Booing goodes

Re: Booing goodes

The Recruit wrote:The booing was hardly noticeable at the game. He was booed kicking for goal, as were all swans players kicking for goal. A few boos at the start but let's remember he is a flog........regardless of race
I was near the Moorabbin wing on level 3 and didn't hear ANY booing of Goodes except for
- the dodgy 50 he milked
- when he took 3 steps and took on (Newnes?), got tackled but not free kicked
- mild boos when he had a set shot

But nothing wrong with any of that.
The salary cap cheat twins got more booing in their set shots.

The whole thing seems a beat up.
Did Ch 7 have a mike near a bar on L1?
Last edited by Enrico_Misso on Mon 31 Aug 2015 12:34am, edited 1 time in total.

ralphsmith

I watched it on tv and could not notice any boos for goodes.

With that said, If anyone booed goodes for staging or receiving dodgy free kicks I wouldnt mind.

What is dead may never die, but rises again harder and stronger.

WindSister wrote:Letting old judgements from old threads taint your invective in THIS THREAD
aren't you Simon !!!
This is about booing not your resentments on a posters opinions of Israels treatment of other human beings.

Might wanna back up a bit Champ.
Not at all. I was accused of hoping a person had been evicted for booing, when that is not what I wrote. I corrected the error in that posters reading of what I wrote. I am entitled to defend my posts when they are taken out of context. It has nothing to do with the past or any other thread. I stand by everything I wrote in this thread.

Obviously the other poster thinks that such anti-social behaviour is acceptable. I don't. Simple.

...fair enough.
Not how it comes across though.

Seems more attack the poster than defence of a position to me.

I am defending my position after being attacked. And here is the basis of my defence.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-02-27/a ... r-campaign

“Sometimes supporters can get caught up in the moment but there are lines that should never be crossed and we welcome this campaign to remind spectators to always do the right thing by both their team and the crowd around them,” Mr Frawley said.

Chris Scott said he was very pleased to be part of the campaign.

“As coaches we want our players to be passionately supported from the stands, but we don’t want spectators going over the top and using abusive or insulting language, especially in front of children,” Mr Scott said.

“Spirited barracking is fine, but there’s no place for anti-social behaviour and vilification at AFL matches, or anywhere else for that matter.”

and then from Mark Evans ...

“In addition to raising public awareness, we are also monitoring trends and looking to develop a standardised complaints process as well as consistent terms and conditions for all AFL and Club memberships,” Mr Evans said.

“People should be in no doubt that being a face in the crowd no longer provides an anonymous platform to act inappropriately or to vilify players, umpires or other spectators. Everyone who goes to the football deserves a safe and welcoming environment in which to enjoy the excitement of our game.”

i'm out.
... the issue at hand was
( attacking a poster for past differences of opinion on personal sensitive matters)

U say u didnt.
I think u did , unconsciously if not intentfully.

a re reading (of those posts) might be useful , it might not.
... none the less , having ones head in the sand seems to be a condition common to us all.

Go well.

The Age is reporting a Shytney spokesperson as saying they have no problem with the crowd behaviour.

So let's put this false media beat up thread to bed.

Enrico_Misso wrote:The Age is reporting a Shytney spokesperson as saying they have no problem with the crowd behaviour.

So let's put this false media beat up thread to bed.
Well that's not good for Rupert and AFL360 tomorrow. They will need a new agenda.

I wasn't there.
Seems I missed a good chance to clear my throat.

Its strange really. I have been a huge advocate of people being absolute morons if they boo Goodes when we play them. I was at the game on level 2 and didn't hear any noticeable booing apart from isolated incidents which is ok even by those completely against the booing. Maybe I wasn't listening hard enough going by some of the comments here but I didn't really notice it at all. Those who did boo from the start have some real issues though. How does it help anyone booing from the start? I will answer that. It doesn't and those people are morons.

Thank goodness we have this to avert away from the importance of how crap we are

The Fireman wrote:Thank goodness we have this to avert away from the importance of how crap we are
Afraid so. We're a bit like Kevin Sheedy after a 10 goal loss. Talk about anything but how crap the team was, divert focus and hope like the hell the team improves next week.....

In our case we play WC, in Perth, on the rebound, needing to win to keep their home final in tact. I think we need another diversion

ROLS-LEE

I was not one of the booers I did hear it around me but really I didn't care. To be honest as long as people aren't swearing while I take my 5yrs old twin girls to the footy I don't care. Maybe I'm a bit desensitized due to the constant remarks that Milney was copping through his career and he never got the same support from the media circus.
I'm actually a little bit over the whole saga. People need to get off their moral high ground and stop calling people morons etc if they boo. Until it becomes a crime and becomes an offense then people should be able to do as they please within the law.

I was there, standing on level 1. Couldn't believe it - grown men booing the moment Goodes touched the ball then explaining to each other very self-congratulatory about how they weren't racist, he'd brought it on himself, and 'good old holmesy'. I honestly hadn't realised with this issue that the booing was so blatant or so obviously racist. I was ashamed. I don't know how he's managing to front up week in, week out in the face of this or what the hell is to be done about it. Is it really just a case of 'ignore it and it'll go away'? Do we have to wait until he quits the game? These were adults - Saints supporters! I wonder what message they think they're sending to their children. Not one of respect, that's for sure. I hate watching a game surrounded by opposition supporters but yesterday that's where I went and stood in the end - cowardly of me I supposed, like putting your fingers in your ears and going 'lalala'. But I was so ashamed.

Waltzing St Kilda wrote:Again, why boo for any reason when you must know it's a hot-button issue right now?
When it can be easily misinterpreted?

Imbeciles.
yes, lets not get out of bed in fear we are misconstrued.
entirely miss the point

so everyone should now just shut up cause Adam's says youre a racist?

what next.

Yep.

Just boo on the inside. Everyone probably knows someone who is not from the mainstream, there are families with down syndrome children, there are victims of abuse, there are rape victims etc. You are living in a society where it isn't acceptable to make remarks that could upset these people because we know that they are damaging to those people. There are rules in societies for a reason. Holding something in that could be offensive to others might be very hard for some but the consequences are that you are offending others. It's no different than taking a piss on the train. If you feel like doing it, go for it but know there is going to be people judging you for it.

HarryM

ROLS-LEE wrote: I'm actually a little bit over the whole saga. People need to get off their moral high ground and stop calling people morons etc if they boo. Until it becomes a crime and becomes an offense then people should be able to do as they please within the law.
Yes I'm with you, and reading all these comments I can see where the atmosphere at the game was very tense.

All it needed was for some careless idiot to light up a cig, and the whole place would've ignited.

Thank God for small mercies :D

I called Jetta a seagull during the game, hopefully I am not vilified in the media or on the back page of the Herald Sun as a racist, because you know, all people like Andrew Maher or Gerard Whateley has to do is proclaim any action as racist and apparently it is so.

I am pretty scared to voice an opinion now in case anything I say at any time can be construed as racist.

Goodes got a dodgey 50 and I booed, so I suppose that proves I am a racist, especially after vilifying Jetta with my race hate about his footballing ability.

roskilde wrote:
BackFromUSA wrote:Bloke standing at the back of aisle 37 Level 1 was loud and proud booing Goodes at his first touch and was the ONLY one ... the crowd turned to him and gave him heaps and he replied by calling each one including Adam Goodes a C word despite their being kids in the rows immediately in front of him. A few minutes later he was gone from that area. I hope evicted. But probably in search of a part of the crowd where he could boo in a pack. After that the only booing in our area related to Goodes was when Newnes tacdkled him and was caught cold and threw a few elbows ... and then the cheap 50 he extracted by moving off his line to play on and sucking our player and the umpire into paying the 50.

IMHO the people booing Adam Goodes were non existent in our area (talking about 3 bays of members with seats) ... exvept over football matters that we boo week in week out.
You hope someone was evicted from the footy for booing????? What wonderful work you've done comrade. We must identify these evil counterrevolutionaries and have them shamed. I'm actually dissapointed you didn't find the appropriate authority figure and have him thrown out!!

What a wonderful utopia awaits us if only the people who boo at the football for the wrong reason are finally destroyed.

Thought BFUSA was hoping a foul mouth imbicile who was booing Adam Goodes for no other footballing reason than him being Goodes and also calling everyone a see you next Tuesday was evicted, not just for booing.

But maybe Simon is a racist, I'll just have to check with the moral arbiters of society, Gerald Whately and Andrew Maher have to say about it. If they deem hoping someone gets kicked out for being an abusive iodiot is racist, well, it must be, because they and their mindhive say it is so.

So look out Simon, you may be labelled racist because well it just is.

BackFromUSA wrote:Bloke standing at the back of aisle 37 Level 1 was loud and proud booing Goodes at his first touch and was the ONLY one ... the crowd turned to him and gave him heaps and he replied by calling each one including Adam Goodes a C word despite their being kids in the rows immediately in front of him. A few minutes later he was gone from that area. I hope evicted. But probably in search of a part of the crowd where he could boo in a pack. After that the only booing in our area related to Goodes was when Newnes tacdkled him and was caught cold and threw a few elbows ... and then the cheap 50 he extracted by moving off his line to play on and sucking our player and the umpire into paying the 50.

IMHO the people booing Adam Goodes were non existent in our area (talking about 3 bays of members with seats) ... except over football matters that we boo week in week out.
No, unfortunately he didn't go. That same idiot threatened me when I took issue with him. I complained to staff, who did nothing and threatened to throw me out. Then Security arrived and insisted on ticking me off and threatening to throw me out. When I insisted that they should leave me alone and do their job, The Police arrived and were just as useless. At least they convinced the moron to move somewhere else, but still got upset when I referred to him as 'The Moron', suggesting I was disrespectful!

ROLS-LEE

Linton Lodger wrote:

IMHO the people booing Adam Goodes were non existent in our area (talking about 3 bays of members with seats) ... except over football matters that we boo week in week out.
No, unfortunately he didn't go. That same idiot threatened me when I took issue with him. I complained to staff, who did nothing and threatened to throw me out. Then Security arrived and insisted on ticking me off and threatening to throw me out. When I insisted that they should leave me alone and do their job, The Police arrived and were just as useless. At least they convinced the moron to move somewhere else, but still got upset when I referred to him as 'The Moron', suggesting I was disrespectful!
Its not against the law to boo and the police can do nothing. Swearing is a different and he should have been evicted for that.

Pleasing

I was in Level 1 Aisle 34 and the booing was definitely happening from Goodes first touch. It was just a few vocal idiots mind you mostly standing behind the seats (close to the bar) but a couple of the seated members too. Mostly those in the seated area stopped after the first couple of times as they realised they weren't getting any support and a fair few filthy looks from their fellow members. But kudos to the guy a couple of Bays across who amid the booing stood up turned around and with admirable passion told the " embarrassing idiots to shut up" actually seemed to have the right effect. Probably more of us could have followed his lead earlier. Club was embarrassed on the field yesterday but those supporters booing Goodes embarrassed us all, made for a really pretty crappy day at the footy.

Let me in

I didn't hear any booing, certainly not from anybody sitting near me.

Bunk_Moreland wrote:I called Jetta a seagull during the game, hopefully I am not vilified in the media or on the back page of the Herald Sun as a racist, because you know, all people like Andrew Maher or Gerard Whateley has to do is proclaim any action as racist and apparently it is so.

I am pretty scared to voice an opinion now in case anything I say at any time can be construed as racist.

Goodes got a dodgey 50 and I booed, so I suppose that proves I am a racist, especially after vilifying Jetta with my race hate about his footballing ability.
No but there is the chance that it will be taken that way so it's not a good idea to do it. I remember when I was young I worked for Myer and there was an issue at the time where women were intimidated back of store because there were men cat calling and ogling the "hot chicks" that came out back. There was a memo went round saying not to do anything that could be encouraging the impression of sexism. Many of the old guys called the women "love" and "pet" and pretty innocuous things but they were instructed by management that even those terms were not to be used. It nearly caused a riot by some who thought their civil rights were being denied because they weren't allowed use names that were acceptable in their minds. Sometimes you just can't understand why they don't want it but need to just accept it.

Remember old Alan Mc Alister being dumb founded Nicky Winmar couldn't get a thicker skin after being called a "black dog" Black c%$#" and plenty of other derogatory terms. He went as far as defending the Collingwood fans by saying he would get treated better when he acted more like a white person. It sounds almost comically naive now but it's like they have been given a bit more respect but there is a point they should stop at and just shut the f^%$ up.

I think saying you are pretty scared is trivialising it and not constructive at all by the way.

I called Jetta a seagull during the game,
Shame on you B_M............. that is terrible........ I'm reporting you to the RSPCA! :wink: :wink:

PS.................Incase anyone says I'm being a racist........... I would also report B_M to the RSPCA if he called Brent Harvey a Seagull :P

Where will it end :roll: :roll:

ROLS-LEE wrote:
Linton Lodger wrote:

Its not against the law to boo and the police can do nothing. Swearing is a different and he should have been evicted for that.
So all their advertising of reporting anti social behaviour is a crock.
Seriously the isle attendants are either too young or too old to do anything.
The security only appears at the end of the game to stop us all running on the ground.
I agree that anyone shouting the C word should be evicted and why wasn't he.
We are lucky that most football attending people behave themselves. I often wonder what would happen if a fight broke out, and hope I never find out. But security at the ground is non existent unless you try to bring in a red rooster meal then look out