New President

Summers just stood down for Bassat.

Re: New President

#saintspill

Phew...I thought it might be Turnbull.

Nicely done with minimum fuss and bother. But watch the media try and put a different spin on it.

Actually, not a bad media spin so far ...

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/sum ... 4zzlo.html

SemperFidelis wrote: Fri 24 Aug 2018 6:43pm Actually, not a bad media spin so far ...

Except the bit about Andrew Thompson which is just plain wrong.

A director can only serve for 9 years and his time was up.

howlinwolf

Thanks for the info BS.

I have mixed feelings.
When the chips are down and there's no more wriggle room you go for the proven performer.
That's why I had hoped Jim Watts would get the gig again.

However, if we are to succeed in the new world we need to be inventive. Not dwell on the past as we are prone to do.
Bassat with a proven business acumen and passion may just be the right fit.
Let's hope it's right.

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

Good move. Was going to happen anyway eventually.

Now we just need Lethers as the new CEO.

saynta wrote: Fri 24 Aug 2018 7:08pm
SemperFidelis wrote: Fri 24 Aug 2018 6:43pm Actually, not a bad media spin so far ...

One could argue that as one the FF group that he needed to have gone regardless. The FF coup has turned out to have been a disaster.

saintsRrising wrote: Fri 24 Aug 2018 8:50pm

One could argue that as one the FF group that he needed to have gone regardless. The FF coup has turned out to have been a disaster.
That name should be banned on this forum... sadly I voted for them. Utterly ashamed I am.

Unmitigated disaster indeed. Undid 10 years of steady progress and building , leading us to where we are.

Hurry after Finnis please

Good to know he wasn't replaced by Peter Dutton.

Sainternist wrote: Sat 25 Aug 2018 12:17am Good to know he wasn't replaced by Peter Mutton.
No chance of that happening. That useful idiot is still 'needed' in Cantberra. :lol:

You are entitled to your opinion. Don't think those close to the club would agree with you.

Dave McNamara wrote: Sat 25 Aug 2018 3:01pm
Sainternist wrote: Sat 25 Aug 2018 12:17am Good to know he wasn't replaced by Peter Mutton.
No chance of that happening. That useful idiot is still 'needed' in Cantberra. :lol:
Footy forum dave . You can keep your opinions on politics out of it ffs.

saynta wrote: Sat 25 Aug 2018 3:43pm

You are entitled to your opinion. Don't think those close to the club would agree with you.

Well those "close to the club" have been doing a poor job for a while now and so I do not value their opinion. If they think FF was a success then it is no wonder they are content to just drift along while the club sinks.

And also please not confuse performance when a player with performance as a board member.

Our board as a whole have been mediocre, and Summers and Thommo should not be the only changes.

I can do without a lecture and I'm not confused about anything at the moment.

Certainly not about his standing with the club and the Board.

The Saints played off for three flags under Andrew's watch.

degruch wrote: Fri 24 Aug 2018 4:18pm Phew...I thought it might be Turnbull.
There seems to have been some confusion.
EMPTY asked the founder of SEEK (Bassat) to find him a better job.
EMPTY thought he would get to be PRESIDENT if he got 43 names on a petition and so stood down as Prime Minister.
You all know how EMPTY is a republican.
He stood down because he is desperate to implement his own policies without anyone else interfering.
It turns out EMPTY did not realise the job was President of St Kilda FC.
EMPTY has rejected the job as beneath his dignity and Lucy was unhappy at the prospect of leaving the harbourside mansion and The Lodge.
EMPTY will soon be unemployed.

saynta wrote: Sat 25 Aug 2018 4:06pm .

3? Played in 3 GF's but were only competing for two flags.

Sorry but the GF appearances had little to do with the Westaway Board. The hard yards were done prior to their arrival.

Andrew's and FF's Watch was pretty much exactly that, they just watched and failed to build on what was there when they arrived.

Those GF appearances should have set the club up in a more robust state. Instead we have seen ballooning debt, and one mistake after the other offield and on.

Quite arguably the FF Board was the worst StKilda Board ever, and we have had some shockers.

saintsRrising wrote: Sat 25 Aug 2018 6:33pm
saynta wrote: Sat 25 Aug 2018 4:06pm .

3? Played in 3 GF's but were only competing for two flags.

Sorry but the GF appearances had little to do with the Westaway Board. The hard yards were done prior to their arrival.

Andrew's and FF's Watch was pretty much exactly that, they just watched and failed to build on what was there when they arrived.

Those GF appearances should have set the club up in a more robust state. Instead we have seen ballooning debt, and one mistake after the other offield and on.

Quite arguably the FF Board was the worst StKilda Board ever, and we have had some shockers.
I wasn't talking about the board as a whole, I was talking about Andrew Thompson.

saynta wrote: Sat 25 Aug 2018 3:44pm
Fair call there, Saynta. We've seen threads on this forum degenerate all too often in the past when people spouted off about their opinions on political football, rather than just plain old football. I couldn't resist my Peter Dutton comment as our club was in the midst of a leadership change at the same time as the one in Canberra.

Sainternist wrote: Sat 25 Aug 2018 10:39pm
saynta wrote: Sat 25 Aug 2018 3:44pm
Fair call there, Saynta. We've seen threads on this forum degenerate all too often in the past when people spouted off about their opinions on political football, rather than just plain old football. I couldn't resist my Peter Dutton comment as our club was in the midst of a leadership change at the same time as the one in Canberra.

no worries mate. :wink:

8bloggs

CEO of Seek and a current club Board member he is, but what will Bassat bring to the club as President?
Any forumites have any insights??

8bloggs wrote: Sun 26 Aug 2018 10:08pm CEO of Seek and a current club Board member he is, but what will Bassat bring to the club as President?
Any forumites have any insights??
More of Finnis and Alan I Thi k