When the game was there to be won…

Just not good enough. So many chances.

Re: When the game was there to be won…

Lost it in the second half of the first quarter. Should not have let a 23 point lead become a 10 point defecit.

Otiman wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:09pm Lost it in the second half of the first quarter. Should not have let a 23 point lead become a 10 point defecit.
Yep, again, on field leadership just no there.

Need to hit the weights room in off season, too often outmuscled in one on ones.
Too many headless chooks kicking forward, Ross and Hill the worst but lots of others not far behind.
If that’s all Steele can do in his current condition he needs rest.
Windhager and Phillipou the bright spots on a dirty night.

Saint2

Cotchin is making up numbers in the Tigers team, and for him to come out and be influential really does put a big question mark over our leadership group, let alone coach

Saint2 wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:15pm Cotchin is making up numbers in the Tigers team, and for him to come out and be influential really does put a big question mark over our leadership group, let alone coach
More likely explains why he gets to 300 AFL games

nobhead

whiskers3614 wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:14pm Need to hit the weights room in off season, too often outmuscled in one on ones.
Too many headless chooks kicking forward, Ross and Hill the worst but lots of others not far behind.
We need to keep hitting the draft ,keep trying to find and develop good young talent. We have to many players in this side that have obvious deficencies that get exposed under pressure .unfortunately atm we have no other options.

Very disappointing. As soon as the rain came we were stuffed

Inexcusable loss

2 days extra break against a Tigers side coming back from a slog in Perth

Kick the first 4 goals of the game ...... then we choke hard

Happened against Port and now against an average Tigers team without a few of their stars

Very very poor Saints

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, St Kilda are just a sh**ty football club.

SydneySainter wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:35pm I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, St Kilda are just a sh**ty football club.
Bit harsh there mate!
Disappointing or heartbreaking instead of shi,,y and I will agree with you.

nobhead wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:22pm
whiskers3614 wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:14pm Need to hit the weights room in off season, too often outmuscled in one on ones.
We need to keep hitting the draft ,keep trying to find and develop good young talent. We have to many players in this side that have obvious deficencies that get exposed under pressure .unfortunately atm we have no other options.
Spot on
Our best hope is talent in kids
Not fly ins promising the world who we have to pay overs for
In field leadership is also an issue

Devilhead wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:28pm Inexcusable loss

2 days extra break against a Tigers side coming back from a slog in Perth

Kick the first 4 goals of the game ...... then we choke hard

Happened against Port and now against an average Tigers team without a few of their stars

Very very poor Saints
Plus substitute coach, who did quite well. Might have advised Tiges to not turn the ball over with unforced errors. We conversely didn't value position enough. Cost us.

Hannebery, Hill recruitment debacles going to haunt us for a decade or more.
Leadership vacuum caused by going for the mercensries instead of taking our medicine going right down and hitting the draft.
He who won’t be dropped provided great leadership and example, NOT!

whiskers3614 wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:59pm Hannebery, Hill recruitment debacles going to haunt us for a decade or more.
Leadership vacuum caused by going for the mercensries instead of taking our medicine going right down and hitting the draft.
And HE who was the boss of the football department and mastermind and architect was promoted for it, and now running the show.

Is that disappointing or sh**ty?

Scollop wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 1:27am
whiskers3614 wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:59pm Hannebery, Hill recruitment debacles going to haunt us for a decade or more.
And HE who was the boss of the football department and mastermind and architect was promoted for it, and now running the show.

Is that disappointing or sh**ty?
our version of the Peter principle? the Simon principle, but apparently he has excellent staff to delegate to and is no longer involved in footy operations so there's that. He's probably pleased he doesn't have to front the board every month like he an Ratts had to do to explain endless LLLLs.

The board and Simon have no where to hide and can't delegate responsibility after the next 3 years

How old will Grant Thomas be in 2026?

Good on the Tiges.

Made all the right decisions and cleaned up with three flags.

Meanwhile we dicked around at Seaford with half-arsed draft picks and clueless nice guy coaches.

Waltzing St Kilda wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 1:51am Good on the Tiges.

Meanwhile we dicked around at Seaford with half-arsed draft picks and clueless nice guy coaches.
Those were not half arse draft picks.
Petracca & Bontempelli together would have won this game.
When you have low draft picks and waste them you sentence the club to over a decade of failure.

ace wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 2:21am
Waltzing St Kilda wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 1:51am Good on the Tiges.

Those were not half arse draft picks.
Petracca & Bontempelli together would have won this game.
When you have low draft picks and waste them you sentence the club to over a decade of failure.
The catalyst of where it all went tits up was the 2014 draft. We had two first round picks (including pick 1) and fluffed them both.

That was the draft we HAD to get right. When you have pick 1, that has to be an instrumental part of your rebuild. It is not a pick you gamble.

Getting that so wrong in such spectacular fashion alone has lead to another decade of failure.

SydneySainter wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:35pm I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, St Kilda are just a sh**ty football club.

Why bother then?

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

terry smith rules wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:35pm

Why bother then?
Calling it how I see it.

We have historically been a shabbily run organisation, we are a founding party of the VFL let the least successful or all the Vic clubs and we’ve burnt the last 10 years on nice guy administration.

Until this trend is bucked, we will continue to be a sh*tty football club.

Obviously a s*** club

We can’t hide from our history- we have been the least successful club in the AFL - off and on field

We have made some of the worst decisions in the history of the game

There has been poor luck too - along the way!

But there has always been poor leadership - we’ve never been well run!

Totally agree BM - but I think sometimes in footy you make your own luck. We have had some great teams, coaches and administrators but rarely all at the same time. Then when we did we have found ways to self destruct. Perhaps now we have the makings of a great administration, we know we have a very good coach we just need the team to make them great.

My biggest fears regarding the future of our club is the appointment of SOS as our List Manager and the continued poor developmental environment of our Sandringham alliance. SOS has the potential to send our club back another 10 years in the list development if he doesn't make the right calls in coming years. And the alliance if not corrected will continue to stymie player development to our detriment.

What do you believe is the issue at Sandy?

Coaching?

The team is run by StK employees, has been for 10 years - with a stk employee as head coach and StK dev coaches as line coaches.

Basically Sandy is StK reserves in different jumpers

Reason we want the Sandy alliance is so we don’t have to pay top up players. Which would be a couple of hundred grand a year