Who made the phone call?

… to stop the cretins in the sound booth playing those inane player specific chants after each goal in the first quarter.

Just embarrassing childish rubbish.
Someone obviously told them how stupid it was at 1/4 time because they mercifully ceased!

Perhaps that same club lone official blessed with common sense could also have some input into
- future draft picks
- medical diagnoses of potential draft picks/ trades
- team selection

Re: Who made the phone call?

Thank god they were stopped. They were pathetically embarrassing and that loud they made my little daughter terrified.

Stupidest thing I've ever heard

Maybe it was a quarter trail only.

While I appreciate the effort and the trail, I didn't really like it either.

FWIW, I didn't mind it at all. I thought it could work once people got used to it and knew the words. The volume might have been a tad high.

More importantly, my kids (12 and 11) thought it was awesome and were Very Disappointed that it didn't go on. Most of the people around us thought it was good.

It was way better than "make some noise" or the slow clap Owen (that didn't have the right timing).

I don't mind them trying different things.

I understand that many people just want to watch footy (so do I), but the competition for the hearts and minds of our kids is much greater than when my parents made me sit there in the rain with the footy record and a stubby golf pencil.

It was nothing short of embarrassing.
Sadly someone thought it was a good idea.
What's even more sad is others had to agree with it.

Milne

Literally everyone around me was completely embarrassed. I hope they never make a come back.

It was insane in the membrane

SaintPav wrote: Mon 25 Mar 2019 12:21pm It was insane in the membrane

Lol can't get that out of my head today... :?

Spinner wrote: Mon 25 Mar 2019 4:25pm
SaintPav wrote: Mon 25 Mar 2019 12:21pm It was insane in the membrane

Lol can't get that out of my head today... :?
Me too.

Ohrwurm is perverse enjoyment.

”Matthew Parker...Matthew Parker..”

outside66

Enrico_Misso wrote: Mon 25 Mar 2019 12:37am … to stop the cretins in the sound booth playing those inane player specific chants after each goal in the first quarter.

Someone obviously told them how stupid it was at 1/4 time because they mercifully ceased!

Perhaps that same club lone official blessed with common sense could also have some input into
- future draft picks
- team selection
Wrong mate, they played them a few more times throughout the game. You sound like you'd be a real positive and fun person to sit next to at the games...

outside66

Enrico_Misso wrote: Mon 25 Mar 2019 12:37am … to stop the cretins in the sound booth playing those inane player specific chants after each goal in the first quarter.

- future draft picks
- team selection
Not expecting this to catch on with most of the forumites here given the age demographics however the songs were pulled from the Saintly Hymns. These were created by a group of people who sit in AIsle 29/30 area and chant for each player once they've kicked a goal - irrespective of the scoreline. Below is the link that I saw being shared on FB. So I reckon the negative dinosaurs needn't bother but for the open minded one's or those with young kids, check out the link below where you can find the whole collection! we need to make footy fun in every possible way, particularly for the kids so if people could sing them instead of being on the speakers then that would be pretty significant and it'd put St Kilda ahead of every other club in terms of crowd support. Let's face it, the atmosphere at the soccer makes the majority of games bearable and it's only a matter of time before that catches on with AFL crowds so it may as well be St Kilda leading the race (for once)...

https://soundcloud.com/user-937698857

theoracle

[/quote]

Not expecting this to catch on with most of the forumites here given the age demographics however the songs were pulled from the Saintly Hymns. These were created by a group of people who sit in AIsle 29/30 area and chant for each player once they've kicked a goal - irrespective of the scoreline. Below is the link that I saw being shared on FB. So I reckon the negative dinosaurs needn't bother but for the open minded one's or those with young kids, check out the link below where you can find the whole collection! we need to make footy fun in every possible way, particularly for the kids so if people could sing them instead of being on the speakers then that would be pretty significant and it'd put St Kilda ahead of every other club in terms of crowd support. Let's face it, the atmosphere at the soccer makes the majority of games bearable and it's only a matter of time before that catches on with AFL crowds so it may as well be St Kilda leading the race (for once)...

[/quote]

Agree 100% mate. I actually thought it was a great initiative, loved it! People in my area thought it was fun and wondered where the words for it were. Ignore the haters, too many folk on this site are naysayers.

The Oracle sees all, hears all, knows all.

I think if they were going to do it they should have pre publicised their plans. Get the songs out on Facebook, Twitter, Saintsational etc.

And do it for every goal. I only heard it twice.

saint-stu

These guys are good fun. Gave us a laugh on that miserable, cold trip to that sh*thole stadium in Geelong last year.

But it just doesn't work when played back over the loudspeakers.

1ac46a38
Kilda

What I don’t like is that the venue (club?) tries to entertain us: tells us when to ‘make some noise’, chooses to play music right up until the first bounce of every quarter...it uses the scoreboard as a TV screen during half time to capture the audience.

It makes it a passive form of entertainment where we have to submit to what we’re subjected to.

I like the idea of player songs but I’d prefer that it comes organically from the fans. One club’s supporters who do this very well is Hawthorn.

Cordz2

outside66 wrote: Thu 28 Mar 2019 4:12pm

- future draft picks
- team selection

+1 -my daughter and I have been doing the Matthew Parker all week. What’s embarrassing is the cheer squad’s “Lets go sainters, Let’s go”
It’s bad enough at the tennis.
Don’t bag people trying to bring some life into a dull - crowd and lifeless cheer squad - which we’ve become since we left Moorabbin.

The_President

Cordz2 wrote: Thu 28 Mar 2019 10:57pm
outside66 wrote: Thu 28 Mar 2019 4:12pm

- future draft picks
- team selection

+1 -my daughter and I have been doing the Matthew Parker all week. What’s embarrassing is the cheer squad’s “Lets go sainters, Let’s go”
It’s bad enough at the tennis.
Don’t bag people trying to bring some life into a dull - crowd and lifeless cheer squad - which we’ve become since we left Moorabbin.
Agree 100%

That Collingwood chant is something else.
Richmond's "Yellow and Black" not far behind.

Why wouldn't we try something?

OMG,
next people will be saying Kiss-cam is funny and entertaining!

Enrico_Misso wrote: Fri 29 Mar 2019 10:25pm OMG,
next people will be saying Kiss-cam is funny and entertaining!
Very cringe worthy and something I duck.