Who is our No.1 Whipping Boy?

An article on afl website has one for each team.

Ours is Tom Lee.

I reckon that's out of date and according to SS it's 13

Re: Who is our No.1 Whipping Boy?

Friggin Shenton - cant even do Whipping boy properly

mordi

50% Geary
50% Schneider

What's the Point of it All?

Appears to be a few on here,in no order Schneider,Lee,Shenton,Geary,Siposs,cant really work out why but.Oh forgot Steven,he seems to cop a bit too

I hate this expression. A player crosses the white line they are already showing courage and commitment most of us can't even contemplate, to then start bagging one of your own is in inexcusable and I will argue this down with you every day of the week
If someone is wearing the colours they have my support.

Every player can, does and will make mistakes.

If any other player had been tackled by Max Rooke at the start of the 2009 GF it would not even be remembered but poor old Raph, that gets dragged out every time someone wants to start the knocking again.

fqf

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

Hate the concept.

Got a beef with someone playing, take it up with the selection committee.

If I even get a sniff someone is a whipping boy, I lavish praise all the more.

gilbert :twisted:

SainterK wrote:Hate the concept.

I must be misremembering past posts on cj and schneider then.

Rare is the fan that does not have some bias over certain players as we all see things differently and rank different pros and cons on different bases as well.

The whipping boy term is probably most applied to players that fans view and rank differently. For example i have ranked Ray higher than many. DIitto CJ.. and the list goes on.

We probably have had the most in the last few years. Gram, Raph, Dawson, Gilbert, Schneider, Eddy, Geary, Mini, Shenton, Lee, Siposs, Billy Longer, most of the picks we have had in the last three years that don't play regular footy. I think we might be the biggest %$#@ of fans. I think we should probably do a list of the good ones it will take less time to compile.

Riewoldt...well apart from the fact he was copping it too for a while last year
Fisher..well apart from some wanting him gone
Steven...he's hopeless and a pill popping drunk
oh i give up they all should be on the list. %$#en team of hacks.

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

Schneider.... without a doubt.

Whoever made up the list obviously doesn't read this forum.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

gringo wrote:We probably have had the most in the last few years. Gram, Raph, Dawson, Gilbert, Schneider, Eddy, Geary, Mini, Shenton, Lee, Siposs, Billy Longer, most of the picks we have had in the last three years that don't play regular footy. I think we might be the biggest %$#@ of fans. I think we should probably do a list of the good ones it will take less time to compile.

There's a difference between questioning a players position in the team or their ability versus them being a whipping boy.

Longer is nowhere whipping boy status. Eddy was a very average player that was somewhere between 25-30 on the list getting semi-regular games, producing next to nothing. His position was rightly questioned.

It's more players unfairly targeted no matter what their output or past achievements.. Shenton certainly falls into the category. Raph and Kosi own this thread IMO, two who I thought were genuinely good players and totally unfairly maligned.

Well I saw a player at the local domination parlour so I will go out on a limb and say he is the new whipping boy.

It's gotta be Schneider. He tore us to shreds in the 2005 PF, then plays for us a couple of years later. Missed absolute sitters in the 2009 GF. FFS!!! :twisted:

Rare is the fan that does not have some bias over certain players as we all see things differently and rank different pros and cons on different bases as well.

The whipping boy term is probably most applied to players that fans view and rank differently. For example i have ranked Ray higher than many. DIitto CJ.. and the list goes on.
You must be

Never called anyone a hack or a dud.

I may question selection, but that's not whipping is it?

Like Curren, nothing against him but I'm not sure he'll make it. If selected tomorrow, ill cheer him.

You must be

Like Curren, nothing against him but I'm not sure he'll make it. If selected tomorrow, ill cheer him.

Im with SK on this. Why knock a player? I think Longer should be dropped and his form is overrated. Would never say he is a hack or a dud.

Yeah, same, but don't reckon they'll drop Longer vs Hawks.

And on that note, let's bring back Beau Maister!

terry smith rules wrote:If any other player had been tackled by Max Rooke at the start of the 2009 GF it would not even be remembered but poor old Raph, that gets dragged out every time someone wants to start the knocking again.
But Raph took so long and he was the only person at the stadium that didn't see the tackle coming.

sMarty_saints

Oh I hate this thread...but have to put my 2 cents in. I was at the Wellington game and there was a so called Saints supporter who just bagged everyone that did a mistake. I mean it was a terrible game but he was getting on my nerve....even the guys next to me, who he was sitting in front of said...you punch first and we will join in (very quietly of course). Anyway I turned around and said "I would like to see you do better" and then he went on well I paid my money and I can say whatever I like...but then he was pretty quiet after that even though it was the last quarter. I mean we did play terrible and there were some pretty ordinary decisions made and at times it was really frustrating but to absolutely bag them and every second word swearing was too much to handle for me....do it at home so we can't hear ya mate! You call that supporting...don't think so!

Hope it was no one on here!!!

I cheer all Saints players too.

I took the "whipping boy" term more to be on judging a player of not being worthy to be in the 22, when they were....rather than abusing a player.

Sobraz wrote:
gringo wrote:We probably have had the most in the last few years. Gram, Raph, Dawson, Gilbert, Schneider, Eddy, Geary, Mini, Shenton, Lee, Siposs, Billy Longer, most of the picks we have had in the last three years that don't play regular footy. I think we might be the biggest %$#@ of fans. I think we should probably do a list of the good ones it will take less time to compile.

There's a difference between questioning a players position in the team or their ability versus them being a whipping boy.

Longer is nowhere whipping boy status. Eddy was a very average player that was somewhere between 25-30 on the list getting semi-regular games, producing next to nothing. His position was rightly questioned.

It's more players unfairly targeted no matter what their output or past achievements.. Shenton certainly falls into the category. Raph and Kosi own this thread IMO, two who I thought were genuinely good players and totally unfairly maligned.
Clinton Jones and Dawson could give them a run for their money.

sMarty_saints wrote:Oh I hate this thread...but have to put my 2 cents in. I was at the Wellington game and there was a so called Saints supporter who just bagged everyone that did a mistake. I mean it was a terrible game but he was getting on my nerve....even the guys next to me, who he was sitting in front of said...you punch first and we will join in (very quietly of course). Anyway I turned around and said "I would like to see you do better" and then he went on well I paid my money and I can say whatever I like...but then he was pretty quiet after that even though it was the last quarter. I mean we did play terrible and there were some pretty ordinary decisions made and at times it was really frustrating but to absolutely bag them and every second word swearing was too much to handle for me....do it at home so we can't hear ya mate! You call that supporting...don't think so!

Hope it was no one on here!!!

There was a guy bagging Sinclair at the game versus the dogs. Sitting 50 meters around from the cheer squad near the front. He was nearly busting a blood vessel screaming what a s*** player he is and calling him a retard and stuff. It was the most embarrassing display I have seen in years. Then there was the drunk couple who sat in the second row screaming abuse at nearly every player in our side and swearing near kids and making loud racist comments about our own players. Called Milera and Indian and told him to go back to the call centre. We have some feral idiots that follow our club.

Citywest.