Maverick Weller

ROLS-LEE

Re: Maverick Weller

The Linton Street Flash wrote:Mav shouod be made captain of the club next year - he's the most obvious choice IMO, he'd be a brilliant skipper. Make it happen Saints!
I'd be happy with Co captains. Mav and Geary. Don't need to be the best player to be captain. Just need to have respect of your playing group and lead from the front.
Last edited by ROLS-LEE on Sun 24 Jul 2016 12:40am, edited 1 time in total.

LOVE his passion.
And he has strong hands.
His commitment inspires the team.

SuperSaint

He is a gem. A real toughnut with very good skills. Super pickup.
Last edited by SuperSaint on Sun 24 Jul 2016 1:10am, edited 1 time in total.

I didn't realise how strong his hands were, he absolutely clunked a few tonight.

The Linton Street Flash

Mav shouod be made captain of the club next year - he's the most obvious choice IMO, he'd be a brilliant skipper. Make it happen Saints!

Look again it's the Flash!!
lintonstreet

WellardSaint wrote:
StPeter wrote:I thought tonight was his best game for the club. So tough and hard at the ball!
He took about 6 contested marks ! strong hands.
And how about that chase down and tackle of the doggie player on the flank ! he was thinking "not on my watch, you don't :twisted: "
haha I love it!
We were in Medallion club tonight and the chase down was right in front of us.
Just knew he'd nail him as he's so bloody determined.
Kid's as tough as they come and I know the small forwards love having him around.

lintonstreet

The Linton Street Flash wrote:Mav shouod be made captain of the club next year - he's the most obvious choice IMO, he'd be a brilliant skipper. Make it happen Saints!
If he was in consideration I'd be very happy.
No nonsense player who just wills himself to win every contest

noddy04

Hes my favourite player :)

CarlD

An absolute wrecking ball! His tackling was ferocious - it looked like he was on a personal mission to single-handedly brutalise the whole Bulldogs team. Loving his work.

Locals322

He has taken the next step, which is such a relief, because no one else was taking it.

Weller has gone up two notches this year. He is like the new 'Aaron Hamill'. Love his strong hands.

aaron82 wrote:Absolutely love this bloke not the most talented player on our list but he is so passionate about our club and his footy. A bomber supporting mate of mine views him as an integral part of our club and says he is a bit of a barometer. When Mav plays well we generally do.

He is one of those guys that gets that absolute most out of himself and the young boys on the list should look up to him and emulate his passion for the club. A real team player who I enjoy watching play. In a few years when we are back up contending I hope his football keeps improving as he could become an important finals player in my view
.I reckon he has plenty of talent and is right up there.

Is the number 17 guernsey available?

felix

He scares me , I think he is a bit psycho.

Locals322 wrote:He has taken the next step, which is such a relief, because no one else was taking it.
Why don't you take the next step and go away you tool.

Was more consistent yesterday I thought. Found ways to impact the game regularly rather than just cameo's with a goal or mark. He's becoming a genuine marking forward target with great hands. He's got a big body so that does take time to get the tank that can lug that around for 4 quarters. Another that is now past that 50 game mark and means he knows the business of AFL and what is required to have impace. Seems a really passionate clubman and was fired up yesterday.

felix wrote:He scares me , I think he is a bit psycho.
Guy has a serious case of white line fever. Off the field nicest bloke you'll meet.

At training - an animal

If you wanna see people have huge demands of their team mates

Weller, Geary, Riewoldt

Set a high bar and bake anyone not getting it done on the track

lintonstreet

BigMart wrote:At training - an animal

If you wanna see people have huge demands of their team mates

Weller, Geary, Riewoldt

Set a high bar and bake anyone not getting it done on the track
Couldn't agree more - not scared to give his teammates a bake at training when they need it.
Great leader

ROLS-LEE wrote:
I'd be happy with Co captains. Mav and Geary. Don't need to be the best player to be captain. Just need to have respect of your playing group and lead from the front.
+ 1.
Id be happy with Geary/Mav as co-captains.
Then Seb can take over in a few years time when Geary retires.

RODOS

8856brother wrote:
Locals322 wrote:He has taken the next step, which is such a relief, because no one else was taking it.
Why don't you take the next step and go away you tool.
hahah brill

goods

seen this: http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/t ... 5aa05c8843

From memory Kelly Slater and Tiger Woods both used to do these visualisations..

Wombat15

After reading Emma Quayles last article on who should be the next captain of the saints. I think mav would be a fantastic choice. Now without sounding deep and meaningful but i think he represents everything RIcho wants in his players and game plan. Players who give it 110% each week, pressure pressure pressure, do the team thing, willing to sacrifice and obviously work your arse off to reap the rewards. it would also be a fantastic story to have as your captain. someone who was delisted, almost out of the league, given a second chance and worked his way to the top. I think he also offers the team barometer factor. Now im slightly old fashioned with a captain. i think they need to be someone like Lenny Hayes. Throw their body into the contest, lay a big tackle/bump and even set up or kick a crucial goal. you want someone whos going to rev the rest of the team up with their actions on and off the field. But i would be interested to hear others thoughts.