Would you like to do the Lumumba?

Re: Would you like to do the Lumumba?

Milney was right!

Winmar

He rubs me up the wrong way both on and off the field. It's hard to out a finger on what it is, but anyway, do not want.

Winmar wrote:He rubs me up the wrong way both on and off the field. It's hard to out a finger on what it is, but anyway, do not want.
Is it his pretentious name change?
His vilification of Milne?
His meeting with the Dalai Lama?
His pettiness?
His desire to address the United Nations?
Or the fact he is a supercilious wanker?

I think he is a wanker and a hypocrite irrespective of his skin colour or thoughts on minorities.
Is that not allowed?

Also think he is not the type of player we need which I think was the point of this thread.

LTN16

Seriously why would you want a bloke like this at your footy club! He has got little to worry about in his life if he's getting all high and mighty because someone wrote going to the mardi gras on a picture.. :roll:

andrewg

The Redeemer wrote:
Sobraz wrote:"Lumumba said in that meeting he might resign to which it was suggested that that might not be a bad idea. He withdrew that comment".

Was all outraged and the like until the club called him of his threats..

What's he gonna do next, threaten to hand back his premiership medal??

The guy is hilarious.
He is the worst type of do-gooder.

He knows a little about a whole bunch and carries himself as some intelligent masterpiece.

He comes across as a deadshit with limited education and life experience
Love this!

andrewg

terry smith rules wrote:
fugazi wrote:Way too harsh on this bloke.
He genuinely wants to make a difference outside of football....what's wrong with that?
If makes a couple of slip ups, so what...heart in the right place, and he actually takes actions on things he cares about, not just lip service.
I concur.
exactly

always intersting when posts like this start up and it brings the forum 'wits out in force, talking to you redeemer

any opportunity to have a go at anyone that sits ouside their narrow band of intelligence
I do not concur
He is a d**khead

Winmar

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Winmar wrote:He rubs me up the wrong way both on and off the field. It's hard to out a finger on what it is, but anyway, do not want.
His pettiness?
Haha it's probably all of the above! What did he say about Milney though?

Enrico_Misso wrote:
His pettiness?
tell me why the name change is prententious

Maister, Lake etc have all done it, does that worry you as well or is it because he has gone from an anglo-saxon name to a brazillian name

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

Enrico_Misso wrote:Milney was right!
You think he protest too much.

Just not a good enough player to warrant trading for. As for all his carrying on, I think the guy has genuinely been traumatised in his life, and much of his acting out indicates that. His "over reactivity" and hyper vigilance in terms of perceived, or real slurs seems to indicate this. I think he is in desperate need of help. As for taking him on, I say a big, fat, no! Too much downside, not enough upside.

SinCitySainter

We already have a surplus of HBF flankers that can't hit a target why would we want another one.
He is basically Gilbert but without the height. He runs hard and blazes away with no idea where the ball is going, so it is a no thank you from me.

ctqs

I've thought for years that he was the biggest tool in the AFL. He considered himself the league's social conscience yet when pressed on legitimate social issues he showed how vacuous he was. I believe all his recent attention seeking is a sign he probably needs a break from things to get himself some much-needed help, which I hope he does. I don't want him anywhere near our club.

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.

ctqs wrote:I've thought for years that he was the biggest tool in the AFL. He considered himself the league's social conscience yet when pressed on legitimate social issues he showed how vacuous he was. I believe all his recent attention seeking is a sign he probably needs a break from things to get himself some much-needed help, which I hope he does. I don't want him anywhere near our club.

agreee- when this broke I said to a Pies supporter to me it shows signs of someone who with or without the guidelines and routines of football could easily slip into depression, worrying more about the wrongs of the world than working to the good of the world,

he sees the injustices as areas to be fought- rather than working toward ensureing they are not repeated.

one of those areas that has been continually misrepresented and was repeated to me-- the sexual abuse- many still beleive it was toward him- it was his mother, one of the issues he has taken on himself...

What alot of garbage spewed on this bloke...walk a mile in his shoes!

fugazi wrote:What alot of garbage spewed on this bloke...walk a mile in his shoes!
Did any of the stuff he claims actually happen?
Or is he a victim of an over active imagination?
In either case probably needs help and support of some sort, but that doesn't necessarily mean a place on an AFL list.

jamesmc

Enrico_Misso wrote:
His pettiness?
Didn't he also have a go at Tom Hawkins sexuality

whiskers3614 wrote:
fugazi wrote:What alot of garbage spewed on this bloke...walk a mile in his shoes!
In either case probably needs help and support of some sort, but that doesn't necessarily mean a place on an AFL list.
Are you suggesting he made it all up???

The Australian sports community is ill-equipped to deal with a free-thinking individual like HL.

We are a sheltered people, insular and challenged by those of perceived 'difference'. I don't think we're necessarily racist in the modern, hate-filled context, but we're certainly blighted by a sub-concious discomfort with those who buck the trend.

I think he'd be a fine pick-up for almost any club.

Though given we gave up James Gwilt, a remarkably similar player (188cm, 27-28, loose-checking and free-running), I sincerely doubt we'd go for Lumamba.

(BTW, I'd have kept Gwilt, who I think could play until 31-32 and be part of a future successful team. Not sure on club's thinking here.)

markmark

I don't think the players would want him .They would be paranoid about what and what not to say to this guy.

Bring it on

evertonfc wrote:The Australian sports community is ill-equipped to deal with a free-thinking individual like HL.

We are a sheltered people, insular and challenged by those of perceived 'difference'. I don't think we're necessarily racist in the modern, hate-filled context, but we're certainly blighted by a sub-concious discomfort with those who buck the trend.

I think he'd be a fine pick-up for almost any club.

Though given we gave up James Gwilt, a remarkably similar player (188cm, 27-28, loose-checking and free-running), I sincerely doubt we'd go for Lumamba.

(BTW, I'd have kept Gwilt, who I think could play until 31-32 and be part of a future successful team. Not sure on club's thinking here.)
Spot on Everton....we haven't heard a reply from Lumumba, yet plenty out there willing to judge him.

Will be interesting to see what comes out when he does speak....I don't think Buckley appreciates individuals, he will weed all of them out, and end up surrounded by "yes men".

Something wrong with the culture down at the Magpies, but no journalist seems to have the balls to investigate it, happy to parrot whatever line the Collingwood press secretary gives them (imagine if it was the Saints-they'd be all over us) ....the fish rots at the head....reckon McGuire gave us a glimpse with the Goodes/ King Kong comment last year....which Lumumba said typified the "casual racism" in Australia....he's been on the outer ever since.

Looks like they could lose Beams as well (add to the pile of Shaw, Thomas, Dawes etc)

Paul Roos might be a different character, and Lumumba might do well there. Good luck to him.

fugazi wrote:
whiskers3614 wrote:
Are you suggesting he made it all up???
I'm suggesting the bloke may not be totally right in the head.

I'm not sure you can say he has mental issues. There is a lot of conformity required to be part of a team environment and it's not for everyone. Good on him for trying to address issues but he probably needs to make sure he's really across the issues he champions. Apparently Tony Jones said if they sent around the hat at Collingwood it would come back empty. He's obviously not well received internally but then Winmar copped it for stepping out of line too. He's not right for us but he's still a decent footballer. I would suggest he gets his causes well thought through and tries to use some humility in his delivery.

That said once you are known for a certain role people don't like to see you step out of that. Ask the myriad of actors who tried to become musos or musos who tried acting.

gringo wrote:I'm not sure you can say he has mental issues. There is a lot of conformity required to be part of a team environment and it's not for everyone. Good on him for trying to address issues but he probably needs to make sure he's really across the issues he champions. Apparently Tony Jones said if they sent around the hat at Collingwood it would come back empty. He's obviously not well received internally but then Winmar copped it for stepping out of line too. He's not right for us but he's still a decent footballer. I would suggest he gets his causes well thought through and tries to use some humility in his delivery.

That said once you are known for a certain role people don't like to see you step out of that. Ask the myriad of actors who tried to become musos or musos who tried acting.
Pretty hard to defend his reaction to either the "Lez" business or the "mardi gras" crap this time.
Reminds me of that bloke on here last year yelling "hate crimes" at anybody that wasn't sufficiently enraged by "Dwarfgate"

Aren't disproportionate responses one sign of mental illness?