Match Thread Saints v Bummers Round 2 2019

Re: Match Thread Saints v Bummers Round 2 2019

takeaway wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:33pm
The_Dud wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:28pm
derby Street wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:16pm
The_Dud wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:07pm Against the odds we got home!

I don’t think I’ve ever seen such an uninspiring 2-0 start to a season tho
You sound disappointed - why am I not surprised? :shock: I am pleased for the win and not a 5 goal loss like you stated.
I’d rather see us playing good footy and improving on last year. At this point winning or losing is irrelevant.
Unbelievable. Don't worry we'll lose one in due course, just be patient.
If you’re satisfied with just beating a team that played some of the worst football I’ve ever seen for most of the game, that’s fine.

I’d rather see us kicking 16.10 and not 10.16. Not butchering the ball bombing inside 50. Not kicking it out of defensive 50 with no system whatsoever.

I’m happy with the win, not ecstatic.

Did love Bruce’s mark and goal tho :)
Last edited by The_Dud on Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:37pm, edited 1 time in total.

I have to ask - and it will set CURLY off - but what changed at 1/4 time - we were 9 to 6 in the free kick count - from there - 20 to 12.

Clothes Hangers
Deliberate (I reckon Lonie could have disguised it - but it was harsh)
HTB
Illegal disposals

But still, they reversed the trend - I am at a loss.....

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:37pm I have to ask - and it will set CURLY off - but what changed at 1/4 time - we were 9 to 6 in the free kick count - from there - 20 to 12.

Clothes Hangers
HTB
Illegal disposals

Because we gave away more free kicks in that period, I don’t see how people find this hard to understand?

The umpiring was fine, some went our way some didn’t. 21-26 in the end. Swings and roundabouts. Lonie’s brainfade rushing it through wasn’t the best.

Kilda

Kent and Lonie called for deliberate and yet comparable efforts from Effendumb (eg. Zaharakis) not paid.

Kilda

Imagine how good we could be if we could deliver the ball better into the forward line AND convert our opportunities.

Essendon were under extreme heat to perform today and we withstood them and the umpires again. My god what I’d do for us to be umpired like Collingwood.

Kilda wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:43pm Imagine how good we could be if we could deliver the ball better into the forward line AND convert our opportunities.
Amen. Would be a 5-win better team instantly.

Kilda

Marshall’s recall to the side paid dividends. Our depleted and inexperienced backline held up surprisingly well.

The_Dud wrote:

You sound disappointed - why am I not surprised? :shock: I am pleased for the win and not a 5 goal loss like you stated.
I’d rather see us playing good footy and improving on last year. At this point winning or losing is irrelevant.
Do you think our round 2 performance this year, was better than our round 2 performance last year?

Don’t bother looking it up. It was North on Bad Friday

Marshall so much better around the ground.

Even on one leg.

kosifantutti wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:48pm
The_Dud wrote:

Do you think our round 2 performance this year, was better than our round 2 performance last year?

Yes I do. But the only team I’ve seen play as badly as we did that day was Essendon today for large parts.

I’m just disappointed there doesn’t appear to be any major changes with our game plan from the last few years.

It was also good to see the bombers fans give it to their players. What about The Gresh Prince. Phenomenal player

The deliberately rushed rule appeared to have two different interpretations today!

George27

shanegrambeau wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:26pm
MC Gusto wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:10pmSo proud
ditto!!!

Best win since late ‘17 in the scheme of things?

ABC gave Billings the 3 votes! Agree?
Agree great win. Many many contributors.

I thought Billings played well, but others had a greater impact eg Gresham , Marshall . A good sign that so many played well.

guitars4

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:34pm
guitars4 wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:32pm Happy with the effort & any win against Essendon is a bloody good one even if we struggled to compete as well in the second half
I agree - but you have to admit - that 2nd quarter was fun to watch!
Yeah mate if we could kicked a bit straighter we would have been at least 6 goals up at half time but still a good win :)

I love the saints!

Go Sainters!!! Gee the umps were crap!

In STKFC we trust.
SAINT-LEE

Not a game I'm proud of overall but a win is a win! I was definitely not expecting the lads to lift in the 4th. So I was wrong and glad to be.

The_Dud wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:36pm

If you’re satisfied with just beating a team that played some of the worst football I’ve ever seen for most of the game, that’s fine.

I’d rather see us kicking 16.10 and not 10.16. Not butchering the ball bombing inside 50. Not kicking it out of defensive 50 with no system whatsoever.

If you are anything other than a fat old turd sitting at home living vicariously through other people, that attitude would make sense.

But you're not. So it doesn't.

rodgerfox wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 8:00pm
The_Dud wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:36pm

If you are anything other than a fat old turd sitting at home living vicariously through other people, that attitude would make sense.

But you're not. So it doesn't.
I’m not sure if you’re calling me a ‘fat old turd’ or not :?

I only saw the last quarter but what I saw was a team pretty comfortably hold off another. Not sure why some aren’t happy. Well done boys.

desertsaint wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 8:11pm I only saw the last quarter but what I saw was a team pretty comfortably hold off another. Not sure why some aren’t happy. Well done boys.
yep

derby Street

The_Dud wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:51pm
The_Dud wrote:

Yes I do. But the only team I’ve seen play as badly as we did that day was Essendon today for large parts.

I’m just disappointed there doesn’t appear to be any major changes with our game plan from the last few years.
So Essendon played as badly today as Norf did against the Shockers last week? Don't let a few facts spoil a good story. Keep it up your anti saints perseverance will eventually be rewarded

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:37pm I have to ask - and it will set CURLY off - but what changed at 1/4 time - we were 9 to 6 in the free kick count - from there - 20 to 12.

Clothes Hangers
HTB
Illegal disposals

The umpire opened his present. When will Richo learn; socks don't cut it.

Well done boys Love it

derby Street wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 8:14pm
The_Dud wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2019 7:51pm
The_Dud wrote:

So Essendon played as badly today as Norf did against the Shockers last week? Don't let a few facts spoil a good story. Keep it up your anti saints perseverance will eventually be rewarded
Don’t know, didn’t watch it. How’s that for a ‘fact’?