McCartin

Re: McCartin

SaintPav wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 7:37pm
parkeysainter wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 6:09pm
SaintPav wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 5:52pm
parkeysainter wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 5:42pm
SaintPav wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 5:24pm
parkeysainter wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 1:57pm
Con Gorozidis wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 1:34pm Don't worry.
Come February and Paddy will be elite and a star of the comp.
He seems to peak in February.
You are a sad individual. Instead of potting a 22 year old kid that might miss the rest of the year again, why not support him as a Saints fan? It will make you feel like a better person.

Good luck to Paddy anyway. You will be back mate.
I think his potting you and other deluded types
Its "he's" not "his" and a full stop which looks like "." is required at the end of your sentence. Thank me in advance.
No sh*t, Sherlock.

It was typo done on my phone which I couldn’t be arsed correcting.

What’s the latest whisper, bird brain. I need a good laugh.
You need to download the below.
https://www.grammarly.com/m
So that’s your best shot? A spelling mistake?

Me thinks old Porkeysainter is getting desperate.

At least I’m not a simpleton and a drone.

Dullard.
Nah. You're just boring and small fry mate.

parkeysainter wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 7:47pm
SaintPav wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 7:37pm
parkeysainter wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 6:09pm
SaintPav wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 5:52pm
parkeysainter wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 5:42pm
SaintPav wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 5:24pm
You are a sad individual. Instead of potting a 22 year old kid that might miss the rest of the year again, why not support him as a Saints fan? It will make you feel like a better person.

I think his potting you and other deluded types
Its "he's" not "his" and a full stop which looks like "." is required at the end of your sentence. Thank me in advance.
No sh*t, Sherlock.

It was typo done on my phone which I couldn’t be arsed correcting.

What’s the latest whisper, bird brain. I need a good laugh.
You need to download the below.
https://www.grammarly.com/m
So that’s your best shot? A spelling mistake?

Me thinks old Porkeysainter is getting desperate.

At least I’m not a simpleton and a drone.

Dullard.
Nah. You're just boring and small fry mate.
Hahaha.

Priceless...

parkeysainter wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 7:46pm
st.byron wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 6:37pm

Ah the old, “you’re not a true Sainter if you don’t support him unquestioningly” routine. Always reliable when seeking to avoid objective analysis of performance.
McCartin’s selection at #1 has been less than underwhelming, to say the least. Looks at this stage like an epic waste of a first pick.
Garbage. Everyone is accountable and can cop criticism within reason on the Saints list.

Some supporters just aren't sad sacks. Always will be.
“Criticism within reason” is the nub of it. It’s totally subjective. Looks to me like McCartin was a poor choice. Others may think different. You did though play the, “ not a true Sainter” card. It’s a bit of a dog whistle.
When it comes to assessing performance I reckon being realistic is far more palatable than not....

Paddy has been a GREAT No.1 pick. Has generated so much discussion in media and on forums like SS, probably much more entertaining than him averaging 4 goals a game on the field.

I see his contract expires in 2020, Saints should be looking to give him a 3 year extension asap, while he is injured and before his value skyrockets.

Seriously Paddy seems to really hit his straps in February.
Must like the warmer weather.

Linton Lodger wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 5:29pm
Con Gorozidis wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 2:48pm
Linton Lodger wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 2:42pm
Con Gorozidis wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 1:25pm
parkeysainter wrote: Fri 13 Jul 2018 12:46pm Paddy is slowly building his game and tank. He is still very young for a big fella and will get better - especially after 50-75 games. Stop comparing him to Riewoldt and other forwards too. Its pointless and unfair.

The modern game doesn't help how Paddy plays either. I would hate to be a key forward with all the congestion going on each week.
He is two years older than Hipwood. 7cm shorter and has 50 less goals.

And don't tell me Hipwood gets silver service.
Actually its 37 less goals. Also, Hipwood, regardless of age, has played 11 more games and has played most of his games consecutively (match conditioning).

Of Paddy's games, 7 have been consecutive, aside from that he had 3 consecutive games once before. I'll also take a guess that Hipwood got more consecutive reserves footy before regularly playing AFL, Paddy also had spasmodic game time at VFL level.

Don't try and argue that Paddy has had as much development as Hipgood, because in match conditioning particularly, Paddy's had significantly less.

Your use of statistics is always selective or careless.

Lol.

Why has Paddy played fewer games?

Maybe because he is unfit, lacks awareness and lacks agility?

Aren't you the tough bully boy threatening to make everybody eat their words?
Don't know what you're laughing at, or is your deployment of LOL some sort of a involuntary spasm.

Paddy has played fewer games due to numerous concussions, a significant shoulder injury and if memory serves me correct, there has been another injury.

True, his fitness is nowhere near AFL level (although its steadily improving), given that his performances to date are actually remarkable. He shouldn't be getting a touch, given his fitness levels.

Lacks awareness & agility? Are you serious? His Footy IQ is through the roof, how often do you see him get lumbered? The frustrating thing about Membrey's poster howler (was it against Freo or Hawthorn?), is nobody remembers McCartin's kick to set it up, footballing genius, but nah, his got no awareness. He's also agile enough for a bloke his size and he's got a quick mind. Perhap's you could avail us of some examples of his lack of awareness and agility?

"Aren't you the tough bully boy threatening to make everybody eat their words?" Don't be too sure that I won't get that opportunity still. I see you've fully embraced the current trend of playing the victim, good luck with that, good to see you keep up with the times.

On a side note, I was recently perusing the general forum and noticed a post from sometime ago, suggesting you were employed by Sam Dastyari! (a thimbul of inellect in a sea of mindless ambition). If this info was correct then LOL x 1000, if only you knew who I was, it would aggravate you even more.
Not playing the victim at all.

Just calling you out for being a big mouth who can't back it up.

Big difference.

"Footy IQ is through the roof."
Really?
Sounds like more hollow weasel words and spin that you picked up from the marketing department.

Another gullible blow hard.

st.byron wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 8:22pm

Ah the old, “you’re not a true Sainter if you don’t support him unquestioningly” routine. Always reliable when seeking to avoid objective analysis of performance.
McCartin’s selection at #1 has been less than underwhelming, to say the least. Looks at this stage like an epic waste of a first pick.
Garbage. Everyone is accountable and can cop criticism within reason on the Saints list.

“Criticism within reason” is the nub of it. It’s totally subjective. Looks to me like McCartin was a poor choice. Others may think different. You did though play the, “ not a true Sainter” card. It’s a bit of a dog whistle.
When it comes to assessing performance I reckon being realistic is far more palatable than not....
Become a list manager and recruiter then. You seem to have a grasp on all the talent coming through the U/18's.

As a Saints supporter, I'm just supporting a young kid that is only 22 and will probably miss the rest of the season again. Good luck Paddy as he needs the support.

Con Gorozidis wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 9:12pm Seriously Paddy seems to really hit his straps in February.
Must like the warmer weather.
Give it a rest...seriously. The kid probably won't play again this year and you just couldn't wait to have a crack at him and bag the club out for selecting him.

12 months ago I was confident Paddy would become as good as Jack Watts.

Now I’m not so sure. He’s too brittle physically.

Meanwhile those who should be questioned continue to fly under the radar

Including the Coaching and selection panel - hence the Administration

Like it or not Mc Cartin is one of the key blocks in St Kilda’s near and longer term future

Only Parkeysainter can critique the club and players because he’s the only true supporter on here.

No one else is allowed to because it’s potting and being negative.

When Parkey does it, it’s constructive criticism.

SaintPav wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 10:40pm Only Parkeysainter can critique the club and players because he’s the only true supporter on here.

You got it!

Stop hogging every thread and ruining it for everyone. You are very boring and predictable. You would send a grandpa on Viagra to sleep.

Next time Trout, use a fkn monkey and a dartboard.

I have a suggestion for the monkey.

parkeysainter wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 10:48pm
SaintPav wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 10:40pm Only Parkeysainter can critique the club and players because he’s the only true supporter on here.

You got it!

Stop hogging every thread and ruining it for everyone. You are very boring and predictable. You would send a grandpa on Viagra to sleep.
Look who’s talking.

Witty line. Don’t quit your day job!

If you do, I think I may have found you your dream job.

SaintPav wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 10:54pm

You got it!

Look who’s talking.

Seriously...go away for everyone's sake.

parkeysainter wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 11:00pm
SaintPav wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 10:54pm

You got it!

Look who’s talking.

Seriously...go away for everyone's sake.
lol.

You really are deluded.

What’s the latest whisper in your head...sorry..no no..the one you heard from your industry source?

Scollop wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 5:44pm
degruch wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 2:15pm
Con Gorozidis wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 1:25pm And don't tell me Hipwood gets silver service.
Hmmm...Rockliff, Zorko, Beams, Robinson, Rich and now Rayner...versus Steven, Dunstan, Ross, Montagna, Sinclair and Steele? I reckon Hipwood would take his lot over the last couple seasons any day.
Mitch Robinson

ROFLMAO
You see my point though. If we're going to compare apples with oranges, Hipwood would be pretty much unsighted with our forward delivery for most of this season IMO.

silverhalo

parkeysainter wrote: Fri 13 Jul 2018 12:46pm Paddy is slowly building his game and tank. He is still very young for a big fella and will get better - especially after 50-75 games. Stop comparing him to Riewoldt and other forwards too. Its pointless and unfair.

The modern game doesn't help how Paddy plays either. I would hate to be a key forward with all the congestion going on each week.

Actually its 37 less goals. Also, Hipwood, regardless of age, has played 11 more games and has played most of his games consecutively (match conditioning).

Of Paddy's games, 7 have been consecutive, aside from that he had 3 consecutive games once before. I'll also take a guess that Hipwood got more consecutive reserves footy before regularly playing AFL, Paddy also had spasmodic game time at VFL level.

Don't try and argue that Paddy has had as much development as Hipgood, because in match conditioning particularly, Paddy's had significantly less.

Lol.

The only reason why Paddy is getting games is because the club is trying to justify its investment in him but he's not AFL standard and definitely not in our best 22. No offence to Paddy but I was relieved when I found out today that he may miss the rest of the year. We will not miss him one iota IMHO...

silverhalo

takeaway wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 9:08pm Paddy has been a GREAT No.1 pick. Has generated so much discussion in media and on forums like SS, probably much more entertaining than him averaging 4 goals a game on the field.

I see his contract expires in 2020, Saints should be looking to give him a 3 year extension asap, while he is injured and before his value skyrockets.
This is tongue in cheek right?????

congorozides

I like the whisperer now.
She has grown on me.

parkeysainter wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 9:22pm

Become a list manager and recruiter then. You seem to have a grasp on all the talent coming through the U/18's.

As a Saints supporter, I'm just supporting a young kid that is only 22 and will probably miss the rest of the season again. Good luck Paddy as he needs the support.
I have a grasp of on field performances in the senior team and for a #1 pick he’s been disappointing. Calling Paddy mate and espousing your support for him on an online forum like this probably has zero effect on him. And Using those statements as the basis for being a true Sainter or not is just playing the “I’m better than you” card.

She’s star struck. Cretins usually are.

<warning for ongoing dispute>

ONGOING DISPUTES RULE

If posters repeatedly revisit past disagreements causing or creating an ongoing dispute between one or more posters, these disputes can result in multiple breaches and multiple simultaneous Saintsational warnings and as a result a 1 week ban without prior notice. We strongly advise that ongoing disputes be voluntarily by the posters involved taken to the ANIMAL ENCLOSURE forum, where the rules allow ongoing disputes and more abusive posts, as a closed rather than open forum.

st.byron wrote: Fri 20 Jul 2018 8:35am
parkeysainter wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 9:22pm

I have a grasp of on field performances in the senior team and for a #1 pick he’s been disappointing. Calling Paddy mate and espousing your support for him on an online forum like this probably has zero effect on him. And Using those statements as the basis for being a true Sainter or not is just playing the “I’m better than you” card.
Each to their own how they support the club and players. Some supporters just have a bit more ticker for the fight when times are tough.

Legit and well constructed positive criticism is fine, but purposely and mischievously bagging out the Saints kids on an online forum is weak, spineless and gutless, especially when that poster has probably never even pulled on a footy boot themselves or could run a lap of the 50 metre arc. That is the reality of it.

still undecided on paddy. i have little doubt in a better coached team he would be showing more, but it is what it is - we can only judge on what we see.
what i see is occassional flashes of real potential, a brilliant field kick here or there, a nice grab, some good positional play. what i see more of is dropped marks, unhonoured leads, and too few possessions and goals. and most of all - missing too many games to injury.

saint64

silverhalo wrote: Thu 19 Jul 2018 11:45pm

Lol.

The only reason why Paddy is getting games is because the club is trying to justify its investment in him but he's not AFL standard and definitely not in our best 22. No offence to Paddy but I was relieved when I found out today that he may miss the rest of the year. We will not miss him one iota IMHO...
Sadly, I'm sure many of us were thinking that way. We all want the best for Paddy, but he is just not one of our best forward options right now. Battle and Marshall have both gone past him this year.