James Gallagher

David-Lee

James Gallagher

Tony Elshaug had a crucial role. He was the person our club relied upon to focus on trade, drafts and free agency. He needed to strategize, negotiate with players, other team staff and most importantly gather a team of underlings that were specialized in scouring the nation for gems in the rough as well as be the first to know when an "A" grade FA is keen to move on....before the vultures circle.

Can James do this?
He played few AFL games, many games for Norwood up to 2012.
Then he's had several other roles in the past 6 years from the players association to Banking.

I think Simon ( forgive me mate if you actually read this) over cooked it a tad when he said, " He has enjoyed a long and distinguished professional football and coaching career and understands the demands on players and the attributes required to play at the top level. Importantly, he also possesses a range of skills and disciplines that we were looking for which he has derived from his career in banking."

Has he? Where was this distinguished coaching career? Not as a player coming off the bench over 4 years and 30+ games at the Crows. Maybe he was a player coach at Norwood? He did play 200+ games and I do remember he came out of retirement to win a grand final with them in 2012.

He has not had many years out of football nor a long distinguished career as a coach or banker.

But, that means zip if he has the skills of negotiation and is the hard ass go getter we need....think Premier League Soccer and Sir Alex Ferguson....that mean bastard got the players he wanted most of the time prising them out of the clutches of his opponents who had better climate, sexy cities that sizzles like Paris, Rome, South America and these clubs often had more money and cities with gorgeous women....I guess there's some nice ladies in Manchester somewhere.

Point is....I don't reckon he's as proven as we are lead to believe and I think we are giving him an opportunity not him stepping in to lead us.

I reckon this role is more crucial than the President. Did we get a proven player advocate, trade master who can say, I've smashed it at these clubs and added tremendous value to clubs essentially stuck in endless rebuild mode.

Anyone has thoughts please share

Re: James Gallagher

It’s worried me too
The question is: is this Lethlean looking after mates?
He has zip credibility in such a vital role
That concerns me
I was led to believe he was extremely analytical - perhaps Lethlean trying to inject some if that into what I suspect has been a second rate, anecdote “good family stock” driven decision making approach...

ss1986

David-Lee wrote: Sat 25 Aug 2018 12:39am Tony Elshaug had a crucial role. He was the person our club relied upon to focus on trade, drafts and free agency. He needed to strategize, negotiate with players, other team staff and most importantly gather a team of underlings that were specialized in scouring the nation for gems in the rough as well as be the first to know when an "A" grade FA is keen to move on....before the vultures circle.

Can James do this?
Then he's had several other roles in the past 6 years from the players association to Banking.

I think Simon ( forgive me mate if you actually read this) over cooked it a tad when he said, " He has enjoyed a long and distinguished professional football and coaching career and understands the demands on players and the attributes required to play at the top level. Importantly, he also possesses a range of skills and disciplines that we were looking for which he has derived from his career in banking."

Has he? Where was this distinguished coaching career? Not as a player coming off the bench over 4 years and 30+ games at the Crows. Maybe he was a player coach at Norwood? He did play 200+ games and I do remember he came out of retirement to win a grand final with them in 2012.

He has not had many years out of football nor a long distinguished career as a coach or banker.

But, that means zip if he has the skills of negotiation and is the hard ass go getter we need....think Premier League Soccer and Sir Alex Ferguson....that mean bastard got the players he wanted most of the time prising them out of the clutches of his opponents who had better climate, sexy cities that sizzles like Paris, Rome, South America and these clubs often had more money and cities with gorgeous women....I guess there's some nice ladies in Manchester somewhere.

Point is....I don't reckon he's as proven as we are lead to believe and I think we are giving him an opportunity not him stepping in to lead us.

I reckon this role is more crucial than the President. Did we get a proven player advocate, trade master who can say, I've smashed it at these clubs and added tremendous value to clubs essentially stuck in endless rebuild mode.

Elshaug has overseen one of the most disastrous attempts at a rebuild of all time. Not sure how much worse he could be.

David-Lee wrote: Sat 25 Aug 2018 12:39am

Can James do this?

Everyone seems to think we have hired a banker. I am hoping that he is not just a *anker.

FIRSTLY, now even if he had of been a banker, what relevance would that have been to the role that we have hired him for? Answer is bugga all.

SECONDLY, he was not a "banker", he work at a bank yes, but he was not a banker. Just as every cleaner working at a hospital is not automatically a brain surgeon.

What did he do?

Head of Professionals Bank Victoria, Macquarie Business Bank. What is this? Well in his own words:

As a Relationship Director, I am responsible for leading a sales team that manages existing clients and develops new business in the bank’s broader professional services markets – including architectural, engineering and consulting firms as well as our offering to the healthcare industry encompassing individual medical specialists, medical centres and private hospitals.

So basically he was a Sales Manager. Yes that is right our new List Manager is a salesman. Doesn't that now fill you with overwhelming confidence?

So we one again have appointed someone with "L-Plates" to an important position. Yes he once kicked a football at the Crows, but does he have any actual experience relevant to his new role = no.

Did we pick the best person for the job? Well if you think picking lotto numbers is a valid way to invest then yes. He may work out, but odds are he will not be the best person for the job.

We have to hope instead that he will become a good List Manager.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
So that makes for a common theme at present:

We have to hope that Richo comes good as Head Coach next year, despite a lousy record to date, as it seems likely with Bassat coming in that he will be retained.

We have to hope that our Simon, our General Manager - Football, makes the right draft and trading calls this coming crucial trade period, despite his actual football experience having been limited to amateur football prior to this (At the AFL was involved in the legal department, broadcasting, fixturing, and game development and not on the "football" side of things.

We have to hope that our recruiting team can turn the corner (though to be fair last year looks ok-ish so far without being outstanding) despite no actual changes to it except for the List Manager, though evidently Lethlean has promised a new "black-box" to enhance things. (mmm let us hope that this does not lead to strange moneyball selections!).

We have to hope that Bassatt (likely to be our new President) can change the direction and performance of the board that he has been part of since 2016.

We have to hope, as there seems to be little logic and even less actual football experience at the Saints at present. If "L-Pates" win flags, then we are set to rack em'up.

ss1986 wrote: Sat 25 Aug 2018 11:24am
David-Lee wrote: Sat 25 Aug 2018 12:39am Tony Elshaug had a crucial role. He was the person our club relied upon to focus on trade, drafts and free agency. He needed to strategize, negotiate with players, other team staff and most importantly gather a team of underlings that were specialized in scouring the nation for gems in the rough as well as be the first to know when an "A" grade FA is keen to move on....before the vultures circle.

Can James do this?

Elshaug has overseen one of the most disastrous attempts at a rebuild of all time. Not sure how much worse he could be.
Far better than the 2006-10 drafting period.

I would expect the rumours surrounding Gubby Allen are pretty closely tied to Gallagher’s appointment. Allows them to work together, with Gallagher the numbers man, and Gubby the footy guy.

This is exactly the role Bains had when he came to club, and things seemed to work out ok with him.

Let’s just wait until the full picture is known before we get our torches and pitchforks!!

Get Liam and Noel Gallagher in to kick some arses lol

St Chris wrote: Sat 25 Aug 2018 12:43pm I would expect the rumours surrounding Gubby Allen are pretty closely tied to Gallagher’s appointment. Allows them to work together, with Gallagher the numbers man, and Gubby the footy guy.

This is exactly the role Bains had when he came to club, and things seemed to work out ok with him.

Let’s just wait until the full picture is known before we get our torches and pitchforks!!
Nice insight Chris.

I would think that this arrangement, if agreed by all parties, could be very effective.

On you Sammy.

Christ, Tony Elshaug...

(...who has made so much money - close to a $1 million during his time with us - from our club)

Cannot get out of our club quick enough. Our recruiting has been abhorrent, our list management and development equally poor.

A nice human being - upon who I wish no ill - but my goodness, what a mess he leaves behind....as he drives away in his lovely car back to his beautiful house.

James Gallagher hasn't been picked because of his playing or coaching career but purely because of his connections and schooling preferences. I don't like it, but he can't be worse than Elshaug.

evertonfc wrote: Sun 26 Aug 2018 11:54pm Christ, Tony Elshaug...

(...who has made so much money - close to a $1 million during his time with us - from our club)

Cannot get out of our club quick enough. Our recruiting has been abhorrent, our list management and development equally poor.

A nice human being - upon who I wish no ill - but my goodness, what a mess he leaves behind....as he drives away in his lovely car back to his beautiful house.

James Gallagher hasn't been picked because of his playing or coaching career but purely because of his connections and schooling preferences. I don't like it, but he can't be worse than Elshaug.
This is what worries me
IF Lethlean is giving jobs to his priv school mates at our clubs expense we are rooted
This guy better be bringing something to the table
I’ve not even heard an announcement explaining the logic behind the appointment ? Aka “James showed some exceptional recruitment-talent selection capabilities at Woori Yallock ....”
Zip