Have Our Supporters Become the Softest in Victoria?
-
- Saintsational Legend
Have Our Supporters Become the Softest in Victoria?
When it's the ANZAC round and we can only draw around 32 thousand on a Sunday afternoon home game against Geelong, then it's not looking good, is it?
This evening Richmond vs Melbourne drew a blockbuster crowd of 85,000, in the wet weather. Melbourne and Richmond, FFS!
To all those people who stay on their couches at home to watch it on television, get out and get some oxygen into your lungs, you absolute FOX Footy worms!
If our club can't get some on field success in the next year or two, we are bloody stuffed if our own supporter base can't even get out to cheer the team.
"Let us go forth a while and get better air in our lungs. Let us leave our closed rooms. The game of ball is glorious" - Walt Whitman
This evening Richmond vs Melbourne drew a blockbuster crowd of 85,000, in the wet weather. Melbourne and Richmond, FFS!
To all those people who stay on their couches at home to watch it on television, get out and get some oxygen into your lungs, you absolute FOX Footy worms!
If our club can't get some on field success in the next year or two, we are bloody stuffed if our own supporter base can't even get out to cheer the team.
"Let us go forth a while and get better air in our lungs. Let us leave our closed rooms. The game of ball is glorious" - Walt Whitman
-
- Saintsational Legend
Re: Have Our Supporters Become the Softest in Victoria?
NO! (they have not)
St Kilda forever ( God help me)
-
- Saintsational Legend
After winning two straight and then playing a top four team like Geelong and all we can draw is a little over 32,000; it would suggest many of our supporters are softer than ice cream.thejiggingsaint wrote:NO! (they have not)
-
- Saintsational Legend
One could say the same thing about Colondud the week before. Just coming off an interstate win (against one of the 2016 grand finalists) up against a side of kids, and the gate was what? 36k?
-
- Saintsational Legend
Yes, that was a pissweak effort from the Film Army. Why do they not turn up? Are they addicted to FOX Footy and glued to their living room couches? Of course the Filth Army and Bummers will come out in their droves for the battle of the mediocre today. I really resent how only those two teams get the privilege of playing on ANZAC Day. I went to see the Saints in a couple of lockouts on Anzac Day against both of those respective clubs back in the 80s. It's lot of malarkey how they claim only those two clubs invoke the ANZAC spirit.thejiggingsaint wrote:One could say the same thing about Colondud the week before. Just coming off an interstate win (against one of the 2016 grand finalists) up against a side of kids, and the gate was what? 36k?
-
- Saintsational Legend
I go to many footy games, not just Saints games. I see the same sort of negative and PW stuff coming from other supporters when their side isn't on top as I do from some Sainters. Our club doesnt hold the patent on "soft supporters by ANY means!
- White Winmar
- Saintsational Legend
It's why I love this forum. How many footy sites quote Voltaire, Orwell, Whitman and Bingle with such regularity? Just love it. Sainternist the clubhouse leader with Whitman for this year. I did quote Aristotle earlier, but I think my finest work was quoting Andrew O'Keefe (apocraphyl).Sainternist wrote:When it's the ANZAC round and we can only draw around 32 thousand on a Sunday afternoon home game against Geelong, then it's not looking good, is it?
-
- Saintsational Legend
Get your head out of the blue sky jiggler.thejiggingsaint wrote:I go to many footy games, not just Saints games. I see the same sort of negative and PW stuff coming from other supporters when their side isn't on top as I do from some Sainters. Our club doesnt hold the patent on "soft supporters by ANY means!
We had won 2 on the trot. Thy had won 4 on the trot. Beautiful autumn weather and only 33K.
If you think that's fine then I feel sorry for you.
Unless the problem is Jihad. It's not a great venue compared to the G. Food prices are a rip off and I hate the closed roof when it's warm outside. Also, the game wa live on channel 7 and clearly plenty of fans CBF.
FYI we played Richmond on Anzac Eve a few years back and got a good crowd at Etihad.
We've done well losing prime slots at a whim.
-
- Saintsational Legend
Junior footy for a hell of a lot of people Sunday arvo.
-
- Saintsational Legend
Exactly!!!! I wish people would get this. Sunday games are very difficult for families, especially those who are supporting the next generation of playersCURLY wrote:Junior footy for a hell of a lot of people Sunday arvo.
- stevie
- Saintsational Legend
Can someone give me more info on this? Curious to know why they dont play Saturday or, at the least, Sunday morning? Is it a lack of suitable ovals and they have to share?CURLY wrote:Junior footy for a hell of a lot of people Sunday arvo.
-
- Saintsational Legend
SP "get my head out of the Blue sky" ?? What? and join YOU? In "gloomanddoomville"? are you out of your mind? Just why would I do THAT? No need to "feel sorry" for me either.... dont want your "sympathy" ( ) nor do I require it.
-
- Saintsational Legend
Stevie, I went to see my Grandson in the under tens on Sunday morning at Ashwood Oval, and there were tons of kids there waiting to play.... its like a darn conveyor belt!
-
- SS Life Member
All our games are Sunday. Saturday is Auskick.stevie wrote:Can someone give me more info on this? Curious to know why they dont play Saturday or, at the least, Sunday morning? Is it a lack of suitable ovals and they have to share?CURLY wrote:Junior footy for a hell of a lot of people Sunday arvo.
My youngest and I arrived at half time (he played at 12.30 in woop woop). The other half went with my oldest to his 3.15 game. They watched the last quarter at home on tv.
The older they get, the later in the day they play.
So we bloody hate our Sunday fixture ...
- Enrico_Misso
- Saintsational Legend
- Location: Moorabbin Chapter of The Royal Society of Hagiographers
Twilight Zombie Zone timeslot.
Play the game on Anzac day at the G and there would have been 70,000
The rest of Australia can wander mask-free, socialise, eat out, no curfews, no zoning, no police rings of steel, no illogical inconsistent rules.
They can even WATCH LIVE FOOTY!
- stevie
- Saintsational Legend
Cheers guys. so why does this Auskick take over Saturdays? Does anyone play at night? MY son is under 10's up here this year, first game was last weekend. Ok i know its Qld and all but there are still a lot of kids playing aussie rule up here each weekend.SemperFidelis wrote:All our games are Sunday. Saturday is Auskick.stevie wrote:Can someone give me more info on this? Curious to know why they dont play Saturday or, at the least, Sunday morning? Is it a lack of suitable ovals and they have to share?CURLY wrote:Junior footy for a hell of a lot of people Sunday arvo.
My youngest and I arrived at half time (he played at 12.30 in woop woop). The other half went with my oldest to his 3.15 game. They watched the last quarter at home on tv.
The older they get, the later in the day they play.
So we bloody hate our Sunday fixture ...
My sons first 4 games are Sat morn, either 9 or 10 am. During the year we will have a couple of Friday night games under lights and a couple of Sunday mornings(which I love btw).
- Spinner
- Saintsational Legend
Sainternist wrote:When it's the ANZAC round and we can only draw around 32 thousand on a Sunday afternoon home game against Geelong, then it's not looking good, is it?
That's what happens when you invest into a south east region miles away from the city - you build supporters but it's too far to generate revenue from them.
- The Fireman
- Saintsational Legend
-
- Saintsational Legend
Mrs Palmolive??The Fireman wrote:I use Palmolive
- The Fireman
- Saintsational Legend
gender bias ?satchmo wrote:Mrs Palmolive??The Fireman wrote:I use Palmolive
-
- Saintsational Legend
Get a room, you two!The Fireman wrote:gender bias ?satchmo wrote:Mrs Palmolive??The Fireman wrote:I use Palmolive
-
- SS Life Member
My apologies but work came first this week. As it does for those of us whose name does not end in Packer.
But you are right. An exceptionally poor crowd when you consider the previous two contests between the clubs.
- The Fireman
- Saintsational Legend
we have one...come on in.Sainternist wrote:Get a room, you two!The Fireman wrote:gender bias ?satchmo wrote:Mrs Palmolive??The Fireman wrote:I use Palmolive
-
- Saintsational Legend
saintspremiers wrote:Get your head out of the blue sky jiggler.thejiggingsaint wrote:I go to many footy games, not just Saints games. I see the same sort of negative and PW stuff coming from other supporters when their side isn't on top as I do from some Sainters. Our club doesnt hold the patent on "soft supporters by ANY means!
We had won 2 on the trot. Thy had won 4 on the trot. Beautiful autumn weather and only 33K.
If you think that's fine then I feel sorry for you.
Unless the problem is Jihad. It's not a great venue compared to the G. Food prices are a rip off and I hate the closed roof when it's warm outside. Also, the game wa live on channel 7 and clearly plenty of fans CBF.
FYI we played Richmond on Anzac Eve a few years back and got a good crowd at Etihad.
We've done well losing prime slots at a whim.
One should never critique the jiggster .
In my eyes he is a demi-god .
I worship the pork-pie hat !
Saying that Docklands !
Food Prices ;
Gilligan was gunna fix them wasn't he !
Roof Closed ;
Ch7 like it shut cos the game looks better !
Gilligan , whose running the game
Sunday twilight time slot .
Fans of all clubs hate time slot
So the smaller Vic clubs draw the short straw .
The Dogs had to win the flag to get some decent time slots .
Another thing i'm sure Gilligan will help us out with