Geary has retired

Re: Geary has retired

A great career- thanks mate

Don’t blame Gears for hanging around..for delicately timing his stepping-down-as-capitan announcement (after lists were finalized)…

Sure, personally, maybe he shouldn’t have been on the list this year. But it is St Kilda’s weaknesss not to stand up to Gears’s manager.

The Football Department is weak…managers are strong and incentivized. And the whole club is an assembly of different sub-assemblies, with different metrics, key performance targets, evaluations, and individuals with ambitious of various bents - many of whom might be with a rival club or another sporting code, next season.

I really don’t think there is a Chief who uses his or her judgment based on an overall viewpoint that is organic and whole…It is just various stats, rubrics and rhetoric mixed in to presentations….

Same deal with Ratts’s resigning.

No slant in Ratts.

Pat in the back for his manager.

Brunswicksainter wrote: Thu 14 Jul 2022 3:44pm Thanks for the service. Although still think it was incredibly selfish that he collected a pay check and took a list spot knowing full well he was going nowhere near the senior side this season.

I love supporters like you, who think they know about footy… when in fact….

I can just see you with your mates standing on the concourse at Marvel, proudly wearing your Saints gear but taking great delight in bagging your own players, because that obviously makes you an expert

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

Congratulations to gear's for a great career.
Gave it his all and that's all you can ask for.

Impatient Sainter wrote: Thu 14 Jul 2022 3:27pm Great Saints man. Although I think the club looked after him giving him another year.
Why didn't you stop after your first sentence. :roll: :roll:

Had some nasty injuries along the way,well done

Thanks mate, for your leadership, courage and footy smarts,Gears.

To my fellow sainters who wished him well or thanked him, well done.

The rest of you with no manners, class or sense of loyalty and who couldn't resist one last opportunity to sink the boot in, should go and follow some other team.
Last edited by saynta on Thu 14 Jul 2022 6:10pm, edited 1 time in total.

Loved your courage and your fight….if Paddy didn’t get injured and if Carlisle hadn’t decided to go home and if Longy didn’t get suspended, who knows how far we could have gone in 2020 with you as our captain

You showed your character on the footy field and you wore the jumper as a proud St Kilda player

Well done Gears on a great career at the highest level and thanks for leading the next generation of Saints

saynta wrote: Thu 14 Jul 2022 5:58pm Thanks mate, for your leadership, courage and footy smarts,Gears.

The rest of you with no manners, class or sense of loyalty and who couldn't resist one last opportunity to sink the boot in, should go and followed someone other team.
Yep
15 years playing playing in the big league
How many on here would've loved to have played just one game for the mighty Saints
Me for one
Last edited by mr six o'clock on Thu 14 Jul 2022 6:09pm, edited 1 time in total.

mr six o'clock wrote: Thu 14 Jul 2022 6:06pm
saynta wrote: Thu 14 Jul 2022 5:58pm Thanks mate, for your leadership, courage and footy smarts,Gears.

The rest of you with no manners, class or sense of loyalty and who couldn't resist one last opportunity to sink the boot in, should go and followed someone other team.
Yep
15 years playing playing in the big league
How many on here would've loved to have played just one game for the mighty Saints
Me for one. :wink:

You can only respect a player who has got every drip of sweat out of their career based on the natural talent they had. Geary is the epitome of this. When a player is not the most talented yet is one of the first picked week in week out it says everything about their commitment, work ethic , sacrifice and respect. It was no accident that he was the obvious choice as captain and did a great job during a poor time and then was able to allow Steele to first become the talented player he is and then take over the leadership.
Club man through and through.
You judge a person by the question is a place better for them having been there and with Gears the answer is clearly yes.

Hope it is not a sign we are officially tanking now.
And he figures on no finals.
Does Gears know something we don’t?

He must have read my post about us having no Gearbox.

Make no mistake before his injury in 2011 he had some real tricks

I saw him kick a goal after selling some candy twice.

Unfortunately his injuries made it impossible to get that back

He retires as one of my all time favourite Sainters.

I have heard Nick R talk about looking into players eyes before games and looking for who you could trust, I am sure #14 fit into that criteria

Uncompromising, loyal and almost impossible to beat one on one

Always a Sainter

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

Great small defender

Hard as a goats forehead!!!

One of the most courageous saints ever, and outstanding leader!

Cheers Gears

Saintmatt wrote: Thu 14 Jul 2022 2:59pm Certainly got way more out of himself than the majority of the other 134 potatoes we drafted since 2003. Stunning career when you consider Gears' talent limitations. Gold standard for hard work and doing everything to give yourself the best possible chance.
Recruitment has been St Kilda's greatest problem since 2003.
There is no point tanking for draft picks or totally bottoming out until you put together a genuinely elite recruitment group.
It is now North's turn to get low draft picks.
Number 1 draft picks must compete for Brownlow medals but the first selection in round 2 & 3 must also deliver class players.
Wasting your first and second round picks on duds results in a wasted decade.
The Saints have had too many of those.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08
Bruce G McAbee

I would like to see Gears invited to the coaches box to give his insights on the game.
I reckon he could be a good coach.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

Pity he didn’t get a farewell game, his injuries must be worse than thought.

Remember 'I ❤ Lenny' when he announced his retirement.

We were tracking poorly at the time, but our guys played outta their skin for a 10 goal win (vs Freo?) which was possibly the upset of the season.

Gears isn't the same as Lenny (IMHO) and not even anywhere close to him, but will it have an effect?

Bruce G McAbee wrote: Thu 14 Jul 2022 6:56pm I would like to see Gears invited to the coaches box to give his insights on the game.
I reckon he could be a good coach.
If Geary has not already given that I'd be very surprised.

Thanks for the years of service Gears courageous beyond belief & very good AFL career, I dip my lid .All the best mate in what ever you chose to do after footy

Brunswicksainter

terry smith rules wrote: Thu 14 Jul 2022 5:41pm
Brunswicksainter wrote: Thu 14 Jul 2022 3:44pm Thanks for the service. Although still think it was incredibly selfish that he collected a pay check and took a list spot knowing full well he was going nowhere near the senior side this season.

I love supporters like you, who think they know about footy… when in fact….

I can just see you with your mates standing on the concourse at Marvel, proudly wearing your Saints gear but taking great delight in bagging your own players, because that obviously makes you an expert
I’m a fan of the st Kilda football club, I personally don’t think that means you have to blindly support players who you think have made decisions that go against the interest of the club. Maybe I’m wrong, but having an opinion of particular players doesn’t make me any less of a fan than you. I want to see the club succeed and win a flag just as much as you.

Brunswicksainter

shanegrambeau wrote: Thu 14 Jul 2022 5:20pm Don’t blame Gears for hanging around..for delicately timing his stepping-down-as-capitan announcement (after lists were finalized)…

Sure, personally, maybe he shouldn’t have been on the list this year. But it is St Kilda’s weaknesss not to stand up to Gears’s manager.

The Football Department is weak…managers are strong and incentivized. And the whole club is an assembly of different sub-assemblies, with different metrics, key performance targets, evaluations, and individuals with ambitious of various bents - many of whom might be with a rival club or another sporting code, next season.

I really don’t think there is a Chief who uses his or her judgment based on an overall viewpoint that is organic and whole…It is just various stats, rubrics and rhetoric mixed in to presentations….

No slant in Ratts.

Agree 100%; although as a leader at the club he should have taken it upon himself to see the writing on the wall and step aside before the start of the season. I’m sure the club could and should offer him a coaching/development gig. Just think as a leader you need to hold yourself to a higher standard.

Scollop wrote: Thu 14 Jul 2022 6:02pm Loved your courage and your fight….if Paddy didn’t get injured and if Carlisle hadn’t decided to go home and if Longy didn’t get suspended, who knows how far we could have gone in 2020 with you as our captain
It’s funny… was it 09 he got injured part of the way through but was firmly in the top 22 5-6 games in?

Would have been mighty handy in the big game that year I always thought

That’s the missed opportunity

Brunswicksainter wrote: Thu 14 Jul 2022 8:51pm
shanegrambeau wrote: Thu 14 Jul 2022 5:20pm Don’t blame Gears for hanging around..for delicately timing his stepping-down-as-capitan announcement (after lists were finalized)…

No slant in Ratts.

Agree 100%; although as a leader at the club he should have taken it upon himself to see the writing on the wall and step aside before the start of the season. I’m sure the club could and should offer him a coaching/development gig. Just think as a leader you need to hold yourself to a higher standard.
would Club insurance pay for his injury rehabilitation
in that scenario
... is that how it works ?

'n anyone in a worthy position of leadership
would already hold themselves to a 'high' (er) standard
... thats sorta how they fit the role
Last edited by asiu on Thu 14 Jul 2022 10:06pm, edited 1 time in total.