Reality

Re: Reality

saynta wrote: Sun 06 Aug 2023 7:40pm
tony74 wrote: Sun 06 Aug 2023 7:38pm We have not been out of the eight all year. Yep, I agree we probably won’t last there but honestly how many of you after Round 21 would have thought that. We have a group of new coaches and a new game plan. There will be a turnover of players at season end as the coaching panel mould the squad to its potential. I believe we are building, most so called experts ( and no doubt many of you) had us bottom four. I haven’t got rose coloured glasses, I’m just being realistic. Again I have to emphasise we have not been out of the 8 all year. I reckon the club has been enormous. FQF
i had us finishing 6th and haven't given up hope......yet.
That's the style, good onya saynta!!!

Glad to see you remain positive despite your disapproval of the coach :lol:

Vortex wrote: Sun 06 Aug 2023 10:34pm
SaintPav wrote: Sun 06 Aug 2023 10:29pm
tony74 wrote: Sun 06 Aug 2023 7:44pm
Banger9798 wrote: Sun 06 Aug 2023 7:41pm Well said Tony.

I give us a 1 in 3 chance of finals.

But we have got alot of games into promising young players.

Any idea who we are targeting. I thought Dow was good tonight, hopefully we are into him
Yes, but you can understand I can’t really put that out.
2 will make you happy, 1 will cause some angst. But who we may trade might upset a few
Not the captain?
Pretty sure it's Sharman.
Who's Sharman???? :lol: :lol:

Sanctorum wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 2:45pm
saynta wrote: Sun 06 Aug 2023 7:40pm
tony74 wrote: Sun 06 Aug 2023 7:38pm We have not been out of the eight all year. Yep, I agree we probably won’t last there but honestly how many of you after Round 21 would have thought that. We have a group of new coaches and a new game plan. There will be a turnover of players at season end as the coaching panel mould the squad to its potential. I believe we are building, most so called experts ( and no doubt many of you) had us bottom four. I haven’t got rose coloured glasses, I’m just being realistic. Again I have to emphasise we have not been out of the 8 all year. I reckon the club has been enormous. FQF
i had us finishing 6th and haven't given up hope......yet.
That's the style, good onya saynta!!!

Glad to see you remain positive despite your disapproval of the coach :lol:
Well, there are positives and then there are negatives. I'm trying to stick with the positives but the negatives and their unbending ways are pulling us down.

Saint2

The Reality is that our captain and other experienced players didn't show leadership in a crucial game, not only didn't lead from the front , but gave up.

I totally agree Tony. People are disappointed after yesterdays result but I wont be surprised to see us finish out of the final 8 and still see the season as a step forward. If we can bring in some talent over the off season and get a fit and available list next year things will change quickly.

saynta wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 2:15pm
Teflon wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 12:18am
Thanks Tony
Most sensible fans know it’s been a tough year re injuries that we didn’t have anywhere remotely near as bad last year
So we have experimented….kids up forward …in midfield and we’ve uncovered a few
Let’s hope the coaching group also keep the pressure on themselves….I’m not 100% sold on Harvs as forward coach..
Really ?And while we are in the mood to knock our coaches, I am not sold on RTB as a head coach .One should never forget that he lost four premiership matches including an unloseable one against the cats.
I know you are a huge admirer of Harvey's status as club legend saynta but if you look at his demeanour as assistant coach over the many years at Colingwood he is mostly very low key and even in his playing days was not exactly what you'd call a leader of men.

Making him forward coach seems to me as bizarre because normally clubs appoint specialists in their specific field of expertise, defence, midfield, attack and ruck, blokes who have vast experience in that particular trade.

If you consider that St Kilda ranks last in forward fifty entries efficiency it must surely reflect adversely on the team's forward coach.

I've commented previously that I don't understand why Jaryd Roughead hasn't been given this task.

I'd be very surprised if in the post-season review this matter is not highighted as one that needs to change next year.

Care to comment tony74??

'Haven't been out of the 8 all year'
🙆‍♂️😳

Don't look at result, look at how we fall over so much.
Bradbury got a gold medal when the others tumbled.

It's not where you are, is what you're actually doing.
You play well, ferociously, not giving an inch, and results will follow.

Don't give me 'in the 8'

That's rubbish

What I want to know about yesterday is how Carlton forced us to go wide out of the backline nearly every time in the second half.

I was talking to a Carlton fan who said that’s what he observed against Collingwood as well.

They’re up to something and it’s very effective. They put up a wall. Maybe pack the middle of the ground and dominate that space. Or maybe it’s just the result of them having winners all over the ground.

Anyway, very disappointed with yesterday’s result. Just couldn’t get the ball at all in the last. Given a lesson by a better side.
Last edited by bigcarl on Mon 07 Aug 2023 4:02pm, edited 1 time in total.

saynta wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 2:15pm Really ?And while we are in the mood to knock our coaches, I am not sold on RTB as a head coach .One should never forget that he lost four premiership matches including an unloseable one against the cats.
Unloseable? That Geelong team is one of the greatest of all time? On what planet was that game UNLOSEABLE?

The G Train Legacy

SaintPav wrote: Sun 06 Aug 2023 10:53pm
Yorkeys wrote: Sun 06 Aug 2023 10:49pm If we are guessing: Gresham, Howard and Crouch. Or Membrey.
Gresham
Howard
Membrey

Makes sense.

Targets

McKay
Dow
Henry
We'd be insane to let go Howard and replace him with McKay. McKay will come overpriced, is overrated and can't really defend. Dow and Henry I like the idea of.

n1ck wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 3:45pm
saynta wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 2:15pm Really ?And while we are in the mood to knock our coaches, I am not sold on RTB as a head coach .One should never forget that he lost four premiership matches including an unloseable one against the cats.
Unloseable? That Geelong team is one of the greatest of all time? On what planet was that game UNLOSEABLE?

Planet Earth.
We were the favorites FFS. Clearly the better team all year. Lost it at the selection table and then compounded by the coach's refusal to play Ball in the last half. Don't start me. :roll: :roll:

i will scream blue murder tony if one of the guys we are after is related to a Saints official involved in recruiting.

The G Train Legacy wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 4:03pm
SaintPav wrote: Sun 06 Aug 2023 10:53pm
Yorkeys wrote: Sun 06 Aug 2023 10:49pm If we are guessing: Gresham, Howard and Crouch. Or Membrey.
Gresham
Howard
Membrey

Makes sense.

Targets

McKay
Dow
Henry
We'd be insane to let go Howard and replace him with McKay. McKay will come overpriced, is overrated and can't really defend. Dow and Henry I like the idea of.
You may be right. I wasn’t really advocating for recruiting BM.

Should we chase Matt Crouch? I don’t think we should.

saynta wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 4:58pm i will scream blue murder tony if one of the guys we are after is related to a Saints official involved in recruiting.
Well it happened nearly 30 years ago.

I remember talking to Ross the next day. I still remember his words. “ I can prepare and coach them to my upmost but I’m not the one who has to kick the ball between those two big sticks” We never lost that game because of him.

Saint2

Impatient Sainter wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 3:10pm
I totally agree Tony. People are disappointed after yesterdays result but I wont be surprised to see us finish out of the final 8 and still see the season as a step forward. If we can bring in some talent over the off season and get a fit and available list next year things will change quickly.
Maybe, but we made the finals under Ratts, and many were seeing it as the building of a new Saints era...pffft. Any coach who oversees a midfield who hardly touched the ball in a big game, is not going to turn that around in a hurry, and definitely not next season.

tony74 wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 5:00pm
I remember talking to Ross the next day. I still remember his words. “ I can prepare and coach them to my upmost but I’m not the one who has to kick the ball between those two big sticks” We never lost that game because of him.
I disagree. With all due respect to you, I believe we did . especially when he is negligent about who can kick the ball between the sticks.

We really only lost by a goal and then one hit the post. The goal after the siren doesn't count because there was no one on the mark and the cat just ran far enough to ensure the goal.

Ball, who your mate said he forgot about, was worth more than a goal.

Sure milne and Sneider could have kicked better.

Nah, of course I am bitter and will remain so until we win another flag.

I really hope we have the coaching panel to do that.

SaintPav wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 5:00pm
saynta wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 4:58pm i will scream blue murder tony if one of the guys we are after is related to a Saints official involved in recruiting.
Happened when we recruited Fergus Watts too when his Dad was CEO :roll:

Saintmatt wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 5:08pm
SaintPav wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 5:00pm
Happened when we recruited Fergus Watts too when his Dad was CEO :roll:
Yep, another dud in a long line of duds.

Would live with Anderson though.

2021 and 2022 were a fail. We bit the bullet and at the end of both seasons we decided to use all our picks on young kids at the National Draft

That was the perfect opportunity to say to members at the end of last year... after Jordan De Goey signed with Collingwood... that we WILL Go Into Full Rebuild mould.

But NOOOOOOOOO! We are St Kilda. We say to Members that we've all a sudden had a brain fart, and he's what we've come up with.

Now..here we are... nearly 12 months later and the results of 2022 might be pretty much replicated in 2023. What have we learnt?

Are we going to eventually bite the bullet? Or...Get set for Lyon and Lethlean trying to save their careers in the next 2 years the way Ratten tried.

Instead of recruiting kids exclusively over the next 2 drafts I reckon they'll be topping up with the discards from other clubs

We had a coach who had shown good signs with our youth and some excellent growth with many players development and even guys from other clubs flourishing under him. We knew he needed better support with a great Football Administrator in Geoff Walsh and we knew he needed better support with a new team of assistant coaches.

We nearly got it right. Now though they're stuffed because there's personal reputations on the line. The club's long term prospects again will be secondary to the needs and desires of a few select people.
Last edited by Scollop on Mon 07 Aug 2023 5:26pm, edited 1 time in total.

Scollop wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 5:19pm 2021 and 2022 were a fail. We bit the bullet and at the end of both seasons we decided to use all our picks on young kids at the National Draft

That was the perfect opportunity to say to members at the end of last year... after Jordan De Goey signed with Collingwood... that we WILL Go Into Full Rebuild mould.

But NOOOOOOOOO! We are St Kilda. We say to Members that we've all a sudden had a brain fart, and he's what we've come up with. Get set for Lyon and Lethlean trying to save their careers in the next 2 years I reckon

Instead of recruiting kids exclusively over the next 2 drafts they'll be topping up with the discards from other clubs

We had a coach who had shown good signs with our youth and some excellent growth with many players development and even guys from other clubs flourishing under him. We knew he needed better support with a great Football Administrator in Geoff Walsh and we knew he needed better support with a new team of assistant coaches.

We nearly got it right. Now though they're stuffed because there's personal reputations on the line. The club's long term prospects again will be secondary to the needs and desires of a few select people.
Sad but oh so true.

I know ….just batshyte crazy stuff right ??😂
I mean…it’s the gift that keeps on giving
People pay $ for Melbourne Comedy Festival
I come here and get this shyte for free 😂😂

Teflon wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 5:28pm
I know ….just batshyte crazy stuff right ??😂
I mean…it’s the gift that keeps on giving
People pay $ for Melbourne Comedy Festival
I come here and get this shyte for free 😂😂

Scollop wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 5:19pm 2021 and 2022 were a fail. We bit the bullet and at the end of both seasons we decided to use all our picks on young kids at the National Draft

But NOOOOOOOOO! We are St Kilda. We say to Members that we've all a sudden had a brain fart, and he's what we've come up with.

Now..here we are... nearly 12 months later and the results of 2022 might be pretty much replicated in 2023. What have we learnt?

Are we going to eventually bite the bullet? Or...Get set for Lyon and Lethlean trying to save their careers in the next 2 years the way Ratten tried.

Instead of recruiting kids exclusively over the next 2 drafts I reckon they'll be topping up with the discards from other clubs

Comedy gold ….bring back Brett!!!! Is that it?? 😂😂
“Gee Gday Saints fans….another tough day at the office…gee whizz….just not good enough again today…”
Thank **** you ain’t running the joint

tony74 wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 5:00pm
Absolutely Tony
Thanks for sharing
Players knew that too
But like yesterday…
Dominating Cats in 09 to HT
Dropped bundle after that..
I still recall watching all those missed goals in first half thinking “these are gonna come back to bite..”
They did
Cats a super side too we’re always gonna come
Anyway, ignore the Lyon hating muppets - they blame him for global warming ffs 🤦‍♀️