Jack Bytel's progress from his back injury

Re: Jack Bytel's progress from his back injury

DJ Higgins wrote: Mon 11 Nov 2019 8:38am Yeah let's write the kid off now after he has done nothing. By nothing I mean rehab with medical professionals for about a year. There is no way that surgery can fix injuries let alone physical therapy as well. Plus he is young and fit, that can't help.

My concern is that he hasn't played for a year so others have gone passed him. Not saying he can't catch up but a year out is a fair while
But if we write him off now we can boast about how much we know if he doesn’t come good. If he does come good we call it a miracle. That’s how this forum operates. Get on board writing off Saints players is so much fun!

I prefer to give everyone a go up to a point, but from all accounts he has done everything asked of him to get back on the park and still people are being negative for no real reason.

cwrcyn wrote: Sun 10 Nov 2019 5:07pm Does anyone know what the status is regarding his recovery. Is he ready to join in full training?
Well Hunter Clark was quite positive about Bytel's current fitness in his recent interview in the HS..

“Jack Bytel is in really good nick. I remember watching in the under-15s and he was a gun then. He is a good mate of mine. Everyone has seen the struggles they (Edit: he was also commenting on Max) have gone through.

Bytel will be a gun. Bookmark it. Kid can kick a footy. He's a big unit and has a bit of mongrel in him. Quite a few had him going Top 10-15 early of the year of his draft until the back injury slip down the order. He'll be pushing hard for Dunstans spot. We finally have some midfield depth.

Well he doesn’t have any experience so I’d rather play Newnes

Secret Kiel

I watched Bytel play Calder Cannons and I reckon he'll be playing ahead of Brad Hill in round 1 for sure.

Secret Kiel wrote: Wed 13 Nov 2019 6:25am I watched Bytel play Calder Cannons and I reckon he'll be playing ahead of Brad Hill in round 1 for sure.
Please go post on a forum that is about your club. Your clearly a troll.

66Iwasthere

Didn’t hold back (no pun intended) in tackling drills yesterday.

Secret Kiel wrote: Wed 13 Nov 2019 6:25am I watched Bytel play Calder Cannons and I reckon he'll be playing ahead of Brad Hill in round 1 for sure.
Round one eh? Bit out of wack with your comments re King and round one. :roll:

CURLY wrote: Wed 13 Nov 2019 8:16am
Troll or kid?

CURLY wrote: Wed 13 Nov 2019 8:16am
Christ, what a killjoy he is.

Sombersainter

As a physiotherapist, I can say bulging discs can vary from causing no problem at all to more serious issues. I'd be more interested if they mean a herniation or a sequestration of the disc
and whether it caused canal stenosis or nerve impingement. He required surgery so it must have been quite serious but there's every chance he may be 100 % or on the flip side, he may be
still affected. It's a very widely varying, individual thing. Hopefully with the best of care, he will be great.

barneyboyz

Sombersainter wrote: Wed 13 Nov 2019 2:54pm As a physiotherapist, I can say bulging discs can vary from causing no problem at all to more serious issues. I'd be more interested if they mean a herniation or a sequestration of the disc
and whether it caused canal stenosis or nerve impingement. He required surgery so it must have been quite serious but there's every chance he may be 100 % or on the flip side, he may be
still affected. It's a very widely varying, individual thing. Hopefully with the best of care, he will be great.
Thanks for that Sombersainter. From what we're hearing he might be on the lesser side of 'ongoing complications'. Time will tell

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:

I had a back operation in 91 and it nearly ended my footy days before I was 20. It took me It 2 seasons to get back playing and it certainly effected and hampered me for the remainder of my footy career, which came to an end in 2017. It never effected my speed or endurance, I just lost agility, and struggled below my knees. Sometimes it would come good, and be alright, other times it would be stiff as a board.

Initially I added weight in order to be stronger, but that was Mistake, so I shed 10kg and changed my playing style. That worked for me, and I was able to get back to senior footy. But I was never as good as I was pre injury.

However, my procedure was nearly 30 years ago and I’m sure medical science has come a fair way in that time. Jack also has access to elite training services and full time rehab.

Hopefully his back ends up far better than mine!

Secret Kiel

Isn't this forum for discussion about elite footballers?

It is about Jack Bytel and his back injury

I speak from experience of having a back operation... have you ever had one?

And I’ve played a bit of footy... have you ever had a kick??

Secret Kiel

I know, I've heard that story that many times now it still makes me chuckle. I'm a fan, not an expert.

You didn’t answer either question?

And
I’d go a step further than ‘not and expert’

Not sure how you’ve heard much about me, considering I don’t recall you being on the forum that long?

barneyboyz

Secret Kiel wrote: Wed 13 Nov 2019 7:34pm Isn't this forum for discussion about elite footballers?
Usually turns into various combinations of two person verbal stoushes though. Some interesting, some not so...

Not really much else going on :)

barneyboyz

barneyboyz wrote: Thu 14 Nov 2019 7:33am
Secret Kiel wrote: Wed 13 Nov 2019 7:34pm Isn't this forum for discussion about elite footballers?
Usually turns into various combinations of two person verbal stoushes though. Some interesting, some not so...

Not really much else going on :)
Further, those stoushes can run for years, and with the inclusion of (if not hard to follow :) ) mutiple name changes Lol

Anyhoo, on with the show

Bytel is getting massive internal wraps within the club.
He hunts the ball, tough, football smarts he is a possession gathering competitive beast.
No one is talking about his back injury hampering him so must be ok..
Fingers crossed.

B.M wrote: Wed 13 Nov 2019 7:49pm You didn’t answer either question?

And
I’d go a step further than ‘not and expert’

Not sure how you’ve heard much about me, considering I don’t recall you being on the forum that long?
B.M is relatively new to the forum and hasn’t told any prior footy stories to the best of my knowledge 😉

What’s this newbie secret squirrel dude in about???

Secret Kiel

Vazelos wrote: Thu 14 Nov 2019 8:21am Bytel is getting massive internal wraps within the club.
He hunts the ball, tough, football smarts he is a possession gathering competitive beast.
Fingers crossed.
Let's hope he is the real deal, it is just the type of luck with recruiting top 4 aspirants need.

Vazelos wrote: Thu 14 Nov 2019 8:21am Bytel is getting massive internal wraps within the club.
Fingers crossed.
He sounds like Cripps of Carlton.

BarryGrogan

Fingers crossed.
Serious question...

I've heard about these apparent big wraps - but where do they come from?

He hasn't played a game since he's been at the club has he? I didn't think he'd even trained properly? Certainly not enough to take part in praccy matches or serious simulation?

So are the big wraps attitude based? Cause I can't see how there could be an opinion formed about his actual ability.