Go Swans, Blues and Lions

Re: Go Swans, Blues and Lions

We can win all three of our last games. But we need to mentally turn up.
GWS are definitely no great shakes.

we need to win at least 2 more

Best outcome in a BYE round is a jolly good Caaaaarlton loss.

1 goal in the last 3 quarters
In front for over 70% of the game.
Surrendering 4 unanswered last qtr goals to lose.

BEAUTIFUL !

StPeter wrote: Thu 03 Sep 2020 10:15pm
The_Dud wrote: Thu 03 Sep 2020 10:09pm I think all roads are leading to Saints v Giants in the last round for a spot in the 8.
Maybe but probably both teams will fill the last 2 places.
I think Demons out of it now with maybe only Bulldogs outside the 8 to challenge.
This is accurate. Had the Blues won tonight - we’d have only had to beat the Dawks and we’d be assured.

The real danger game for us is Dogs v Eagles. If the Dogs win, we’ll likely need to beat GWS to get in. If the Eagles beat the Dogs - we’re still likely to finish 8th even if we beat the Hawks but lose to GWS

Not counting on us beating WCE in those calculations.

Saintmatt wrote: Thu 03 Sep 2020 11:40pm
StPeter wrote: Thu 03 Sep 2020 10:15pm
The_Dud wrote: Thu 03 Sep 2020 10:09pm I think all roads are leading to Saints v Giants in the last round for a spot in the 8.
Maybe but probably both teams will fill the last 2 places.
I think Demons out of it now with maybe only Bulldogs outside the 8 to challenge.
This is accurate. Had the Blues won tonight - we’d have only had to beat the Dawks and we’d be assured.

The real danger game for us is Dogs v Eagles. If the Dogs win, we’ll likely need to beat GWS to get in. If the Eagles beat the Dogs - we’re still likely to finish 8th even if we beat the Hawks but lose to GWS

Not counting on us beating WCE in those calculations.
Melbourne could win 3

chook23 wrote: Thu 03 Sep 2020 10:38pm
skeptic wrote: Thu 03 Sep 2020 10:34pm Seems if we win one of the last 3 we should reasonably get there.

Really need to put it to bed this week
Not if bulldogs beat WC
Which is a real possibility. A bigger possibility than Sydney was of beating Melbourne.

Yorkeys wrote: Thu 03 Sep 2020 10:28pm Well tonight's games puts a perspective that even out of form we are not too bad. Good enough for the bottom half of the 8 anyway. Get there and who knows what fate might deliver.
I have to give it to you Yorkeys, that is the greatest grasping of a silver lining post I think I've ever read.

SunnyErnest

If we beat the Hawks by at least 30 points that should be enough to keep us above Melbourne by percentage and safely in the final 8.

Who is StoneCold??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

How the hell did we lose to Melbourne.

Bunch of gutless pea heart front runners.

I'd rather we make our way rather than "fake" our way into the final 8.

Our coach needs to think on his feet and make the obvious moves during the match - we can't afford mismatches of the "May vs King" variety. That was very poor coaching.

Also, we need to get the selections right:
Savage needs to come into the team ... we can afford one less "small" in the side.
Last edited by samoht on Fri 04 Sep 2020 9:51am, edited 1 time in total.

The eesponse of a right wing ideology government, ...

<1 day ban for continually making political posts on the footy forum. I don't have the power to do anything about signatures. If you have a problem with the policy on signatures, get in touch with backfromusa.
kosifantutti>

After watching last night, if we're switched on we should be able to beat the Hawks and GWS comfortably.

Time to stop 'managing' the players and games and just start playing our best guys at 100% intensity for 100% of the game.

To the top wrote: Fri 04 Sep 2020 9:51am ...
This is a footy forum for f***'s sake. Give it a rest. No one wants to read your bulls*** on this particular forum.

Ladder predictor says we can win 1 and get in on % , which is very risky.
If the paper baggers had of held on last night would have been of great assistance, but not to be.
Need WC to win against WB (which is a worrying game) , we beat Haw comfortably - (with them off a short break), and then best GWS .

GWS in similar position to us as control own destiny and play Melb and Stkilda. My thoughts are need Melb to win the game, GWS therefore shot and roll over for the last game with nothing to play for and out of contract players to protect.

I am not confident about Hawthorn at all. We seem to have tailed off at a rate of knots.

Of games won earlier, I doubt we would beat any of,

Port Adelaide
Richmond
or even Sydney

with our current set-up.

johnearljames

Melbourne are very mentally weak and scarred.

Want to watch the most boring and devious thing on television and probably in mankind's history, then tune into a daily live press conference at 11am.

shanegrambeau wrote: Fri 04 Sep 2020 1:59pm I am not confident about Hawthorn at all. We seem to have tailed off at a rate of knots.

Of games won earlier, I doubt we would beat any of,

Port Adelaide
Richmond
or even Sydney

with our current set-up.
If we can’t beat Hawks then don’t even bother I mean honestly if we drop or don’t win it we’ll our season has been a fluke /lucky draw year

samoht wrote: Fri 04 Sep 2020 9:48am I'd rather we make our way rather than "fake" our way into the final 8.

Our coach needs to think on his feet and make the obvious moves during the match - we can't afford mismatches of the "May vs King" variety. That was very poor coaching.

Also, we need to get the selections right:
Savage needs to come into the team ... we can afford one less "small" in the side.
Frawley will play on King this Sunday and McEvoy will drop back across half-forward stopping his leads too.

If Membrey doesn't play I hope some of our midfielders can manufacture some goals.

Would be nice if Wet Toast beats the Doggies but I'm not that confident. Real 50/50 game.
We must beat Hawks or really, why bother with finals. We'd be making up the numbers. Players need to make a statement this week.
We knock off Hawks I reckon we'd be a chance to knock off one of WC or GWS. I'm not sold on either of them.

stkfc1 wrote: Fri 04 Sep 2020 11:10pm Would be nice if Wet Toast beats the Doggies but I'm not that confident. Real 50/50 game.
We must beat Hawks or really, why bother with finals. We'd be making up the numbers. Players need to make a statement this week.
We knock off Hawks I reckon we'd be a chance to knock off one of WC or GWS. I'm not sold on either of them.
Footscray very over-rated , west coast will smash them

whiskers3614 wrote: Fri 04 Sep 2020 11:57pm
stkfc1 wrote: Fri 04 Sep 2020 11:10pm Would be nice if Wet Toast beats the Doggies but I'm not that confident. Real 50/50 game.
Footscray very over-rated , west coast will smash them
west coast have only beaten essendon, adelaide, and the swans outside of perth - all on neutral grounds.

Happy to just make up the numbers at this stage.

Three places in the finals available with 4 teams competing for them.
Collingwood, Greater Western Sydney, Melbourne, St Kilda.
One misses out.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08
StPeter

ace wrote: Sat 05 Sep 2020 12:20am Three places in the finals available with 4 teams competing for them.
Collingwood, Greater Western Sydney, Melbourne, St Kilda.
One misses out.
I think Bulldogs also a threat with 3 winnable games.

Since the Geelong game we have been struggling.

There is no reason we should not beat Hawthorn.
There is no reason we cannot be competitive against WCE.
There is no reason we cannot beat GWS.

Then win the next four.

Problem solved.