We Need a New 5 Year Plan

This is purely on field. List management stuff and not a discussion about marketing gimmicks

Most people would agree that the strategy and planning from the last 5 years has failed. Where do we want to be in 5 years time? What is the new plan to get there? What is going to differentiate us from our competition for the next 5-10 years. What are the areas that we want to focus on and make them our strengths.

E.g. What is the point of bringing in Hannebery? What are we trying to achieve over a long term period of say 3-5 years. No point trading haphazardly over the next few years if the trades don't form part of a grand plan.

Found a thread from Bluthy that he posted straight after the Doggies 2016 premiership win. The thread had some great posts and also a fantastic article from afl.com outlining the Doggies strengths. The underlying theme here is planning.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-09-28/h ... heir-lists

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=91795&p=1640218&hil ... s#p1640218
Last edited by Scollop on Wed 15 Aug 2018 1:33pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: New 5 Year Plan

Thanks, scollop.
Success indeed revolves around and does entail good planning and recruiting. We need to learn from the successful clubs.

Most of the frustration and blame seems to be focussed on AR, judging by this forum - as if he's the lightning rod of all our ills and the repository of all our mistakes.

Hardwick and Buckley were similarly being ridiculed for failing to get their teams into the finals year after year despite being in charge of seemingly strong lists and as they had some star players with elite skills, but the planners and recruiters realised they just needed to top up, draft and recruit the right skilful players, based on needs and team balance, add some ready-made skilful players to complement what they already had, in order to take them to the next level.
Now some rate them as "great" coaches - I certainly don't.
In reality Hardwick and Buckley are in charge of more complete teams and are the beneficiaries of good planning and great recruiting/drafting (De Goey, Grundy, Hoskin-Elliott and Caddy, Prestia, etc..).

Re: We Need a New 5 Year Plan

....Due to machinations off field any new planning is obviously on hold for now

Why would we want another 5 year plan, we are in the process of butchering our 11th five year plan since we won our one and only flag.

And we are nowhere near it.

We might be in Tasmania in 5 years

55 year plan..

could we sort of keep to the next plan? would be nice.

If only we had of just won 09 or 10 then we could stop hearing we have been rebuilding since 66. Please...

1. Win more games every year for the next five years. Or is that a goal, or an objective, or a KPI or an aspiration. A PLAN has to be more opaque, complex and visionary doesn't it? OK add complexity: 1b. Sack coaches if we don't win more games each year; then everyone knows where they stand - keep winning, job for life. Otherwise we are creating opportunities for up and comers. 5 years + for a highly paid chronic loser coach doesn't seem the result of good planning to me.

Do we no longer have 2020 vision?

saint64

Toy Saint wrote: Wed 15 Aug 2018 8:05pm We might be in Tasmania in 5 years
Good! It would give us more direction than we have now!

chico2001

THis lot cant/wont/dont know how to plan to be successful. Nothing good about the current administration so how can they be relied upon to devise a 5 year plan that gets us up the ladder.. Just rubbish, the right people are not there to make the club successful. I am struggling to find one thing that this club is very well known for e.g development of players, recruitment. IMO they are not AFL leaders in any area relating to football management.

saint64 wrote: Thu 16 Aug 2018 12:02pm
Guys (gals?)!!! :shock:

We move away, and that's the end of our beloved footy club!!! (South Melbourne and Fitzroy are no more, no matter how hard some try to delude themselves.)

We do have major issues, but they can be sorted. We'll be back contending sooner than some (currently) think.

But please, never, ever forget...

Housekeeping issues can be fixed. Housekeeping issues are temporary.

Extinction... is permanent! :cry:

Dave McNamara wrote: Thu 16 Aug 2018 4:25pm

We move away, and that's the end of our beloved footy club!!! (South Melbourne and Fitzroy are no more, no matter how hard some try to delude themselves.)

We do have major issues, but they can be sorted. We'll be back contending sooner than some (currently) think.

Wise words Davey m’lad :wink:

saint64

loris wrote: Thu 16 Aug 2018 4:30pm
Dave McNamara wrote: Thu 16 Aug 2018 4:25pm

Wise words Davey m’lad :wink:
I disagree sorry Dave and Loris. I don‘t care whether we are the Tassie Saints, Gold Coast Saints, Auckland Saints or the Broome Saints, as long as we retain our identity (and preferably our colours), and are strong and winning premierships. Location is not such a big deal - I have never lived in Victoria and am as passionate as any Saints fan on here. I know Kangaroos supporters who reckon they stuffed up not moving to the Gold Coast. I’m sure there are many South Melbourne and Fitzroy supporters who are just happy that they still have a team to support. There are still too many teams in Melbourne. Let’s move to wherever we are going to reap the most AFL funding and concessions, and stay alive and thrive!

Saint 58

[/quote]
I disagree sorry Dave and Loris. I don‘t care whether we are the Tassie Saints, Gold Coast Saints, Auckland Saints or the Broome Saints, as long as we retain our identity (and preferably our colours), and are strong and winning premierships. Location is not such a big deal - I have never lived in Victoria and am as passionate as any Saints fan on here. I know Kangaroos supporters who reckon they stuffed up not moving to the Gold Coast. I’m sure there are many South Melbourne and Fitzroy supporters who are just happy that they still have a team to support. There are still too many teams in Melbourne. Let’s move to wherever we are going to reap the most AFL funding and concessions, and stay alive and thrive!
[/quote]

That's very easy for you to say since you're out of state.
For us here in Melbourne, we obviously want our Club to stay right here in Melbourne

It looks like big changes are coming which is great but two things absolutely have to happen:
1) - whoever is running the club needs to get everything right (club direction, etc.), which will take time
2) - we need to grow a pair & stand up for ourselves, not just bend over & take it up the rear like we have done for a long time

What you do for others will define your life.
[Football isn't everything ... it's the ONLY thing]