We are a laughing stock

Re: We are a laughing stock

jaxons wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 10:59am Most embarrassing football club at the moment.
Offering Shiel millions more than any other club and no chance of him coming.
No leadership and no one to sell our club properly.
If you knew the difference of our pitch versus the other clubs you would demand the immediate removal of all key figures at our club.
This is not good. Confirms some collectively held worst fears among many loyal Saints supporters. Is no one listening?

SydneySainter wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 1:29pm
lewdogs wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 1:10pm Two players have already nominated us. One of them is a 3-time AA player.

Sorry but things are actually looking way better than this time last year.

The club looks ridiculous right now.
Trade period hasn't even started. We don't look any different to any other club. Everything is rumour and hearsay to this point.

derby Street

I just hope no prospective players ever look on this site - no wonder they wouldn't want to come. Talk about eat your own.

So...we're taking over from 2017 North? They seem to be doing quite well at the moment...Polec, Hall, probably Gaff.

derby Street wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 1:35pm I just hope no prospective players ever look on this site - no wonder they wouldn't want to come. Talk about eat your own.
Credit where credit is due, or lack there of. I'm not going to indulge the egos of Finnis by lauding their spin of how we're a "destination club" when the cold hard truth is staring us right in the face.

SydneySainter wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 1:29pm
lewdogs wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 1:10pm Two players have already nominated us. One of them is a 3-time AA player.

They're looking better than last year because nothing really changed last year. The inside perspective was that despite a delay in reaching the finals, we were still on the right path.

The club chased Fyfe, Kelly and Martin, all of whom said "thanks but no thank," so club came to the conclusion that now probably isn't the time for the star recruit, so plan B, take the picks into the draft, get their man next year. They even re-signed the coach who wasn't even out of contract.

Now look at us - chasing players already past their prime. Yes, Hanners will improve our midfield, but we may also be lucky to get 3 or even 2 years of solid footy out of him and the word is we're offering 5 years at $800,000. Not only that, we've gone from having the stubborn perspective of not paying overs, hence why we gracefully bowed out of the Fyfe race, to now offering godfather contracts and we're still getting shunned. We're offering half-a-million more than Shiels preferred destination!

The club looks ridiculous right now.
i remember Hammill being upset at Carlton when John Elliott publicly bagged 'greedy players' at the Bluescum B n F, and came to us because Blight was here, and Gehrig was sold on Blight.
If I have that wrong, it's my old man memory at fault.

But getting new assistant coaches won't make us more tempting, when the Dribbler
is still in charge- he is the fly in the ointment.

We're gonna be irrelevant and poisonous unless in 2019,
we make huge strides and stay just outside the 8 all year.
Then 2020 may see a positive shift in how we are perceived by all the important ones
i.e. free agents and managers.
Media and public opinion do not count at all, because a manager isn't a slave to that rubbish;
a property developer doesn't buy based on media or govt spin, they do their research thoroughly and scientifically, before committing to a purchase.

So the earliest we can see movement would be 2020.
If we only win a few more games next year, it's curtains again for us until we get
our house in order.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 1:01pm Disagree. The club is having a go. What else can you ask for? Riewoldt has met Shiel to try entice him over.

Ratten and Lade in.
O'shaughnessy from Hawks.
Hannerbrey and Kent in.
Possibly more.
If we don't get Shiel or Wingard then we go to the draft and get a very good kid like Coff and Hunter last year.

Trade period hasn't even started yet anyway.
Delusional. What else you can ask for is to actually do a full review that includes the head coach. What else you can ask for is some actual accountability from senior management and senior coach. All we’ve seen so far is piss and wind and shuffling the deck chairs about whilst the drunken useless captain remains at the helm. “Look...we’ve moved the deck chairs...that should make you feel better. Now hand over your membership dollars again. We know you will coz you’re a bunch of St.Kilda tragic who just can’t say no”.
Seriously Ted /Parkeysainter, you’re an apologist for the less than mediocre garbage we’re being served up.

SydneySainter wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 1:50pm
derby Street wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 1:35pm I just hope no prospective players ever look on this site - no wonder they wouldn't want to come. Talk about eat your own.
Credit where credit is due, or lack there of. I'm not going to indulge the egos of Finnis by lauding their spin of how we're a "destination club" when the cold hard truth is staring us right in the face.
This

Jaxons its time to name names - no point in posting your concerns without the individuals being held accountable.

outside66

st.byron wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 2:11pm
tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 1:01pm Disagree. The club is having a go. What else can you ask for? Riewoldt has met Shiel to try entice him over.

Ratten and Lade in.
Hannerbrey and Kent in.
Possibly more.
If we don't get Shiel or Wingard then we go to the draft and get a very good kid like Coff and Hunter last year.

Delusional. What else you can ask for is to actually do a full review that includes the head coach. What else you can ask for is some actual accountability from senior management and senior coach. All we’ve seen so far is piss and wind and shuffling the deck chairs about whilst the drunken useless captain remains at the helm. “Look...we’ve moved the deck chairs...that should make you feel better. Now hand over your membership dollars again. We know you will coz you’re a bunch of St.Kilda tragic who just can’t say no”.
Seriously Ted /Parkeysainter, you’re an apologist for the less than mediocre garbage we’re being served up.
I believe that it is exactly what Lethlean has done (full review that included Richo) and we are left with the outcome. Totally agree with Ted***2018 here. Wait until trade period is done and dusted (or perhaps even started) before pissing and moaning!

Apologist? Mediocre? Yep. Righto...

Better off to be positive and see those in charge trying to change the course of the ship than sook, whinge and ramble on a St Kilda members forum every day. Good luck.

Pretty certain and definitely hope this is NOT a StKilda members forum

But that.might be why a few people have problems with certain posts
This is the public outer and not the President's Luncheon

Ok I'll bite. Why are we a laughing stock exactly ? We only have 1 story to pitch - we can offer good money and/or a long term contract. IF we are spouting off about playing finals and winning flags in the next 1- 2 years , then yes thats laughable. Otherwise , as crass as it sounds , it really is just "show me the money". If we can surge back up the ladder in 2019 and finish somewhere between 8th and 10th then we have a completely different value proposition going into 2020.

Most good players in their prime are going to go to where they can get themselves a premiership if they dont already have one (eg Shiel).
Most fringe players are going to look for security (eg Kent)
Good players getting to the back end of their career have to resolve the conflict of club loyalty versus playing for a premiership medallion versus maximising their earnings.

Here's my guess on the respective club pitches ..

Hawthorn" "We finished Top 4 and dont think we are far off. We have the best coach in the AFL and our Grand Final record over the last 10 years speaks for itself. We think we have what it takes to win the flag in 2019"

Carlton " Weve assembled some of the best young talent in the league with Cripps, Weitering, Curnow, Dow, SPS - and Mitch McGovern is coming. Plus this years #1 pick. We expect rapid improvement in 2019 and finals in 2020. Come for the ride"

North: "Our rebuild is complete. We finished 1 game out of the 8 this year , with one of the youngest lists in the league. By adding some FA's we expect to play finals and go deep into September.

St Kilda "Weve got plenty of cap space. Set yourself up for life with a long term contract" .

silverhalo

A 3-time AA player that has been in a downward spiral for the last couple of years. Would struggle to get a regular game at the Swans going forward and sees it in his own best interests to come to the Saints IMO. His best days are long behind him, hope I'm wrong.....

After Lethlean is finished with us, we may look back fondly on Ahmeet Bains and Tony Elshaug. It's always a worry when clubs bring in a Mr Fix-it type. It often ends in tears. And what is their motivation...? Career advancement or the long term welfare of the club who has employed them? Considering Leathlean applied for a CEO position at another club while in his first year with us answers that question emphatically. This Lethlean character......he has worried me from day one. And he employs a friend as list manager....hmm. With one draft pick to play with, three players to get over the line (and one a top liner) the mathematical calculations look awful and worrying. If this year becomes a recruiting/trading debacle, we could be screwed for many years to come. If our pick 4 is traded away, then I'll be in grimmest mood I've ever been as a St Kilda supporter, with almost no enthusiasm for next year. One of the things that should have been learned over the past 18 months is that constantly trading away future draft picks will ultimately box you into a corner. Our opponents hold all the cards.

outside66 wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 2:29pm

Ratten and Lade in.
Hannerbrey and Kent in.
Possibly more.

I believe that it is exactly what Lethlean has done (full review that included Richo) and we are left with the outcome. Totally agree with Ted***2018 here. Wait until trade period is done and dusted (or perhaps even started) before pissing and moaning!
No mate. Review was of all positions except head coach. Richardson excluded from review. Farce.

Ratten and Lade in.
Hannerbrey and Kent in.
Possibly more.

No mate. Review was of all positions except head coach. Richardson excluded from review. Farce. Accountability. = zero

jaxons wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 10:59am Most embarrassing football club at the moment.
If you knew the difference of our pitch versus the other clubs you would demand the immediate removal of all key figures at our club.
And what do you suggest the club does about it?

outside66

st.byron wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 4:23pm

Ratten and Lade in.
Hannerbrey and Kent in.
Possibly more.

No mate. Review was of all positions except head coach. Richardson excluded from review. Farce. Accountability. = zero
That's not what I heard from an ITK. Richo's position was amongst the most thoroughly reviewed.

bozza1980

jaxons wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 10:59am If you knew the difference of our pitch versus the other clubs you would demand the immediate removal of all key figures at our club.
Is there a reason why you can only intimate the difference and tell us how we should feel rather than explain the difference and let us decide for ourselves?

Life is very short and there's no time for fussing and fighting my friends.
Kick-it-lace-out

Impatient Sainter wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 2:27pm Jaxons its time to name names - no point in posting your concerns without the individuals being held accountable.

Extremely disappointed with this comment by you Jaxons. Either state facts or don't post.

silverhalo wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 3:51pm

A 3-time AA player that has been in a downward spiral for the last couple of years. Would struggle to get a regular game at the Swans going forward and sees it in his own best interests to come to the Saints IMO. His best days are long behind him, hope I'm wrong.....
Yet in the final against GWS Giants, when the Swans were swamped by 8 goals - Hannebery was one of their best. 24 disp (10 cont) 8 marks 3 tackles, in 73% GT

The 'struggle' to get a game would only be when injured. A bit injury prone - not ideal - but beggars can't be choosers. He and Rohan also want to come home to Vic, and like other clubs, Swans clearing some cap space, hope I'm right.....

Your servants shall hold her stones dear, and have pity on her dust :shock:

Finnis, Geary and Richo as our charismatic welcoming committee....what could fail to impress there?

Kick-it-lace-out wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 5:05pm
Impatient Sainter wrote: Wed 03 Oct 2018 2:27pm Jaxons its time to name names - no point in posting your concerns without the individuals being held accountable.

Extremely disappointed with this comment by you Jaxons. Either state facts or don't post.
Don't agree KILO, Jaxons has a pretty decent record of being on the money with information.
Perhaps he can't elaborate.
Yes it is negative and negativity breeds but it is a forum of opinion.

Jaxons, you surely must be referring to Lethlean and his new sidekick/list manager. Working at AFL house does not guarantee that you have what it takes at club land. I suspect Mr Lethlean is out of his depth and at the same time displaying a gob-smacking lack of class in the process