Just Announced

Jon Ralph just said that David Rath has said he will be staying at St Kilda for 2023, he will not be going to work with Clarkson. :lol: :lol:

Re: Just Announced

Well they need to sort some s*** out

Both need a good slap around the face to wake them the f*** up

BadRossco

Any chance he can play at full forward

BadRossco wrote: Fri 12 Aug 2022 11:53pm Any chance he can play at full forward
What's interesting about that is Rath is a Biomechanist and was meant to be responsible for Hawthorns kicking prowess in the successful Clarkson years.

I wonder what his role at the Saints is ?

The good news just keeps coming.
The anchor remains in place and tide is still coming in.
How bad does it have to get before this man is called out.
We just keep the self inflicteds coming.
If we didn't have tactical fools on staff we could have romped in the 8.
Are all of the Board completely hopeless.
My starting point is yes, obviously.
Mercy. Come on someone with influence, challenge the cosy sheltered workshop that is out footy intellegencia. We have the players to make finals, join the dots.

Anyone who actually knows David Raths role

Make some informed comment

People guessing

Continue looking for that scapegoat without a clue

If Rath is staying then new scapegoat needed, pronto.

What's Sexton doing ?

B.M wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 3:11am Anyone who actually knows David Raths role

People guessing

Spot on Mart
Fancy guessing on a fan forum
The temerity!!
Let’s get some cliches happening quick smart to nip this in the bud
“You’re only as good as your last gane”
Or my fav
“You’re not as good as you think you are and you’re not as bad as you think you are”
The last one for us translated means
“You’re in no man’s land where you’ve been fir a decade”
Yay!!

Is this legit?

Yorkeys wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 1:39am The good news just keeps coming.
Mercy. Come on someone with influence, challenge the cosy sheltered workshop that is out footy intellegencia. We have the players to make finals, join the dots.
That's interesting Yorkeys - tell me where I went wrong because when I tried to join the dots I couldn't find anywhere near enough St Kilda players on the current list you believe are capable of St Kilda playing finals, just one All Australian (dual) and perhaps another 2 in contention this year.

Wayne42 wrote: Fri 12 Aug 2022 11:51pm Jon Ralph just said that David Rath has said he will be staying at St Kilda for 2023, he will not be going to work with Clarkson. :lol: :lol:
Disastrous news.

The sooner Rath departs the better.

People guessing

Who is guessing.

Just listen to what Rath says, and what he has written.

St Kilda's Head of Football Program David Rath has given insight into St Kilda's rejigged gameplan.
Rath and Brett Ratten, along with the Saints' coaching staff, have been developing a game-style that plays to players' strengths.

ie This pearler
"
And if we’re talking about playing, then there’s a sense of creativity and a sense of probing the opposition to see what they give you and then responding to that rather than having a set plan.
- David Rath
"

And people wonder why our players currently look like headless chooks much of the time gameplan wise.

Rath is the architect of our current gameplan.

Maybe it will work next year?

Sanctorum wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 12:03pm
Yorkeys wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 1:39am The good news just keeps coming.
That's interesting Yorkeys - tell me where I went wrong because when I tried to join the dots I couldn't find anywhere near enough St Kilda players on the current list you believe are capable of St Kilda playing finals, just one All Australian (dual) and perhaps another 2 in contention this year.
That’s fascinating Sanct
Cause the club have cone out and announced our window is open
We’ve recruited top up players last few drafts from other clubs to play finals
But you keep telling us the list is no good??
Maybe you should give Brett a call cause clearly there is a disconnect between what you see vs the club

saintsRrising wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 1:26pm

People guessing

Who is guessing.

Just listen to what Rath says, and what he has written.

St Kilda's Head of Football Program David Rath has given insight into St Kilda's rejigged gameplan.
Rath and Brett Ratten, along with the Saints' coaching staff, have been developing a game-style that plays to players' strengths.

ie This pearler
"
And if we’re talking about playing, then there’s a sense of creativity and a sense of probing the opposition to see what they give you and then responding to that rather than having a set plan.
- David Rath
"

And people wonder why our players currently look like headless chooks much of the time gameplan wise.

Rath is the architect of our current gameplan.
Yep
Mind numbingly bat Shiite stupid
A team that has no set approach and onfield it’s obvious
But Mart needs a signed stat Dec before he can see the Forrest for the trees

Again from the hun.

"The Saints are hopeful of securing favourite son Lenny Hayes as an assistant coach.

LET’S GET LENNY

ST KILDA is on the talent-acquisition hunt after another frustrating season, but their best potential target may not be a player.

The Saints are chasing former club favourite son and ex-Giants assistant coach Lenny Hayes to become a part of the coaching panel.

He stepped away from the Giants’ role at the end of 2020, in part frustrated by financial cuts endured by assistant coaches during the first season of the pandemic.
More Coverage
Watch: Misguided aggression could end Saint’s season
Rich 100: Which clubs have footy’s top earners?
Revealed: The players at your club taking a discount

But Brett Ratten confirmed the speculation on 3AW that Hayes is on the radar for a return, potentially replacing the departing Ben McGlynn.

If they can make it happen, it would be a huge boost to Ratten’s coaching panel, along with the news David Rath seems certain to stay."

Maybe get rid of Lade .... the forward line is a shambles

Apparently was at Richmond before us and after he went/was replaced at the end of 2016 ..... the rest is history

They all cover up for each other. Need a big shake-up and that won’t happen. Distract the supporters with ‘Lenny is back’.

Gershwin wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 5:19pm They all cover up for each other. Need a big shake-up and that won’t happen. Distract the supporters with ‘Lenny is back’.
Bang on this is my take
It feels utterly too cozy in the admin/coaches box
Like they’re all high 5s and players all too blame
The friggin plan is shambolic
But get a fan fav in Lenny and that’ll shut em up
Lade must go and I hope Rath does too
Enright is the only one that stays
This is why if our Prez had balls we’d be bringing in a full review with a footy person to oversee - Noble apparently did it at Lions to good effect
But Nup ….Basset to cozy with Lethers too cozy with Brett..
Supporters = muppets

whoevers in charge of the forward line - see ya
whoever's in charge of transition into the fifty - see ya
whoever thinks having players react rather than play to a plan - see ya
whover is in charge of motivating players - see ya.
now it's hard to find the straw that broke it, but there's a vicious circle between confidence, skills, conversion, belief in your teammates, belief in the game plan, and aggression at the ball and man, and winning footy games. most of the team is down on all counts.
we need to instill some confidence and trust in the team, bit hard if there's no real game plan to start with, but a good coach is a motivator, i don't care what some numnuts think about the issue - it is a core skill of a good coach or coaching group, and an essential ingredient in a good team. it can waver over a season, and it can disappear altogether with a coach whom previously had the ability to motivate a group. but when it's gone so is the team. the dogs, from grand finalists to likely missing finals - not due to the quality of the list - but due to dropping off on the factors above.
i reckon this team, for all the moaning about the list, is good enough to play top four, with those elements above in sync. most teams are. that vicous circle becomes virtuous once some of the factors fall into place.
we had that belief early in the season, can ratts get it back is the big question?

From no Stav - now we know why Rath will be staying …promotion…**** me if that’s his game plan abd he thinks it’s working a treat we are in the wilderness for years to come..

Oh and just so you are aware.

Not fussed which side of the fence you sit on with this argument.

But we are retaining Rath because we will be promoting him. Otherwise he was following Clarko.

Keep your eye on Roughead.

Teflon wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 1:49pm
That’s fascinating Sanct
Maybe you should give Brett a call cause clearly there is a disconnect between what you see vs the club
Come off it Teflon, do you really expect the club to be anything other than positive when it talks about the team's potential, do you really take what they tell supporters and the media as gospel??

They're hardly going to come out and say "we're still a few years away from playing finals".

As for top players recruited from other clubs in last few drafts, who exactly are you talking about apart from Brad Hill because I certainly can't think of any, Paddy Ryder was far from a top player when he came across from Port, and Howard, Jones or Crouch were all around "average".

Interesting isn't it that all 3 last mentioned were rated better than the club had at the time, says it all!

So isn't it patently obvious that the list is not good and far from capable of playing finals??

Sanctorum wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 6:46pm
Teflon wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 1:49pm
That’s fascinating Sanct
Come off it Teflon, do you really expect the club to be anything other than positive when it talks about the team's potential, do you really take what they tell supporters and the media as gospel??

They're hardly going to come out and say "we're still a few years away from playing finals".

As for top players recruited from other clubs in last few drafts, who exactly are you talking about apart from Brad Hill because I certainly can't think of any, Paddy Ryder was far from a top player when he came across from Port, and Howard, Jones or Crouch were all around "average".

Interesting isn't it that all 3 last mentioned were rated better than the club had at the time, says it all!

So isn't it patently obvious that the list is not good and far from capable of playing finals??
I’ll just direct you to Joey Montagna analysis of what Saints have done list wise re top ups ….but you’d know way more than him!!
And I don’t buy the “Board just selling memberships” BS line - you put that message out you believe it otherwise you look very stupid (as they do now)
I think you need to get in the real world
This list is way better than a bottom 4 side our second half season results have shown
That’s poor game plan/coaching/skill development ALl on coaching
Plus the club AND the coach gave massively over sold where this side is at
As Joey said our 26+ brigade are not good enough to win it
They are good enough to play finals at 7/8 (had we kicked straight last night that means this season we had beaten 5 of the top 8 teams????)
Stop excusing the deplorable coaching efforts
We will now finish each season of Rattens tenure in a worse position
You don’t extend or reward that - only poorly run organisations do so

You realise Rath was in the same role at Hawthorn in their 3 peat?

B.M wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 8:20pm Teflon

You realise Rath was in the same role at Hawthorn in their 3 peat?
That’s not true
He’s head of footy here he wasnt at Hawks
I think you make stuff up
Anyhoo regardless your whole argument is dumb
“Rath good at Hawks so he must be good at Saints”
Big difference having one of the best modern day coaches next to you in the box than Brett
Rath didn’t have the same control he dies at Saints and maybe he’s a better second banana than a decision maker????
All we do know as FACT as the game plan he says they want players to use where it’s essentially “keep opponents guessing by not having a structured game plan” has been an unmitigated disaster
As Fox comments noted Friday - it’s actually outdated
As Montagna noted “outside pressure…it’s hard to actually work out their method.,”
But you were a gun player you knew that already
Anyway, instead of taking hard decisions that we need to now (been in 10-12 wilderness for a decade) coaching staff will bring in Lenny to make us all feel better and pretend we are close to challenging
Joke.