Thank You, Matt Finnis! 🙏

st sandy

Re: Thank You, Matt Finnis! 🙏

As a life long and generational saints supporter, an element of the club that has matched our lack of onfield success has been the poor and unstable administration.

Matt has provided stability, integrity and respect to the club off field.

Thanks matt

Viscount Jeremiah wrote: Sat 24 Sep 2022 1:50pm
B.M wrote: Fri 23 Sep 2022 8:02pm Only 12M in dept!

But we do have the Pride Game!
At least get your facts right.

We wiped 4.2m off our debt last year and we're on track to do a similar this year.

As it stands our debt in our last financial report was $9,562,300 not 12m :roll:

Now that our big expenses are gone and we have got rid of the terrible tenancy contract we had with Marvel we're tracking to de debt free within a few years and with some very substantial assets such as the DFC, RSEA park etc.

Finnis has done a great job.
I think Matt Finnis has done a great job. When we attended the opening of the Danny Frawley Centre he made himself available to talk to and was very generous with his time. He was particularly interested in any long term family connection with the Club. My Dad was a Gate Supervisor at the car park end and one day in the 1970’s would not let the Collingwood Cheer Squad in early to do their set up. They gave him heaps, so at the end of the game he quickly shut the wide sliding gate so they had to use the turnstile exits, but the could not fit their floggers through, so they had to chuck them over the fence and the got stuck on the barbed wire. Dad 1 Collingwood Cheer Squad 0. Matt had a good laught at that one.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

In a decade he took us from being basket case to being inoffensive but completely irrelevant. Hardly a legacy worth writing a book about.

But the fact we’re prepared to canonise his so called legacy just goes to show how content we are with mediocrity.

:cry:
happy feet wrote: Sat 24 Sep 2022 2:44pm
Viscount Jeremiah wrote: Sat 24 Sep 2022 1:50pm
B.M wrote: Fri 23 Sep 2022 8:02pm Only 12M in dept!

But we do have the Pride Game!
At least get your facts right.

We wiped 4.2m off our debt last year and we're on track to do a similar this year.

As it stands our debt in our last financial report was $9,562,300 not 12m :roll:

Now that our big expenses are gone and we have got rid of the terrible tenancy contract we had with Marvel we're tracking to de debt free within a few years and with some very substantial assets such as the DFC, RSEA park etc.

Finnis has done a great job.
I think Matt Finnis has done a great job. When we attended the opening of the Danny Frawley Centre he made himself available to talk to and was very generous with his time. He was particularly interested in any long term family connection with the Club. My Dad was a Gate Supervisor at the car park end and one day in the 1970’s would not let the Collingwood Cheer Squad in early to do their set up. They gave him heaps, so at the end of the game he quickly shut the wide sliding gate so they had to use the turnstile exits, but the could not fit their floggers through, so they had to chuck them over the fence and the got stuck on the barbed wire. Dad 1 Collingwood Cheer Squad 0. Matt had a good laught at that one.
How much better do you think the balance would look if we had actually played in a few finals campaigns, instead of selling games to Cairns?

You seriously think we are in a good position as a football club

Well done Matt Finnis. A fine job. The criticism of him on here smells of the typical petulant vitriol spewed ad nauseam by the same crowd who criticise every aspect of our club no matter what. It's incredibly tiresome.

Given our history and current position

Warranted

Sook all you like, but it’s fair criticism

I'm not the one sooking, if you hadn't noticed. I don't endlessly hang sh#t on everyone at the club The relentless negative posts by some is what amounts to sooking. Keyboard tantrum chucking, day in day out. Hate. Hate, hate , hate, hate.

Good things happened during his tenure. Might they have happened anyway.
Did he have a premiership as his goal? Never seemed so.
Managing an AFL club is done within a protected environment. Lot of resources. Competition? Funding guaranteed.
Seems competent and personable. Not a Saints legend I wouldn't have thought, just a well paid functionary. It is a football club, core business?
Winning games, building a team. Renewed Richo. That's what will define him for me.

B.M wrote: Sat 24 Sep 2022 5:19pm Given our history and current position

Warranted

Sook all you like, but it’s fair criticism
Its incorrect criticism actually. We don't owe $12m.

https://www.saints.com.au/news/1033789/ ... al-results

I think we can expect similar results this year.

The proofs in the pudding, the Finnis regime lead to a culture shift at the club which prioritised PC compliance over a demand for success. The needless re-signings of Richo and Ratts is an example.

Sadly, it’s clear this lack of demand for success has infiltrated to the supporters.

Success on the field translates to success off the field unfortunately for Finnis lack of on field success has tainted his tenure as CEO IMO. Not the worst not the best but had a crack just didn't have the impact I was hoping for

bangaulegend wrote: Sat 24 Sep 2022 7:04pm Success on the field translates to success off the field unfortunately for Finnis lack of on field success has tainted his tenure as CEO IMO. Not the worst not the best but had a crack just didn't have the impact I was hoping for
He doesn't recruit the players or coach them. He did get St Kilda back to Moorabbin. They should never had left the place. Thank you Archie Fraser, you dumb Scot. f*** the worst decision in 150 years of the club. Finnis has done ok.

magnifisaint wrote: Sat 24 Sep 2022 7:14pm
bangaulegend wrote: Sat 24 Sep 2022 7:04pm Success on the field translates to success off the field unfortunately for Finnis lack of on field success has tainted his tenure as CEO IMO. Not the worst not the best but had a crack just didn't have the impact I was hoping for
He doesn't recruit the players or coach them. He did get St Kilda back to Moorabbin. They should never had left the place. Thank you Archie Fraser, you dumb Scot. f*** the worst decision in 150 years of the club. Finnis has done ok.
Pretty much what I said he was ok

magnifisaint wrote: Sat 24 Sep 2022 7:14pm
No, but he recruits the recruiters and the coaches.

Also, why is he being lauded so much for the Moorabbin move? Has this made us a destination club and is the on-field performance so much better for it?

axcellence

Thank you and goodbye. Hope never to see you back in any official capacity.

Matt Finnis spent all his time espousing social causes. It was more about his "social conscience" rather than winning games. And for all of that, he hired Lethlean despite him getting the boot after getting chummy with other staff at the AFL house. So, you can see how thin it all was.

Off field might have been OK. But think about games being sold to Cairns, New Zealand, etc. and you can easily say football came second to meeting AFL's financial diktats.

axcellence wrote: Sat 24 Sep 2022 9:29pm Thank you and goodbye. Hope never to see you back in any official capacity.

Matt Finnis spent all his time espousing social causes. It was more about his "social conscience" rather than winning games. And for all of that, he hired Lethlean despite him getting the boot after getting chummy with other staff at the AFL house. So, you can see how thin it all was.

Off field might have been OK. But think about games being sold to Cairns, New Zealand, etc. and you can easily say football came second to meeting AFL's financial diktats.
When you owe the AFL a large debt, it becomes hard to say no.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

Crikey .... you need a platform before you can launch and before Finnis came on we were all over place and sinking fast

Some on here have no idea

B.M wrote: Sat 24 Sep 2022 4:20pm You seriously think we are in a good position as a football club
Keep pushing that Tassie agenda

SydneySainter wrote: Sat 24 Sep 2022 6:44pm The proofs in the pudding, the Finnis regime lead to a culture shift at the club which prioritised PC compliance over a demand for success. The needless re-signings of Richo and Ratts is an example.

Sadly, it’s clear this lack of demand for success has infiltrated to the supporters.
Well we could probably count ourselves lucky that we did sign Ratts again rather than chase Clarkson ..... very good chance that our guys knew something was afoot

Now if you want to talk basketcases look no further than North and Essendon

As pointed out by someone else, Finnis inherited an awful Docklands stadium deal, a second rate rate training facility away from our heartland and an already hefty level of debt. He pulled the levers with the Kingston council, the AFL, and the state government to get us back to Moorabbin in an outstanding facilty.

Remember, playing at docklands v MCG has cost the club around $30 million since 2000. All the clubs at docklands, except Essendon, got royally screwed by the Stadium and the incompetence in of the then AFL leadership under Wayne Jackson.

Finnis took on a tough job and has performed it admirably.

cwrcyn wrote: Sat 24 Sep 2022 10:42pm As pointed out by someone else, Finnis inherited an awful Docklands stadium deal, a second rate rate training facility away from our heartland and an already hefty level of debt. He pulled the levers with the Kingston council, the AFL, and the state government to get us back to Moorabbin in an outstanding facilty.

Remember, playing at docklands v MCG has cost the club around $30 million since 2000. All the clubs at docklands, except Essendon, got royally screwed by the Stadium and the incompetence in of the then AFL leadership under Wayne Jackson.

Correct .... you could nearly say that he was a fixer

We needed someone to right the ship and he did that

Now we need someone to make it fly from the solid base he helped build back

cwrcyn wrote: Sat 24 Sep 2022 10:42pm As pointed out by someone else, Finnis inherited an awful Docklands stadium deal, a second rate rate training facility away from our heartland and an already hefty level of debt. He pulled the levers with the Kingston council, the AFL, and the state government to get us back to Moorabbin in an outstanding facilty.

For sure but are we any better placed to win a flag before he started ?

B.M wrote: Fri 23 Sep 2022 11:03pm Seaford didn’t bother me a bit… it was a training ground

I couldn’t care if they trained at Timbuktu if the facility was ok

Would you preferred they stayed at Moorabbin in 2010 in a condemned dump?

F*** me, it was 20 mins away

Melbourne train at Cranbourne
Essendon at Tullamarine
Hawthorn at Waverley

All left the spiritual home bulls***, and it doesn’t bother their supporters

We just look for any pathetic excuse

I’m glad we are back at Moorabbin, but that’s because of facilities upgrade

Otherwise, I couldn’t GAF where we train… I don’t think that’s at all important

In my mind

Moorabbin hasn’t been our home ground since 92
Marvel has been our home since 2000
Geez, you are quite the hopeless romantic, aren’t you?