AFL must explain Eleni

Re: AFL must explain Eleni

Get over it I say. She made a few errors and yes a few howlers as well, but so do most of the second and third tier umps every week. If she doesn't make good decisions then she'll be relegated again and if she continues to show that she can't handle the pressure then I don't think the AFL will allow her to continue.

I reckon at times today that the umps that were further away from the action were overuling her and perhaps that makes her lose confidence and she starts second guessing.

We mostly had a good run from the maggots in the first half and like always they tried to even up the numbers in the second half. I can never figure out why they think that two wrongs will somehow make a right but I understand that it looks better on the stat sheet if the frees are close to even.

Teflon wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 10:35pm
bigcarl wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 6:22pm
Linton Lodger wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 6:11pm Its virtue signalling by the AFL, simple! She's not there on merit. Has f**k all feel for the game and doesn't appear to know the basic Rules or give a sh*t about them. She was a disgrace today and had a mate or two!

The concept of gender quotas is idiotic and not to mention a dangerous folly, promoted by idiotic new wave feminists.
Couldn’t agree more. Quotas of any type is garbage. It has to be on merit.
Geez mention merit where I work and you’re career is over as a misogynist, bigot, racist, uneducated Trump supporter.......even though all you’ve suggested is treat EVERYONE as a respected individual equally....go figure...
Yes, that’s the world we live in. All men are misogynists. All white men are racist.

saint64

She made a few mistakes, but overall wasn't too bad. Not sure what everyone is going nuts about.

What a pathetic thread.

Was hardly a terribly umpired game, with only a few howlers which were a number of the umps.

And if you’re claiming Mundy was swung 720 degrees by Carlisle then you are outright lying. And you want credibility in judging some else’s performance :roll:
And let’s not overlook that Ross was swung 360 degrees in a better tackle half way through the last and that wasn’t paid either. Funny how no one is talking about that :roll:

A number of poster went into the game with an agenda to attack her no matter what. This thread is no surprise.

BarryGrogan wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 6:31pm
Linton Lodger wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 6:11pm

We have had a competence issue with Umpires for some time and yet the AFL wants to dilute any talent even further, by playing absurd new wave feminist politics.

Disagree entirely.

By giving a woman an opportunity, they're potentially increasing the talent pool by 50%.

She's not the worst in the caper, and even if she was - it'd probably be about a 2% decrease in performance across the umpiring department at worst.

So a tiny short term hit to performance, with the potential for enormous gain in the future.
This type of explanation is too rational for the establishment.

Special wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 4:58pm She is a joke.

Must be SACKED IMMEDIATELY.

She should be banned for life from any association with professional sport.

Those that promoted her to being on the AFL list as an umpire need to be fired immediately also.

I feel like emailing that idiot Gil but he’s got his head so far up his arse he’ll never see the sun again.

She can go get f***ed.

Weak human and this poster should be banned immediately for this type of pathetic language.

Go enjoy your miserable life elsewhere.

The Fireman wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 8:06pm Male or female. Couldn’t give ashit just hope she is taken to task and asked to explain her decisions

Problem is you don’t ask for the other two umpires to be taken to task, and they were worse today.

You probably don’t even know the other two umpires names. Simply because blend into the established group.

So your male or female opener doesn’t hold. There’s a natural bias because she is recognisable and what’s worse for some people, different.

BarryGrogan wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 8:43pm
Annoyedsaint wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 8:41pm I said there must be better umpires out there you goose.
Male, female or alien.

You’re sounding like one of those feminist fools who try to mince words of others to suit an agenda.

Give me the best.
I don’t believe she’s the best.
Proof is in the pudding this year.
Everyone (being all teams supporters) say she is terrible.
Doesn’t that tell you something?
So who are they?

Spot on, who are they? No answers.

Just another pack mentality.

The Recruit

BarryGrogan wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 6:31pm
Linton Lodger wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 6:11pm

We have had a competence issue with Umpires for some time and yet the AFL wants to dilute any talent even further, by playing absurd new wave feminist politics.

Disagree entirely.

By giving a woman an opportunity, they're potentially increasing the talent pool by 50%.

She's not the worst in the caper, and even if she was - it'd probably be about a 2% decrease in performance across the umpiring department at worst.

So a tiny short term hit to performance, with the potential for enormous gain in the future.
Disagree
Based on very clear evidence she is by far THE worst umpire that has umpired stkilda games this year BY FAR

The Recruit

We need to start winning more games so we don’t play sundays
Play sundays you get the Sunday umpires. Play Friday and Saturday nights, we’ll the AFL don’t put under performing umpires in those time slots.

And for all on here saying the umpiring wasn’t ‘that bad’ there were 18000 saints supported who collectively booed off the umpiring group even after a win.....can’t be all wrong :? :?:

Ghost Like wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 8:55pm
saynta wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 7:56pm From afl.com.au

"Five goals were scored in the third term – three to Freo and two to St Kilda – and the lead changed each time. The last of these goals, to Dockers youngster Lachie Schultz, raised the ire of Saints fans after Freo veteran David Mundy was tackled by the shorts for a seeming eternity."

720 f****** degree turn.
360 degrees, just a very wide arc.
2 x circles 720 degrees.

Special

Spinner wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 11:20pm

Those that promoted her to being on the AFL list as an umpire need to be fired immediately also.

I feel like emailing that idiot Gil but he’s got his head so far up his arse he’ll never see the sun again.

She can go get f***ed.

Weak human and this poster should be banned immediately for this type of pathetic language.

You are even more pathetic spanner

<already banned for 1 week>

saynta wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 11:48pm

"Five goals were scored in the third term – three to Freo and two to St Kilda – and the lead changed each time. The last of these goals, to Dockers youngster Lachie Schultz, raised the ire of Saints fans after Freo veteran David Mundy was tackled by the shorts for a seeming eternity."

720 f****** degree turn.
2 x circles 720 degrees.
Claiming he got spun in 2 complete circles is a flat out lie. I hope you correct yourself after watching a replay. Was barely one and a quarter.

Special wrote: Mon 12 Aug 2019 12:50am
Spinner wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 11:20pm

She can go get f***ed.

You are even more pathetic spanner

Good one. Not sure how you are still posting.

Your post should have you banned for life from this site. Incredibly inflammatory about a person in the game.

barneyboyz

The_Dud wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 11:07pm What a pathetic thread.

Was hardly a terribly umpired game, with only a few howlers which were a number of the umps.

And if you’re claiming Mundy was swung 720 degrees by Carlisle then you are outright lying. And you want credibility in judging some else’s performance :roll:
And let’s not overlook that Ross was swung 360 degrees in a better tackle half way through the last and that wasn’t paid either. Funny how no one is talking about that :roll:

A number of poster went into the game with an agenda to attack her no matter what. This thread is no surprise.
Have to agree with you. There's much wrong with the game/umpiring these days, but yesterday wasn't any better or worst than any other week. The ball moves so fast these days.

However, if they had of thought a little better about delivery into the 50, or improved the handballing over their heads behind them (looks great when it works, but geez) and losing the ball, we'd have won by 40 - 50 points, and Eleni wouldn't even be a subject today. Not to say that it isn't part of some agenda :wink:

Jesus, footy can be awfully hard to watch 'live' these days, it's just a TV show now.

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:

ace wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 8:38pm
She has been mislead by the male umpires into thinking the holding the ball rule applies when a player grabs an opponent by both balls.
The Linton Street Flash wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 9:40pm Look, I’m no sexist but if she did her ump’ing in a nice revealing frock or even a cut-off pair of jeans, would it be so bad if she made a few errors here and there?

Just saying...

Just Grubby

The_Dud wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 11:07pm What a pathetic thread.

When Dunstan got smashed before taking the ball the commentators all said that has been a free in every other game this year. So why not to Dunstan? Clear view no one in the way the umpire chose to ignore it.

Mundy was also a free.

The Dunstan in the back again impossible to miss.

When the Freo player was tackled dropped the ball and one umpire awarded us a free and Eleni over ruled and paid high that was also a blatant mistake.

720 f****** degree turn.
2 x circles 720 degrees.
Correct maths Saynta but the example you are referring to only had one circle in it. 720 ÷ 2 = 360

outside66

I don't think there's been a game where everyone goes home happy with the umpiring. There are s*** calls/non-calls every week and yesterday was no exception. I wonder whether there would still be the same amount of vitriol directed towards Eleni if she happened to be a bloke instead? Doubt it...

Special

The Recruit wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 11:44pm We need to start winning more games so we don’t play sundays
Play sundays you get the Sunday umpires. Play Friday and Saturday nights, we’ll the AFL don’t put under performing umpires in those time slots.

And for all on here saying the umpiring wasn’t ‘that bad’ there were 18000 saints supported who collectively booed off the umpiring group even after a win.....can’t be all wrong :? :?:
An old theory that stands the test of time is that Shyte games get the shyte umpires.

The irony is that only two games were good this round, and ours - a designated shyte game - was one of them!

Special

Ghost Like wrote: Mon 12 Aug 2019 9:53am

720 f****** degree turn.
2 x circles 720 degrees.
Correct maths Saynta but the example you are referring to only had one circle in it. 720 ÷ 2 = 360
I reckon it was one and half turns so 540 degrees.

On the replay it to me was 50/50 as the Shocker player disposed the ball correctly.

The Peanut

She made a few shockers but will hopefully learn from them - that's my take because we won. I might have been a little harder if we lost.

The_Dud wrote: Mon 12 Aug 2019 3:03am

720 f****** degree turn.
2 x circles 720 degrees.
Claiming he got spun in 2 complete circles is a flat out lie. I hope you correct yourself after watching a replay. Was barely one and a quarter.
Gone up 45 degrees from your first post calling me a liar now have we? :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

barneyboyz

Special wrote: Mon 12 Aug 2019 11:27am
Ghost Like wrote: Mon 12 Aug 2019 9:53am

720 f****** degree turn.
2 x circles 720 degrees.
I reckon it was one and half turns so 540 degrees.

On the replay it to me was 50/50 as the Shocker player disposed the ball correctly.
They more often than not let these go, especially if they get good hands on it. The ones that peeve me though, are the ones where a player has it for a micro second and gets pinged, or on the other hand changes direction or takes a couple of steps and doesn't get pinged

The former usually happens in our backline and the latter usually happens in our forward line :)

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:

The Peanut wrote: Mon 12 Aug 2019 11:31am She made a few shockers but will hopefully learn from them - that's my take because we won. I might have been a little harder if we lost.
We won, no thanks to the maggots who tried their hardest to make sure we didn't.

Seems to be a habit with them when we play the shockers. :wink: