Steven swap for Beams

Re: Steven swap for Beams

Lycett? Hmm him and Vardy were changing a fair bit. He’s s big brute. Contests well though I noticed he would go up one handed if he couldn’t mark it rather than spoil. That was up foward. A few did that in packs it may be a set rule

The Lions were not as good yesty as they have been so the Eagles class was always gonna prevail

CURLY wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 5:15pm You heard it hear first.
*here

this is really silly season.

How about this rumour- Tom Hawkins, Jack Reiwoldt and Dane Rampe to Saints for a very very late pick.
About as likely

No thanks. Beans has mental health issues and is a malcontent mercenary.

guitars4

No way , Beams is a good player Jack is as good if not better IMO .If this trade actually happens I would be extremely disappointed . He is the only bloke on our list that has a red hot crack every week .I know his disposal can sometimes let him down but should not even be considered for a trade IMO

saintsRrising wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 7:56pm
Cairnsman wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 7:20pm
stevie wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 6:19pm Watched Beams live yesty he’s still playing awesome footy

I finally met a relly of mine that plays for Wet Toast- Liam Duggan. Got a photo of him with my son pregame. Met his dad and uncle who are my late Mum’s first cousins
I went to the game yesterday too, did you pay much attention to Lycett?
Beejesus. Did Lycett play a whole game? If so Martin him one hell of a hiding if stats are anything to go by.
Don't know the exact figure on how much game time or how he rotates/works with Vardy but made a point of watching him for obvious reasons and on pure optics I didn't find anything to be impressed with, however having said that it was a nothing game and looked like the whole team was moving in slow gears. Although Ryan and Rioli have got some tricks.

Put it this way, I went from watching Lycett and then Marshall and I am still scratching my head as to why we would sacrifice nothing short of throwing everyting at recruiting as many midefielders as possible. We are arguably fully stocked for backman, forwards and rucks. Depth and quality in the middle is surely the most pressing need this trade period.

mightysainters

This absolutely won’t happen...

Claye Beams is a hack, no thank you.

It s***s me that we have another thread for the same rumour. Makes this place messy. Surely we could tidy up a bit a la bigfooty
Whilst we don’t need a single thread for all trades surely we only need a max of 1 thread per trade rumour?

For god sake someone tell our recruiters there are two Beams brothers.

We’ll get the dud.

David-Lee

parkeysainter wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 5:23pm Pointless if true. Why give up our no 1 midfielder that can run all day, is quick, gets heaps of footy and can kick goals for a guy no better or worse and is the same age.
This guy has had a long string of injuries...just like our boy. But we know ours why trade? Better the mid you know than the mid you dont...only upside Parkey is that Beams can lead a team our boy won't or cant step up.

David-Lee wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 9:52pm
parkeysainter wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 5:23pm Pointless if true. Why give up our no 1 midfielder that can run all day, is quick, gets heaps of footy and can kick goals for a guy no better or worse and is the same age.
This guy has had a long string of injuries...just like our boy. But we know ours why trade? Better the mid you know than the mid you dont...only upside Parkey is that Beams can lead a team our boy won't or cant step up.
I'm just happy if Jack just keeps playing like he did yesterday. He doesn't need to be a skipper.

Cairnsman wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 8:34pm
Put it this way, I went from watching Lycett and then Marshall and I am still scratching my head as to why we would sacrifice nothing short of throwing everyting at recruiting as many midefielders as possible. We are arguably fully stocked for backman, forwards and rucks.

Depth and quality in the middle is surely the most pressing need this trade period.
Ah rookie mistake. You are using logic and footie judgement rather than a Master Plan.

mightysainters

Joffa Burns wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 9:30pm For god sake someone tell our recruiters there are two Beams brothers.

We’ll get the dud.
Laughed out loud at this... our admin... sigh

Actually the offer was for Weller and Newnes
... a sausage roll and 2 cans of JIM BEAM!

I think Beams is marginally a better player. But overall a safer move would be to stay with Jack. Unless he actually wants to move.

guitars4 wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 8:30pm No way , Beams is a good player Jack is as good if not better IMO .If this trade actually happens I would be extremely disappointed . He is the only bloke on our list that has a red hot crack every week .I know his disposal can sometimes let him down but should not even be considered for a trade IMO

You lost me at Steven being a better player than Beams.

Agree the swap doesn't make sense but saying the above just insane.

guitars4

I did say IMO & you are quite entitled to yours & I respect that the fact you don't agree mine but I don't think your insane for that.

AT LAST - Yippee!

Spinner wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 9:53am
guitars4 wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 8:30pm No way , Beams is a good player Jack is as good if not better IMO .If this trade actually happens I would be extremely disappointed . He is the only bloke on our list that has a red hot crack every week .I know his disposal can sometimes let him down but should not even be considered for a trade IMO

You lost me at Steven being a better player than Beams.

You lost me at Beams being a better player than Steven.

guitars4

Ok you don't agree either well maybe I am insane :oops:

perfectionist wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 12:05pm AT LAST - Yippee!
I will never understand your strong dislike of Jack Steven and how it has persevered this long...

At least be like the rational supporters and hate the players that clearly can’t play like Weller, Longer, Newnes, Hickey... the list is endless really.

But Steven? Pbly our best player... and that’s not his fault.

Elaborate please?

skeptic wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 3:32pm
perfectionist wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 12:05pm AT LAST - Yippee!
I will never understand your strong dislike of Jack Steven and how it has persevered this long...

At least be like the rational supporters and hate the players that clearly can’t play like Weller, Longer, Newnes, Hickey... the list is endless really.

But Steven? Pbly our best player... and that’s not his fault.

Elaborate please?
Very good at getting possessions, very bad at disposal by hand and foot. And, he is simply not tall and strong enough. Jack was lionised as the player who would lead us to glory. That, as I said about 7 years ago, was rubbish. If he was going to be the best player in our team, it would lead us to the bottom. Skills are everything. The reason Richmond is on top is because Hardwick churned poor disposers, even though some were high possession winners, in order to get a team that rarely turns it over. Beams can kick on both feet - if you can stand it, watch GF2 to see what I mean. He makes the most of his disposals.

Stevens is our Joffa Cunningham from the mid 80’s.

Good player but not quite elite.

Ideally should be our second or third best mid.

In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king.
Steven is a headless chook with ball in hand but not in the league of our esteemed captain or Newnes!Like Gilbert he at least tries to get the ball going in the right direction.

guitars4

SaintPav wrote: Tue 28 Aug 2018 7:11pm Stevens is our Joffa Cunningham from the mid 80’s.

Good player but not quite elite.

Ideally should be our second or third best mid.
No he's not elite but he's still the best we've got at the moment IMO