POLL: Should we wear our Aboriginal guernsey this week also?

Should we wear our Aboriginal guernsey to support Goodes?

Poll ended at Thu 06 Aug 2015 8:28am

Yes
30%
No
70%

Total votes: 99

Re: POLL: Should we wear our Aboriginal guernsey this week a

Furphy wrote:I don't recall anyone 'booing' Michael Long and he was very outspoken in regards to indigenous Australian issues.
Good point

Furphy wrote:I don't recall anyone 'booing' Michael Long and he was very outspoken in regards to indigenous Australian issues.

Firstly he was booed after dobbing in Monky I think and secondly that was about all he did whilst he played. Anyway it still isn't the point. Goodes thinks its racially motivated so now its time to stop. Why do something a person has requested we don't do?How does it make people feel better?

If Goodes thinks it's racially motivated maybe we should do all we can to let him know that it isn't

Bernard Shakey wrote:I have never booed anyone in my life and do not understand at all what pleasure you'd get out of it!

This is all about the lowest common denominator. The lowest common denominator is the bogan!
It is racist bogans who are booing!
Bernie I like your stuff normally but this is apologist dribble
Let's not pander to the left wing politically correct flogs who would have you believe getting out of bed right side and not left automatically means you're a Nazi fascist
There are those who want to politicise booing footballers (which has been part of the theatre of football since day 1), sadly these people feel the need to demonstrate their righteousness and sense of "higher evolution" over the rest of us.... problem is this type of stunt damages and takes away from the true discussion which should be about the scourge racism is and how it isn't and ought not be tolerated. But no, it's not really about discussing racism, it's about band wagoners demonstrating they're "above all this" because they know how to hijack a national past time and turn it into a politically correctness exercise. Sadly the agenda is driven by a leftist media (think Q and A ABC), and the vast majority are force fed their "opinions" from Herald a Sun.
Good luck to you Teflon, this has nothing to do with left or right wing, it's all about the bogan proportion of footy supporters who are basically racist and think it's their right to say whatever they like at the footy. The same people who vilify people on public transport for just being a different colour or speaking a different language.

The only media I've seen say it's not racist is Andrew Bolt and Alan Jones, and who are their audience? None other than the bogans!

Bump.

21 votes to 100.

Please vote. You can only vote once*

*unless you have multiple nicks.

ROLS-LEE

Maybe we can were an anti rapist top. Where was Milne 's support on this. Media actually laughed at it several times and Milne had to put up with it for most of his career. Even effected his family. No support. He did not seek public attention. Never did the lap of honour at the GF either.

People and the media need to get of the moral high ground and stop making something out of it and assuming that it's something.

All of this attention on Goodes is going to make it worse. Not better. He needs to look at himself and just play football. Leave political agendas next year when you retire as the sporting arena is not the place for it.

ROLS-LEE wrote:Maybe we can were an anti rapist top. Where was Milne 's support on this. Media actually laughed at it several times and Milne had to put up with it for most of his career. Even effected his family. No support. He did not seek public attention. Never did the lap of honour at the GF either.

People and the media need to get of the moral high ground and stop making something out of it and assuming that it's something.

I cant ever remember the media laughing at the booing of Milne. And if Milne had come out and said it effected them then the media would have supported that IMO. And we wanted the booing to stop for Milney surely? Just because it didn't doesn't mean we should say bad luck to goodes. 2 wrongs don't make a right.

Bernard Shakey wrote:I have never booed anyone in my life and do not understand at all what pleasure you'd get out of it!

This is all about the lowest common denominator. The lowest common denominator is the bogan!
Let's not pander to the left wing politically correct flogs who would have you believe getting out of bed right side and not left automatically means you're a Nazi fascist
There are those who want to politicise booing footballers (which has been part of the theatre of football since day 1), sadly these people feel the need to demonstrate their righteousness and sense of "higher evolution" over the rest of us.... problem is this type of stunt damages and takes away from the true discussion which should be about the scourge racism is and how it isn't and ought not be tolerated. But no, it's not really about discussing racism, it's about band wagoners demonstrating they're "above all this" because they know how to hijack a national past time and turn it into a politically correctness exercise. Sadly the agenda is driven by a leftist media (think Q and A ABC), and the vast majority are force fed their "opinions" from Herald a Sun.
Isn't the Herald Sun a fairly right-wing newspaper driving a hard agenda? So you're saying that the agenda is set my the leftwing, but the majority of Australia regugitates their force-fed right-wing opinions? One need only look at the forum activity recently to prove that point.

I also agree that this boo/don't boo controversy distracts from the deeper issue of racism, and that Adam Goodes would certainly prefer people to boo at him in the standard 'footy' way than everyone feel oppressed that they can't boo at all. I don't think that is an issue coming from the more reasonable element of the left-wing but more the unrefined screaming hysteria merchants. Let's face it, both sides of the political spectrum have them.

But Bernie is right, its mostly idiot bogans that boo Goodes to the degree he cops it these days, and while they may not think of themselves as racist, a lot of the reasoning that I've seen on this forum is based on a hatred that goes far beyond disliking a flog or a dirty player or a politician.

And to do it now, is just really the role of the contrarian without the common decency to know when he is bullying someone.

ROLS-LEE

ROLS-LEE wrote:Maybe we can were an anti rapist top. Where was Milne 's support on this. Media actually laughed at it several times and Milne had to put up with it for most of his career. Even effected his family. No support. He did not seek public attention. Never did the lap of honour at the GF either.

I cant ever remember the media laughing at the booing of Milne. And if Milne had come out and said it effected them then the media would have supported that IMO. And we wanted the booing to stop for Milney surely? Just because it didn't doesn't mean we should say bad luck to goodes. 2 wrongs don't make a right.
Pretty sure he did say it effected his family and kids at school.

Anyway footy is not tennis and if I want to boo or cheer anyone I will and won't be told otherwise.

Rols Lee, you may NOT cheer the players. If caught doing so you will be escorted from the ground and have your head dunked in the toilets.

No cheering! At all!!

plugger66 wrote:I cant ever remember the media laughing at the booing of Milne. And if Milne had come out and said it effected them then the media would have supported that IMO. And we wanted the booing to stop for Milney surely? Just because it didn't doesn't mean we should say bad luck to goodes. 2 wrongs don't make a right.
Like I've said before, it wasn't the booing of milne that was the problem, he was flat out slandered week in week out (even by a coach once)... the afl did nothing, and I'm sure if he'd come out and complained it would've only gotten worse.

St Lenny

I personally don't want to see anything in the media about St Kilda. Let is die. Constantly giving it energy just keeps it going. Time to move on.

Good luck to you Teflon, this has nothing to do with left or right wing, it's all about the bogan proportion of footy supporters who are basically racist and think it's their right to say whatever they like at the footy. The same people who vilify people on public transport for just being a different colour or speaking a different language.

The only media I've seen say it's not racist is Andrew Bolt and Alan Jones, and who are their audience? None other than the bogans!
Booing isnt racist stop being alarmist, populist and any other 'ist' Bernie. You know it isnt rascism so stop pretending and generalising that all people who boo are bogans and racists - booing has happened at football for years and is part of the theatre of the game. Big deal.

IF Goodes has a 'perception' that booing is racism that needs to be corrected and put into perspective or him. IF he feels thats too much to handle then fair enough retire. But lets not start going down the path of pandering to everyones 'perceptions'' cause that has no end.

Racism is what was said to Goodes over the fence by the young girl and it was rightly condemned.
Enough political correctness gone mad!

Austinnn wrote:

Isn't the Herald Sun a fairly right-wing newspaper driving a hard agenda? So you're saying that the agenda is set my the leftwing, but the majority of Australia regugitates their force-fed right-wing opinions? One need only look at the forum activity recently to prove that point.

I also agree that this boo/don't boo controversy distracts from the deeper issue of racism, and that Adam Goodes would certainly prefer people to boo at him in the standard 'footy' way than everyone feel oppressed that they can't boo at all. I don't think that is an issue coming from the more reasonable element of the left-wing but more the unrefined screaming hysteria merchants. Let's face it, both sides of the political spectrum have them.

But Bernie is right, its mostly idiot bogans that boo Goodes to the degree he cops it these days, and while they may not think of themselves as racist, a lot of the reasoning that I've seen on this forum is based on a hatred that goes far beyond disliking a flog or a dirty player or a politician.

And to do it now, is just really the role of the contrarian without the common decency to know when he is bullying someone.
Why is the Hun right wing? have you read it lately??
Aside from that the rest of your post as usual makes absolutely no bloody sense what so ever other than attempting to take the the oh so high and mighty moral ground without any grounding in logic.
Not everyone who boos at football is a beer drinking red neck - its existed in the game forver.
Goodes has a 'perception' thats its suddenly aimed at his skin color. That IMO is absolutely ridiculous but its his perception. That doesnt mean we all should stop boo ing because Adam has a bad perception.
And what is 'the standard footy booing way' you speak of? again, more nonsense.
Leave your emotion and grand standing out if the topic and look at it for what it is and is not - and its not racism.
Sick to death of any topic these days morphing into 'oh it must be a racism thing' its a clear cop out and now used by many to prove they are somehow the 'righteous' ones
What happened to Goodes earlier in the year was racism and was dealt with in the appropriate manner.

citywest

No f****** way should we wear our Aboriginal jumper for that f****** moron. Goodes is a f****** sook. This has nothing to do with racism. I will BOO the f****** s*** out of him.

<note to those that have reported this post. Assessed as not making any racist comment. Assessed as being compliant with the swear rule (that the majority voted in) and there is no abuse to another poster. Does admin like this post? No. Does admin agree? Absolutely not. Does this breach any rule. Unfortunately not. Although a careful eye will be kept on the poster for trolling as this is quite an inflammatory post>

citywest wrote:No f****** way should we wear our Aboriginal jumper for that f****** moron. Goodes is a f****** sook. This has nothing to do with racism. I will BOO the f****** s*** out of him.
I have never called you a troll.
I don't particularly like Goodes.
But
Can you explain how all the f... stuff strengthens your argument?

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

citywest wrote:No f****** way should we wear our Aboriginal jumper for that f****** moron. Goodes is a f****** sook. This has nothing to do with racism. I will BOO the f****** s*** out of him.
I would reply, but I have to go down the street for some pesticide.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

I dislike agreeing with you. Feels dirty.

Nice touch by the Demons with the wrist bands

ROLS-LEE

Austinnn wrote:Rols Lee, you may NOT cheer the players. If caught doing so you will be escorted from the ground and have your head dunked in the toilets.

No cheering! At all!!
LOL someone must have told some parts of our cheer squad this.

Back on topic. The evil guys on WWE get booed plus more each week.

Some very weird people out there and I'm glad I will never have the pleasure....

Absolute hard arses.

It wouldn't kill some of you to show a bit of lurve. You might even get some back.

mullet wrote:Isnt it Red round. I'm not sure I understand what Red round means.
It's Press Red for Ed.

He wasn't happy today. Funny to watch!

#colliwobbles
#6inarow
#dryJuly
#awfulAugust

Booing isnt racist stop being alarmist, populist and any other 'ist' Bernie. You know it isnt rascism so stop pretending and generalising that all people who boo are bogans and racists - booing has happened at football for years and is part of the theatre of the game. Big deal.

IF Goodes has a 'perception' that booing is racism that needs to be corrected and put into perspective or him. IF he feels thats too much to handle then fair enough retire. But lets not start going down the path of pandering to everyones 'perceptions'' cause that has no end.

Racism is what was said to Goodes over the fence by the young girl and it was rightly condemned.
Enough political correctness gone mad!
Never said all who boo are racist, they are bogans though and most bogans are racist, even if they don't know it!

ROLS-LEE

Pretty sure I just watched an afl ad on foxtel with booing on it. Promoting the doggies essendope game.

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

ROLS-LEE wrote:Pretty sure I just watched an afl ad on foxtel with booing on it. Promoting the doggies essendope game.
This argument has been blown out of the water so many times it's arse hasn't got a drop of moisture left on it.

Some people are really slow.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.