Jimmy Webster our best player

Call me crazy, but I think Webster is our best player at the moment. He's tough, tackles hard, is quick and good by foot. Great rebounder out of defence too. He should be considered for the AA squad.

He might be winning the B & F at the moment. He's just getting better every year.

Re: Jimmy Webster our best player

Would be miles in front imo.

derby Street

As hard as a cats head - a shining light with his courage and tenacity. Also kicking the ball well. One of the few saints with a bit of sh#t in him as well :)

derby Street

As hard as a cats head - a shining light with his courage and tenacity. Also kicking the ball well. One of the few saints with a bit of sh#t in him as well :)

nw7

I dont know if hes winning the B&F but your right hes our best player right now. Amazing improvement over the last 6 weeks. I was very critical of him and Newnes but Webster has really improved.

Saintly66

Webster has been great the last 5 odd weeks, future does look good considering how bleak it is at the moment.
Webster, Rice, White, Carlisle.
Need to really sure up the spine if we’re ever going to have a tilt.

George27

After a slow start, I agree has clearly been our best over the last 6 weeks, and was far and away our best last night. Reminds me of the Axiom ( Glen Shorrock ) song title ..

Mmm, loose man in defence for much of the night. He is hopelessly one-sided, a long kick but not pinpoint, a poor handballer and never takes a contested mark. Oh, and his decision making is woeful.

perfectionist wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 8:19pm Mmm, loose man in defence for much of the night. He is hopelessly one-sided, a long kick but not pinpoint, a poor handballer and never takes a contested mark. Oh, and his decision making is woeful.
Serious? He was our best player by a mile.

80% disposal efficiency from 24 touches, 7 contested possessions, 5 marks, 3 tackles, 7 score involvements and only 3 turnovers.

Interestingly, Webster is now 25. The minimum age players really start hitting their peak in AFL.

parkeysainter wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 8:36pm
Serious? He was our best player by a mile.
He may well have been, but that's the problem.

I remember a poster on here a couple of years back posting that a someone from Tassie had said that Webster would prove to be the best player to come out of Tassie.

He will never be a Doc Baldock or a Royce Hart but he is still a very good footballer these days entering his peak.
Last edited by saynta on Sun 10 Jun 2018 11:29pm, edited 1 time in total.

saynta wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 11:07pm I remember a poster on here a couple of yeas back posting that a someone from Tassie had said that Webster would prove to be the best player to come out of Tassie.

He will never be a Doc Baldock or a Royce Hart but he is still a very good footballer these days entering his peak.
Good story Saynta.
Been telling people for years. An AFL footy player rarely hits his full potential before 25-26. This is why we need to be patient with all these fellas we have drafted over the past 5 years. Look out when the likes of Billings, Acres, Dunstan and those drafted after them get to that age mark. There is so much potential there. Jack Steven, Seb Ross and Webster for example have proved this to be the case.

Interesting that Hickey had most DT Points followed by Webster

To the top wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 11:55pm Interesting that Hickey had most DT Points followed by Webster
Nice try, interesting that Tom's opponent had the most at qtr time, by the time the real game was finished!!!!!

Enjoy England, making the 'Big Calls' from all the way from over there!!!!!

Not surprising really, say gidday to Finchy for me!!!!!

Improved out of sight this season

congorozides

Would be nice to see him win the B & F.
Deserves it I think. Has taken many a hit for the team. Improved his game gradually.

skeptic wrote: Mon 11 Jun 2018 12:46am Improved out of sight this season
Improved his game last season, some didn't notice, obviously!!!!!

stonecold wrote: Mon 11 Jun 2018 12:55am
you don't think this season has been better than his last one?

skeptic wrote: Mon 11 Jun 2018 12:59am
Yes, do for sure!!!!!

Just believe much of his improvement come last season, but went a little unnoticed for various reasons (injury etc)!!!!!

stonecold wrote: Mon 11 Jun 2018 1:01am
Yes, do for sure!!!!!

Just believe much of his improvement come last season, but went a little unnoticed for various reasons (injury etc)!!!!!
I like you SCSO even if we disagree on the topic of rucks... but jeez i don't understand what you post sometimes. First I thought you were criticising me, now it seems as though you at least half agree... or maybe a quarter? any way, goodnight mate :wink:

chico2001

bang on stonecold...

From my pisspoor memory bank he was on fire last year and then broke his hand...........

yep been my fav for awhile now

skeptic wrote: Mon 11 Jun 2018 1:10am
stonecold wrote: Mon 11 Jun 2018 1:01am
Yes, do for sure!!!!!

I like you SCSO even if we disagree on the topic of rucks... but jeez i don't understand what you post sometimes. First I thought you were criticising me, now it seems as though you at least half agree... or maybe a quarter? any way, goodnight mate :wink:
No, wasn't criticising you, was agreeing, just pointing out that a lot of Jimmy's improvement went a little unnoticed last season in my eyes!!!!!

As for the ruck situation, we will probably never agree on that one, but that's OK mate!!!!!

Hard, passionate, selfless, fearless and more than happy to sacrifice his own game if needed to lock down on a small/medium forward.

Jimmy probably needs to learn when not to be so fearless as he is going to get himself seriously hurt.

Pity some of his team mates don't appear to have any of those traits.