Tim Taranto Footy Classified

johnearljames

Re: Tim Taranto Footy Classified

So is Timmy Taranto coming or not?

Want to watch the most boring and devious thing on television and probably in mankind's history, then tune into a daily live press conference at 11am.

cwrcyn wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 11:37am Taranto still under contract?? If that's the case, near impossible to get done, I'd say
He could claim mental illness.
They might have to clear him and stump up a good part of his remaining contract! :oops:

SAINT-LEE

ausfatcat wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 7:41pm
SAINT-LEE wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 6:57pm A mate, who is connected to the club, who has not failed me, yet never given me exact info says...
Roos trading picks and a key player to Essendon and Essendon dealing picks and key player to Giants, we are in deal for a 1 North player, 1 North pick and we are sending 1 player and 1 pick to Roos, we are sending 1 player to Essendon ( claims its a defender) we get a pick from Essendon... finally we are sending 2 players to Giants, 2 picks - 1 from North and 1 from Essendon and 1 future pick and getting 1 player from Giants . Big wigs have already met twice in the hub.

Its confusing, I copied his text exactly, It could've been written clearer lol.

He was spot on last year but, again no specifics so it feel like a kick in the balls.
So we give up four good players (presumably to attract picks in return) and a first rnd for one player, seems like a high price to pay
Agreed very high price, I can barely wrap my head around it. Im hoping hes wrong unless we are getting some insane players.

Higgins he will be 33 at the start of next season.
On the other hand Savage will be only 30.

Why would you chase a guy aged 33 when you can chase guys aged 23 ?

True Blue Sainter

If you look at page 2 of the Off Season Targets thread you'll see who gave you the Taranto news :)

The Saints are coming!

Joffa Burns wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 8:10pm
johnearljames wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 7:40pm
Joffa Burns wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 7:11pm
johnearljames wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 6:52pm Lock him in. Told you you wouldn't be disappointed. 😎
Nice work Teddy, our resident ITK comes through again 8-)
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=101398&start=25#p1871642

😎
Yep, just read where you wrote we were getting Taranto, another great scoop Teddy, well done! 8-)
Oh yeah, I forgot about Ted’s other alter alter alter ego, Scoop! :lol:

saintsRrising wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 7:40pm
SAINT-LEE wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 6:57pm A mate, who is connected to the club, who has not failed me, yet never given me exact info says...
Roos trading picks and a key player to Essendon and Essendon dealing picks and key player to Giants, we are in deal for a 1 North player, 1 North pick and we are sending 1 player and 1 pick to Roos, we are sending 1 player to Essendon ( claims its a defender) we get a pick from Essendon... finally we are sending 2 players to Giants, 2 picks - 1 from North and 1 from Essendon and 1 future pick and getting 1 player from Giants . Big wigs have already met twice in the hub.

He was spot on last year but, again no specifics so it feel like a kick in the balls.

So
IN one GWS and one North player in
OUT four players out plus two picks.
with an exchange of picks (so could be plus or minus)

Hard to envisage who from the Saints that GWS would want, that we would be ok to lose and especially two such players.

Is say Taranto and Higgins for Lonie, Billings, Carlisle and Webster and picks a win or a loss?
Or it could be for Joyce, McKenzie, Dunstan and Parker ?? I would be more than happy to trade fringe players and draft picks for a couple of quality players.

True Blue Sainter wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 8:47pm If you look at page 2 of the Off Season Targets thread you'll see who gave you the Taranto news :)
👏

johnearljames

whiskers3614 wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 8:37pm
cwrcyn wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 11:37am Taranto still under contract?? If that's the case, near impossible to get done, I'd say
He could claim mental illness.
They might have to clear him and stump up a good part of his remaining contract! :oops:
2 x 1st rounders is the talk.

Club can easily afford him cap wise and much more.

Want to watch the most boring and devious thing on television and probably in mankind's history, then tune into a daily live press conference at 11am.

Nah that's a good job getting it out mate. So our net position is 2 players and 2 picks lost. So it all depends on who the players are coming in and out, and which picks in and out.

It would have to be Toranto for that price, although his manager says the rumours of him leaving are BS:

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/zer ... 5616k.html

ace wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 8:45pm Higgins he will be 33 at the start of next season.
On the other hand Savage will be only 30.

Why would you chase a guy aged 33 when you can chase guys aged 23 ?

If it's for 1 year, you'd think he'd have a decent output and give Byrnes and Bytel a few matches to develop in the reserves.

Scoop

The_Dud wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 8:48pm
johnearljames wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 6:52pm Lock him in. Told you you wouldn't be disappointed. 😎

😎
Yep, just read where you wrote we were getting Taranto, another great scoop Teddy, well done! 8-)
I take exception to that comment Dud. I'll have you know that I have been on here, with the one nic, far longer than Ted/John earl has been.

Extra! Extra! Read all about it......no I don't want to read about it anymore!!!

Munga wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 9:33pm

It would have to be Toranto for that price, although his manager says the rumours of him leaving are BS:

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/zer ... 5616k.html

Well that burst the bubble apart from the last part:

Unfortunately, those pieces might not combine to get a deal done as the Giants, the Saints and the player's manager insist Taranto is going nowhere, but supporters remain confident as Ted said " Lock him in. Told you you wouldn't be disappointed".

Scoop wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 10:10pm
The_Dud wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 8:48pm

😎
I take exception to that comment Dud. I'll have you know that I have been on here, with the one nic, far longer than Ted/John earl has been.
Haha, sorry, didn’t realise there was an actual poster named ‘scoop’!

‘Scoop’ was a nickname Ted earned under his previous alias (or one before that) when he would post widely available info but with no source, claiming it was inside info he was able to get. Quite embarrassing!

Sorry again for the mix up, I meant no offence! :D

Would hate to see Lonie go to be honest. Ironic since he was my whipping boy for his tenure under Richo.
Billings is the "big" name we will trade. You can all see it.
Carlisle yes.
Webster would be a loss. A big loss. But you gotta give up something.

I betcha Polec is the Nth player.

If the defender going from us to Essendon is Ben Patton &/or Long I will lose my sh1t and burn the joint down ... theirs and ours.

Saintmatt wrote: Fri 02 Oct 2020 12:01am

If the defender going from us to Essendon is Ben Patton &/or Long I will lose my sh1t and burn the joint down ... theirs and ours.

Paton is a young gun in the making. Just radiates quality. Beats the best small hands down PLUS generates drive with quality ball. all with pace.

Long could be anything or not, but I think will make it.

Paton I believe is a lock to 200+ games. Hopefully for us.

Personally unless GWS have a salary cap problem I cannot see him being on the table unless we offer a player whom GWS believe will make their 22 better. Gresham or Marshall are probably the only two on list that would temp them, and we need both.

Caldwell is another story entirely. Not contract and fringe due just how many talented mids that GWS have. If GWS keep him he may well remain not playing regularly.

Well take this BigFooty post with a grain of salt as is a new poster.

Paton staying, but Caldwell not coming

owen78, post: 67226051, member: 204879 wrote:
I understand when i first came on here i stated Jye was keen to come to the club, and that was certainly the case at the time as our offer far outweighed the one from GWS . But today i have been told after returning to Sydney JC has informed us this arvo of his current intentions to stay at the giants. We threw a deal at him which in totality was upwards of 3m over 5 years. Clearly a disappointing result on face value but their will be advantages down the track with that money being spent equally and efficiently on our current crop of rising stars. Retention is going to be crucial to our success in the future.

In more positive news, Benny Paton will sign his deal shortly, Higgins is firmly in play, and Lethers, Gubby and the banker are doing their best to improve the list for next year and beyond. 3 days away from our first finals win in 10 years! can't wait.

*when the facts change, i am happy to report them, don't shoot the messenger*

On it as usual

Too good to be true unfortunately

Think we are just shaking the tree to see what falls tbh
Can’t see Taranto as realistic at all

Perhaps the Taranto talk is a way of talking the spotlight away from our real target which is Caldwell.
Caldwell is clearly more gettable as he is out of contract, and would cost far less in trades.
Also he may be more interested as he hasn’t been getting a regular game at GWS.

johnearljames

Gubby Allan is a very shrewd operator.

johnearljames wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 9:09pm 2 x 1st rounders is the talk.

Lock him in.

😎
johnearljames wrote: Fri 02 Oct 2020 10:17am Gubby Allan is a very shrewd operator.
johnearljames wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 8:34pm So is Timmy Taranto coming or not?
Come on Teddy, is he (Taranto) coming to us or not?
He is the perfect fit for our list profile.

johnearljames

Joffa Burns wrote: Fri 02 Oct 2020 10:35am
johnearljames wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 9:09pm 2 x 1st rounders is the talk.

Lock him in.

😎
johnearljames wrote: Fri 02 Oct 2020 10:17am Gubby Allan is a very shrewd operator.
johnearljames wrote: Thu 01 Oct 2020 8:34pm So is Timmy Taranto coming or not?
Come on Teddy, is he (Taranto) coming to us or not?
He is the perfect fit for our list profile.
You look up too many old posts. You need a job.

Is Timmy coming? Don't fully believe his manager.