GWS now have 4, 6, 7 to trade for pick 1

Re: GWS now have 4, 6, 7 to trade for pick 1

matrix wrote:I'm not disappointed at all.
We have the best pick in a draft.
Will get membry in the PSD
And signed all our youth to long term deals a month ago.

f*** me what's not to be happy about?
We now get to pick the best kid in the draft that currently suits our needs.

You beauty.
Apparently we were meant to turn pick one into 5 picks in the top ten as well as picking up Boyd and Cameron.

markp wrote:
matrix wrote: f*** me what's not to be happy about?
We're 'stuck' with the Petracca, Stanley is a superstar who won the gf sprint, and pick 21 will definitely be a dud.
Well when u put it that way
Failness personified.lol

Need an update from Jaxons. Were we close to dealing?

If the recruiters can turn picks 21 & 22 into quality players plus Membrey and get lucky with the 4 rookies out this years crop we will do well ! I was probably like a lot a bit disappointed that we didn't get a trade done with GWS, but thems they breaks!

Our immediate needs now are outside speed and a couple of quality tall defenders to bring through the system!
Last edited by WinnersOnly on Thu 16 Oct 2014 2:36pm, edited 1 time in total.

mordiboyz wrote:Just take McCartin and run Saints. There is nothing like a power forward and once Roo goes in a few years....
No need Petracca to provide forwards with opportunity. Then we will see what these guys are really worth. Could chase a tall next year but we need to start winning some midfield battles first.

GWS have again stolen the show at the actual draft.............

PICKS 4, 6, 7, 23, 24

Yes boyd out and a few other extras

IN Griffen

They are still going to be a mighty side soon

markp wrote:
matrix wrote: f*** me what's not to be happy about?
We're 'stuck' with the Petracca, Stanley is a superstar who won the gf sprint, and pick 21 will definitely be a dud.

They spent so long convincing us he was only average so we didn't mind trading away that pick he seems well....average. Apparently he's no better than anyone else in the top 10. And he is a Collingwood supporter. How long until we can trade him?
Are you being legit?

Sound like you've taken the Stanley trade hard... Time for a lie down I think... And dream about those 6 goals his going to kick against us... While the rest of us live in the real world or Petracca kicking 6 against them..

As odd as it sounds, I reckon GWS haven't done well out of this. Yes they got an elite senior mid into the place, but what is the point in continually drafting a handful of top picks, developing them for two years and then trading them back out when they can't get games???

True Believer wrote:As odd as it sounds, I reckon GWS haven't done well out of this. Yes they got an elite senior mid into the place, but what is the point in continually drafting a handful of top picks, developing them for two years and then trading them back out when they can't get games???
They'll be ripe for the picking just when we're ready.

chook23 wrote:GWS have again stolen the show at the actual draft.............

PICKS 4, 6, 7, 23, 24

IN Griffen

Hard to fail when you have all of those high picks… whenever someone wants to go home, they get another high pick… this year they got an all australian & captain plus pick 6, 7 & 23 and probably only lost one player they would have liked to keep, albeit a gun.
Even when they stuff things up they do pretty well.
Last edited by dragit on Thu 16 Oct 2014 3:05pm, edited 1 time in total.

Gee, easy money for our men this week. Did bugger all and still got paid.
Got overly greedy on pick one's worth, but it looks a poor draft anyway, so why trade one very good chance of quality, for two or even three mediocre chances.

fugazi wrote:Well an underwhelming week...missed Jaksche and O Rourke...traded out a 23 yr old and traded in a 1 game mid sized forward that was not exactly a pressing need.
Still we didn't do anything stupid and have 3 picks in and around the first round....and we get Petracca
Yes, interest was shown but prospective players not favouring the Saints for a move and nominating other clubs.

I don't think we tried to hard on the #1 pick and the 3 for options here were never going to cut it. In fact some posts indicated we knocked by a 2 for 1 pick scenario (as I suspected).

Trading has been underwhelming but the stupid part may still take hold if we don't select Petracca as #1. The mid field needs to be more competitive then out forwards may get the opportunity they deserve. Out inside 50 count was terrible over he full year bar a few games. A good chance to assess the talls we have over 2015 with a potential quality tall being recruited next year through picks or trades.

Sad that a Tomlinson with picks deal wasn't tried or achieved. Bains indicated that no further options on pick 1 occurred today (just review of yesterdays proposals).

True Believer wrote:As odd as it sounds, I reckon GWS haven't done well out of this. Yes they got an elite senior mid into the place, but what is the point in continually drafting a handful of top picks, developing them for two years and then trading them back out when they can't get games???
They will continue to struggle but the extra picks now will allow pressure of other past picks that aren't performing. This will also provide opportunity for future player trades. Certainly 2015 wont be their year but a steep rise could be on the horizon.

chook23 wrote:GWS have again stolen the show at the actual draft.............

PICKS 4, 6, 7, 23, 24

IN Griffen

Hard to fail when you have all of those high picks… whenever someone wants to go home, they get another high pick… this year they got an all australian & captain plus pick 6, 7 & 23 and probably only lost one player that would have liked to keep, albeit a gun.
Even when they stuff things up they do pretty well.
I'm starting to think players leaving them is just going to make the stronger for longer. They are building a solid age spread. The average clubs age spread comes from all through the draft. Theirs pretty much comes just from top end draft picks. Scary to think how long they can remain top if they have top picks hitting their peak year after year.

4 6 7

Gws could have a dynasty on their hands.

Hallalj#3

Con Gorozidis wrote:4 6 7

Until they all decide to leave.

Worst case scenario was always we would have pick 1. Well I bet 17 other clubs maybe not Hawks wish that was there worst case scenario.

Build through the Middle of the ground.

Con Gorozidis wrote:4 6 7

Well assuming we take Petracca, and he lives up to the hype and is the best #1 since Nick Reiwoldt, then maybe next year some other club will offer us 3 really juicy picks to get their hands on next years #1 pick.. because the only way we don't end up with #1 next year is if Asada rubs out most of Essendon's list for much of 2015 and they have to play all their VFL players.

SideshowMilne

I reckon the Boyd defection made GWS stop and take stock. Why load all their best eggs into Petrecca and they risk him bailing. By getting multiples in the top 10 reduces the risk of losing it all. Prior to the Boyd move, reckon we would have been better placed to do the 3 picks for two. Thanks to the insiders here and on bf, thanks for giving is an inkling of what we were chasing.

SideshowMilne wrote:I reckon the Boyd defection made GWS stop and take stock. Why load all their best eggs into Petrecca and they risk him bailing. By getting multiples in the top 10 reduces the risk of losing it all. Prior to the Boyd move, reckon we would have been better placed to do the 3 picks for two. Thanks to the insiders here and on bf, thanks for giving is an inkling of what we were chasing.
Exactly.

GWS are well stocked with onballers and pick 4 virtually guarantees a Boyd replacement in McCartin or Wright if they want to go down that path.

So why would they sell the farm to get pick 1?

falka

Yep! The Boyd move would have definitely had them thinking about eggs and baskets

That said, Baines playing the "still 4 players in Line for Pick 1" garbage.
If that was the case and they were so close, we would have taken 4 and 7 for sure.
If we don't read out Petracca's name, I will be very confused.

Go Saints

P.S - STill wish we kept Stanley

Shush TB!

They aren't as on the ball as your good self, but they'll no doubt eventually work that one out for themselves. But no need to speed up the process. :lol:

jaxons

magnifisaint wrote:Need an update from Jaxons. Were we close to dealing?
Ok an update.
GWS offered us 4 & 7 but wanted 1 & 21 in return.
This happened yesterday afternoon.
If they threw in pick 6 we may have considered it, in fact likely we would have taken 4,6 and 7 for 1 & 21.
For what it's worth I would have only done 1 for 4,6,7 period.
GWS did not come to us at all today with an improved offer.

jaxons wrote:
Ok an update.
If they threw in pick 6 we may have considered it, in fact likely we would have taken 4,6 and 7 for 1 & 21.
We dodged a bullet. Love the fact we get Petracca.

Cheers for the updates mate!

jaxons wrote:
Ok an update.
We dodged a bullet. Love the fact we get Petracca.

Cheers for the updates mate!
I love how his updates turn some into a blubbering mess :lol: :lol:

Blubbering mess? Who?