David Rath

Re: David Rath

chook23 wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 6:46pm
Linton Lodger wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 4:49pm A friend of mine (Geelong supporter) who is connected to AFL people, including Rath, contacted me today saying we've pulled off a major coup.

Claims that Rath was the gameplan genius behind Clarkson.
that one has been used though.............

we need to appoint the genius with the next one

does he have another
The game plan evolves around the ability of the athletes playing. Skill is the key, it is always the key. In most contests this year we have had the ability to match possesion and stoppage stats in clutch periods during the matches.. We lacked the skill to take a match from the opposition. This is his field.

CQ SAINT wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 8:08pm
Linton Lodger wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 4:49pm A friend of mine (Geelong supporter) who is connected to AFL people, including Rath, contacted me today saying we've pulled off a major coup.

does he have another
The game plan evolves around the ability of the athletes playing. Skill is the key, it is always the key. In most contests this year we have had the ability to match possesion and stoppage stats in clutch periods during the matches.. We lacked the skill to take a match from the opposition. This is his field.
Very difficult to improve certain skills that needed to be improved/taught/corrected when 8-13 yrs old
Particularly kicking skills

chook23 wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 9:08pm
CQ SAINT wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 8:08pm

does he have another
Very difficult to improve certain skills that needed to be improved/taught/corrected when 8-13 yrs old
Particularly kicking skills
I haven't seen any player in the team that is that bad that they never ever kick well. What happens when you do it well and the difference when you do it wrong is the key to the solution. That is about technique not skill.
Skill acquisition programs aren't just about improving skills, they are also about identifying deficiencies. I believe the lack of standards we have experienced over the last few years is the biggest part of the problem. Ratten said as much himself.
Rath with give us data to resolve this and raise standards.
Some will improve quickly and some will not.

BarryGrogan

st.byron wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 5:27pm

I wonder if appointing Ratts is in any way connected to Rath coming on board. Ratten is appointed, then a couple of weeks later Rath. And Roughy just before Ratts. A core of Hawthorn people from when they were top dog. I like it.
And Hill.

BarryGrogan wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 10:08pm

I wonder if appointing Ratts is in any way connected to Rath coming on board. Ratten is appointed, then a couple of weeks later Rath. And Roughy just before Ratts. A core of Hawthorn people from when they were top dog. I like it.
And Hill.
Indeed. Perhaps more to come. Two more assistants to appoint I believe.

st.byron wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 10:52pm

And Hill.
From where did u hear that?

saintly wrote: Sat 21 Sep 2019 7:59am

And Hill.

Just on here mate. Somebody posted that we currently have two less assistants than last year. Could be complete BS.

Could he be a new messiah?

A new Pelchen??

Positive.

I like it!

👍

does he have another
I was interested to hear, that Luke Hodge's role at Hawthorn came from studying the way Franz Beckenbaur played back in the day. I used to watch Beckenbaur a bit and as soon as I heard this, the comparison between him and Hodge was obvious although they play/ed different sports.

st.byron wrote: Sat 21 Sep 2019 9:55am
saintly wrote: Sat 21 Sep 2019 7:59am

Just on here mate. Somebody posted that we currently have two less assistants than last year. Could be complete BS.
The main coaching roles seem to be covered.

Senior Coach – Brett Ratten
Assistant Coach (forwardline and team offence) – Brendon Lade
Assistant Coach (backline and team defence) – Aaron Hamill
Assistant Coach (midfield and contest) – Adam Skrobalak
Assistant and Development Coach (stoppages and structures) – Robbie Chancellor
Sandringham Senior Coach and Development Manager – Ben McGlynn
Development Coach – Jake Batchelor

One role missing is ruck coach, but that is often a part time role.
Will Dermie be back asa forward coach? With Roughie on board he may take that over from Dermie as when he was announced it was stated that he would work our forwards.

CarlD

Derm said on Fox Footy a couple of weeks ago that he had finished his stint with the Saints.

CarlD wrote: Sat 21 Sep 2019 2:33pm Derm said on Fox Footy a couple of weeks ago that he had finished his stint with the Saints.

With Roughead in I thought that would be the case.

For a moment I thought we had gone ahead and jumped in with David Lee Roth.

magnifisaint wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 11:01am
ss1986 wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 10:12am Healthy dose of scepticism whenever I see Lethlean quoted on something being good for the club.... but then dig deeper...... and one of his mates magically benefits from it - oooold B.Scott.
Always a conspiracy theory!
The journo has put it front and centre - it's clearly their opinion too.

SAINT-LEE

I don't think Rath is the messiah but Ratts does, this is critical.
It means Ratts trusts the guy, he will listen carefully and accept guidance, he will hear someone else's opinion, he knows this guy wants more than a good season- he wants to build. It is a good thing to instantly have a senior level connection, it strengthens unity.

freely wrote: Sun 22 Sep 2019 1:43am
ss1986 wrote: Fri 20 Sep 2019 10:12am Healthy dose of scepticism whenever I see Lethlean quoted on something being good for the club.... but then dig deeper...... and one of his mates magically benefits from it - oooold B.Scott.
First thing that popped into my mind too...another AFL appointment, so who does it benefit? Part of the AFL's liquidation team, part of the AFL's orchestrated revival of the club, a cover up of some description, or making room for someone else? :lol:

However, it does seem like a very positive appointment on the face of things. I don't see any club playing like 2012 Hawthorn at the moment, so if we could come close to replicating their club during that period we'd be streets ahead of not only where we are now, but most teams. Even Clarko wouldn't be able to reproduce it right now.

BarryGrogan

degruch wrote: Sun 22 Sep 2019 12:01pm
freely wrote: Sun 22 Sep 2019 1:43am
First thing that popped into my mind too...another AFL appointment, so who does it benefit? Part of the AFL's liquidation team, part of the AFL's orchestrated revival of the club, a cover up of some description, or making room for someone else? :lol:

However, it does seem like a very positive appointment on the face of things. I don't see any club playing like 2012 Hawthorn at the moment, so if we could come close to replicating their club during that period we'd be streets ahead of not only where we are now, but most teams. Even Clarko wouldn't be able to reproduce it right now.
It suits us.

The AFL plant their people at clubs they need to get better.

They've been doing this for ever.

Most thought Pelchen was a great appointment, as he too was solely responsible for Hawthorns success!!!

B.M wrote: Mon 23 Sep 2019 1:40pm Most thought Pelchen was a great appointment, as he too was solely responsible for Hawthorns success!!!
That's twice now. Are you baiting or do you just feel ignored.

Enrico_Misso wrote: Sun 22 Sep 2019 12:31am For a moment I thought we had gone ahead and jumped in with David Lee Roth.
That would be just like living in paradise

B.M wrote: Mon 23 Sep 2019 1:40pm Most thought Pelchen was a great appointment, as he too was solely responsible for Hawthorns success!!!
Soley responsible eh? So who are these mystery posters who do not also credit Clarko, Wright, etc.....and not to mention people like Jeans who really took the Hawks out of the wilderness in the first place?

And was this really the threepeat team?

B: Pelchen Pelchen Pelchen
HB: Pelchen Pelchen Pelchen
C: Pelchen Pelchen Pelchen
HF: Pelchen Pelchen Pelchen
F: Pelchen Pelchen Pelchen

R: Pelchen Pelchen Pelchen

I: Pelchen Pelchen Pelchen Pelchen
E: Pelchen Pelchen Pelchen
Last edited by saintsRrising on Mon 23 Sep 2019 3:20pm, edited 1 time in total.

3RRR will be our new sponsor.

saintspremiers wrote: Mon 23 Sep 2019 2:37pm

3RRR will be our new sponsor.
Que?

When Pelchen joined StK SS posters were doing cartwheels about the Hawthorn architect coming to StK

When it was actually Gary Buckanara who recruited the team, Clarkson who coached the team and they had a good fitness guy... that’s not mentioning the A Grade talent they had..

But no, when we landed Pelchen, the 2018-2020 plan (blueprint) for a flag was eaten up by all, except those who saw through his bulls***!