85555240 or http://www.truezebras.com/photos-develo ... -round-13/

Dave.

Dave, the photos you posted are absolutely awesome. Kudos.

If we can't make Jason Holmes into a player we are not trying hard enough. That vertical leap you captured (several times) is gravity defying.

Loved the shots of Spencer and Sammy Fisher, so fabulous they not only made it through but played well.

Future looks bright in technicolour! 8-)

Semper

I reckon that I'm (close to) the biggest fan of Spenc-arrrh White on this site. He will be a star! But he will take some time.

I do not want to see him in the seniors this year. He is not physically built-up enough nor fit enough, yet. I would fear for Spenc-arrrh's confidence going forward if we played him this year.

I don't care how 'unconventional' it may seem, I would still withdraw Spenc-arrrh and Tommy Lee from all competitive footy right now, and get them to hit the gym and the running track, so that they can be physically ready to start to strut their stuff next season.

dsav

Dave McNamara wrote:I reckon that I'm (close to) the biggest fan of Spenc-arrrh White on this site. He will be a star! But he will take some time.

I do not want to see him in the seniors this year. He is not physically built-up enough nor fit enough, yet. I would fear for Spenc-arrrh's confidence going forward if we played him this year.

I don't care how 'unconventional' it may seem, I would still withdraw Spenc-arrrh and Tommy Lee from all competitive footy right now, and get them to hit the gym and the running track, so that they can be physically ready to start to strut their stuff next season.
I'm also a big Spencer fan.
He is still very young, and there is plenty of time for him to develop into a quality AFL forward.
It's tough for the young big forwards to develop in the same timeframes as perhaps some other positions on the ground.
I wouldn't go so far as to withdraw him now - with his interrupted season I think he will benefit from a consistent string of senior VFL games.
If we can be patient I'm sure we will see a few AFL games out of him next year - it's only then we will see what St Kilda has developed and if Spencer can deliver.

But I do agree with you - I don't want to see him in the AFL this season either (however frustrating that must be to him).

Dave.
Last edited by dsav on Sat 05 Jul 2014 11:06pm, edited 3 times in total.