Match Thread Saints v Tigers Round 5 2021

flack

Re: Match Thread Saints v Tigers Round 5 2021

They turned up for the four points, we turned up to get paid. Their are better coached than our team and it shows in the confidence they have in each other.

saintkid wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:29pm
Scollop wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:21pm
skeptic wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:19pm Billings IMO has been the most disappointing tonight

Say what you will about Hill, Howard, Lonie and Dunstan... they’re at least getting to contests and failing

A red hot Billings has had 9 touches for the 9 and almost unsighted

Pay close attention to Billings. He hears footsteps when he should be keeping his eyes on the footy

I know it’s not his job to win contested footy but he just needs to stand up and be a leader
He hasn't to date after 8 years and never will. He is one of our several physically inept players and when the opposition bring their A game together, he and a number of others go missing.
Seriously you just constantly embarrass yourself with dribble like this.

seano1

Should start negotiating with hannerbury management to retire him and pay him out then work on hills

saintbob wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:30pm I reckon we seriously need to sit down with Hill and Hannebery over the next week and see what it’ll cost to part ways
No, it's the bloke who recruited those 2 that needs to go.
Where was his due diligence?

bergsone wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:07pm Long at least he has a crack
This

saintkid

saintbob wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:30pm I reckon we seriously need to sit down with Hill and Hannebery over the next week and see what it’ll cost to part ways
Both those long and lucrative contract signings have been a cancer to the team and the younger players, Hannebery more so and it's a noose over the club's head. Thank you Lethlean..can't wait to see the back of this spud administrator.

A club that can't nurture talent within is doomed. We've been incredibly poor since 2011 and still can't get it right a decade later.

Geeez you have to admire Lonie’s endeavour

Hasn’t stopped trying all night

If everybody just had his attack at the contest

seano1

Time to watch line of duty i think

30 inside 50s
Halfway through the last

And we think it’s a FORWARDS problem?!

King and Carlisle have barely got a possession since Q1

Did Hill just congratulate Jack Riewoldt for the goal?

They are f****** horrendous.

No defending this.

Not one player on deck.

Not one.

Defend this rabble and you are dilusional.

SaintDippa

Chip chip chip chip then kick to contest and watch it come back in. No run tigs set up their zone and it's all over.

desertsaint wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:36pm
Ghost Like wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:27pm
desertsaint wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:21pm
Ghost Like wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:13pm
desertsaint wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:10pm
Ghost Like wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 9:47pm
desertsaint wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 9:35pm
Ghost Like wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 9:31pm For anyone whoever suggests Luke Dunstan should play seniors for St Kilda or is the better "keeper" than Acres, please replay that 2nd Quarter...he's putrid!
putrid quarter indeed. but...
total career brownlow votes:
dunstan 6
acres 2

acres was the most overrated player on here since rix rox rux.
WOW, another blinded by baubles. That's one of the stupidest posts ever. We are chocka block with inside mids & we select the worst of them to complete a Full House. I'd love Acres out there, he plays inside as well as outside, he draws tackles and puts the ball to advantage.
what a pity he's playing in the wafl and not for us then.
Is he? I swear I've been watching him play for Fremantle but enjoy Dunstan's effort if that's what turns you on. Stupid post.
i think you're inventing an argument. where have i suggested i'm enjoying dunstan's effort? you are obviously still carrying a grudge we booted acres. most don't care. why even mention him? just enjoy the game :)
Except you who cares enough about how many Brownlow votes each player has. Another stupid post.
haha. that was to illustrate the weirdness of your call. if only we had this useless player instead of this almost as useless player. there's a lot of crap players out there tonight, but you're pinning it all on the one who hasn't played for over a year, and lamenting the one we let go. let it go.
Good call, fair call. Just goes to show anyone can get a Brownlow vote, sadly B&Fs, Brownlow votes appear to be the only justification of a players worth. Give me the Bont in front of Scott West, Leigh Matthews in front of Tom Mitchell, Nick Smith in front of Brad Hardie.

An embarrassing night on so many levels for St Kilda.

WTF was Battle doing, how the f*** can you kick it into the man on the mark with the new stand rule.
It’s just f****** dumb!!!

Totally outcoached tonight

Tigers just sat players on the outside and our players continually got sucked into the contest again and again and again ...... and we did nothing about it

Our short kicking plan also played into the Tigers hands allowing them to reset time and time again - I could count on 1 hand the amount of times we took a mark and played on immediately - we were completely stagnant after 1/4 time

4 inside mids??

Marshall & Ryder are huge for this team ..... even just 1 of them

SaintJohno

How's our percentage going?

B.M wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:46pm 30 inside 50s
Halfway through the last

And we think it’s a FORWARDS problem?!

King and Carlisle have barely got a possession since Q1
Sorry B.M., how does your last line make sense to your 2nd last line? Are you arguing for forwards or only those forwards under 6 foot?

Effort is deplorable.
Steele aside they should be embarrassed.
Choosing when to try shows a real lack of character.

What a completely apathetic performance. Our midfield selection and rotations were putrid. This is what you get when you play players like Hunter & Dunstan.

We have absolutley no speed in defence, Coffield, Clark Wilkie and Sinclair are not quick enough.

Ratts has his hands full as our game plan looks a mess. I have said it a number of times this year we will finish in the bottom 6 this year. We will have a year similiar to Melbourne in 2019.

The club needs to take a step back and recruit some kids as our list is slow and poorly skilled.
Last edited by Impatient Sainter on Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:57pm, edited 1 time in total.

Too many inside midfielders and not enough outside run.
We somehow got away with it vs WCE.

Mason Wood might have helped?

roskilde

One week of high effort and then the Somnambulist Saints™ are back again.

Only thing unforgivable is giving up and lack of effort.

We do that way too often.

This was my father's belief
And this is also mine:
Let the corn be all one sheaf--
And the grapes be all one vine,
Ere our children's teeth are set on edge
By bitter bread and wine.

So our glorious 2020 defence is officially shredded? Dustbin?

Or is our midfield the culprit?

Suddenly, the forwards are OK.

Mr Battle will be in pain.

Mr Long, the same.

Or so he should be, says Mr Wilkie

Don’t bag Hill, he ain’t no coward

Questions for Mr Howard

That are not in his own sauce

It ain’t fair

To blame mr Sinclair

Oh dear oh dear

2020 is plenty plenty

Of too much praise

And bad stocks to raise

It stinks and is sad

Not fighting it out.

Twice in 3 weeks.

Very concerning

BigD

roskilde wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:52pm One week of high effort and then the Somnambulist Saints™ are back again.

Only thing unforgivable is giving up and lack of effort.

We do that way too often.
1 1/2 quarters of effort to be precise

You’d have to wonder why there was such a shift with the ball movement after q1

We were deliberately going slow (obviously in an attempt to stop the turnover kicks)

But we simply couldn’t get through their defence!!!!

King was on fire when we shifted the ball quick and he got one on ones
After q1 he didn’t get a kick!!!
Due to the slow ball movement