Match Thread Round 14 2023 V Richmond

Re: Match Thread Round 14 2023 V Richmond

I reckon we would’ve lost this game by a lot more if It had of been dry
Last edited by The Fireman on Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:01pm, edited 1 time in total.

Otiman wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 10:54pm Too many narrow losses this year, must win this one.
You'd prefer floggings?

Need to be able to win the close ones.

Had there chances and didn’t take them unfortunately. King x 2, Phillipou, butler and Higgins all missed opportunities in last quarter.

Had our chances, our blokes took too long to adjust to the conditions.

Howard mistake on half time huge in context of game.

Otiman wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:01pm Need to be able to win the close ones.
First you need to pull back the lead and straighten up your lines. That's what we couldn't do last year with the same list. Let's project this to next year and see how things go.

Just lack composure when it matters
Higgins let’s face it…who honestly thought he’d go back and drill that through the middle? It’s like when Marshall has a set shot ..no chance
They had a crack which is good
Under Ratten we’d be 10 goals down
Turn the spuds over end year Ross
Finals are just window dressing this year …making up numbers

Steele (and our midfield) is our biggest liability.

absolute log jam of teams hunting for a finals spot now.

footynut

Only have our selves to blame. Good bye finals!! It’s just too hard

CQ SAINT wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:02pm
Otiman wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:01pm Need to be able to win the close ones.
First you need to pull back the lead and straighten up your lines. That's what we couldn't do last year with the same list. Let's project this to next year and see how things go.
Very very good point
When in the back half last year did we ever pull back a side who got on a roll and swung the game 40 points in the other direction like Richmond did?????
We have a pulse
We have some very good players
Just not enough ..yet

Free kick count 25-12. That’s 2 games this year where we’ve literally doubled the opposition with free kicks and lost. Shows how little that number really matters.

desertsaint wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 10:25pm
Scollop wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 10:22pm
desertsaint wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 10:09pm
Scollop wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 9:44pm
desertsaint wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 9:36pm
Scollop wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 9:34pm
desertsaint wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 9:33pm this is why i dont live in melbourne
Que? Please explain
look at that rain. in winter. bugger that.
You’re living in the past. You’re talking about the way things were 30-40 or 50 years ago…

Check the Bureau of meteorology figures for Sydney and Brisbane rainfall and then come back to me

“More than 2.5 metres of rain has fallen on Sydney this year, obliterating the city's previous annual rainfall record by more than 300 mm.”

“ Total rainfall for Brisbane was estimated (from nearby sites) at 2036 mm, which is 191% of the long-term calculated average of 1067.3 mm. This is the wettest annual total since 1974 (using combined sites) and the fifth-wettest on record since official Brisbane records began in 1840”
why are so many melbourne peeps so thin skinned bout their city? your weather sucks.i'm looking at it right now. i put up with it every time i visit. whoopie doo.
What we can't stand is the superiority complex of the Northern States re weather

Unfortunately for you and others who live in QLD and NSW you'll be copping the brunt of the storms and cyclones and torrential rain and golf ball sized hail ...we won't
ha, i'm born and bred in alice mate but lived almost everywhere. even four years in vic. so stop being so thin skinned about your city - the only place they built a footy stadium with a roof. wonder why?
Alice Springs. LMFAO. I know where I'd rather be.

Otiman wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:03pm Steele (and our midfield) is our biggest liability.
Yep liabilities in there
It’s great Ross came good but where has it been? Why drop off in q2
Steele??? Just rest him forward ffs
Play Owens in guts
Find out
We have to find more genuine midfield talent it’s costing games
Too much sane type players

Saint2

Pretty weak effort I thought- there was a game to win, and we had too many passengers

Jacks Back wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:06pm
desertsaint wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 10:25pm
Scollop wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 10:22pm
desertsaint wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 10:09pm
Scollop wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 9:44pm
desertsaint wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 9:36pm
Scollop wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 9:34pm
desertsaint wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 9:33pm this is why i dont live in melbourne
Que? Please explain
look at that rain. in winter. bugger that.
You’re living in the past. You’re talking about the way things were 30-40 or 50 years ago…

Check the Bureau of meteorology figures for Sydney and Brisbane rainfall and then come back to me

“More than 2.5 metres of rain has fallen on Sydney this year, obliterating the city's previous annual rainfall record by more than 300 mm.”

“ Total rainfall for Brisbane was estimated (from nearby sites) at 2036 mm, which is 191% of the long-term calculated average of 1067.3 mm. This is the wettest annual total since 1974 (using combined sites) and the fifth-wettest on record since official Brisbane records began in 1840”
why are so many melbourne peeps so thin skinned bout their city? your weather sucks.i'm looking at it right now. i put up with it every time i visit. whoopie doo.
What we can't stand is the superiority complex of the Northern States re weather

Unfortunately for you and others who live in QLD and NSW you'll be copping the brunt of the storms and cyclones and torrential rain and golf ball sized hail ...we won't
ha, i'm born and bred in alice mate but lived almost everywhere. even four years in vic. so stop being so thin skinned about your city - the only place they built a footy stadium with a roof. wonder why?
Alice Springs. LMFAO. I know where I'd rather be.
another one.

Saint2

Teflon wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:02pm Just lack composure when it matters
Higgins let’s face it…who honestly thought he’d go back and drill that through the middle? It’s like when Marshall has a set shot ..no chance
Could have been a few goals up- Ratten wasn't that bad, just got killed by injuries.

We’ll win next week
Bookmark it

Lost the game from a few terrible defensive errors in the first half and our poor midfield performance in the second quarter

Howard's handballing is C Grade. Incredibly sloppy for a league footballer. Wilkie had one howler in the first that cost us a goal.
Richmond also kicked 5 very long range goals, which we couldn't match.

Not upset with the performance overall. We just have to stop those quarters where our midfield just gets totally obliterated. It's been happening since round 6.

Saint2 wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:09pm
Teflon wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:02pm Just lack composure when it matters
Could have been a few goals up- Ratten wasn't that bad, just got killed by injuries.
Mate he had NO defensive game and our ball transition was woeful
Respectfully but ….WTF?

Atrocious in the box tonight

Failed to

Adjust style of play to conditions - allowing them to have a spare in the second quarter and half - not getting Sincs around the footy (it wasn’t a rebounding game!

Players adjusted by halfway through the third - too late

Teflon wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:07pm
Otiman wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:03pm Steele (and our midfield) is our biggest liability.
Yep liabilities in there
It’s great Ross came good but where has it been? Why drop off in q2
Steele??? Just rest him forward ffs
Play Owens in guts
Find out
We have to find more genuine midfield talent it’s costing games
Too much sane type players
Steele had 5 kicks for the game, and only 4 tackles too.

Many picked him for the Brownlow at the start of the year, he’s clearly not right

cwrcyn wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:09pm Lost the game from a few terrible defensive errors in the first half and our poor midfield performance in the second quarter

Howard's handballing is C Grade. Incredibly sloppy for a league footballer. Wilkie had one howler in the first that cost us a goal.
Richmond also kicked 5 very long range goals, which we couldn't match.

Not upset with the performance overall. We just have to stop those quarters where our midfield just gets totally obliterated. It's been happening since round 6.
Good post
It’s just midfield going missing
Kills ya

Winmore

Their worst 10 players are way better than ours. We need midfield talent, another ruckman to help Roma and, dare I say it, a full back.