Positives today.

Surely we can find some!

I'll start with Longer.

feel free to add something.

Re: Positives today.

Another game into the kids. Sinclair's alreader a ripper. Dunstan and Nillings will only improve with every game, same with McCartin. The benefits of games like this will probably only be felt in a couple of seasons.

Tom Morris thought geary was!! :roll: :roll:

Longer and Sinclair

I concur SP!

felix

Last week we had a good first quarter , this week we played a good first half , that's. An improvement , slowly but surely we build .

More reason for umpire hating. I think the way we played for a half was good. Carlton aren't as bad as their ladder position and with the team we had in we went for it. We played quick direct footy that shows it works if they keep it up. Young kids take time to develop skills, belief and resilience.

The kids are going to get better! I only hope the old Jiggster can be there to see them lift the cup!

felix wrote:Last week we had a good first quarter , this week we played a good first half , that's. An improvement , slowly but surely we build .
Agree, we aren't going to see 4 quarter efforts too often for awhile yet, at least we are seeing us comfortably winning quarters and halves… the consistency will come, we will flog teams like Carlton in a couple of years.

thejiggingsaint wrote:The kids are going to get better! I only hope the old Jiggster can be there to see them lift the cup!
Keep the faith, Jiggster!

Longer, Lonie and Sinclair were all really positive today. And Billings and Dunstan had some flashes of brilliance. There were some passages of play to be very proud of.

If by the end of this year we can run out at least 3.5 quarters strongly, next year will be even better ...

Some positives for me today:
Lots of tackling
Armitage is building consistency
Longer & Lonie super.
Roberton was decent again

The_Merchant

Longer and Leonie. I liked seeing billings get a lot of the ball, didn't use it that well though. I thought Geary was good except for three kicks. He had more positives than negatives for me. Bruce competed well.

If at first you don't succeed, sky diving is not for you.

- Lonie was really exciting - even Rioli like in some stuff. He will actually be reason to watch the team even when we are losing
- I liked the way we went for it in the last qtr with even Delaney pushing up - we got caught out the back a couple of times for goals but we didn't die wondering
- I don't think we got smashed today by any means. We were pretty competitive except for the 3rd qtr and junk time. There is a good player buy in and commitment
- Sinclair showed he has a real coolness about him. But needs to play more than one good qtr and be more accountable on his man.
- When we get on a roll we play some exciting footy that is good to watch - not too much flooding or rolling mauls
- Paddy Mac's marks stuck this week and I thought he was a great focal point in the first couple of qtrs.
- I can see Billings being a good mid once he gets used to the pace, endurance, pressure and brutality of playing as an AFL on-baller and builds up his body
- Without Roo we found some different routes to goal
- We've still got a lot of talent that can come into the team so if this is our worst, it ain't actually that bad.
- We'll walk away with a nice slab of cash again helping our finances

I liked Paddys game early. I cant believe they subbed him for Saad. At least Paddy had presence on the ground.

Longer looked like a potential top class ruck man
Sinclair and Lonie add some flair, dash and skill
Billings looked comfortable in the midfield
Ermitage coming through as a real leader
Roberton is back to his first years form, cool under pressure and not wasting a disposal.
Bruce is a beast

borderbarry wrote:I liked Paddys game early. I cant believe they subbed him for Saad. At least Paddy had presence on the ground.
Coach loves Saad in an irrational way.

The positive is we can play good footy for periods of the game.
Another pre season into our young players that will give them more strength to compete for longer will bring better results.

The cheque for playing in Wellington.

The positive is we can play good footy for periods of the game.
Another pre season into our young players that will give them more strength to compete for longer will bring better results.

seano1

Longer ...he`s a bit like an early Darren Jolley....some very good tap work and he will improve around the ground as he plays more
Lonie....quick thinker
Sinclair ...class act will only get better
Some of these and others will go back to the VFL at times to let others have their chance and build towards future years

Longer, Lonie and Sinclair were definitely positives.

saintbob wrote:Longer, Lonie and Sinclair were definitely positives.

Yep, They were my 3 as well.

Armo is the 4th highest possession getter in the AFL. That's a very good season so far, he always had some good traits but he's getting the tally up which was his only real knock IMO. Lonie is going to be something very special by the look of it. Sinclair has some special qualities and both were very inexpensive picks. As much as everyone is pissed off at the defence we actually lost it out of the centre. The defence held up pretty well. Last year we were decimated by injury back there and we have a pretty functional unit back there now. We could improve drastically with a couple of high quality mids. The forward line hasn't been this accurate since Plugger left. Bruce is right up there in the colman medal running and besides his bag he still just keep kicking his 2 goals every week.