Saints homeward bound!!

Re: Saints homeward bound!!

tony74 wrote:
Dave McNamara wrote:This Elsternwick Park thing has to be a joke, right(?)

This is the long game we're playing. CV will eventually wake up to the mutual advantages of working with us.

JO all the way. 8-)

There's certainly still a long way to go. The major players are yet to enter the ring. Make no mistake, the Saints will make a big play for the Junction with some heavy artillery behind them. It just may be later rather than sooner.

Sounds very doubtful to me. The big players are big players because they want to make money and do make money. There is no money in the JO. It will be for cricket only. Why would they even mention Elsternwick if that was the case. I don't think we are trying to trick anyone.

You obviously go and watch training a fair bit but I reckon you may have overheard a false rumour because it makes no sense big players wanting to be involved in the JO.
The big players will make money Plugger, that's what they're waiting for. Just a little bit of clever manipulation of some ancient planning laws. Progress stops for no one. And the Saints will be waiting.

Well you say that but it still doesn't make any sense at all. For the big players to make money it needs games and lets imagine we live in fantasyland and they have footy there well history suggests only one person can make money on a footy ground that is privately owned and it wont be the tenant otherwise whats the point. If that is wrong than explain the other options. Its rubbish because common sense and history tells us its rubbish. And supporters don't know the real stories anyway.
Not every commercial development needs football matches attached to be commercially viable.

tony74 wrote:

This is the long game we're playing. CV will eventually wake up to the mutual advantages of working with us.

JO all the way. 8-)

There's certainly still a long way to go. The major players are yet to enter the ring. Make no mistake, the Saints will make a big play for the Junction with some heavy artillery behind them. It just may be later rather than sooner.

Sounds very doubtful to me. The big players are big players because they want to make money and do make money. There is no money in the JO. It will be for cricket only. Why would they even mention Elsternwick if that was the case. I don't think we are trying to trick anyone.

You obviously go and watch training a fair bit but I reckon you may have overheard a false rumour because it makes no sense big players wanting to be involved in the JO.
The big players will make money Plugger, that's what they're waiting for. Just a little bit of clever manipulation of some ancient planning laws. Progress stops for no one. And the Saints will be waiting.

Well you say that but it still doesn't make any sense at all. For the big players to make money it needs games and lets imagine we live in fantasyland and they have footy there well history suggests only one person can make money on a footy ground that is privately owned and it wont be the tenant otherwise whats the point. If that is wrong than explain the other options. Its rubbish because common sense and history tells us its rubbish. And supporters don't know the real stories anyway.
Your last sentence is the absolute truth. And you should know that more than anyone.

BackFromUSA wrote:
tony74 wrote:

JO all the way. 8-)

Not every commercial development needs football matches attached to be commercially viable.

Completely true but I stand by what I said. If they are making money we aren't or are making small amounts. When we have a function at crown casino they make huge money and we get a little. If we had facilities we owed we make 100% of the profits. If big players are involved in the JO, which doesn't make sense anyway, then they want the profits.

IMHO I think everyone needs to understand the difference between
the Junction Oval
and
the Junction Oval Precinct.

In this discussion they are not the same thing.
CV will get the Junction Oval. There is nothing to discuss here- it's a done deal with only the fine points left to be worked out.

IF St Kilda FC relocates to St Kilda it will not be to the JO but to the JO Precinct.
There will be no AFL games played on the JO - it will be exclusively used for Cricket.
St Kilda will get a training/admin base and maybe some 'social' facilities there.
They will not be playing AFL games at the JO.
Nobody, including the AFL, is going to tip in 200+ million dollars to turn the JO into a facility that will allow 25,000-30,000 people to watch an AFL game (ala Kardinia Park).
It's much cheaper for the AFL to purchase the Dome early and fix the tenancy deals there.

Well said MM

All of this media speculation about JO, Elsternwick Park, Moorabbin, Seaford is simply that, MEDIA SPECULATION. They have worked their timing well. The admin Dept at the club has been closed since before Christmas and there won't be anyone around until the 12th. By that time the story will be largely forgotten and any response from the club will only give the story oxygen.

The club has been fantastic at letting members & fans know what is going on of late and I'm sure they will do the same with this story/speculation if & when they have something to say !!

Dr Spaceman wrote:Well said MM Image

Mr Magic wrote:IMHO I think everyone needs to understand the difference between
the Junction Oval
and

CV will get the Junction Oval. There is nothing to discuss here- it's a done deal with only the fine points left to be worked out.

IF St Kilda FC relocates to St Kilda it will not be to the JO but to the JO Precinct.
There will be no AFL games played on the JO - it will be exclusively used for Cricket.
St Kilda will get a training/admin base and maybe some 'social' facilities there.
Nobody, including the AFL, is going to tip in 200+ million dollars to turn the JO into a facility that will allow 25,000-30,000 people to watch an AFL game (ala Kardinia Park).
It's much cheaper for the AFL to purchase the Dome early and fix the tenancy deals there.
Oh why oh why do you have to be so logical MM? :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink:

lefty

gringo wrote:Moorabin is too far gone. It is in the same state as seaford only 50 years more run down. The main building is all that remains and looks like crap. The limited car parking is now parkland so the place would hardly fit the players and staff. It's not an option either. Elsterwick is at least operational. It is capable of a vfl type crowd now with little upgrading and has room to develop.
Elsternwick park is crap, I hate playing at that oval. Its also a PITA to park. The surface is not that great, and neither are the rooms.
That whole thing would need to be knocked down and rebuilt from scratch, stuff that.

lefty wrote:
gringo wrote:Moorabin is too far gone. It is in the same state as seaford only 50 years more run down. The main building is all that remains and looks like crap. The limited car parking is now parkland so the place would hardly fit the players and staff. It's not an option either. Elsterwick is at least operational. It is capable of a vfl type crowd now with little upgrading and has room to develop.
Elsternwick park is crap, I hate playing at that oval. Its also a PITA to park. The surface is not that great, and neither are the rooms.
That whole thing would need to be knocked down and rebuilt from scratch, stuff that.

Well I would be 100% sure it would be but its more that there isn't any point. If we want to be close to that area we may as well move back to Moorabbin. Its about 10 minutes away.

According to Finnis, Elsternwick Park was never an option but the Junction is still a possibility.

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2015-01-2 ... ains-focus
Finnis scotched recent media reports speculating that the Saints had their eye on a move to Elsternwick Park, but indicated discussions regarding a potential presence back at the club’s original home, the Junction Oval, were ongoing

the Junction Oval
and

I don't think anyone thinks that it is about playing AFL matches there. What we want is a ground that has a high profile piece of real estate, somewhere close to the city...that's where our home playing ground is, good training facilities that are equal or better than other AFL clubs and an oval that is accessible to the public to watch training and especially events like GF training which will attract a few thousand. It would be a bonus to have a team shop and somewhere to gather to watch interstate and NZ games with like minded fans.

Collingwood trains at Gohsh's paddock next to the Lexus centre and gets huge exposure, Richmond gets the same from their punt road oval. Training on Fitzroy street where the team can run down and do their cool down at the beach, get among the cafes of St Kilda etc makes an attractive destination for young guys to move too. When FA agency starts to become more fluid, attractive environments are going to be important. To me living around inner bayside and training in St Kilda craps all over Seaford which is like some backwood in a poor part of Melbourne. Moorabin doesn't say winning to me these days.

the Junction Oval
and

I don't think anyone thinks that it is about playing AFL matches there. What we want is a ground that has a high profile piece of real estate, somewhere close to the city...that's where our home playing ground is, good training facilities that are equal or better than other AFL clubs and an oval that is accessible to the public to watch training and especially events like GF training which will attract a few thousand. It would be a bonus to have a team shop and somewhere to gather to watch interstate and NZ games with like minded fans.

Collingwood trains at Gohsh's paddock next to the Lexus centre and gets huge exposure, Richmond gets the same from their punt road oval. Training on Fitzroy street where the team can run down and do their cool down at the beach, get among the cafes of St Kilda etc makes an attractive destination for young guys to move too. When FA agency starts to become more fluid, attractive environments are going to be important. To me living around inner bayside and training in St Kilda craps all over Seaford which is like some backwood in a poor part of Melbourne. Moorabin doesn't say winning to me these days.

Most sessions are closed for a start and even when its open training no one goes. Richmond have trained at punt rd forever and it didn't stop them getting in huge debt. Its completely overated where you train and secondly we have been invited to the JO and CV have basically made it known we aren't wanted. If you want to try and train at a place we aren't wanted well its a huge risk. Something that proved no good 50 years ago. Players couldn't give a stuff about where they train if they get good money otherwise we wouldn't have lost Dal, BJ and Stanley who has to travel over an hour to training everyday. We need one facility and if cant be Seaford, which I still don't understand, then Moorabbin makes complete logical sense.

the Junction Oval
and

Most sessions are closed for a start and even when its open training no one goes. Richmond have trained at punt rd forever and it didn't stop them getting in huge debt. Its completely overated where you train and secondly we have been invited to the JO and CV have basically made it known we aren't wanted. If you want to try and train at a place we aren't wanted well its a huge risk. Something that proved no good 50 years ago. Players couldn't give a stuff about where they train if they get good money otherwise we wouldn't have lost Dal, BJ and Stanley who has to travel over an hour to training everyday. We need one facility and if cant be Seaford, which I still don't understand, then Moorabbin makes complete logical sense.

I think it is about creating a good corporate image. You can run a business from your garage but the big players put themselves out there. Like doing altitude training it might not be a huge difference, but it might help in attracting future players and sponsors to be part of a tight professional outfit. It's a bit like settling for okay when there are opportunities to gain momentum and push ourselves out there. Richmond for example were the worst performed team in 20 years but got on the front foot and with pride and momentum restored, dug themselves out. It also took investment to make punt road a decent place to train.

plugger66 wrote: Players couldn't give a stuff about where they train if they get good money otherwise we wouldn't have lost Dal, BJ and Stanley who has to travel over an hour to training everyday. We need one facility and if cant be Seaford, which I still don't understand, then Moorabbin makes complete logical sense.
I reckon you'd find most people care about where they work. It's not the only factor, but it is a factor. Continually saying it's not a factor does not make it not a factor.

kosifantutti wrote:
plugger66 wrote: Players couldn't give a stuff about where they train if they get good money otherwise we wouldn't have lost Dal, BJ and Stanley who has to travel over an hour to training everyday. We need one facility and if cant be Seaford, which I still don't understand, then Moorabbin makes complete logical sense.
I reckon you'd find most people care about where they work. It's not the only factor, but it is a factor. Continually saying it's not a factor does not make it not a factor.

So you think a player wouldn't come to us if we offered him 200k more than another club because we train Seaford? Its a very slight factor I suppose. Certainly never worried me when I worked at Telstra or telecom back in the day. Moved around all the time at work and not once thought of moving house to be closer to work. By the way I can only go by the players I have spoken to and whilst most would rather be closer to their house none ever thought of leaving because of Seaford. And it wasn't a factor for the 3 that just left because they now have long drives to other training venues.

Well when I worked at Telstra or Telecom back in the day I never thought of moving house either. But I did think about getting a job that was closer to home.

I don't know where Stanley, Dal and BJ live or lived, but I'd be amazed if location wasn't considered. Different people would weigh it up differently.

But if all other things were equal (which they never are) and I was coming from interstate and had to pick between the Saints and the Pies / Blues / Roos, I wouldn't be too keen on driving down to Seaford 3-4 times a week or living somewhere out in the sticks.

kosifantutti wrote:Well when I worked at Telstra or Telecom back in the day I never thought of moving house either. But I did think about getting a job that was closer to home.

I don't know where Stanley, Dal and BJ live or lived, but I'd be amazed if location wasn't considered. Different people would weigh it up differently.

But if all other things were equal (which they never are) and I was coming from interstate and had to pick between the Saints and the Pies / Blues / Roos, I wouldn't be too keen on driving down to Seaford 3-4 times a week or living somewhere out in the sticks.

They all live in and around Brighton. And still do. And you may want to live Mentone rather than Stkilda especially if you have kids and that would make Seaford just as closer if not closer to other clubs. You must remember most of these guys only go out maybe once a month on the drink. They can get good coffees in mentone. My daughter is 19 and she basically lives in Stkilda on the weekends. She stays in East Bentleigh though when she could live in Port Melbourne.

the Junction Oval
and

I don't think anyone thinks that it is about playing AFL matches there. .
Go back and read the beginnings of this thread.
That is exactly what is being proposed by some on here.
A 'boutique stadium' at the JO for us to play games at.

kosifantutti wrote:Well when I worked at Telstra or Telecom back in the day I never thought of moving house either. But I did think about getting a job that was closer to home.

They all live in and around Brighton. And still do. And you may want to live Mentone rather than Stkilda especially if you have kids and that would make Seaford just as closer if not closer to other clubs. You must remember most of these guys only go out maybe once a month on the drink. They can get good coffees in mentone. My daughter is 19 and she basically lives in Stkilda on the weekends. She stays in East Bentleigh though when she could live in Port Melbourne.

Farren Ray said he has moved to Brighton to be closer to the club but would love to go back to Junction. He said he liked the facilities at Seaford but misses when he could duck out to Bay Street for coffee with the boys etc. He said Seaford is very isolated.These days there is morning then arvo sessions, rehab, individual programs etc. Running back and forward to Seaford could become a grind. If I was a player I would prefer to live and train in inner bayside.

Geelong can attract players with their surf coast lifestyle and cheap real estate, Sydney has anonymity and lifestyle, same with queensland but with cheaper housing, Melbournes' big 3 teams have the big club appeal. We need to have something to make us attractive to potential players and the ones we want to keep. Having a strong identity helps that. A middling club that dwells in the back blocks of run down suburbs probably doesn't give us a whole lot of appeal.

No disrespect to the good people of East Benteigh but if you had a bigger income Port Melbourne looks a million times better. East Bentleigh is a great value suburb but it doesn't have a lot of appeal outside it's big family sized blocks.

#gosaintas

East Bentleigh is a dump

#gosaintas wrote:East Bentleigh is a dump
Don't tell Plugger.

Farren Ray said he has moved to Brighton to be closer to the club but would love to go back to Junction. He said he liked the facilities at Seaford but misses when he could duck out to Bay Street for coffee with the boys etc. He said Seaford is very isolated.These days there is morning then arvo sessions, rehab, individual programs etc. Running back and forward to Seaford could become a grind. If I was a player I would prefer to live and train in inner bayside.

Geelong can attract players with their surf coast lifestyle and cheap real estate, Sydney has anonymity and lifestyle, same with queensland but with cheaper housing, Melbournes' big 3 teams have the big club appeal. We need to have something to make us attractive to potential players and the ones we want to keep. Having a strong identity helps that. A middling club that dwells in the back blocks of run down suburbs probably doesn't give us a whole lot of appeal.

No disrespect to the good people of East Benteigh but if you had a bigger income Port Melbourne looks a million times better. East Bentleigh is a great value suburb but it doesn't have a lot of appeal outside it's big family sized blocks.

Why hasn't my daughter moved then? It would cost her nothing. And when did one player mean we should move back? Do you want me to quote 6 other players to prove my theory? It means nothing though. If I was a player I couldn't give a stuff where I trained as long as it wasn't more than 40 or 50 minutes from home. And I would love to know where the Hawks players duck out to. However you could be right. Its obviously effected them.

I cant believe where we train all comes down to coffee shops.

Why hasn't my daughter moved then? It would cost her nothing. And when did one player mean we should move back? Do you want me to quote 6 other players to prove my theory? It means nothing though. If I was a player I couldn't give a stuff where I trained as long as it wasn't more than 40 or 50 minutes from home. And I would love to know where the Hawks players duck out to. However you could be right. Its obviously effected them.

I think it comes down to lifestyle and the image we portray as a club. Even the momentum it creates. All the clubs that have gone from the bottom up have had a strong driving force making symbolic moves to show intent and gather others on the march forward. The players get caught up in the momentum too. You seem to be wanting to stand still and hope things just improve. The Hawks are trying to move because they have outgrown what they have. If you drive past the Hawks waverley base it looks high end and is surrounded by big mc mansions. It looks classy at least. Ours looks s*** and humble.

Quote your other players if you want. They probably freak that you'll post about them going against the club. Maybe you passion for Seaford makes them say what you want to hear. Your daughter obviously likes suburban life...how does that relate to the players?

I think it comes down to lifestyle and the image we portray as a club. Even the momentum it creates. All the clubs that have gone from the bottom up have had a strong driving force making symbolic moves to show intent and gather others on the march forward. The players get caught up in the momentum too. You seem to be wanting to stand still and hope things just improve. The Hawks are trying to move because they have outgrown what they have. If you drive past the Hawks waverley base it looks high end and is surrounded by big mc mansions. It looks classy at least. Ours looks s*** and humble.

Quote your other players if you want. They probably freak that you'll post about them going against the club. Maybe you passion for Seaford makes them say what you want to hear. Your daughter obviously likes suburban life...how does that relate to the players?

I have absolutely no passion for Seaford. Wouldn't live in the suburb if you paid me. I would train there though. And it must be a big thrill with the mansions in GW not that I have seen them and I work there twice a week. lets face it the hawks issue certainly counter acts the pies issue. Where is Melbourne in all this by the way? And im not quoting any player. Its a private conversation. I hope Farrin wasn't private. We will get star players if we pay them well. By the way how is Tullamarine going compared to Seaford. I would take Seaford over that place any day of the week.