Australia in India: Train Wreck?

Re: Australia in India: Train Wreck?

Devilhead wrote: Wed 08 Mar 2023 3:38am India will want the 4th Test pitch at Ahmedabad to be a dead flat batter friendly wicket

India will be looking for a draw to win the series
8-)

The only way we have a chance to win this test and draw the series is to go big and to go fast in this first innings

Pitch looks slow and dead

What a f****** joke. Albo sleasey standing next to Australia's most important person ( Aussie captain) and belting out the National anthem.

Devilhead wrote: Thu 09 Mar 2023 4:34pm The only way we have a chance to win this test and draw the series is to go big and to go fast in this first innings

Pitch looks slow and dead
Why am I not surprised by this?

Killa

And Big Carl, I replicate your sentiment in not being surprised by the contributors demeaning reference to the prime minister of Australia

I wonder what the contributor thinks of the so called “Teals”, taking the Liberal Party blue ribbon seats?

saynta wrote: Thu 09 Mar 2023 6:15pm What a f****** joke. Albo sleasey standing next to Australia's most important person ( Aussie captain) and belting out the National anthem.
Guys please keep politics out of the footy forum.

Killa wrote: Thu 09 Mar 2023 7:05pm And Big Carl, I replicate your sentiment in not being surprised by the contributors demeaning reference to the prime minister of Australia

I wonder what the contributor thinks of the so called “Teals”, taking the Liberal Party blue ribbon seats?
So someone mentions / questions our current PM being there and your feathers are ruffled enough to turn this thread into a political sook fest? I guess it's your preference, preference being the inappropriate word.

Ghost Like wrote: Thu 09 Mar 2023 7:45pm
Killa wrote: Thu 09 Mar 2023 7:05pm And Big Carl, I replicate your sentiment in not being surprised by the contributors demeaning reference to the prime minister of Australia

So someone mentions / questions our current PM being there and your feathers are ruffled enough to turn this thread into a political sook fest? I guess it's your preference, preference being the inappropriate word.
GL, I didn’t not think Killa is doing any sooking. I think you’ve misunderstood his post.

That aside….see how quickly politics can turn a thread into a sh*t fight.

So please….no politics in the forum.

169 after 70 overs on a pitch that's giving nothing for the bowlers is poor

“The pitches are too spicey!”

“The pitches aren’t spicey enough!”

Maybe it’s not the pitches? 🤔

saynta wrote: Thu 09 Mar 2023 6:15pm What a f****** joke. Albo sleasey standing next to Australia's most important person ( Aussie captain) and belting out the National anthem.
thats a fair dinkum grubby post

st.byron wrote: Thu 09 Mar 2023 7:41pm
saynta wrote: Thu 09 Mar 2023 6:15pm
Guys please keep politics out of the footy forum.
Absolutely. However,
watching Kochi attack the Treasurer over closing super rorts reminded me there are so so many reasons to despise Adelaide teams.As for Aussie, any chance of debate on an intellectual level or just hyperbole and vitriol for different views.

st.byron wrote: Thu 09 Mar 2023 8:00pm
Ghost Like wrote: Thu 09 Mar 2023 7:45pm

GL, I didn’t not think Killa is doing any sooking. I think you’ve misunderstood his post.

That aside….see how quickly politics can turn a thread into a sh*t fight.

So please….no politics in the forum.
Fair call St Byron, I did mistake killa's post. My apologies killa. 100% no politics, definitely no winners in that sphere.

Great effort from Usman batting all day, and Green coming in late and picking up the pace.

Still think picking 3 spinners is going to cost the Aussies unless the pitch takes a dramatic turn (pardon the pun).

Cameron Green is the most exciting thing happening in Australian cricket. England will be a huge test but I think he'll thrive.

Yes, congrats to Usman, well deserved on many levels.

Ghost Like wrote: Fri 10 Mar 2023 8:51am Cameron Green is the most exciting thing happening in Australian cricket. England will be a huge test but I think he'll thrive.

I think once Green cracks that first ton the floodgates will open. Averaging over 40 with the bat and under 30 with the ball is a real possibility, hopefully he can stay healthy!

Ghost Like wrote: Fri 10 Mar 2023 8:51am Cameron Green is the most exciting thing happening in Australian cricket. England will be a huge test but I think he'll thrive.

Looks like the Poms have a beauty as well in Harry Brook. Averaging 89 after 6 tests.

st.byron wrote: Fri 10 Mar 2023 12:07pm

Looks like the Poms have a beauty as well in Harry Brook. Averaging 89 after 6 tests.
Yep, if he wasn't run out for a Diamond Duck in his last innings it would be even more impressive.

Brook has had a good start and a good series in Pakistan, but I think those numbers will dip down quite a bit as he faces some stiffer competition.

What is the better bowling line up for a flat lifeless track?

1) 3 pace bowlers toiling away with little help plus a spinner or two?

2) Two (or even one plus a part-time medium) seamers bowling occasionally and then two or three specialist spinners ?

The_Dud wrote: Fri 10 Mar 2023 1:37pm Brook has had a good start and a good series in Pakistan, but I think those numbers will dip down quite a bit as he faces some stiffer competition.
He looks.pretty formidable and solid as f***. Took Southee and Wagner to the cleaners in NZ. Bats like a quality one day player and solid test player all in one.

shanegrambeau wrote: Fri 10 Mar 2023 1:43pm What is the better bowling line up for a flat lifeless track?

2) Two (or even one plus a part-time medium) seamers bowling occasionally and then two or three specialist spinners ?
I think 2 pacemen, 2 spinners and an all rounder is a much better balanced lineup on this deck, rather than 1 pacemen, 3 spinners and an all rounder.

Our spinners were effective on the spicey decks, not sure how its going to look with 3 of them if the pitch isn't giving them a bunch of help.

The_Dud wrote: Fri 10 Mar 2023 2:29pm
shanegrambeau wrote: Fri 10 Mar 2023 1:43pm What is the better bowling line up for a flat lifeless track?

I think 2 pacemen, 2 spinners and an all rounder is a much better balanced lineup on this deck, rather than 1 pacemen, 3 spinners and an all rounder.

Our spinners were effective on the spicey decks, not sure how its going to look with 3 of them if the pitch isn't giving them a bunch of help.
I tend to agree, whilst I am excited by what the future might hold for Murphy. I think he could have sat this one out for Boland. Boland, whilst a wicket taker, is your quintessential toiler. Leaving Starc to hopefully capitalise on any reverse swing.

I am glad they didn't play Morris. I'd rather see him debut in England if the opportunity presents.

RIP Pat Cummins mum.

Tough time, thoughts with him and his family.

Declaration??

Will we do a Ben Stokes and tempt India to actually try to win this?

How about six overs before tea…?

Australia at 4/454 Kawasaki z900 on 180 not out and Green Acres on 125 not out?