What do you want from this review?

Re: What do you want from this review?

shanegrambeau wrote: Fri 09 Sep 2022 4:35pm Listen to Ross from 12:48 to 17:48 maybe more..

Honest conversations...
have them over summer bit...

then ask about review..
Wow just listen to Lyon
“It’s real simple you want them fit and in the sane page (gane plan) - the drills you do at training strengthen your gane plan” (and skill level no doubt )
Brett ought to ask him round for a beer ffs…

great BF suggestions suggesting Lyon back as Director of Coaching with a longer term succession plan in place for Hayes to take over….
Standard would lift overnight
Think Roo, Joey and co would be more connected to the club also…
Now that would be a review…
Even Lyon in as DOC - Ratten can stay coach but geezus Ross would keep him Rath, Lethlean and co honest..

Teflon wrote: Sat 10 Sep 2022 11:16pm great BF suggestions suggesting Lyon back as Director of Coaching with a longer term succession plan in place for Hayes to take over….
Even Lyon in as DOC - Ratten can stay coach but geezus Ross would keep him Rath, Lethlean and co honest..
Was that honest and Ross in the same sentence?

Yorkeys wrote: Sun 11 Sep 2022 12:10am
Teflon wrote: Sat 10 Sep 2022 11:16pm great BF suggestions suggesting Lyon back as Director of Coaching with a longer term succession plan in place for Hayes to take over….
I think Ross is to honest
Not sure Nettlefold was…. anyway he dropped the ball
Lyon would certainly be to honest for cuddles and gang

Teflon wrote: Sun 11 Sep 2022 1:43am
Yorkeys wrote: Sun 11 Sep 2022 12:10am
I think Ross is TOO honest
Not sure Nettlefold was…. anyway he dropped the ball
Lyon would certainly be TOO honest for cuddles and gang
Can you please try to spell correctly.
Gives me grief when people can't get their heads around to/too

Well indirectly we are getting an assessment of our list and retention ability from Clarkson it seems.
Putting aside the disrespect for our club by using our players as media fodder it appears Clarko feels most of our players are gettable but is only interested in a few. The ones not mentioned must feel slighted. Do we think Brett has called Clarko and said don't like what you are up to chum, bit disruptive bit cheeky bit arrogant. I'm not your assistant now.

Viscount Jeremiah

A game plan that doesn't JUST rely on pressure - Needs to have other strings to its bow than just pressure.

Because no team is going to bring pressure 22 weeks of the season and we need to be able to kick goals and stay competitive when the pressure isn't there.

Viscount Jeremiah wrote: Sun 11 Sep 2022 10:59am A game plan that doesn't JUST rely on pressure - Needs to have other strings to its bow than just pressure.

Because no team is going to bring pressure 22 weeks of the season and we need to be able to kick goals and stay competitive when the pressure isn't there.
Well said

Viscount Jeremiah wrote: Sun 11 Sep 2022 10:59am A game plan that doesn't JUST rely on pressure - Needs to have other strings to its bow than just pressure.

Good point.
Gotta have good skills when we have the ball.
Ability to hit up targets, handball to the correct option, finish off the work of others by nailing goals

WellardSaint wrote: Sun 11 Sep 2022 11:29am

Good point.
Gotta have good skills when we have the ball.
Ability to hit up targets, handball to the correct option, finish off the work of others by nailing goals
Yep agreed
I’d like to see a top notch footy director come in and help Ratten overhaul our training /skill drills under pressure
Clearly what we train is not transforming match day with skill level under pressure
Lade should be given the arse

SAINT-LEE

Just chatted with Sir Nick yesterday, I asked what he thinks would be the best course for our future...he said no comment.

I caught him later when he was sitting alone and asked again and he looked at me dead eye and said, move to Tassie or the AFL will sweep us aside within 10 yrs they'll have 3 less Vic clubs.

I thought he was having a laugh but then he took out his phone made a call excused himself and walked off....still not sure if he was taking the piss or pushing his agenda or? He seemed pretty genuine and a bit of aggressive when he said AFL would sweep us

SAINT-LEE wrote: Sun 11 Sep 2022 12:52pm Just chatted with Sir Nick yesterday, I asked what he thinks would be the best course for our future...he said no comment.

I caught him later when he was sitting alone and asked again and he looked at me dead eye and said, move to Tassie or the AFL will sweep us aside within 10 yrs they'll have 3 less Vic clubs.

I thought he was having a laugh but then he took out his phone made a call excused himself and walked off....still not sure if he was taking the piss or pushing his agenda or? He seemed pretty genuine and a bit of aggressive when he said AFL would sweep us
Is that for real ?
Riewoldt said we should move to Tassie?
**** me thanks Nick that’s the spirit!
Or does he just no do well associating with us common people?

There’s been several posters talking about the demise of the Saints and how we are about to fold.

Not sure if you numbskulls realise that the AFL just signed off on a $4.5 Billion media broadcast deal

The deal involves a competition with 9 matches each week in the regular seasons up until 2031

We aren’t folding anytime soon so the football club must plan long term and Ratts is our man as far as the coach

….now Lethlean on the other hand….hopefully he never makes another on field related footy decision as long as he is with the St Kilda FC

B.M wrote: Fri 09 Sep 2022 4:59pm We are on a slippery slope, and will go backwards in a hurry

Our list management is a mess

We are losing talent - and getting none in

Right now we are a carcass ripe for the picking, and clubs now this and will feast on any of our talented players

In 4 years we will be a basket case
That is so wrong.
Our best 22 make a terrific team.
We have been forced to play inept forwards and had most untimely injuries.
There is/was some issue dividing the playing group that arose around the bye and impacted effort.
Good decisions can get us giving the top 4 a darn hard shake.
No side with Max King, Jack Steele, Rowan Marshall, Jack Sinclair and Wilkie is ever going to be a basket case. Add in Owens and Windhager.

Maybe the head coach and the players are not the problem. Maybe the problem is with the football admin people

My answer to what I want from the review was posted in another thread. I want to know if Lethlean and the list management and Roughead and Rath and the other admin people are creating an environment where the players can be at their best

viewtopic.php?p=1979465#p1979465

Determine what the culture and training were like under Ross Lyon and compare to what it like under Brett Ratten and co. Not comparing sides just intent for success. Under Lyon we didn't win a flag but we were driven.

Why have our recruits (trade and draft) underperformed compared to other teams?

1971 wrote: Sun 11 Sep 2022 11:39pm Determine what the culture and training were like under Ross Lyon and compare to what it like under Brett Ratten and co. Not comparing sides just intent for success. Under Lyon we didn't win a flag but we were driven.
So the review should ONLY be conducted by Jarryn Geary then... he's the only one from both eras.

1 person is not the panacea. Lyon stepped into an organisation that had a very good culture in 2006. He inherited what had already been built over 25 years of finals appearances from 1991 up until 2006. And not forgetting the the legacy from leaders like Robert Harvey, Nathan Burke, Stewy Loewe, Aaron Hammill and others who passed on the baton to Roo, Lenny, Ball etc..

The secret is not getting a wizard or a messiah, it's about structures, disciplines, and having competent people in recruitment and competent people running our football program and always having an eye on the future. Lyon did not give a stuff what happened to the ST Kilda FC after he departed. He wasn't interested in developing our young recruits, or in rotating the captaincy, or in sustainable success. The club needs people who don't jeopardise our future. We do have a future despite what the posters on the forum keep telling us. The 4.5 Billion Dollar media rights deal ensures we do up until at least 2031

Scollop wrote: Mon 12 Sep 2022 2:01am
1971 wrote: Sun 11 Sep 2022 11:39pm Determine what the culture and training were like under Ross Lyon and compare to what it like under Brett Ratten and co. Not comparing sides just intent for success. Under Lyon we didn't win a flag but we were driven.
So the review should ONLY be conducted by Jarryn Geary then... he's the only one from both eras.

1 person is not the panacea. Lyon stepped into an organisation that had a very good culture in 2006. He inherited what had already been built over 25 years of finals appearances from 1991 up until 2006. And not forgetting the the legacy from leaders like Robert Harvey, Nathan Burke, Stewy Loewe, Aaron Hammill and others who passed on the baton to Roo, Lenny, Ball etc..

The secret is not getting a wizard or a messiah, it's about structures, disciplines, and having competent people in recruitment and competent people running our football program and always having an eye on the future. Lyon did not give a stuff what happened to the ST Kilda FC after he departed. He wasn't interested in developing our young recruits, or in rotating the captaincy, or in sustainable success. The club needs people who don't jeopardise our future. We do have a future despite what the posters on the forum keep telling us. The 4.5 Billion Dollar media rights deal ensures we do up until at least 2031
Interesting points.

#1 Lyon inherited a post 1991 bundle of success
I don't think so.
He inherited Grant Thomas's brilliant bunch, which included kids born out of the Watson/Blight desert and old timers who could go with the new vibe.
#2 structutes..etc.
yes
#3 Lyon didn't give a stuff after departure/didn't play kids
Yes, he played to win match day, by all or any means..and he knew he had a matured list that wasn't showing anything new out of the box (brilliant as they were). Except when the finals beckoned he rested players. And he punished players for not following rules. Our bottom four players and fringe players were not much chop. GT had a wider pool to play with. Stocks were thin for Lyon.
#4 Rotating captaincy
Fans didn't like it I imagined..and welcomed a return to a regular captain under Lyon.
#5 Future is in jeopardy overkill
Well, here is the thing, whilst the club may remain..on what terms...more of a lackey for the AFL or a team in its own right?

No Scollop. There are plenty of people outside the club from the Ross Lyon era that are alive and could be included.

axcellence

I want a cake...

1971 wrote: Mon 12 Sep 2022 11:21am No Scollop. There are plenty of people outside the club from the Ross Lyon era that are alive and could be included.
Look again at the criteria you wanted to be reviewed

I’d love to engage in a conversation with you, but I feel like you’re going to come up with something different to what you originally wrote.

No worries Scollop. You win.

Independent honest assessment of the club, football department, administration, recruiting and playing list.
Then when it is presented and there are some parts which upset people or hurt their feelings - have these not removed or swept under the carpet or rebuked, but examined further and in more detail as while may not be completely true will hold some value from someone external to the club.
Glad it doesn't involve ex players who either have agendas or some hold as gods in regard to their opinions on these matters based solely on what was delivered by them as a player.

Essendon is a great example of removing what they don't want to hear and only listening to past champion PLAYERS regardless of their off field qualifications or abilities.

D.B.Cooper

We become the innovators of the competition.
We are the inclusion club so let’s focus there.
That will get the AFL on board and stop their systematic bias against us.

1. Hire AFL’s first openly gay coach.
Coaching Credentials irrelevant.
Hire a non-binary assistant coach.

2. Dani (dude looks like a) Laidley as Director of Football.

3. Annual Molly’s match in memory of the great man and saints supporter.

4. Tank until 2027 winning 3 games a year.
We’ll have the gay community & AFL support and fund raising so no issue on viability.

5. Lobby AFL for minimum 4 year contracts for top 10 draft picks

6. #1 draft picks in 2028, 2029, 2030, 2031 plus priority picks. Throw coin at Free Agents. Stock pile talent.

7. Father and son 3x Reiwoldts, 2 xHayes’ from 2032

Build a dynasty and with 5 straight premierships.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!