Training today

lewdogs

Re: Training today

Pretty encouraging. If you throw Freeman and White into a best 22, which at their best I think they both are, then it gets very interesting. Players like Dunstan and Savage may find themselves on the outer, and have to improve even more!

borderbarry wrote:Yipper, none of our new players impressed? You mentioned Ed Philips, then said nothing about him.
Very raw and gangly. But if you put a no.12 on his back there's an unbelievable resemblance to pre season 2000. Time will tell.

borderbarry wrote:Yipper, none of our new players impressed? You mentioned Ed Philips, then said nothing about him.
to be honest - I don't yet recognise them all. Plus with the glare and being so far away. I will rely on Tony giving us a run-down. I was looking for Jack Steele - but think he was inside. Koby Stephen was out there and trained very well. Bloke by the name of Ben McGlynn went alright too!! Did all the traianing with the boys - must still have the bug.

Rick88

tony74 wrote:Great to see a few at training today. Think there were six or so! Generally Monday, Wednesday, and Friday out on the park pre season. All welcome.
Is there a general time frame as well Tony for these days?

the dome

Saints belief and hard yards

Freeman running, wow. Fingers crossed that the journey to Germany has reaped a good harvest. It's just great to hear that the Freeman is moving so well. Along with Brandon White impressing Pre-Christmas it's sounding positive. :)

yipper wrote:Should have had the dog with me - would that have counted 7 then Tony??

In any event - I was the dapper looking gent originally standing next to Aussie Jones!!
yipper and his dog

Thanks, it was a great read.

Thanks Yipper. Absolutely fantastic. Much appreciated - as it is to anyone who posts a training report.

It does feel as though there is a bit of a gee up about this season doesn't it......

Thanks mate. Much appreciated.

Good stuff. Thanks for the post. I've been hankering for a bit of footy like a drug addict lately!

Friday

First time this prep can I remember them all being out there on the grass. Mind you some just did laps. Hugh's on track putting in the miles and hes happy with the progress. Jack Steele will be in full training mid Jan, doing some fast work around the oval at the moment. Roo was there, not bad considering! Carlisle was involved in match simulation so no probs there. Geez Longy can move, reminds me a bit of Gilbert McAdam .
Try to get there next Wed if you can, you'll be impressed.

8bloggs

tony74 wrote:Friday

First time this prep can I remember them all being out there on the grass. Mind you some just did laps. Hugh's on track putting in the miles and hes happy with the progress. Jack Steele will be in full training mid Jan, doing some fast work around the oval at the moment. Roo was there, not bad considering! Carlisle was involved in match simulation so no probs there. Geez Longy can move, reminds me a bit of Gilbert McAdam .
Gilbert McAdam was a great player for us so let's hope Long will emulate him!

If White, Freeman and Long play some games this year that really opens up competition for spots.

spiral3

got down to training today and stayed around for a couple of hours
I'm no expert and there is a lot happening, multiple groups and generally at a fair distance from where I was standing

but here were some observations for what they're worth

light duties (laps and shorter runs)
Roo, J Steele, Savage, Goddard, Brown
Steele not as big bodied as I had expected

mixed duties (some drills, some running)
Hickey, Carlisle, J Steven (working very hard), Dunstan (looked fit - running well)

Irish guys - went well, Ray Connellan stood out a bit more, moved really well, a fair bit of toe and skills pretty good, kicking looked quite reasonable
Seemed to have a very positive attitude, keen to work and improve
he played defence a bit in one of the game simulation type drills and looked to get a fair touch up by Tim Membrey,
his attacking game looked good though, real dash, maybe some work to do on defensive side
also kicking under pressure will need work, getting boot to ball quicker probably required

leadership seemed strong, lots of direction and trying to improve systems etc
Seb, Mav, Geary, Armo, Montagna (very coachy) and Newnes vocal

a fair few of the drills seemed to be in pretty heavy congestion, lots of players in a small amount of space

Billings - looked lean and fit, was everywhere, lots of possies in the game drills. his field kicking is very very good
I still worry about his contested ability, nice if he could improve that side to add to his excellent outside work
If he gets sat on in a game I wonder if he would be able get much ball

Rice - very nice kick, kicks low and hard over short distances

Gresh - getting a fair bit of instruction, his movement and run is fantastic

Sinclair - big fan, smart user

Newnes - sharp and switched on

Joey - heaps of footy

Seb - very confident, big fit unit, finds space in congestion

Blake - moving well, kicking seemed generally very good

Paddy - looked pretty lean and mobile, getting a fair bit of ball - roaming a bit

Membrey - pretty good in traffic, sharp in front of goal (no surprises)

K Stevens - lots of ball, often looking to take on tacklers

Longer - working on marking a bit

Freeman - did the full session, didn't notice him too much but was in amongst it which was good to see

always interesting to hear some of the player nicknames, caught a few I hadn't heard before (correct me if I'm wrong Tony)
Jack Newnes - Jill
J Bruce - Juice
Seb Ross- bass (as in Bass Strait) - I think???
Minchington - meatball

There was a young tall fella there, maybe a dragon or something? Tall blonde kid with long hair -- Tony?

as mentioned, lots going on so hard to follow everyone, especially if working on the far side

yipper wrote:... then they went into a full match simulation which was really very hard fought and highly contested. Standouts were Freeman, Ross, Armo, Webster and Blake Acres. Freeman trained very strongly and is moving freely. He was a very good player in this little scratch match...
Firstly Yipper, like Con, I admire your fashion sense. :D Secondly, I also wish to thank you for this thread. :D

I just want to confirm from the above paragraph that you wrote re Freeman....
a full match simulation which was really very hard fought and highly contested
Freeman running strongly is great stuff, but the Skunks saw that too.

However... full-on match simulation... this is what we've all been hanging out and hoping for!!! :D :D :D (The fact that he also played well is a further bonus... though I'm firmly in the camp that has no doubts about his actual footballing ability. :D )

8bloggs wrote:
tony74 wrote:Friday

Gilbert McAdam was a great player for us so let's hope Long will emulate him!
We've just gotta find him a local girl though, so he doesn't get pressured to move to Brisbane.

Spiral..... The blonde kid is from the AIS.

spiral3

tony74 wrote:Spiral..... The blonde kid is from the AIS.
thanks Tony, this kid - Tom De Koning?
http://websites.sportstg.com/club_info. ... D=42073149

There's a man who has done his research.

Thanks to everyone who reports back on training- it's always interesting to read.

I don't have guys like Freeman and White currently in my best 22, so reading that they are training the house down and putting their names up for consideration makes me genuinely excited about our 2017 prospects with so much emerging talent.

cheers for th info guys ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage

St Loxton

Thanks for the reports guys much appreciated.
I try and have a break from this site after the drafts, like a moth to a naked flame i am though.

Go you Sainters!!!

Anybody making it to the open xmas training session today?

WellardSaint wrote:Wonderful report, yipper ! it's heartwarming to see that sort of news in the off-season, when we all have mixed feelings about summer, missing footy.
I admire your dedication, Sherlock Holmes !

I second all of this. Great reports and thanks for the info. Very encouraging for all Saints supporters. Great to hear about Freezer. Really hope he can put his injury concerns behind him and live up to his potential.

spiral3 wrote: Seb Ross- bass (as in Bass Strait) - I think???
Would be (phonetically) See-bass - Bass is often a nickname for Sebastian