Goodwin

Goodwin

https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/extra ... df47f5fdb7

I hope it f**** up their season.

Once a c***, always a c***!

Re: Goodwin

Sounds like an ordinary guy to me. Who doesn't like a drink and a punt. It's why the footy has always been sponsored by tobacco, booze and gambling, it's because a vast majority of the population - especially footy heads - love these vices in equal amounts.

And now that he's won a flag he's a marketing dream for the tobacco, booze and gambling industry.

Hopefully Ratts is getting on it with the boys.

You got to know when to hold them
Know when to fold them
Know when to walk away
And know when to run

So he's got a gambling addiction. World is overdosed with addictions. Can be hard to shift those behaviours and credit to him if he has. The workplace bullying - that needs to have a zero tolerance approach.

Basically he's not fit to coach. How the hell can you put him in charge of impressionable 18 yr olds who has anger management issues.

Vortex wrote: Tue 08 Feb 2022 12:07pm Sounds like an ordinary guy to me. Who doesn't like a drink and a punt. It's why the footy has always been sponsored by tobacco, booze and gambling, it's because a vast majority of the population - especially footy heads - love these vices in equal amounts.

And now that he's won a flag he's a marketing dream for the tobacco, booze and gambling industry.

Ordinary guy my arse. Go back to 2007 or thereabouts when the prick was in trouble for betting on AFL matches. And not just a few dollars and cents either.

And count me out of your generalisations too. Not all of us drink and gamble.

magnifisaint wrote: Tue 08 Feb 2022 1:30pm Basically he's not fit to coach. How the hell can you put him in charge of impressionable 18 yr olds who has anger management issues.

The club brought in Richo and Choco exactly because the guy is such a prick.

From heraldsun,com.au

"SIMON GOODWIN’S UPS AND DOWNS

SEPTEMBER 1998 - Plays in his second Adelaide premiership in 31st game at age 22
MARCH 2007 - Cops $40,000 AFL fine for betting on league matches
AUGUST 2010 - Retires after 275 games
SEPTEMBER 2010 - Appointed Essendon assistant coach under James Hird
SEPTEMBER 2014 - Appointed as Melbourne coach Paul Roos’s replacement in two-year succession plan
OCTOBER 2016 - Takes over from Roos as senior coach at the Demons
SEPTEMBER 2018 - Melbourne plays finals for the first time in 12 years
MAY 2019 - Pulls out of mid-week press conference after becoming light-headed
JANUARY 2020 - Melbourne head doctor Zeeshan Arain tells football official Jim Plunkett about the coach’s alleged behavioural issues
AUGUST 2020 - Melbourne misses finals
OCTOBER 1 2020 - Dr Arain briefs club chief executive Gary Pert on allegations about the coach’s workplace conduct and club culture
OCTOBER 6 2020 - Dr Arain is sacked
OCTOBER 15 2020 - Lawyers for Dr Arain lodge an unlawful dismissal claim
NOVEMBER 2020 - Melbourne agrees to a financial settlement with Dr Arain
DECEMBER 10 2020 - Goodwin suffers a health episode during a fan forum
DECEMBER 11 2020 - Demons board is briefed on Dr Arain’s allegations concerning workplace bullying and behavioural issues relating to Goodwin
FEBRUARY 2021 - Dr Arain receives the final instalment of a six-figure unlawful dismissal payment
FEBRUARY 2 2021 - Demons directors brief AFL chiefs Gillon McLachlan and Richard Goyder over concerns regarding Goodwin’s alleged conduct
FEBRUARY 10 2021 - Demons president Glen Bartlett confronts Goodwin
APRIL 2021 - Bartlett steps down as president and Kate Roffey takes over
SEPTEMBER 2021 - Goodwin leads Melbourne to first flag since 1964

saynta wrote: Tue 08 Feb 2022 2:00pm
Vortex wrote: Tue 08 Feb 2022 12:07pm Sounds like an ordinary guy to me. Who doesn't like a drink and a punt. It's why the footy has always been sponsored by tobacco, booze and gambling, it's because a vast majority of the population - especially footy heads - love these vices in equal amounts.

Ordinary guy my arse. Go back to 2007 or thereabouts when the prick was in trouble for betting on AFL matches. And not just a few dollars and cents either.

And don't forget his part in the Essendope scandal which has never been fully explained.

Let's all crucify him then. If he'd just won the Saints first flag for 50 years the empathy and reasonableness would be flowing thick and fast.

st.byron wrote: Tue 08 Feb 2022 2:21pm Let's all crucify him then. If he'd just won the Saints first flag for 50 years the empathy and reasonableness would be flowing thick and fast.
I would sincerely hope that the Saints would never employ a prick like Goodwin.

No apology will be forthcoming from me.

I reckon you could do with a good stiff drink ever now and then Stinger.

Vortex wrote: Tue 08 Feb 2022 2:38pm

https://www.researchgate.net/publicatio ... ly_trinity

shanegrambeau wrote: Tue 08 Feb 2022 3:44pm

Reminds me of a George Beat quote:

I spent most of my money on booze, hookers and fast cars and the rest I just squandered.

Love fast cars.

saynta wrote: Tue 08 Feb 2022 2:27pm
st.byron wrote: Tue 08 Feb 2022 2:21pm Let's all crucify him then. If he'd just won the Saints first flag for 50 years the empathy and reasonableness would be flowing thick and fast.

Has there ever been one, for anything ? 😂😂

Moods wrote: Tue 08 Feb 2022 5:00pm
saynta wrote: Tue 08 Feb 2022 2:27pm

Has there ever been one, for anything ? 😂😂
YES.

What a bloody ludicrous story this Goodwin story is. Just another example of how Victoria has lost the plot.

It's almost as insane as Kevin Sheedy being investigated by the police for not wearing a mask. You can't make this shiit up.

Freebird

Saints once wanted Goodwin as assistant coach but he turned them down, indicating he did not want to go to a bottom club. Always wanted a powerful rich club but when a senior coach offer from a big club did not materialize he went to Melbourne.
Cannot stand him.

saynta wrote: Tue 08 Feb 2022 2:01pm
magnifisaint wrote: Tue 08 Feb 2022 1:30pm Basically he's not fit to coach. How the hell can you put him in charge of impressionable 18 yr olds who has anger management issues.

The club brought in Richo and Choco exactly because the guy is such a prick.

From heraldsun,com.au

"SIMON GOODWIN’S UPS AND DOWNS

SEPTEMBER 1998 - Plays in his second Adelaide premiership in 31st game at age 22
MARCH 2007 - Cops $40,000 AFL fine for betting on league matches
AUGUST 2010 - Retires after 275 games
SEPTEMBER 2010 - Appointed Essendon assistant coach under James Hird
SEPTEMBER 2014 - Appointed as Melbourne coach Paul Roos’s replacement in two-year succession plan
OCTOBER 2016 - Takes over from Roos as senior coach at the Demons
SEPTEMBER 2018 - Melbourne plays finals for the first time in 12 years
MAY 2019 - Pulls out of mid-week press conference after becoming light-headed
JANUARY 2020 - Melbourne head doctor Zeeshan Arain tells football official Jim Plunkett about the coach’s alleged behavioural issues
AUGUST 2020 - Melbourne misses finals
OCTOBER 1 2020 - Dr Arain briefs club chief executive Gary Pert on allegations about the coach’s workplace conduct and club culture
OCTOBER 6 2020 - Dr Arain is sacked
OCTOBER 15 2020 - Lawyers for Dr Arain lodge an unlawful dismissal claim
NOVEMBER 2020 - Melbourne agrees to a financial settlement with Dr Arain
DECEMBER 10 2020 - Goodwin suffers a health episode during a fan forum
DECEMBER 11 2020 - Demons board is briefed on Dr Arain’s allegations concerning workplace bullying and behavioural issues relating to Goodwin
FEBRUARY 2021 - Dr Arain receives the final instalment of a six-figure unlawful dismissal payment
FEBRUARY 2 2021 - Demons directors brief AFL chiefs Gillon McLachlan and Richard Goyder over concerns regarding Goodwin’s alleged conduct
FEBRUARY 10 2021 - Demons president Glen Bartlett confronts Goodwin
APRIL 2021 - Bartlett steps down as president and Kate Roffey takes over
I’ll summarise that for you.

Yeah mate I'm with you if he could get us a flag who cares what he does in his spare time I would employ him tomorrow if that what it takes :wink:

Vortex wrote: Tue 08 Feb 2022 4:30pm

I spent most of my money on booze, hookers and fast cars and the rest I just squandered.
Love this one too by George:

If I had to choose between dribbling past 5 players and scoring from 40 yards at Anfield or shagging Miss World, it'd be a hard choice. Thankfully, I’ve done both

As for Goodwin, well if he won the Saints a flag I’d be sending him poker chips

There are some teams in the history of our great game who win flags despite the coach

Obviously he played a part, but I reckon without Choco they wouldn't have had the year they did or been able to get out of tricky situations like the one they encountered in the first part of that third quarter in the GF. The other people involved in the club including the blokes who put together that list and the head recruiters deserve a lot more praise than Simon

Personally, I wouldn't be using the phrase "Goodwin won them a flag"

stevie wrote: Wed 09 Feb 2022 12:55am
Vortex wrote: Tue 08 Feb 2022 4:30pm

Love this one too by George:

If I had to choose between dribbling past 5 players and scoring from 40 yards at Anfield or shagging Miss World, it'd be a hard choice. Thankfully, I’ve done both

As for Goodwin, well if he won the Saints a flag I’d be sending him poker chips
And a bathtub full of champagne and smoking hot hookers.

All this malarkey about role models has to stop, it's hypocrisy at its worst.

Scollop wrote: Wed 09 Feb 2022 1:14am There are some teams in the history of our great game who win flags despite the coach

Obviously he played a part, but I reckon without Choco they wouldn't have had the year they did or been able to get out of tricky situations like the one they encountered in the first part of that third quarter in the GF. The other people involved in the club including the blokes who put together that list and the head recruiters deserve a lot more praise than Simon

Personally, I wouldn't be using the phrase "Goodwin won them a flag"
Looks like Choco and Richo played a huge part in that flag, so I have to agree with you.

Just a lovely bloke is our Simon. Has the players welfare at heart. :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :evil:

From the heraldsun.com.au

"Legal documents have revealed details of an expletive-laden invective Melbourne coach Simon Goodwin allegedly directed at the club’s doctor over his handling of a concussed player.
Michael Warner
5 min read
February 9, 2022 - 6:00AM
News Corp Australia Sports Newsroom

AFL: Former Melbourne Demons doctor Zeeshan Arain chose to remain silent, when asked about the bullying allegations levelled at Simon Goodwin

Premiership coach Simon Goodwin delivered an abusive, expletive-riddled tirade to Melbourne’s senior doctor in a bid to pressure him not to rest concussed player Angus Brayshaw, the medico alleged in legal papers.

The fiery exchange allegedly took place after Goodwin questioned long-time club head doctor Zeeshan Arain’s advice that Brayshaw needed to go home “following an exacerbation of his concussion symptoms”.

Stream every match of every round of the 2022 Toyota AFL Premiership Season Live & Ad-Break Free During Play on Kayo. New to Kayo? Try 14-days free now.

“Are we f---en fair dinkum,” Goodwin was alleged to have asked Dr Arain.

“Why the f--- would you change the plan when we agreed he could push through his comfort zone. F---ing (player’s name) was at Chadstone with his mates last Thursday but is f---en concussed today.”

The alleged conversation was included in legal documents lodged with the Melbourne Football Club by Dr Arain’s lawyers as part of an unlawful dismissal dispute in October 2020.

Detailing “unreasonable behaviour” by the coach, a legal letter stated “one player had suffered a concussion and a plan was devised for his recovery including rest”.

“According to our client (Dr Arain), Mr Goodwin voiced his extreme displeasure about the decision to rest the player …,” the legal letter said.

“After attempting to explain his recommendation to Mr Goodwin, Mr Goodwin continued to swear and talk over our client, suggesting that the player was exaggerating his symptoms and our client (Dr Arain) was not managing him properly.”

Clubs have been under increasing pressure to put the wellbeing of concussed players first amid compelling evidence of a link between repeated head knocks and the devastating brain disease chronic traumatic encephalopathy, which can only be diagnosed after death.

Graham “Polly” Farmer, Danny Frawley and Shane Tuck were all diagnosed with CTE.

Many more players have launched, or are launching, legal actions against the AFL and clubs relating to mental health issues linked to repeated head knocks, with CTE symptoms including memory loss, confusion, depression and anxiety.

Last year, the AFL introduced a mandatory 12-day rest for all players diagnosed with concussion, but new research reveals the brain might need up to a month to heal, with a growing push for a 30-day stand-down period.

Wingman Brayshaw has suffered a series of head knocks and wears a helmet during games.

The 26-year-old premiership star has said he even considered taking some time away from footy due to the impact of repeated knocks early in his career.

“There were times when I was prepared, if it was the best thing, maybe to step away from the game,” Brayshaw said.

Dr Arain, in his October 2020 legal letter to the club, also accused Goodwin of bullying in relation to end-of-season surgeries in 2018.

The medicos’ lawyers said: “Mr Goodwin telephoned Dr Arain expressing his frustration about all surgeries and particularly regarding one player who had not yet received surgery … Mr Goodwin became irate expecting all surgeries to be completed within 72 hours of the last game, saying ‘You’re f---ing around. (The player) is an A-grade player and we need training in the pre-season ASAP. All this f---ing around has taken up valuable time. Are we f---en here to do our job and win games of football or are we here to f--- around?’

“He then abruptly hung up on our client.”