Players which you got wrong

Re: Players which you got wrong

Cooper Sharman
Could’ve been anything but after 7 games just failed to make it.
Ah well.

Cooper is turning 22 and not a draftees age, he doesn’t get 3 or 4 years to develop

He is a mark - kick player - needs to develop other areas of his game - particularly defending (huge aspect of being a forward)

BTW
I’ve got plenty wrong over the journey

Probably Jamie Cripps the one that sticks out
He has had a good career as a useful small forward in a good team. A role player but no star (seagull actually)

But I didn’t think he was any good at all

Thought Brooks could play
Turns out he probably couldn’t
Alan Murray was another - dominated VFL - could hold a spot in the AFL

Still waiting for Daniel Wulf to come good

Another poster on this site who I have known for a long time heard we had two guys in the U19s who were looking really good. One of them I think was called Colin Hams. He went to see them play one day and said Hams looks like a player but Stewart Loewe is never going to make it.

Personally, I've never got any wrong but the selectors and list managers have got heaps wrong.

older saint wrote: Tue 19 Jul 2022 2:19pm Something bit more relaxed after Friday night - Players who were wrong about that played for the saints.
Be it thought were good and were not or thought were no good and turned out good.

Obviously our lack of knowledge of off field habits made some of these harder.

2 from me:
- Damien Kitchske - big CHF/ 2nd ruck who looked capable of a big mark and able to kick a goal . One of those who were drafted and then took a couple years to actually come over from SA. Had a couple reasonable games as i remember early on ( including one at Windy Hill v Essendon we only just lost) and I thought we had a good one here. Got that one wrong

- Zac Dawson - recruited the pencil thin kid from Hawthorn who Rocca absolutely abused early on. Thought WTF. While never a star was a very good player in our system and a ball bounces differently perhaps part of folk law for a huge spoil.

others?
Dawson was a spud who f***ed off to Freo with his very close personal buddy The Flosser Tosser. And good riddance I say. To both of them.

player of the final series
(voted internally iirc) in 10 + 14

4 losing grannys would be a tough gig

i listened to an interview once (unpluggered ?)
'n thought him a very impressive individual

i remember stating a few times that "Two Wakelins in the side were two Wakelins too many" Both had very good careers.
Also guilty of claiming Steve Smith was no good. Facebook Memories makes sure I never forget that.

saynta wrote: Wed 20 Jul 2022 1:15pm
older saint wrote: Tue 19 Jul 2022 2:19pm ...
others?
Dawson was a spud who f***ed off to Freo with his very close personal buddy The Flosser Tosser. And good riddance I say. To both of them.
We've done really well since we lost those two, haven't we?

Russell Tweeddale.
Tweeddale, who was from Ballarat, was a member of Redan's 1975 and 1976 premiership teams.
After starting at St Kilda with the reserves, in 1975, Tweeddale broke into the seniors in the 1977 VFL season.[2] He was one of St Kilda's best players on his league debut and made a total of 17 appearances that year, followed by 17 in 1978 and seven in 1979.

I thought he was going to be a really good player but his career quickly fizzled out. It ended at the Bulldogs.

bigred wrote: Wed 20 Jul 2022 12:29am JPB was a gun.

Dean Greig and Rod Keogh were twice as hard as any player on our current list.
They would run through each and every one of them.
Budgie was a gun early & I thought he was going to be a 10 year player but injury culled his career prematurely :cry:

Dean Grieg played 33 games in 4 years at StK

Could find the ball, but was pretty slow and average by foot, good by hand

Coached by him at Clayton in the mid 90s (Bingham was there too)
No comment there

B.M wrote: Thu 21 Jul 2022 4:09am Dean Grieg played 33 games in 4 years at StK

Could find the ball, but was pretty slow and average by foot, good by hand

Coached by him at Clayton in the mid 90s (Bingham was there too)
No comment there
Big Gibbo there then?

I can't think of any, but it's a possibility in the future I suppose.

Yes

Robert Gibbs??? Was that his name?

He was about 6’6”

Along with ex Collingwood players

Fatui Ataata, Athas Hrsylakis, Andrew Tarpey, Andrew Hamer

want to put forward Jayson Daniels
absolute tackling machine off the backline from day one of his career
but his kicking was atrocious & it never improved :(

sunsaint wrote: Thu 21 Jul 2022 6:31pm want to put forward Jayson Daniels
absolute tackling machine off the backline from day one of his career
but his kicking was atrocious & it never improved :(
Yep Jack made Clint jones look like Scott Pendlebury but he had a reasonable AFL career at the Saints x 2 & Sydney for a bloke that literally couldn't kick over a jam tin

therabbitinthehat

Thought Kosi was better than Roo initially

therabbitinthehat wrote: Thu 21 Jul 2022 7:33pm Thought Kosi was better than Roo initially
In his early years definitely but Rooey over took him pretty quickly

aussie sainter

Caydn Beetham

PADDLEPOP1001

Graham Scott came from WA & I thought he would be a star FF how wrong I was.

PADDLEPOP1000
D.B.Cooper

asiu wrote: Wed 20 Jul 2022 2:27pm player of the final series
(voted internally iirc) in 10 + 14

4 losing grannys would be a tough gig

i listened to an interview once (unpluggered ?)
'n thought him a very impressive individual
Yep, voted player of the final series at Saints and Freo from what I remember.

saynta is being kind in this post, usually refers to Zac as a big girl 👧

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

there is one bit that the shark
and i agree on

ross definitely made a deal with zac
promising to play him
to get him (out of retirement maybe) or from the Dawkers
to us

and i definitely remember reading an article
way back when
where zac said exactly that

aussie sainter wrote: Thu 21 Jul 2022 7:58pm Caydn Beetham
Had forgotten all about him ,our first round pick I think & was pretty handy got injured & just decided AFL footy was not for him . I have no idea where or what he did after that . Would have been a gun at local level I reckon :wink:

Sam Fisher was absolutely putrid as an over-age forward; miraculously turned into a fantastic defender.
Jason Blake cost us several games off his own boot in his first 5-6 years; he grew into being an incredibly reliable and effective player.

They were the two I really thought wouldn't make it no matter how many chances they were given. Fisher had to have the play come to him; Blake was eventually able to use his brain to cut the angles and not do the stupid things that ruined his early years.

Not many I thought who would make it didn't get there. I probably thought Arryn Siposs had the kicking talent to stand out - but it turns out he probably was just a kicker and the NFL is the right place for him.

I've rated our drafting as deplorable for about 15 years now and it is cruelling to see that play out. I hope our recruiters prove me wrong and Matthew Allison turns out to be another Fisher or Blake, but I doubt it.

When I queried one of them about going for Matthew Parker above Jacob Koschitzke in the week after the 2018 draft, they told me Koschitzke had major deficiencies and Parker had massive upside. I told them they had that assessment totally mixed up. We agreed to disagree, but we keep making the same mistakes at the draft table and it is hugely frustrating.