Top Ten B&F Predictions

Re: Top Ten B&F Predictions

Sincs
Wilke (disappointed if he doesn't has been amazing all year but he is a defender)
Sebby
Crouch
Steele
King
Membrey
Marshall
Battle
McKennzie (would be top 5 if he didn't get injured)

Vortex wrote: Sat 03 Sep 2022 12:34am
bangaulegend wrote: Sat 03 Sep 2022 12:00am
Vortex wrote: Fri 02 Sep 2022 11:08pm
B.M wrote: Fri 02 Sep 2022 10:28pm Each to their own opinion?

If you disagree

Debate or ignore…

Max did lose us one important game, through poor kicking- that happens… at least he was getting a kick…but it was a few games before when he threw in the towel… that was unacceptable!

He has the tools to be an AFL gun! Does he have the mentality?

Not yet
It was the games where he threw in the towel that would be of most concern to the coaches, mental strength and resilience is a massive pre requisite for any player expected to be the marque player in an elite comp.
I don't know who is worse your infatuation with bagging Max King or Curley bagging the umpires IMO both very short sighted :roll: but IMO only
You say bagging but I say objective observations. We don't all have to carry on like fan boys. Max still has more hard work to do to become the marquee forward expected of a DP4.
He is a work in progress for sure but you have an infatuation with pointing out all the negatives :? post after post after post it gets annoying

bangaulegend wrote: Sat 03 Sep 2022 12:53am

If you disagree

Debate or ignore…

Max did lose us one important game, through poor kicking- that happens… at least he was getting a kick…but it was a few games before when he threw in the towel… that was unacceptable!

Not yet
It was the games where he threw in the towel that would be of most concern to the coaches, mental strength and resilience is a massive pre requisite for any player expected to be the marque player in an elite comp.
I don't know who is worse your infatuation with bagging Max King or Curley bagging the umpires IMO both very short sighted :roll: but IMO only
You say bagging but I say objective observations. We don't all have to carry on like fan boys. Max still has more hard work to do to become the marquee forward expected of a DP4.
He is a work in progress for sure but you have an infatuation with pointing out all the negatives :? post after post after post it gets annoying
I don't find your repetitive posts boring, I find the things you bang on about fascinating.

Vortex wrote: Sat 03 Sep 2022 12:59am
bangaulegend wrote: Sat 03 Sep 2022 12:53am

If you disagree

Debate or ignore…

Not yet
I don't find your repetitive posts boring, I find the things you bang on about fascinating.
My repetitive posts? Well if that's not calling the kettle black I would like to know what isn't

Sinclair
Crouch
Wilkie
Ross
Marshall
Membrey
Webster
King
Steele
Battle

sks023

Sincs
Wilke
Crouch
Ross
King
Marshall
Steel
Battle
Gresham
Membrey

Look out kids, they keep it all hid

B.M wrote: Wed 31 Aug 2022 10:17pm Roo was a Peacock- a leader and a champion at 22yo (he was AFLMVP - and broke the record for marks in a season!)

Max - his body language is timid.

He needs to build a body, and develop an Alpha male attitude, where he expects to dominate every opposition.
Re Max: complete opposite is the reality. Did he take your car park.

Interesting that Paddy & Hill don't feature much in the tips.
No forwards other than 50+ goals Max. (Were there any?)
Reckon Brad will feature - if for no other reason than he might leave if he doesn't.

Yorkeys wrote: Thu 08 Sep 2022 9:56pm Interesting that Paddy & Hill don't feature much in the tips.
No forwards other than 50+ goals Max. (Were there any?)
Reckon Brad will feature - if for no other reason than he might leave if he doesn't.
I was going to put Hill at 10 but I just loved what DMac did this year so I went with the heart not the head but realistically Hill will probably be around 8th to 10th

The Recruit

So Hill is 7th
Not many had him top 10

Seems to be a disconnect between the fans opinion of Brad Hill and the coaches…

The Recruit wrote: Tue 13 Sep 2022 11:41pm So Hill is 7th
Not many had him top 10

I had him 7th.

Ghost Like and older saint had him in their top ten.

Not many value Skunk either. In the Saintsational Eastern Memorial votes he’s not even top ten I think

Other observations; Remarkable that Steeley was top 5 after missing a chunk of games. Glad that the coaches didn’t give votes to Crouch as much as some of the fans thought he’d earned.

And…Gresh could have had a podium finish if he didn’t get injured. Well done to Mason Wood on earning the Robert Harvey Award

Hill finishing 7th is a nice reminder to haters who love good blokes and cult heros and shut their eyes to contribution to winning in the grass!

He may be gone next year, but at least you lot can drink some of his wine now.

For a bloke who only missed 1 or 2 games, you’d think he should have maybe at least finished top 5

He should be in the best players each week. That’s what is expected from a guy who is the highest paid or probably equally highest paid player on our list.

Either way…he had a very good season, but the whole Hill debate shouldn’t be happening. It’s not his fault that St Kilda FC paid overs and gave up too much for him.

Scollop wrote: Wed 14 Sep 2022 12:40am For a bloke who only missed 1 or 2 games, you’d think he should have maybe at least finished top 5

He should be in the best players each week. That’s what is expected from a guy who is the highest paid or probably equally highest paid player on our list.

Either way…he had a very good season, but the whole Hill debate shouldn’t be happening. It’s not his fault that St Kilda FC paid overs and gave up too much for him.
Highest paid means nothing.

Once you are picked, you played..

He has a good back story and a handy manager...

Doesn't mean he should now be...a, b or c

it is what it is.

He had a decent year, and was recognized for it.

Hard for people to suck those lemons.

shanegrambeau wrote: Wed 14 Sep 2022 1:35am
Scollop wrote: Wed 14 Sep 2022 12:40am For a bloke who only missed 1 or 2 games, you’d think he should have maybe at least finished top 5

it is what it is.

The bagging of a player does not mean you don’t recognise his work rate, or skill or his value to the team within a game

I’m not sure you understand much….when it comes to things footy related.

I give credit where it’s due. I predicted Hill would finish 7th. I didn’t pluck the number out of my arse. I voted nearly every week in the fan forum. I gave Hill votes more times than I bagged him and more times than most other posters

Adjusting for games played I wonder how the top ten correlated to their annual salaries.

What if recruiters' bonus (and maybe CEO) was fixed to highest paid finishing top 3. Assuming that didn't bias weekly voting to please the boss.

Scollop wrote: Wed 14 Sep 2022 2:00am
shanegrambeau wrote: Wed 14 Sep 2022 1:35am

it is what it is.

The bagging of a player does not mean you don’t recognise his work rate, or skill or his value to the team within a game

I’m not sure you understand much….when it comes to things footy related.

I give credit where it’s due. I predicted Hill would finish 7th. I didn’t pluck the number out of my arse. I voted nearly every week in the fan forum. I gave Hill votes more times than I bagged him and more times than most other posters
Hill finished 1st and 3rd in three years at Freo.

Feels like he's got a bit of the Daniel Ricciardos about him.

1. Jack Sinclair (174 votes)
2. Callum Wilkie (153 votes)
3. Jack Steele (124 votes)
4. Tim Membrey (103 votes)
5. Seb Ross (102 votes)
6. Brad Crouch (93 votes)
=7. Jade Gresham (91 votes)
=7. Bradley Hill (91 votes)
=7. Max King (91 votes)
10. Josh Battle (68 votes)

Surprised

Hill, Gresham

Also surprised by Crouch - Felt he was better than 6th

Agreed re Crouch.

Scollop wrote: Tue 13 Sep 2022 11:53pm
The Recruit wrote: Tue 13 Sep 2022 11:41pm So Hill is 7th
Not many had him top 10

I had him 7th.

Ghost Like and older saint had him in their top ten.

Not many value Skunk either. In the Saintsational Eastern Memorial votes he’s not even top ten I think

Other observations; Remarkable that Steeley was top 5 after missing a chunk of games. Glad that the coaches didn’t give votes to Crouch as much as some of the fans thought he’d earned.

And…Gresh could have had a podium finish if he didn’t get injured. Well done to Mason Wood on earning the Robert Harvey Award
I didn't have him in my original top ten but after thinking about it put him in between 10 & 8

Where can I get the complete list of vote getters?

B.M wrote: Wed 14 Sep 2022 6:50pm 1. Jack Sinclair (174 votes)
5. Seb Ross (102 votes)
=7. Max King (91 votes)
Membrey is a bit of a surprise at 4. Didn’t have a bad year by any means but I don’t know that I’d have him up that high. I’d swap him and Crouch around.

So how do we think Jack will go in the Brownlow?

skeptic wrote: Wed 14 Sep 2022 10:36pm
B.M wrote: Wed 14 Sep 2022 6:50pm 1. Jack Sinclair (174 votes)
5. Seb Ross (102 votes)
=7. Max King (91 votes)
Membrey is a bit of a surprise at 4. Didn’t have a bad year by any means but I don’t know that I’d have him up that high. I’d swap him and Crouch around.
Skunk has impact on games. Crouch racks up a lot of insignificant touches. He has his strengths and he has had games where he impacts as well as getting lots of touches, but I think disposal numbers without taking into account disposal efficiency is lazy voting. I often gave Crouch 1 vote or 2 votes when most people on this forum gave him best on ground

There wan interesting conversation on a thread that popped up on a search I just did and B.M gave his personal votes for the Saintsational Eastern Memorial Player of the year award and then admitted that the coaches would probably vote differently because Crouch didn’t ‘impact’ the game as much as Marshall or Steele

viewtopic.php?p=1915207#p1915207

In the above link, Crouch had huge numbers, but if you break down each clearance and each disposal and marry that up with impact and whether there was a positive outcome for the team, it brought his overall efficiency back down to an average level in my opinion.

I actually started a theme going back several years where I would criticise Seb Ross’s ball use. I think sometimes players who do not ‘care’ whether their disposal hits a team mate, could be more detrimental to a team than the bloke who doesn’t get their hands on the footy enough. It’s a selfish way of playing footy.

I personally think it’s how you use the footy that is more important than how many times you touch it.

search.php?st=0&sk=t&sd=d&sr=posts&author_id=19933