Jaxons come on down

The Recruit

Re: Jaxons come on down

jaxons wrote:
SMS wrote:Fair enough. Well is pick 10 for steele and pick 27 possible?
Berry, Kerr or Gulluci surely one if them still there at 27??
Pick 10 for Steele is not in the conversation.
Will be pick 46 this year or next years 2nd round pick that is it.
Unless other GWS players are involved which will change the scenario.
Any indication of others...maybe give us where they would play...?

ace wrote:
kosifantutti wrote:
felix wrote:The girl involved is very upset .she stated she thought she was a nine. Devastated.
If she thought she was a nine and he said she was a three. Does that mean he rooted her?

#mathsjoke
If she thought she was 9 and he thought she was at least 3, it still makes him a paedophile.
Ace, making jokes about child sex abuse is not funny. What's a bit of a joke to you, is not at all funny to some others. At the very least that's an insensitive comment. Personally, I find it offensive.
Totally off topic in this thread I know and apologies but can't let that one go through to the keeper.
If you want to respond, let's do it via PM rather than in the thread to which it bears no relevance.

I wonder what out next deal is??? Any ideas?

SaintWodonga wrote:I wonder what out next deal is??? Any ideas?
Pretty clear from Jaxons that we are working on a few, including at least another from GWS....
Certainly Interesting week coming up... we must be looking at a few KPDs ... wonder if any are close

I hope we are staying in the ear of Marchbank and his agent as well... !
Deal is not done until it is done... and Carlton will be very reluctant to give up pick 5

manoffewwords

prwilkinson wrote:Luke Breust Jaxons?
Luke Breust told his best mate from Tassie last week that he still loves the Saints and would love to play for them. Barracked for them till Hawthorn came along.

So He's Keen.

MOFW

Say something once why say it again?

If he sticks with the Hawks another year he'll be a restricted FA next year

bigred wrote:
Jacks Back wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:Acres is bigger than Ross. So not sure Ross can be described as 'unique' because of his size. Anyway it is the silly season and lots of words get thrown around to fill column space...
supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

That sounds atrocious.
I think it sounds quite precocious.

Righto Jaxons, who's the next target???

jaxons wrote:
Won't be coming to us.
Cool.

manoffewwords wrote:
Luke Breust told his best mate from Tassie last week that he still loves the Saints and would love to play for them. Barracked for them till Hawthorn came along.

So He's Keen.

MOFW
because we're short of small forwards??

He's a strong possibility to go to the Gold Coast as part of the O'Meara trade, I would have thought. The Suns want players not picks.

minneapolis wrote:
bigred wrote:
Jacks Back wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:Acres is bigger than Ross. So not sure Ross can be described as 'unique' because of his size. Anyway it is the silly season and lots of words get thrown around to fill column space...
supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

That sounds atrocious.
I think it sounds quite precocious.
I don't think you said it loud enough.

Saint_J

so is steel a lock in or still in the works?

The Recruit

He is a lock

I can see it starting to fall into place for the Saints. But still some important questions remain.

Steele wants to come to us but at what price? Logic says a second round future pick would be the legal currency.

Can't think the Giants would want more. Even if they did they won't get it.

But something tells me there might be more in the wind than just Steele. We currently have pick 10 that will probably slide to 12 after everything is taken into account.

Would it make sense to offer our highest pick for two players from GWS if we could package them up?

If that falls over and we end up going to the draft, a guy like Scrimshaw would be the best fit for us IMO if he lasted until it was our turn. A guy who can play back, forward and potentially in the midfield.

But maybe the club is thinking we need to develop a specialist KPD. In which case Corr might be in our sights as a developing KPD and consequently a better option.

So Steele and Corr for pick 10? Or are we giving up too much?

damienc wrote:I can see it starting to fall into place for the Saints. But still some important questions remain.

Steele wants to come to us but at what price? Logic says a second round future pick would be the legal currency.

But something tells me there might be more in the wind than just Steele. We currently have pick 10 that will probably slide to 12 after everything is taken into account.

Would it make sense to offer our highest pick for two players from GWS if we could package them up?

If that falls over and we end up going to the draft, a guy like Scrimshaw would be the best fit for us IMO if he lasted until it was our turn. A guy who can play back, forward and potentially in the midfield.

But maybe the club is thinking we need to develop a specialist KPD. In which case Corr might be in our sights as a developing KPD and consequently a better option.

Corr is no chance. so giving up 10 would be for Steele and a 2nd rounder.

Our pick 10 presently worth 1395 points.
GWS has picks
15 (1112pts)
16 (1067pts)
32 (584pts)
34 (542pts)
52 (246pts)

Giving up 10 to get Steele and pick 32 would be valuing Steele at close to pick 23.
A bit rich I think.
However it is likely that GWS will collect a few more round 2 draft picks before the trade period is over.
Personally I think we are better to keep pick 10 in a strong draft and trade next years 2nd rounder.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08
jaxons

ace wrote:
damienc wrote:I can see it starting to fall into place for the Saints. But still some important questions remain.

Corr is no chance. so giving up 10 would be for Steele and a 2nd rounder.

Our pick 10 presently worth 1395 points.
GWS has picks
15 (1112pts)
16 (1067pts)
32 (584pts)
34 (542pts)
52 (246pts)

Giving up 10 to get Steele and pick 32 would be valuing Steele at close to pick 23.
A bit rich I think.
However it is likely that GWS will collect a few more round 2 draft picks before the trade period is over.
Personally I think we are better to keep pick 10 in a strong draft and trade next years 2nd rounder.

How many times can I say that pick 10 is not in the conversation for Jack Steele?

jaxons wrote:
How many times can I say that pick 10 is not in the conversation for Jack Steele?
Obviously not often enough.
And I don't think the points that a pick is worth has any relevance to us unless there's a father son we need to bid on. We'd only care about what player would be available at pick 10 against what player would be available at any pick we downgraded to. Given that we aren't giving up 10 it doesn't matter.

How many times can I say that pick 10 is not in the conversation for Jack Steele?[/quote]

Yes you did. But let's set the record straight for the purposes of accuracy.

You also said this: "Unless other GWS players are involved which will change the scenario."

Which is exactly what i was referring to.

I think next year's 2nd rounder will probably have to do it unless we can snag a pick 30ish somehow.
Longer?

Thesaint127

Apparently the saints trading team are confident of landing Steele for pick 46. if they play hardball it is a possibility if no then for sure future second rounder. but apparently we haven't even offered future second rounder for steel yet!

Playon

Could be anyone Con. If we want 3 picks inside 30 and Steele. Even if we used next years second rounder for Steele

Eg split 10 into 2 picks
trade 48 and a player for another inside 30

Keep 10
Trade out 2 good players for 2 picks inside 30 (or one very good one eg Billings)
Next years second for Steel or
trade 47 and a player for enough to get Steele ( or hope that gws will take 48)

Lots of options but all involve trading out

Not sure that Billy will be the only one or even if he is to be traded
Last edited by Playon on Sun 09 Oct 2016 4:27pm, edited 1 time in total.

Thesaint127 wrote:Apparently the saints trading team are confident of landing Steele for pick 46. if they play hardball it is a possibility if no then for sure future second rounder. but apparently we haven't even offered future second rounder for steel yet!
Pick 46 already pick 47 (316 points) due to Brisbane getting an end of round 1 priority pick.

A swap of picks 10 and 15 may be of interest to GWS.
Present value 1395 - 1112 = 283 points

This swap plus pick 47 would give GWS 599 points approximately pick 31.
But then they would probably need to move pick 47 on as they don't need 3rd round picks given the number of first round picks or equivalents on their list.

Playon wrote:Could be anyone Con. If we want 3 picks inside 30 and Steele. Even if we used next years second rounder for Steele

Eg split 10 into 2 picks

Keep 10
Trade out 2 good players for 2 picks inside 30 (or one very good one eg Billings)

Where do you get the idea that we would even consider trading out Bilings?

We wouldn't get close to what we wanted given where he is at.

Illogical.

Playon wrote:Could be anyone Con. If we want 3 picks inside 30 and Steele. Even if we used next years second rounder for Steele

Eg split 10 into 2 picks

Keep 10

If want to split pick 10 presently worth 1395 points you would go to Gold Coast.
They already have
4 (2034pts)
8 (1551pts)
22 (845pts)
23 (815pts)
25 (756pts)
28 (677pts)
41 (412pts)
59 (158pts)
Now pick 10 is likely to slip to pick 11 (1329pts) or pick 12 (1268pts) or even pick 13 (1212 pts) due to academy queue jumping.
Now Gold Coasts 2nd round picks (22, 23, 25, 28) could climb or slip depending on how often two or more picks are used to get academy players.
Their value does not increase or decrease that much.
You would be pushing to get Gold Coast to agree to picks 25 and 28 (1433pts).

Another way to gather a second round pick (conditional on not using it to get Steele) would be to trade next years second round pick for Gold Coast's pick 28 say.