Horse

Re: Horse

st.byron wrote: Sat 03 Sep 2022 2:55pm
Impatient Sainter wrote: Sat 03 Sep 2022 2:44pm
seano1 wrote: Fri 02 Sep 2022 11:42pm To me , he’s the coach saints should chase ….always seems to be around the 8 , players seemed to love him and they never stop showing desire to win and a chaos entry forward line not predictable like ours
Yes he is a good coach, but it's the entire Sydney football club that are good at what they do. They recruit well, develop their players and are prepared to make some hard but smart decisions eg Hannebery, Kennedy & McCartin this year. Listen to what Hickey said last night its the inclusitivity of the entire club that works, which makes everyone feel apart of something.

Longmire simply drives the standards required of his staff & players!

Ratten had zero credibility with the playing group the minute he started favouring highly paid players over others. You cant ask for players to give their all and put their bodies on the line, when others aren't. It will be the best thing the club has done in 10 years getting Hill off the list - perhaps then Ratts can go gack to winning some trust. Then they need to surround him and the players with the best assisants available.
Agree with most of what you say. Regarding surrounding him with better assistants. They i.e Lethlean and.management said the same thing about Richo. "We're going to get him better support, not sack him" or words to that effect. It made no difference, Richo wasn't up to the job.
If the head honcho doesn't command respect from the entire playing and coaching group, it makes zero difference who the assistants are.
The head coach needs to drive the footy culture. I seriously doubt Ratten can do it. Similar issue to Richardson. Too nice. Not enough hard edge. I think we're going nowhere with the current set-up whilst Ratten is in charge.
Perhaps you are right, but having him surrounded with want to be's like Rath & Merrick isnt the answer either. He needs clean air and to let him go back to his footballing instincts which should be his strength, rather than relying on stats and other distractions.

Scollop wrote: Sat 03 Sep 2022 1:27pm
SaintPav wrote: Sat 03 Sep 2022 9:30am They had their chance in 2006.

They chose Ross Lyon.
Robert Walls is now on the panel to choose the new coach at Essendon

What are the chances for Ross the Boss getting the gig? He should be odds on I reckon
If Lyon is a candidate for the job, Walls needs to declare a conflict of interest and step aside or their whole coaching appointment process will just be a big joke.

1965 Saint

‘Ratten had zero credibility with the playing group the minute he started favouring highly paid players over others. You cant ask for players to give their all and put their bodies on the line, when others aren't. It will be the best thing the club has done in 10 years getting Hill off the list - perhaps then Ratts can go back to winning some trust. ‘

I agree wholeheartedly. For some time I’ve said that Hill is a major contributor to the less than acceptable team performance. I would have got rid of him at the end of last year.

Robert Walls screwed St Kilda over. If Longmire was appointed he'd still be coaching us.

Longmire would’ve last 5 years and achieved zilch at StK

We would’ve ruined him with our list mgt strategy

Chris Pelchen turned us from a power to a basket case on field

Archie Fraser did so off field

B.M wrote: Sat 03 Sep 2022 5:03pm Longmire would’ve last 5 years and achieved zilch at StK

You know that yeah?? I mean from your previous AFL experience??
Longmire (cause he’s a good coach like Lyon was) would demand standards
None of this “we don’t drop Hill..” BS
What message does that send to players??
Amateur hour under cuddles Ratten I’m afraid

Good coaches don’t demand anything

Are you a boss/manager?!

Do you demand stuff??

If you did, your employees would consider you a c***!

Can’t imagine that Horae wouldn’t have at least achieved or gotten close to what RL did

Teflon wrote: Sun 04 Sep 2022 5:16pm
B.M wrote: Sat 03 Sep 2022 5:03pm Longmire would’ve last 5 years and achieved zilch at StK

So not a hater?

B.M wrote: Sun 04 Sep 2022 5:19pm Good coaches don’t demand anything

Are you a boss/manager?!

Do you demand stuff??

Your punctuation seems to be demanding we believe that bullsh!t. What does that mean?

Of course a demand must be made, first for clarity, secondly for direction and thirdly for purpose. Afterall, they live and die by those decisions.

Are you a boss/manager?!

Do you demand stuff??

Good. managers aren't too fussed about seeming a c***. Your boss isn't your mate you know.

Vortex wrote: Sun 04 Sep 2022 6:08pm

So not a hater?
Not at all
Learn the distinction between reasoned, logical arguments (see above) vs you telling us all Sharman was no good after 7 games.
It’s not really that subtle….as long as you’re not blinded by hate..

freely wrote: Sun 04 Sep 2022 6:18pm

Are you a boss/manager?!

Do you demand stuff??

Good. managers aren't too fussed about seeming a c***. Your boss isn't your mate you know.
Freely, you are clearly clueless about leadership and managing a team. You guide, you coach, you set expectations and manage expectations, you set a strategic direction, you communicate with complete clarity, you never demand.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

Are you a boss/manager?!

Do you demand stuff??

I am a boss
My employees love me (I demand they do)
But alas….this is cut throat AFL we are talking about
I do insist on standards at work like most bosses ..that’s only fair
Some bosses aka Brett just can’t uphold them is all and then the place breaks down
I’m not sure the players have brought in to Brett
IF rumours of the amount wanting to leave are true including 1st year players ….somethings not right..

Teflon wrote: Sun 04 Sep 2022 6:23pm

So not a hater?
Not at all
Learn the distinction between reasoned, logical arguments (see above) vs you telling us all Sharman was no good after 7 games.
After 7 games Sharman was not capable of AFL, was trialled in an experiment in the backline. Has been given a 2 year contract and will be a project player in that time so has plenty of time to take his opportunity.

Vortex wrote: Sun 04 Sep 2022 7:29pm
Teflon wrote: Sun 04 Sep 2022 6:23pm

So not a hater?
Not at all
After 7 games Sharman was not capable of AFL, was trialled in an experiment in the backline. Has been given a 2 year contract and will be a project player in that time so has plenty of time to take his opportunity.
It must kill you to say that out loud…the club saw fit to give him 2 years after you told us he’s a bust…
10 goals first 4 games…..yep…plonker
You a talent scout by chance?

happy feet wrote: Sun 04 Sep 2022 6:23pm
freely wrote: Sun 04 Sep 2022 6:18pm

Are you a boss/manager?!

Do you demand stuff??

Freely, you are clearly clueless about leadership and managing a team. You guide, you coach, you set expectations and manage expectations, you set a strategic direction, you communicate with complete clarity, you never demand.
I won't defend my management style to you. You're clearly a wanker.

Mod edit : Poster suspended for 7 days for abuse

Is that an example of your management style?

I reckon Ratts would perhaps do better to trim the waistline, shave and look the part a bit more.
He's got a very down beat look, and while that might not seem important, I reckon it creates a bit of a near enough is good enough standard

Banger9798 wrote: Mon 05 Sep 2022 10:22am Is that an example of your management style?

I reckon Ratts would perhaps do better to trim the waistline, shave and look the part a bit more.
He's got a very down beat look, and while that might not seem important, I reckon it creates a bit of a near enough is good enough standard
So….is Stewy Dew a dud and with him at the helm you reckon The Suns aren’t going anywhere?

B.M wrote: Sat 03 Sep 2022 1:26pm Who finished above us with a worse list?!
It’s funny how you keep banging on about our list. We’ve only had a decade to fix it.

And an inconvenient truth is that Richmond won a flag in 2017 with a okish list. Martin and Rance, superstars. Cotchin and Riewoldt very very good AFL players and the rest just average AFL footballers. Blokes like Castagna, Mcintosh, Grimes ( who became a star) Ellis, Grigg, Batchelor, Astbury, Short, Lambert, Graham, Broad, Butler.

Some of those guys became very good players and I’m not sneering at them. But you put them in a system that suits their style, give them great coaching and they’ll play for their lives. Which they did/have.

I’m not suggesting that we have two superstars on our list. We have two very very good AFL players in Steele and Sinclair. We have plenty of players capable of playing better footy than they are. Plenty. Good coaching will fix that

I like the way supporters on this forum claim "Ratten has zero credibility with the playing group" and similar without a single skerrick of evidence to back this up.

As far as I know the only verified occasion Ratten has been at odds with a player was Luke Dunstan (by the latter's unconfirmed admission), and presumable this was to do with that players attitude or similar deficiency.

Supporters protested loudly that Dunstan was being badly done by, but he has hardly done any good after being discarded by St Kilda and picked up by Melbourne, proving in the 4 games he played this year that he is just another ordinary/average depth player, not the gun that his FRDP 18 suggested he was capable of.

Scollop wrote: Mon 05 Sep 2022 10:25am
Banger9798 wrote: Mon 05 Sep 2022 10:22am Is that an example of your management style?

So….is Stewy Dew a dud and with him at the helm you reckon The Suns aren’t going anywhere?
Not suggesting either of them are spuds.
But both have let themselves go, and in an area of endeavour that emphasises the physical attributes it wouldn't be a bad idea to put in some work themselves.
Not like they haven't got access to top level gyms, physios, dieticians , medical staff etc

I agree with Banger. It's not a good look and sets an example

You must continually evolve the list and bring talent in

We did so in 2019 - look what happened in 2020

st.byron wrote: Mon 05 Sep 2022 5:44pm

I agree with Banger. It's not a good look and sets an example
Yeah, I do too

My comment about Dew was tongue in cheek

One of the things I noticed with Alastaire Clarkson is that he still looks fit and he’s always cleanly shaven (especially game day and for all public media spots). You have to be impressed by that, and you have to respect that

He sets the example for his players with his professionalism….and also sets the tone for the right attitude and toughness.

Remember when he famously ran onto the ground at Manuka in Canberra when it was close to zero degrees. There was also a spot or two of rain a day before the match and Clarko was jogging around topless in footy shorts.