Match Thread Saints v Cats Round 9 2022

Re: Match Thread Saints v Cats Round 9 2022

It’s okay guys I’m gonna leave you alone now I’m gonna finish off that third bottle of red 😁😎🤟👌🏾😳👍

Brunswicksainter wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 9:07pm
The Fireman wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 8:13pm
Brunswicksainter wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 7:57pm
The Fireman wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 7:54pm
Brunswicksainter wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 7:51pm
The Fireman wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 7:50pm
Brunswicksainter wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 7:48pm
The Fireman wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 7:40pm Let’s go back through the thread and look at the posters who bagged the s*** out of our players and wanted to see some of our champions dropped.

As I said gee we have some s*** supporters on here
Happy to stand by comments regarding ryder. Absolutely insipid performance in the first half and taking him out of the ruck in the third is what got us back into the game.
Glad you don’t coach us mate
He has more tap outs to advantage to geelong players than the two geelong rucks put together
Let’s drop him
His work up forward has been great. But you cannot objectively say his ruck perfromance against Blicavs/stanley (the worst ruck duo in the comp) has not been up to scratch.
Okay so if you were coach you would play him where. He is one of the best Ruckman we have had in a long long time i’ll say it again mate I’m glad you don’t coach us
I don’t understand your comments? Taking paddy out of the ruck is arguably what won us the game. Are you suggesting we shouldn’t have done that and hence lost the game or?
Your use of the word arguably is apt
Who knows what would’ve happened all I know is he’s one of the best rucks going around
Luckily for the coach he can swap Marshall and rider around it is what it is. I was zeroing in on negativity. If I misconstrued your intent I apologise

Anyone see the Ratts presser? What did he say?
(My credit card blew up and I lost my AFL pass, couldn’t watch squat)

shanegrambeau wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 9:16pm Anyone see the Ratts presser? What did he say?
(My credit card blew up and I lost my AFL pass, couldn’t watch squat)
He said credit cards need to be topped up😘

Killa

What a difference a will makes, hey?

To me, this win was down to effort and for that effort to be rewarded will add confidence

Playing one of Ryder and Marshall up forward paid the dividend which was, to me at least, always in prospect

But there is work to be done - they got on our outside too easily at times, putting our defence under great pressure

There were mistakes, but that is footy

They will learn - not that perfect football across 4 quarters is the norm because it is not

It will be interesting to see how Clark went in the hit out today, noting the unfortunate loss of Higgins

Plus if Butler is fit - and Wanganeen-Milira

With no VFL game this week, others may have to wait their opportunities

As an aside, Fremantle beat Geelong so by extension we should as well

Logic, hey?

We have a building List, a very good coaching panel and a professional administration

The trajectory is promising

21 points down at the 14.11 mark of Q3 after Hawkins goal. We go whack. I'm still not sure this is just a dream.

The Fireman wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 9:07pm It’s okay guys I’m gonna leave you alone now I’m gonna finish off that third bottle of red 😁😎🤟👌🏾😳👍
Hope it is good red! Life is too short to drink bad booze and fight about Internet points

This team has a lot of heart .... they don't know when to die

Could be a turning point

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 9:33pm
The Fireman wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 9:07pm It’s okay guys I’m gonna leave you alone now I’m gonna finish off that third bottle of red 😁😎🤟👌🏾😳👍
Hope it is good red! Life is too short to drink bad booze and fight about Internet points
I lied I’m still here and yes you are correct nothing but a really good wine
So if I battle against stupidity do I actually gain Internet points ? 😉
Ps jaraman good bang for the bucks

The Fireman wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 9:36pm
I will note that - but Forty Spot Gin from Taswegia is worth the investment - particularly the Rare

But yes the battle wages - see my signature
Last edited by Sainter_Dad on Sat 14 May 2022 9:42pm, edited 1 time in total.

Just pouring a red over here in Italy watching the replay.
Cheers

Banger9798 wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 9:41pm
Cheers
A Chianti ?

silverhalo

Brad Crouch having a terrific year and he was great again today....showing all of the doubters now why were so keen to grab him

Banger9798 wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 9:41pm

Cheers
Have a Birra Moretti for me please.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.
SAINT-LEE

Jacks Back wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 6:50pm Saying AC to Steele
God noooooo

SAINT-LEE

Went to work at half and just put this obviously too great a task for the lads outta my mind

Took a break right now and saw the score .....

I honestly felt tears welling up. A bit crazy I know but I love this club & having a solid team effort that creates a win just hits that mark.

Thanks boys. Thanks for fighting tonight!

silverhalo wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 9:47pm Brad Crouch having a terrific year and he was great again today....showing all of the doubters now why were so keen to grab him
Yep

Crouch 36 touches, 18 contested, 7 tackles, 5 clearances, 5 inside 50s, 10 score involvements, 6 intercepts

Possibly our best mid right now.
Been massive inside

Teflon wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 2:31am
silverhalo wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 9:47pm Brad Crouch having a terrific year and he was great again today....showing all of the doubters now why were so keen to grab him
Yep

Crouch 36 touches, 18 contested, 7 tackles, 5 clearances, 5 inside 50s, 10 score involvements, 6 intercepts

Possibly our best mid right now.
Been massive inside
So when media flogs publish their Team of the Week, Crouch should be in the starting 18.
But it's the Saints...🤷‍♂️

SAINT-LEE

Another positive is seeing first year Windy out there

SAINT-LEE wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 10:33pm Went to work at half and just put this obviously too great a task for the lads outta my mind

Took a break right now and saw the score .....

I honestly felt tears welling up. A bit crazy I know but I love this club & having a solid team effort that creates a win just hits that mark.

Thanks boys. Thanks for fighting tonight!
If you love the club - you know what you have to do ....

Go to work whenever we are playing!

WellardSaint wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 8:52pm Letting Zac Touhy break a tackle like Dustin Martin?
Gotta be better.

We kicked 7 goals in the 3rd qtr, brilliance+hard work.
Almost handed the game back to the Pussies with far too many unforced errors and poor choices.

Need to focus a lot more.
DMack brain fade to pick out Hawkins.
He's a decent, hard-worker but FFS Dan...
DMac's kick came off the side of his boot - he did not 'PICK OUT HAWKINS' 'twas an error - not a brain fade

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 9:07am
WellardSaint wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 8:52pm Letting Zac Touhy break a tackle like Dustin Martin?
Gotta be better.

Almost handed the game back to the Pussies with far too many unforced errors and poor choices.

DMac's kick came off the side of his boot - he did not 'PICK OUT HAWKINS' 'twas an error - not a brain fade
+ 1

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 9:07am
Gotta be better.

I must also add that if Hawkins was not such a lazy forward and was actually manning up he would not have been 5 metres in the clear and taken an uncontested possession.

Brunswicksainter wrote: Sat 14 May 2022 7:12pm Ryder's ruck work has been deplorable, its like hes actively searching for geelong players.
That's the quote of the day. I am giving him 5 votes.

Attendance pretty good considering there were no trains to Melbourne from Geelong yesterday making it hard for their supporters to get to the game.
I did notice - a bit like the game against Richmond - that we certainly enjoyed the majority of the crowd support. We certainly had a good St Kilda supporter turnout against Collingwood in round 1 as well. It is great for the club that we are getting people turning up to our home games again after the last two seasons of restrictions and lockdowns.

I still remember a match against North - sort of a testimonial match for Harvey - where the crowd was over 44,000, but we were outnumbered 3/1.