Anzac Day 2015 -

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2015-01-1 ... n-soldiers
TO MARK 100 days until their Anzac Day Centenary clash in Wellington New Zealand, St Kilda and Carlton today announced plans to honour two past players killed on the first day of the Gallipoli battle.

The round four AFL clash on Saturday, April 25 will honou0r all soldiers involved in World War I but with a special emphasis on former VFL players Claude Crowl (St Kilda) and Fen McDonald (Carlton).

Both men are believed to have died on April 25, 1915 when the Anzacs first stormed the beach at Gallipoli. Their bodies were never found.

Incredibly, the two men not only lost their lives on the same day in Gallipoli, they also made their VFL debut against each other at Princes Park on Saturday 29 July, 1911.

Six VFL players are believed to have died on April 25 and a further 11 lost their lives in the Gallipoli campaign.
audio -

Re: Anzac Day 2015 -

Westpac Stadium ‏@WestpacStadium
100 children-balloons-days to the #ANZACDay centenary & the AFL clash: @stkildafc v @CarltonFC http://bit.ly/AFLTkts

would we want to face Carlton every year?
I felt the club had originally hoped to make it a different team each year so no team could get the media and maybe playing advantage on this game ..

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-01-15/a ... -tradition ?

saintbrat wrote:would we want to face Carlton every year?
I felt the club had originally hoped to make it a different team each year so no team could get the media and maybe playing advantage on this game ..

No doubt it would be better to face the same team every year but I don't get why we need to play a Victorian side over there especially one with a pretty big supporter base.

Wellington deputy mayor Justin Lester (centre) with St Kilda AFL players Josh Saunders (centre left) and Jack Steven (right) at the AFL celebration of 100 day countdown until the ANZAC Centenary at Westpac Stadium, Wellington, New Zealand on Wednesday, 15 January 2015. P

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set ... 182&type=3

Great to see a youngster like Saunders get the golden junket ticket to NZ, no doubt courtesy of Wellington Council.

It's significant in that it wasn't Roo and another senior player getting the "good" gig.

Little things like this are great for morale.

saintspremiers wrote:Great to see a youngster like Saunders get the golden junket ticket to NZ, no doubt courtesy of Wellington Council.

It's significant in that it wasn't Roo and another senior player getting the "good" gig.

Little things like this are great for morale.
Now we know why Jack wasn't at the open training day.

I'd rather share some media with another team of it's successful than no game at all.

I'm heading over this year - and the fact that carlton is the opponent is a factor, and maybe the fact that it may not be around forever based on the last years results.

I thought that deputy mayor was Jed Adcock on first look at pic. Was wondering if it was from last year lol.

I'd rather share some media with another team of it's successful than no game at all.

I'm heading over this year - and the fact that carlton is the opponent is a factor, and maybe the fact that it may not be around forever based on the last years results.
If it earns us money and the AFL want it to keep going as a rostered game, which they will, it will stay. IF we win this year everybody's opinion of the NZ match will change. Personally I think if Schneider hadn't got himself suspended last year we would have got over the line against Brisbane.

IanRush

I went to an event at Westpace Stadium in about 2011. Despite the fact the wind in Wellington is ice cold, even in November (it makes Melbourne look like the tropics) it’s a nice city to visit for a few days. I’d recommend the trip.

USELESS FACT: The WADA case against Essendon (in Sydney as well) is exactly 10 years to the day that Australia qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

IanRush wrote:I went to an event at Westpace Stadium in about 2011. Despite the fact the wind in Wellington is ice cold, even in November (it makes Melbourne look like the tropics) it’s a nice city to visit for a few days. I’d recommend the trip.

Me thinks you like being on our Saintsational site Mr IanRush? You appear to be entertained by some of our threads and posters.............. S/S is such a fun family even though we fight and scap bitterly with each other at times!!

I find your posts on the Essendope thread most illuminating.................. keep 'em coming..................... I love going off on the tangents you lead us to, can be quite a thrilling ride for us here in the dickie seat.

Pleasing to see you posting in random thread on all things Saintly not just Essendope.................... if you aren't one already, careful you might become a Saint supporter and believe me IR that is a hard cross to bare at times.

Just booked my flights to Wellington for what promises to be a wonderful weekend of commemoration, footy, froths & maybe even a hit of golf!

Can any Sainters who've made the trip in previous year recommend a hotel close to the ground, CBD, etc?

Thanks in advance

AE

mambo2706

I went over for the first game against Sydney. Can't remember the name of the hotel though. My only advice would be book early as I heard a lot of the hotels around Wellington were booked out.

Apart from loosing it was a great few days. The game itself had a totally different atmosphere to any other game I have been to.

IanRush

loris wrote:
IanRush wrote:I went to an event at Westpace Stadium in about 2011. Despite the fact the wind in Wellington is ice cold, even in November (it makes Melbourne look like the tropics) it’s a nice city to visit for a few days. I’d recommend the trip.
Me thinks you like being on our Saintsational site Mr IanRush? You appear to be entertained by some of our threads and posters.............. S/S is such a fun family even though we fight and scap bitterly with each other at times!!

I find your posts on the Essendope thread most illuminating.................. keep 'em coming..................... I love going off on the tangents you lead us to, can be quite a thrilling ride for us here in the dickie seat.

Pleasing to see you posting in random thread on all things Saintly not just Essendope.................... if you aren't one already, careful you might become a Saint supporter and believe me IR that is a hard cross to bare at times.
Thank you for your kind words loris. Appreciate the support the SS crew have given me. No objection from me when the Saints do well.

Thank you again, kindly.

USELESS FACT: The WADA case against Essendon (in Sydney as well) is exactly 10 years to the day that Australia qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

mambo2706 wrote:I went over for the first game against Sydney. Can't remember the name of the hotel though. My only advice would be book early as I heard a lot of the hotels around Wellington were booked out.

Apart from loosing it was a great few days. The game itself had a totally different atmosphere to any other game I have been to.
Thanks mate... I've taken your advice & locked in accommodation straight away. A mate suggested being as close to the Waterfront as possible so I've booked us into what looks like an upscale hostel (www.setupmanners.co.uk) Only $70 each a night for a deluxe twin apartment in the CBD.

Sooooo pumped! Go Saints!

Animal Enclosure wrote:Just booked my flights to Wellington for what promises to be a wonderful weekend of commemoration, footy, froths & maybe even a hit of golf!

Can any Sainters who've made the trip in previous year recommend a hotel close to the ground, CBD, etc?

Thanks in advance

AE

We went last year and stayed at the Ibis Hotel. Try and pick somewhere along Featherstone Street or Lambton Quay as its a straight walk to the stadium of about 15 minutes.

And hopefully the Belgium Beer Garden will be the gathering point for Saints supporters to drop by and say hello.

Timetable of events out today

http://www.saints.com.au/NZ/wellington-activities
From Friday to Sunday
--------------------------------

NB: Exact times and locations to be confirmed

Thursday 23 April
St Kilda Football Club will arrive in Wellington.

Friday 24 April
8am - 10:30am: Joint Banner Making - Come and join both St Kilda and Carlton Cheer Squads in making the commemorative ANZAC Day Banner at Wellington Indoor Sports - Shed 1, Queens Wharf Wellington.

12.30pm - 2pm: Street Parade of WW1 vehicles, memorabilia, bands

1pm - 2pm: Open Training – see the Saints go through their paces prior to the big ANZAC Day clash at Westpac Stadium - enter via main gate.

6pm - 8pm: Interdenominational Church Services (Wellington Cathedral city venue)

8pm - 11pm: Reflective evening of projections, site specific lighting and projection show on the Dominion Museum Building and the Carillon

Saturday 25 April – Game Day
5.45am: Dawn Service

9am: Wellington Citizens Wreath Laying Service at Cenotaph Precinct

11am: National Anzac Day Service

1.10pm: St Kilda v Carlton at Westpac Stadium

5.30pm: Official Post Match @ Shed 6

There will be a post match function where St Kilda supporters can meet the players and watch the Collingwood v Essendon Anzac Day clash. To purchase your tickets head to http://www.saints.com.au/NZ/ticketing-information.

Sunday 26 April
10am - 12pm: Fan Day at The Basin Reserve – mix and mingle with Saints players and coaches after the big game – bring the family along for a great morning out. There will be heaps of activities and giveaways for the kids! The Basin Reserve – enter via Rugby St.

To learn more about Wellington, visit wellingtonnz.com

Armo and Tom show us around

and Shane's in on the promotion
Shane Savage ‏@ShaneSavage05
Exciting stuff tomorrow with the saints ready to unveil the 2015 ANZAC day Guernsey!!
2nd new jumper in 4 days

barneyboyz

Well done Saints, you will get a good following in NZ, it might take some very hard yards of course, but you're on a winner. Kiwis are a loyal mob and love a physical game

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:

saintbrat wrote:Armo and Tom show us around
part 2
http://www.saints.com.au/video/2015-03- ... ington-zoo