Seriously, where did this come from?

Kilda

Seriously, where did this come from?

What on earth is happening at Moorabbin? What has been transformed? No one in the footy world saw this coming.

The signs were ominous again after a pre-season that saw the playing careers of Carlisle, Hanners, Roberton and McCartin all stalling.

The backline is inexperienced, we have no premier ruckman (even though Marshall is a seriously talented footballer), no obvious A graders and a coach that many didn’t rate. And yet, despite all this, something remarkable is brewing.

How can this be? What explains It? Is it simply off-field changes over the summer with the arrival of Ratten, Lade, Slater and co? Or is something in the water at Linton St?

Re: Seriously, where did this come from?

The move form Seaford back to Moorabbin apparently!!!

Lethlean. Geary. Ratten and the new coaches. Marshall. Gresham, Billings, Sinclair, Acres coming of age and getting more midfield time. Also, Josh Bruce. Him being back has made a huge difference.

Also Richo for presumably being open to some new ideas

Kilda wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 12:06pm no obvious A graders

Well Billings has been threatening to be an A Grader for a while.
This season he has just jumped straight to being elite.

Gresh has been continuing his steady development and this season with more midfield time.

Last season had our players confused by our gameplan, and in some games (ie Cats) openly rebelling against it. This season they area well drilled unit.

GAMEPLAND AND STRUCTURES this year- We seem to one of the very few clubs that have thought through the 6 6 6 change and are structured for it in an advantageous way. Unfortunately though advantage by gameplan is something that other clubs can ape eventually.

SPEED: We have long been a slow club, but no longer. The many new fast players who have been introduced, plus playing ones that we had like Long and Paton, make us a different team. No longer is it just Steven in the team for pace. The Dons in recent years would cut us open with their run and pace. Not this year.

CONFIDENCE: Always important. When teams discover their mojo anything can happen. Last year the players were demotivated and lost.

BRUCE. Back in town. Do not underestimate the importance of this guy with his run and pack busting in addition to his marking. Even wen he does not mark, the ball is often spoilt still giving us a chance.

MEMBREY: Has rediscovered his kicking accuracy.

WILKIE: What a pick up.

HARDNESS: We are playing harder, and are tackling harder.

CAVEAT: we are yet to play the best teams. But hek we have already won the same number of games that we already have.

OFFIELD: Richo delegating more to his assistants and the new ideas for gameplan and structures are there for all to see. RATTEN has beena HUGE get for us. Probably our best recruit.

LINTON STREET: This too has been very important.

2020: With King and Bytel both recovering, and Clark and Coffield still building their tanks and bodies things are looking good.

leighsaintsince66

The curse has been lifted. The Saints have risen!!!

It's probably as much a reflection of how bad last year was. We went from being a mid table side expected to push for the 8 to a team that couldn't win a game.
It's as though last year never happened and we've gone straight from 2017 to 2019.
The new coaches, some new players and a bit of confidence don't hurt either.

remboy wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 12:54pm It's probably as much a reflection of how bad last year was. We went from being a mid table side expected to push for the 8 to a team that couldn't win a game.
It's as though last year never happened and we've gone straight from 2017 to 2019.
Nailed it. Just rewound back to mid-2017.

Except for a few games last year, we were competitive, and I think we often won clearances and even 50 entries. We had a series of unfortunate things happen, but as a supporter, and this maybe again just emotion, it seems that last year, we were still laboring behind expectations ...expectations that go way, way back, to before Richo, through, Waters, and to the disappointment and potential of through 2010 of course and the mixed feelings of 2011.

But I know it is different for the actual players, with precious few, Armo? , still around to feel the arc of the decline from the top. At the beginning of this year, it looked rock bottom and a fresh start. So happy in so many ways. Even for Jack Stuv who is battling with his demons, to be part of this great positive vibe now. What a wonderful way to be nourished..again outside perception.

I just don’t want us to go North Melbourne-like. Last year they were written off, in a similar way to us this year, and yet they over-achieved and then fell away. And now...So hopefully we are different- and we are.

Enjoy your Easter eggs girls and boys. I don’t want to conflate religious rebirth narratives with football clubs so I just hope it is a lucky coin ncoidence...I don’t know what am saying...go Saints!,,

Trixilver

People forget that last year we weren't playing that badly (mainly the first part of the season). We just couldn't convert or deliver into F50 to save our life. Repeatedly won clearances and general play but just missed constantly and gave the ball back to the opposition who would routinely run it down the other end and kick a 50/50 goal. That and some close losses really sucked the life out of the team.

I'll admit defensively we are much better this season. But remember a lot of our games so far have been pretty close. Essendon were terrible and we only won by 11. This Melbourne game was the first time this year where I've felt comfortable for longer than 15 minutes. We have a lot to work on still.

leighsaintsince66 wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 12:49pm The curse has been lifted. The Saints have risen!!!
You may well be right. We now have 4 indigenous players on our list. Gotta help. Think I'm a believer.

saint-stu

I actually expected this year to happen last year (wow did I get that wrong). This was always the plan with the rebuild. Maybe it's more that last year was the anomoly? Rebuild and growth was trending the right way, but the loss of Roo and Monty had a much bigger impact that expected.

Billings and Gresh have always been our A graders in the making. Both have made steady progress each year with Billings arriving this year and Gresh on his way with a permanent midfield spot this year.

Would you not call Jack Steven A grade? I know many don't, but I do. He can win a game off his own boot. Can smash teams in clearances and is lightning quick. Not much he can't do as a midfielder. We're not seeing him in full flight this year.

You have to give lots of credit to the recruiting team for patching the holes over the offseason and also Lethlean (and Richo) for bringing in more expertise. Also to the players for working their arses off. It's all working out so far.

1ac46a38
Crossy66

Trixilver wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 1:34pm People forget that last year we weren't playing that badly (mainly the first part of the season). We just couldn't convert or deliver into F50 to save our life. Repeatedly won clearances and general play but just missed constantly and gave the ball back to the opposition who would routinely run it down the other end and kick a 50/50 goal. That and some close losses really sucked the life out of the team.

I'll admit defensively we are much better this season. But remember a lot of our games so far have been pretty close. Essendon were terrible and we only won by 11. This Melbourne game was the first time this year where I've felt comfortable for longer than 15 minutes. We have a lot to work on still.
Spot on.
We werent that bad last year. I expected us to be 5 - 0 by now and 5-4 after nine just looking at our draw.
Has been mentioned before , but when you listen to people like clarkson and Gale talk about premiership success, they both explain that a club has to be 100% on song and everyone being on the same page to pull off a premiership. So I dont think it is any one thing - just improvement across every area. After Lethleans review there has been a lot of changes including president, more support for Richo with specialist coaches and better assistants, yet there was stability by not sacking the head coach. He was certainly humbled with direct feedback from the group and most notably the skipper. The new coaches, including Slater have obviously had a huge impact from preseason onward.
Add all that to the natural organic growth and some belief and we have what we have. For the next month, win lose or draw, I only hope they maintain the spirit and belief and effort even if they sustain a few losses against more fancied opponents. I reckon a 5 -4 after nine would be a good pass mark.

twirlyhair

“They’ve got a number of really good players between year one and year four. I’m a real believer that you don’t get a really good player until you’ve played 50 to 80 games of footy. Then they start to be really good players and they can actually influence games.

McKay talking about the blues. This is where our core group are right now. Add the fact that we sorely missed Bruce last year after the departure of Roo. Add a much safer and predictable game plan, with some very good and carefully chosen inclusions, both on and off the field, and hey presto, there you have it.

Trev from the Bush wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 1:08pm
remboy wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 12:54pm It's probably as much a reflection of how bad last year was. We went from being a mid table side expected to push for the 8 to a team that couldn't win a game.
Q: What did we have in mid 2017 that we didn't have last year?

A: Leadership

Rooy and Joey were not there last year and as soon as there were problems and losses, the negativity grew and the coach was hopeless and helpless in turning it around. Another guy that was on our list in 2017 was Dempster (although he'd retired from playing he was still a presence around the club).

Lethlean identified that Richo did not have the charisma or the personality or the credibility to lift the playing group. He had to import leadership and credibility and Billy Slater and Gubby Allen were the fisrt of a series of targets.

The main driver of this change in our fortunes has been Brett Ratten. Every interview I've seen, I've heard practical examples of the structures and systems that Ratts has helped implement. People see Ratts as having great ip, but I also see a bloke who is a fantastic leader and a bloke who gets buy in because of his positivity.

As far as the playing list was concerned, the guys like Geary, Ross, and Steven were not seen as capable enough or strong enough to turn things around on their own, so Dan Hannebery was also targeted to help provide on field leadership.

I think some of the playing group and developing leaders were a little insulted with some of the media spin regarding this and they've stepped up this year. I talk of Jack Steele and Jack Newnes and I see Josh Bruce as a guy who always has a positive impact on his team mates and I've noticed all these 3 guys have lead by their actions this year. Gears and Ross and Steven have also impressed with their efforts and attitude. I'm positive it can continue

Crossy66

Scollop wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 7:48pm

Rooy and Joey were not there last year and as soon as there were problems and losses, the negativity grew and the coach was hopeless and helpless in turning it around. Another guy that was on our list in 2017 was Dempster (although he'd retired from playing he was still a presence around the club).

Lethlean identified that Richo did not have the charisma or the personality or the credibility to lift the playing group. He had to import leadership and credibility and Billy Slater and Gubby Allen were the fisrt of a series of targets.

The main driver of this change in our fortunes has been Brett Ratten. Every interview I've seen, I've heard practical examples of the structures and systems that Ratts has helped implement. People see Ratts as having great ip, but I also see a bloke who is a fantastic leader and a bloke who gets buy in because of his positivity.

As far as the playing list was concerned, the guys like Geary, Ross, and Steven were not seen as capable enough or strong enough to turn things around on their own, so Dan Hannebery was also targeted to help provide on field leadership.

I think some of the playing group and developing leaders were a little insulted with some of the media spin regarding this and they've stepped up this year. I talk of Jack Steele and Jack Newnes and I see Josh Bruce as a guy who always has a positive impact on his team mates and I've noticed all these 3 guys have lead by their actions this year. Gears and Ross and Steven have also impressed with their efforts and attitude. I'm positive it can continue
"Lethlean identified that Richo did not have the charisma or the personality or the credibility to lift the playing group"

Source?

Billy Slater is not a guest speaker. He is there permanently and works regularly with the players.

We put out a presser last year that St Kilda have employed him to teach leadership

Do you reckon David Parkin or Leigh Matthews or Dennis Pagan or Kevin Sheedy or even Nathan Buckley or Damien Hardwick needed a bloke like Billy to teach their players leadership?
Last edited by Scollop on Sun 21 Apr 2019 8:04pm, edited 1 time in total.

Crossy66 wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 7:58pm

"Lethlean identified that Richo did not have the charisma or the personality or the credibility to lift the playing group"

Source?
The cat would be about right mate. The post appears to be someones views dressed up as fact.

The cat joke was just personally for you.

Crossy66

Scollop wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 7:59pm Billy Slater is not a guest speaker. He is there permanently and works regularly with the players.

We put out a presser last year that St Kilda have employed him to teach leadership

Do you reckon David Parkin or Leigh Matthews or Dennis Pagan or Kevin Sheedy or even Nathan Buckley or Damien Hardwick needed a bloke like Billy to teach their players leadership?
yes, very much so

Since when were all posts here on Saintsational supposed to be facts only? I didn't claim to be a journo did I? We haven't turned into the National Press Club have we?

Some of the people who post here get so worked up when a poster such as myself (an anonymous nobody) makes a post and expresses an opinion. If you don't agree with it just tell us where you positive changes were made and why we are performing better this year. For goodness sake!! Haeven forbid, you might even tell us about Richo's strengths and why he is so crucial to the team performing well in 2019
Last edited by Scollop on Sun 21 Apr 2019 8:16pm, edited 1 time in total.

Good appointments, new players, existing players getting better, new game plan, better pressure and tackling and a reinvigorated Richo as head coach. The club is singing one song.

Crossy66

Scollop wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 8:13pm Since when were all posts here on Saintsational supposed to be facts only? I didn't claim to be a journo did I? We haven't turned into the National Press Club have we?

Some of the people who post here get so worked up when a poster such as myself (an anonymous nobody) makes a post and expresses an opinion. If you don't agree with it just tell us where you positive changes were made and why we are performing better this year. For goodness sake!! Haeven forbid, you might even tell us about Richo's strengths and why he is so crucial to the team performing well in 2019
No problem with opinion mate, most of your post was just that - opinion. I dont agree with it all but thats ok. Certainly dont get worked up about it. The statement about Lethlean was written as a fact (the way i read it) and baseless. The only reason for putting forward counter information is that I don't understand why when we are flying, people want to still criticise. I am sure as the year unfolds, there will be losses and opportunity for negativity - just not now

Anyway, a few other facts for you.
Damien Hardwick - after finishing 13th in 2016 and within a hairs breath of been sacked, was sent on a leadership course as it was identified by the board he needed to improve in this area. THey also hired Neale Balme who explained to Hardwick where he was going wrong with the players, his micro management, was critical about his leadership style, coaching methodology etc.
The Club also hired Ben Crowe to be a leadership mentor to Hardwick and the leadership group for the season - result = Premiership.

2017 Buckley also went to a Leadership / personal development course in the U.S>, also had a leadership mentor and his mantra for 2018 was " lets focus on what we are doing well and less on what we cant." Was severely under threat at start of season. Result GF runner up
Any of this sound familiar?
Congrats to all at the Saints for the self examination and for being big enough to take onboard some brutal home truths.
Credit where its due I reckon!

Source?
Read it in the tea leaves?

Trev from the Bush wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 8:55pm

Source?
Read it in the tea leaves?
Nope. Barrett's weekly sliding doors article on afl.com.au.
😁🙄

the dome

Could Moorabbin help players to feel more AFL worthy?

I haven't been to Moorabbin for a few years now but could the history of the place be helping players to connect their identity with all the amazing history that took place on the oval there?
I remember back in the day occasionally rolling up to see training before the next weekend encounter. I felt all the more connected to the club by watching training which eventuated in witnessing pre-Grand Final training on the oval while the big crowd of fans watched proceedings from the soggy side of the fence. :D