Billings another week

D.B.Cooper

Re: Billings another week

B.M wrote: Sat 07 May 2022 6:33pm 4 vfl points are on the line, it’s a senior game of footy, isn’t it?

Or is that Mickey Mouse?
Lol, you think the saints give a hairy rats ringer about VFL points?

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

D.B.Cooper wrote: Sat 07 May 2022 8:50pm
B.M wrote: Sat 07 May 2022 6:33pm 4 vfl points are on the line, it’s a senior game of footy, isn’t it?

Or is that Mickey Mouse?
I think he was trying to be a smartar$e but kinda failed.

JR23

Played well with Sandy today. Looked a class above and should be. He will play seniors next week
He is absolutely in our top 22 but hasnt reached the heights expected of No.3 draft pick
Will play 200 games
Hopefully he can close out stringly in his career. Better watch the hammy
Better in than out

If you think a saints player would run out on any ground, in any game, for any team and not care

You are completely ignorant to a footballers mindset - particularly elite ones

Billings, Clark, Jones, even the 280 game Paddy Ryder have all busted their arses when playing for Sandy!

B.M wrote: Sat 07 May 2022 11:24pm If you think a saints player would run out on any ground, in any game, for any team and not care

Billings, Clark, Jones, even the 280 game Paddy Ryder have all busted their arses when playing for Sandy!
Sure they have. It's nothing more than 20 glorified practice matches. Doesn't mean they're not trying because everyone wants to get into the senior team. But blokes at my local club bleed more for their club than guys at Sandy do. It's a means to an end. Nothing more. Which is why players are managed on minutes quite often and why players are taken off during GF's because bigger fish to fry. It's why Roughy was giving his opponents tips on how to play the game when he played for Box Hill Hawks at the end of his career. Do you reckon if Roughy was playing for Nth Heidelberg or Vermont or Old Xav's that he would be doing that? He would have been scorned by his club not lauded like he was in the media when he did it. It's because only a few nuffies think that the VFL actually means anything. It's a development league. Like the TAC cup.

D.B.Cooper

B.M wrote: Sat 07 May 2022 11:24pm If you think a saints player would run out on any ground, in any game, for any team and not care

Who suggested they wouldn’t care?
It is hard to follow who you are responding to.

Who does Jake Batchelor work for?!

I reckon he cares!

Or is that Mickey Mouse?
"Hairy rats ringer". Love that. Can I use it. :wink:

D.B.Cooper

saynta wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 10:43am

Or is that Mickey Mouse?
It's very descriptive, isn't it?
I haven't trade marked it so go for it.
Can't recall where I first heard it, but I don't think I can assume origination credit.

D.B.Cooper

D.B.Cooper wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 7:54am Who suggested they wouldn’t care?
It is hard to follow, who you are responding to.
B.M wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 9:54am Who does Jake Batchelor work for?!
I reckon he cares!
Who are you responding to?
If it is me...I can't recall Jake running out for Sandy this year?

If you wish to refer to Jake:
Jake's title is Saints Development Coach & Head Coach VFL.
From the Saints website:

Following a successful first season in charge of the Sandringham Zebras, Development Coach Jake Batchelor will go around again as head coach in 2022.
Having played a crucial part in the development of the Saints’ emerging talent, Batchelor first started at St Kilda in 2018.
After a seven-year career at Richmond, the ex-Tigers defender joined Frankston Dolphins as a playing assistant coach before catching the eye of the Saints.
Coming on in a part-time capacity, Batchelor has now transitioned into a key member of St Kilda’s coaching panel.
The 29-year-old will be looking to develop the next generation of Saints as he works with the young talent at both an AFL and VFL level.

Of course Jake wants to win games as do the players in the team, but 4 VFL points are certainly secondary to the development of Saints youth and managing the return of StKilda players returning from injury.

D.B.Cooper wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 11:33am

Or is that Mickey Mouse?
8-) :wink:
Can't recall where I first heard it, but I don't think I can assume origination credit.

I reckon they play to win. Only reason you play footy.

B.M wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 7:02pm I reckon they play to win. Only reason you play footy.
Well, most do but the dees didn't in the year they tanked.

B.M wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 7:02pm I reckon they play to win. Only reason you play footy.
Yes. Just that it’s not the main priority of the clubs in that league. It’s a priority, just not the main priority. Like junior sport.

Of course it’s a priority to win

It’s a state league competition

Do you think Sandringham (a proud club) would enter into an arrangement with an AFL club where the main priority is to win games of footy - ultimately a premiership!

D.B.Cooper

B.M wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 10:52pm Of course it’s a priority to win

Do you think Sandringham (a proud club) would enter into an arrangement with an AFL club where the main priority is to win games of footy - ultimately a premiership!
Who suggested winning isn’t a priority?

My point is development of the young players and management of senior players returning from injury is a higher priority than 4 VFL points.

D.B.Cooper wrote: Fri 06 May 2022 8:36am
Vortex wrote: Thu 05 May 2022 9:34pm
B.M wrote: Thu 05 May 2022 7:38pm Poor move

He’s a class above VFL

If he right to play, should be in the seniors
Doesn't look like the Tiges think Dusty needs a few games at VFL level before coming back from the kidney injury. Is that 1 game in 10 months?

There's class, and then there is class.

I really hope Billings comes in and tears tbe rest of the season apart. His team needs his class more than ever.
But Dusty is not coming off soft tissue injuries.
His situation is more aligned to Jones.

I’m a Billings fan and as soon as he is match fit walks straight back into the side, but think that the fitness staff obviously think he needs another run at a less intense level.
Meanwhile, Ratts tells us Butler has been playing in the firsts injured.

I don't care what sort of competition it is. It's primary objective is to produce AFL footballers ready to play. Not win games. Why do you think there's so much discontent between the original standing VFA clubs and the AFL clubs that merge with them? My best mate coached at Casey for awhile when the Saints were there. Winning is not the focus. Getting minutes into players coming back from injury and playing guys in certain positions which may not best suit the team is the focus. Would never happen at local level. Win at all costs?? Haha. I don't think so. I think deep down even you know the truth. It's even worse at AFL clubs that are standalone without affiliation.

D.B.Cooper

Moods wrote: Mon 09 May 2022 1:24am

I don't care what sort of competition it is. It's primary objective is to produce AFL footballers ready to play. Not win games. Why do you think there's so much discontent between the original standing VFA clubs and the AFL clubs that merge with them? My best mate coached at Casey for awhile when the Saints were there. Winning is not the focus. Getting minutes into players coming back from injury and playing guys in certain positions which may not best suit the team is the focus. Would never happen at local level. Win at all costs?? Haha. I don't think so. I think deep down even you know the truth. It's even worse at AFL clubs that are standalone without affiliation.
Very eloquently explained and great reference to your mates coaching experience.

Yes they play to win, yes winning is a priority, but it is secondary to development of youth and management of senior players returning from injury.

Shaggy

Or is that Mickey Mouse?
I think you may have heard it from Joffa Burns on this site. He appeared to be a good bloke but had an unhealthy obsession with Curly

D.B.Cooper

Shaggy wrote: Mon 09 May 2022 2:05pm

Or is that Mickey Mouse?
I think you may have heard it from Joffa Burns on this site. He appeared to be a good bloke but had an unhealthy obsession with Curly
i heard he was an aRsehole of a bloke :lol:

D.B.Cooper wrote: Mon 09 May 2022 5:36pm

Or is that Mickey Mouse?

I guess you'd be an ITK in this case :wink: :wink:

saintkev

shanegrambeau wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 11:17pm
D.B.Cooper wrote: Fri 06 May 2022 8:36am
Vortex wrote: Thu 05 May 2022 9:34pm
B.M wrote: Thu 05 May 2022 7:38pm Poor move

He’s a class above VFL

If he right to play, should be in the seniors
Doesn't look like the Tiges think Dusty needs a few games at VFL level before coming back from the kidney injury. Is that 1 game in 10 months?

There's class, and then there is class.

I really hope Billings comes in and tears tbe rest of the season apart. His team needs his class more than ever.
But Dusty is not coming off soft tissue injuries.
His situation is more aligned to Jones.

I’m a Billings fan and as soon as he is match fit walks straight back into the side, but think that the fitness staff obviously think he needs another run at a less intense level.
Meanwhile, Ratts tells us Butler has been playing in the firsts injured.
He must think Butler is Baldock reincarnated? 🤣

loris wrote: Mon 09 May 2022 5:50pm

Or is that Mickey Mouse?

Nice to see you are still in the land of the living and posting Loris. How are you?

D.B.Cooper

loris wrote: Mon 09 May 2022 5:50pm

Or is that Mickey Mouse?

No need for the wink, you had it worked out after I'd lodged about three posts :lol: :lol: :lol: