Kid dressed as an umpire

Re: Kid dressed as an umpire

Whatever the circumstances, I thought it was nice. The morons who abuse umpires are just that - morons. It takes a "special" kind of person to abuse a 10yo who wants to be an umpire - that is - part of our great game.

Austinnn wrote:
HitTheBoundary wrote:Good luck to the kid.

Takes a lot of guts to go against the mainstream.

bigred wrote:They were sitting two rows in front of me on Saturday.

They had pretty much every single media outlet hovering.

It would appear his dad is mates with one of the umpires...

I dunno, it just doesn't seem right. But each to their own.
f***wit of an old man living his life and projecting through his innocent kid.

What

A

f******

Loser
That's a dumb thing to say. Maybe the kid wanted to dress as an umpire. Good for him. His dad's mate is one, so he can probably see the human side that most football fans like to think doesn't exist.

His dad would know that he'd cop a bit, so I'm sure he didn't push his kid to do that.

But hey maybe he should have dressed as a fat bogan instead and then be accepted by the population.
Why do you need a national audience to do it?

It's the parent/guardian who makes the decision for his kid to speak before a national audience.

I have issues with using kids in the media.

You're not as smart as you think you are Austinn.

Armoooo wrote:
dragit wrote:Autism is okay with me.
I'm not sure if you're joking or not but the thought did cross my mind although he didn't seem to display the characteristics you'd usually expect to see (going purely by stereotypes as I haven't had much exposure to any autists myself).

If there were no cognitive issues this guy is going to be in for a tough time at high school.
I'm joking most of the time, but not on this occasion... Having a lot experience here.

There is a huge range for people on the autism spectrum... From rocking in the corner to "a bit quirky".

As soon as they threw to this kid performing umpiring moves in full kit I thought straight away that this isn't your regular shy kid going to the footy.

But good on him and his dad, they appeared to be having a ball & I didn't feel there was any kind of deriding at all from the commentators & the half time interaction was all class IMO.

perfectionist wrote:Whatever the circumstances, I thought it was nice. The morons who abuse umpires are just that - morons. It takes a "special" kind of person to abuse a 10yo who wants to be an umpire - that is - part of our great game.
It was contrived and a wank.

What

A

f******

Loser
Seems like you know a lot about projection.

HitTheBoundary wrote:

What

A

f******

Loser
Seems like you know a lot about projection.
Nah, it's just all about umpiring...nothing about the attention. Innocent kid old enough to make up his own mind.

Could be worse.

Could've been wearing a Rolf Harris Jake The Peg outfit.

Austinnn wrote:

What

A

f******

Loser
That's a dumb thing to say. Maybe the kid wanted to dress as an umpire. Good for him. His dad's mate is one, so he can probably see the human side that most football fans like to think doesn't exist.

His dad would know that he'd cop a bit, so I'm sure he didn't push his kid to do that.

But hey maybe he should have dressed as a fat bogan instead and then be accepted by the population.

It's the parent/guardian who makes the decision for his kid to speak before a national audience.

It's Austin with three n's.

Anything i say may be used against me in a court of law !

good on him (poor bastard).
obviously loves his footy but can't play for sheet (poor bastard).
good on dad for supporting him and getting him decked out in yellow (poor bastard).
and good on channel 7 for giving him his 15 minutes (poor bastard).
will be congratulated at the next school assembly (poor bastard).
will be ridiculed by the students for the rest of the year (poor bastard).

desertsaint wrote:good on him (poor bastard).
obviously loves his footy but can't play for sheet (poor bastard).
good on dad for supporting him and getting him decked out in yellow (poor bastard).
and good on channel 7 for giving him his 15 minutes (poor bastard).
will be congratulated at the next school assembly (poor bastard).
will be ridiculed by the students for the rest of the year (poor bastard).
Your assuming he is a financially challenged young man borne out of wedlock !

Yeah thats what I am getting at. I reckon his old man is a ch 7 exec or something like that. It all seemed too staged for me.

I heard that he's actually a midget actor, hired by Rupert Murdoch and fed drugs by Dank.
There was also something about aliens and 9/11, but I missed that bit.

SaintPav wrote: Why do you need a national audience to do it?

Thanks for telling me, Pav. Most people aren't, I find. I would have thought that type of comment more the realm of more insecure posters than yourself, but OK.

Regarding your point, I reckon if the kid wants to do it, what's the big deal? The parent could have said "No, you'll get too much attention" but maybe he was the type to let his kid make his own decisions and learn from them.

I'm just being devil's advocate, you might be right. Maybe the parent used his kid like a pawn in his umpire promotion exercise on his mate's behalf, or maybe his kid is precocious attention seeker, or maybe they just like being weird and controversial.

Who am I to judge?

Using kids in the media? Perhaps, but no different than decking your kid out in club face paint and merch to fly the flag.

Whatever though, I don't mind, or care. Just another kid enjoying the footy, that's good enough for me. And we will need umpires when he grows up too, so if he is brave enough to stand up to thousands of people who think they know better than him, then more power to him. I don't think he is a loser at all.

HitTheBoundary wrote:Image

I heard that he's actually a midget actor, hired by Rupert Murdoch and fed drugs by Dank.
There was also something about aliens and 9/11, but I missed that bit.
Poor kid is definitely traumatised now after being at eye level with Ling. Lucky he didn't get to personally meet Darcehole so some consolation I guess

Austinnn wrote:
SaintPav wrote: Why do you need a national audience to do it?

Thanks for telling me, Pav. Most people aren't, I find. I would have thought that type of comment more the realm of more insecure posters than yourself, but OK.

Regarding your point, I reckon if the kid wants to do it, what's the big deal? The parent could have said "No, you'll get too much attention" but maybe he was the type to let his kid make his own decisions and learn from them.

I'm just being devil's advocate, you might be right. Maybe the parent used his kid like a pawn in his umpire promotion exercise on his mate's behalf, or maybe his kid is precocious attention seeker, or maybe they just like being weird and controversial.

Who am I to judge?

Using kids in the media? Perhaps, but no different than decking your kid out in club face paint and merch to fly the flag.

Whatever though, I don't mind, or care. Just another kid enjoying the footy, that's good enough for me. And we will need umpires when he grows up too, so if he is brave enough to stand up to thousands of people who think they know better than him, then more power to him. I don't think he is a loser at all.
No worries Austinnn. I wasn't having a go at the young lad at all.

I take your point and probably was over the top.

Austinnn wrote:

What

A

f******

Loser

It's Austin with three n's.
Cheers, Harry

I think the kid is carrying on a little better than a couple of posters. Its strange that he likes umpires but who cares. At least he likes sport which is better than some other options.

speaking of projection.....

He's actually Curly's son.

saintspremiers wrote:He's actually Curly's son.
Plugger is curlys son?

Mind = blown

I heard the kid is a cheat at marbles.

Perfect to be an umpire

Easy career path to go down to be honest. He can ruin any number of games coming up through the ranks and avoid scrutiny and keep getting paid.

CURLY wrote:Easy career path to go down to be honest. He can ruin any number of games coming up through the ranks and avoid scrutiny and keep getting paid.
Underrated post

i think dragit was closest to the pin.