AFL is a Joke. Tony Greene still suspended!

Re: AFL is a Joke. Tony Greene still suspended!

st.byron wrote: Wed 18 Sep 2019 2:24pm
Ghost Like wrote: Wed 18 Sep 2019 2:01pm It may not be St Byron but once something starts rotting it is highly unlikely to unrot.
Yeah...but...look at FIFA as another example. Clearly corrupt in awarding the World Cup to Qatar. And I’m sure there are lots of other examples of dodginess in FIFA. That though, doesn’t mean that the whole of the World Cup is rotten. That all the matches and who the eventual winner is, is corrupt.
There are politics and injustice in every sport and pretty much every aspect of life. It’s right to call it out and not sweep it under the carpet. At the same time, people can also focus on that so much that every interaction and decision by authorities is seen through that lens. Then the whole world just becomes one big conspiracy theory and endless chain of persecution. Where’s the joy or pleasure in that?

Curly I reckon that’s pretty much your world view, based on what you post on here, and I wonder if you actually get any enjoyment out of the footy, or if you’re so concerned about cheating and persecution that it’s only about that. Sounds really unenjoyable to me.
I loved AFL right up until it became a buisness over a sport. Most of it driven by the Ed McGuire run media.

johnnyrayflamingo

The umps are in on all this too. They no doubt get a kickback here and there if they help get certain teams over the line.

😎

johnnyrayflamingo wrote: Wed 18 Sep 2019 2:33pm The umps are in on all this too. They no doubt get a kickback here and there if they help get certain teams over the line.
I don't believe they get paid off for cheating its just in their best interest to not upset certain clubs. Bend StKilda over the media remains silent. If Collingwood are deemed to be on the rough end of a few calls the media blows up again led by Eddie and his crew of followers.

lewdogs

Spinner wrote: Wed 18 Sep 2019 10:20am
lewdogs wrote: Wed 18 Sep 2019 10:12am Honestly do people actually feel sorry for him? He was bloody lucky to get off last week and then puts his hand on someones eye again. Absoulute moron.

AFL conspiracy, yeah right. The AFL would love GWS to make the big dance.

'Tony' only has himself to blame.

I like the good players be allowed to play the game without getting suspended for things such as touching a player on the nose...
Clearly touched his eye. If you can't see that then I'd say you seem to be seeing what you want to see.

Toby was just brushing some grass of his temple, trying to hit the ball away and not sure what he was doing with his hand. The bloke is a d**khead. Great player but a total moron. I don't care if he get off or not. I just can't stand him.
He made contact with his nose and caused some bruising. He got pretty close to his eyes.
High contact
Low impact.
Intentional
1 week.
Suck s***.

CURLY wrote: Wed 18 Sep 2019 2:32pm
st.byron wrote: Wed 18 Sep 2019 2:24pm
Ghost Like wrote: Wed 18 Sep 2019 2:01pm It may not be St Byron but once something starts rotting it is highly unlikely to unrot.
Yeah...but...look at FIFA as another example. Clearly corrupt in awarding the World Cup to Qatar. And I’m sure there are lots of other examples of dodginess in FIFA. That though, doesn’t mean that the whole of the World Cup is rotten. That all the matches and who the eventual winner is, is corrupt.
There are politics and injustice in every sport and pretty much every aspect of life. It’s right to call it out and not sweep it under the carpet. At the same time, people can also focus on that so much that every interaction and decision by authorities is seen through that lens. Then the whole world just becomes one big conspiracy theory and endless chain of persecution. Where’s the joy or pleasure in that?

Curly I reckon that’s pretty much your world view, based on what you post on here, and I wonder if you actually get any enjoyment out of the footy, or if you’re so concerned about cheating and persecution that it’s only about that. Sounds really unenjoyable to me.
I loved AFL right up until it became a buisness over a sport. Most of it driven by the Ed McGuire run media.
I certainly empathise with you there. The actual game itself, I love it. All the crapola and commercialism that surrounds it leaves me cold. Went to the final at the Gabba between Richmond and Brisbane and it was horrible. In your face commercial crap all night. I actually prefer nowadays going to local footy. It’s a much more authentic experience. Just people involved in it for the camaraderie and love of the game.

We have a similar opinion about all that it seems, I just don’t believe that anyone, not the AFL or the umpires, are blatantly and deliberately trying to engineer specific outcomes of games. I could be wrong, but I don’t see that way.

Enrico_Misso wrote: Tue 17 Sep 2019 10:18pm Another inconsistent tribunal!
Last week he should have got a week, this week just a fine.

It's a bit like an umpire who makes a clanger and then realises it, and then evens up with a soft free the other way.

But "Two wrongs don't make a right" (to misquote Arthur Calwell).
initially, I got a bit mad at the OP, because I think any attempt at eye-gouging, in fact any attempt to go near the eyes, should be met with severe punishment.
You don't mess with someone's bloody eyes.
Dog act.

But this post i have quoted puts it very nicely indeed.

fugazi wrote: Wed 18 Sep 2019 12:15pm
Spinner wrote: Wed 18 Sep 2019 10:59am
st.byron wrote: Wed 18 Sep 2019 10:51am
Spinner wrote: Wed 18 Sep 2019 10:18am
st.byron wrote: Wed 18 Sep 2019 9:55am
fugazi wrote: Wed 18 Sep 2019 9:51am Referring to what he did to Bont. But what is he doing putting his hands on the face of the Lions player? He knows he's doing it too, it is deliberate and totally unnecessary. He can miss a final and have a bit of a think about it.
Yep this. Also lied at the tribunal with a bulls*** story that he was trying to reach the ball. Lied after the last tribunal when he was “so sorry”.

The ball was under Neale’s face.

Lol are you really that upset because he said ‘I’m sorry’ a week prior to getting reported? Is this kindergarten?
Dude, no need to belittle. Nope not upset. His ‘apology’ and subsequent behaviour show just how genuine his remorse was...not. Scroll down to the GIF in this article :

https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/toby- ... fb7283eaa9

That is in no way an attempt to ‘get the ball’.
Looks as if he was trying to keep the ball in, not get it.

And it’s a ridiculous statement to even suggest he lied by saying sorry the week prior. I’m really not sure what that adds.
Chill out mate.
If anyone sounds upset, it's you Spinner.
To be honest most on here probably don't care that much.
When GWS meet Pies the ideal result would be that they both lose.
But Toby has been a serial offender, he got a reprieve from the MRP the week before and basically buttered up in the next game.
I reckon he deserves to be on the sidelines for a week.
Other think differently.
I've moved on to the trade period now, because that actually means something to the Saints.

As above, what he did last week doesn’t matter.

Looks like it did matter

fugazi wrote: Thu 19 Sep 2019 10:12pm Looks like it did matter
We all know why he’s suspended. The AFL is a complete piss take.

Does anyone seriously think if Taylor Adams did what Green did he’d be suspended.

All Ed has to do is tell the AFL what colour his opponent can wear and how many seats Collingwood will give them.

Too bad Toby, :lol: :lol: :lol: munch on a Pie whilst you watch your team struggle, maybe even wash it down with a Carlton Draught.

saintkid

CURLY wrote: Thu 19 Sep 2019 10:28pm

Does anyone seriously think if Taylor Adams did what Green did he’d be suspended.

All Ed has to do is tell the AFL what colour his opponent can wear and how many seats Collingwood will give them.
That's why so many have had a gutful of the blatant inequality within the AFL competition. Collingwood get an armchair ride from the AFL and Greene's suspension is another example of this assistance, so the filth make the Grand Final again.

CURLY wrote: Thu 19 Sep 2019 10:28pm

Exactly right. Laughable that some seem content with the AFL going outside their own rules.

Watch them be the first to cry foul is it happens to us.

All this emotive crap coming from Greene’s manager Connors and various others.......

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/tob ... 52szn.html

What a load of bollocks. Get over yourselves. Don’t jump on top of a pinned down bloke and deliberately stick your hands in his face. Simple. Greene testified that he was trying to get the ball. His QC said he was trying to get a holding the ball decision. So which was it? Both BS stories to cover up the fact that Greene was playing the man and not the ball. A man who was pinned under another opponent with no capacity to protect himself, Dog act from a dog player. Deserves his suspension.

st.byron wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 2:14am All this emotive crap coming from Greene’s manager Connors and various others.......

What a load of bollocks. Get over yourselves. Don’t jump on top of a pinned down bloke and deliberately stick your hands in his face. Simple. Greene testified that he was trying to get the ball. His QC said he was trying to get a holding the ball decision. So which was it? Both BS stories to cover up the fact that Greene was playing the man and not the ball. A man who was pinned under another opponent with no capacity to protect himself, Dog act from a dog player. Deserves his suspension.

Connors 100% spot on. Wise words from a smart man.

Not sure why this incident upsets you so much as to call touching a player on the nose a dog act.

Spinner wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 2:35am
st.byron wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 2:14am All this emotive crap coming from Greene’s manager Connors and various others.......

Not sure why this incident upsets you so much as to call touching a player on the nose a dog act.
Spinner, I’m not upset I assure you. Not even close. How about dropping the commentary on my emotional state and focusing on the topic. I simply have a different opinion to you.

st.byron wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 3:10am
Spinner wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 2:35am

Spinner, I’m not upset I assure you. Not even close. How about dropping the commentary on my emotional state and focusing on the topic. I simply have a different opinion to you.

Well it was a very emotive post especially given the outcome went your way.

My post was very on topic. It is a very low threshold to label touching a players nose as a dog act and I happen to agree with everything Connors stated.

Connors is very on point and I’m glad he had the balls to put it on record.

Everyone on this thread imagines they are being objective, but really it amounts to who do you dislike more Collingwood and Eddie or GWS and Toby.
Very doubtful those arguing for Tobys right to play would be holding that opinion if it was a GWS -Saints Prelim.

thefatdork

fugazi wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 7:38am Everyone on this thread imagines they are being objective, but really it amounts to who do you dislike more Collingwood and Eddie or GWS and Toby.
Very doubtful those arguing for Tobys right to play would be holding that opinion if it was a GWS -Saints Prelim.
Yes - but it isn’t a Saints v GWS Prelim, so I’m pretty unbiased in this respect.
I dislike Green but he is a very good player who also does pretty nasty things on the field.
The issue that I have is the inconsistency. He should have been suspended the week before but wasn’t. There is less conclusive evidence this week but yet he gets suspended. Even Neale and opp coach gave evidence supporting Green - yet the tribunal chose to suspend him anyway. This inconsistency, whatever the motive, makes the whole process a joke.
TFD

fugazi wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 7:38am Everyone on this thread imagines they are being objective, but really it amounts to who do you dislike more Collingwood and Eddie or GWS and Toby.
Why would anyone dislike the Giants? Regardless, why would anyone dislike the club more then Collingwood? Isn’t this a Saints forum?

If the Saints were playing everyone would considered it the biggest gift known to man. Reality though, it already is.

thefatdork wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 8:01am
Yes - but it isn’t a Saints v GWS Prelim, so I’m pretty unbiased in this respect.
I dislike Green but he is a very good player who also does pretty nasty things on the field.
The issue that I have is the inconsistency. He should have been suspended the week before but wasn’t. There is less conclusive evidence this week but yet he gets suspended. Even Neale and opp coach gave evidence supporting Green - yet the tribunal chose to suspend him anyway. This inconsistency, whatever the motive, makes the whole process a joke.
TFD
I agree with that. But I'm still happy to see him on the sidelines.
May as well embrace the subjectivity. I don'tlike him, he should have gone for what he did to Bont, Brisbane would likely have won in his absence, he still has the possibility of playing a GF.
Maybe he will learn not to stick his hands in the face of his opponent.

fugazi wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 8:33am
TFD
May as well embrace the subjectivity. I don'tlike him, he should have gone for what he did to Bont, Brisbane would likely have won in his absence, he still has the possibility of playing a GF.
Suspended for grabbing Bont’s hair? Disagree.

I love the Bont but how many weeks should he have got for breaking Haynes throat? Surely 1000 times worse than a hair pull.

Spinner wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 8:38am
fugazi wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 8:33am
TFD
Suspended for grabbing Bont’s hair? Disagree.

I love the Bont but how many weeks should he have got for breaking Haynes throat? Surely 1000 times worse than a hair pull.
Eddie going down the path that this has happened to Collingwood and we all accepted that. Yes Eddie Cloke king hit Edwards knocking him out and Rocca ran and elbowed Lade in the jaw knocking him out. Both were absolutley no doubt that they had to be suspended.

barneyboyz

WellardSaint wrote: Wed 18 Sep 2019 6:01pm
Enrico_Misso wrote: Tue 17 Sep 2019 10:18pm Another inconsistent tribunal!
Last week he should have got a week, this week just a fine.

It's a bit like an umpire who makes a clanger and then realises it, and then evens up with a soft free the other way.

But "Two wrongs don't make a right" (to misquote Arthur Calwell).
initially, I got a bit mad at the OP, because I think any attempt at eye-gouging, in fact any attempt to go near the eyes, should be met with severe punishment.
You don't mess with someone's bloody eyes.
Dog act.

But this post i have quoted puts it very nicely indeed.
Yep, last week he would have been better to have had a week off. The AFL dearly need GWS to be successful, so they let him off, no problem really but now, who expected that little twerp to do it again?

Elephant in the room last night...now Toby, who in the 'F' do you think you are? we told you last week to keep yer hands off players faces, now look what you've made us do. And if you don't stop now, we'll send you to the Saints where we can give you real suspensions, not these namby pamby 1 week bans and fines

Stuff Toby, and stuff the AFL circus :wink:

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:

If you play on the edge, sometimes you fall off. Enjoy the fall d**khead. Typical cheap shot, third man in, tough guy. Asked as he left the tribunal last week.
'Toby, are you still going to play on the edge?' 'We will have to wait and see'. You bet ya balls he will. The bloke has problems. I feel sorry for GWS.