Ben Long. Furious

Templar

Re: Ben Long. Furious

I disagree. Teams frequently get rattled when relentless pressure is applied. Deer in headlights, worried out of the ball, nowhere to go etc. Use a different word if you like. Bring it on.

Not "Simon Templar". He was here first. Please change my username to Bumstead and if possible make me one of those very large sandwiches, thanks!

Yeah I think we’re playing word games here

Scared in this context doesn’t mean fear for your life or even reduced ferocity at the contest…
It essentially refers to making mistakes under pressure and being harassed

Watch us vs Essendon…
Actual pressure or perceived, on numerous occasions we kicked into the man on the mark, really butchered kicks and dropped handball receives.

We actually don’t have a ton of players that do that level of contest harassment well.
Dmac pbly the best at it along with Wood, Long and Lienert quite good.

Windy is promising

B.M wrote: Sat 30 Jul 2022 4:19am Sorry to bust your bubble

Few if any, if they reach that level are scared on a footy ground

To be drafted, you need to be a star junior or state league player

Doesn’t happen if you’re scared

A 181cm 79kg Ben Long aint scaring many/any AFL players

He might pressure them, he might lay a big tackle or two - but that happens in footy

Does David McKay scare anyone? Because he put Hunter Clark in hospital - nope - not even Hunter
So are you suggesting that players effectiveness levels are the same when they are under threat of physical duress as when they aren't

Long was dropped this year for lack of pressure

But agree, he is hard at it and provides intensity

Looking good tonight so far 👍

Long was furious with King a few times today.
Reckon he thinks Max was not honouring leads

Crossy66

He got burnt a few times today , could of had a few goals otherwise. Had a great game.

Long was ok IMO just needs to keep composure under pressure & make better choices but was handy

Crossy66

Better than handy for me

14 possessions 0 goals
That ok offensively

9 tackles
Very good defensively

Overall - good game

A couple of Ben's team mates actually kicked the ball to him today. Nice change.

We still have some very selfish footballers though.

He was clean today, didn’t fumble
Looked positive, lead up to the ball
For me played a good game, reckon his best for the year
When he doesn’t fumble he is good

maverick wrote: Sat 30 Jul 2022 9:44pm He was clean today, didn’t fumble
Looked positive, lead up to the ball
For me played a good game, reckon his best for the year
When he doesn’t fumble he is good
Agree! Tends to lose his footing a bit too much. A pity because when he doesn't his tackles stick.

Totally agree with every time he paid out on King. Those sprays should also be coming from the coach IMO. King turned the game in the last quarter, unfortunately the wrong way.

Banger9798 wrote: Sat 30 Jul 2022 8:49pm Long was furious with King a few times today.
Same thing happened in the last quarter with Mason Wood. Hawks had a turnover in the middle and we had a couple of players free running towards or goals. Usually it's Higgins or Butler running hard towards goal but this time it was Long

Wood had the footy on the wing just forward of centre and he had a choice of Long running directly towards the goal (dead in front) about 35 m out or he could hit up King (who was running towards the boundary but a lot further out from goal).

King was a bit closer towards Wood, so it was the easier of the two kicks but the wrong option if you wanted to maximise our chances for a team goal. Long gets burned and Wood hit up King who had a difficult shot from 50-55 metres out. King missed. I think that brought Kings tally 'to 2-5 for the afternoon

saynta wrote: Sat 30 Jul 2022 9:44pm A couple of Ben's team mates actually kicked the ball to him today. Nice change.

We still have some very selfish footballers though.
Sebby honoured Ben's leads a few times.

Not sure why others don't but obviously there is an element of selfishness and favouritism which is not going to hold us in good stead if we make finals

I saw Longy really do his block today right in front of us when his lead wasn't honoured.
The forward missed of course.

Love Longy - reckon he is a natural footballer who works hard!

A ripper!!

samuraisaint wrote: Sun 31 Jul 2022 12:39am I saw Longy really do his block today right in front of us when his lead wasn't honoured.
The forward missed of course.

Love Longy - reckon he is a natural footballer who works hard!

A ripper!!
Speaking about doing his block...did you see the incident with CJ from Hawthorn who was trying to ruffle Long's feathers?

Long took the hit and took the jumper punches without retaliating. Good sign of maturity for the young fella Benny

I reckon Long seems to be fitter now.
Just seems to run out games with intensity.
Hope that happens for Clark - thought he'd done a back injury today. Thank God he got up

Banger9798 wrote: Sun 31 Jul 2022 1:11am I reckon Long seems to be fitter now.
Hope that happens for Clark - thought he'd done a back injury today. Thank God he got up
Clark is possibly the toughest / hardest footballer we have at the club, all due respect to Steele & Co..

I don't subscribe to the diatribe he's not AFL fit, that's a slight on him or our fitness staff. Give him a year+ without a serious injury and we'll see some magic from the lad.

Ghost Like wrote: Sun 31 Jul 2022 1:31am
Banger9798 wrote: Sun 31 Jul 2022 1:11am I reckon Long seems to be fitter now.
Clark is possibly the toughest / hardest footballer we have at the club, all due respect to Steele & Co..

I don't subscribe to the diatribe he's not AFL fit, that's a slight on him or our fitness staff. Give him a year+ without a serious injury and we'll see some magic from the lad.
Yes!!!

So happy to see Hunter up and about.

He isn't built like Windhager, but very few of us are. I happen to put both of them to shame, but nevermind.

And special mention to Long and his banana...

And Hill, quiet game, but I see him instrumental in three goals tonight, and we won by two..

Damn it..our damn forward line....

I’ll tell you straight

Clark is NOT as fit as he could or should be

He doesn’t finish even close to the top half of the runner at the club in time trials.

He is a great player, courageous and skilful

But a good runner, he is NOT!!!

He doesn’t need to hit the gym - he needs to hit the pavement

He could be an elite player imo if he was (Sinclair or Ross fit)
I reckon he could reach Steele Sidebottom levels - but in current shape he’s just handy and plays his best in the easiest position on the ground

Love long long time

D.B.Cooper

B.M wrote: Sun 31 Jul 2022 5:39am I’ll tell you straight

Clark is NOT as fit as he could or should be

He doesn’t finish even close to the top half of the runner at the club in time trials.

He is a great player, courageous and skilful

But a good runner, he is NOT!!!

He doesn’t need to hit the gym - he needs to hit the pavement

He could be an elite player imo if he was (Sinclair or Ross fit)
I reckon he could reach Steele Sidebottom levels - but in current shape he’s just handy and plays his best in the easiest position on the ground
Good post.

I agree Hunter’s running capacity is nowhere near elite.

Sinclair was always a decent runner who is now very good, Ross achieved it through hard work & volume and it probably took 5-6 pre-seasons to build and Sidebottom always had elite endurance.

Hunter is more like Ross that he needs to get the work into his legs. The issue is we don’t know his situation in regard to groins, calves, hammys and how his body copes with load. He may well be a slower build.

Pretty sure the club fitness and conditioning staff would be all over this.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!